DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to an application that was filed on 05/13/2024. Claims 1-3 are presented for examination consideration.
Drawings Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
The limitation phrase “mating connector” in the limitation “and a housing including a front surface portion formed in a direction intersecting a fitting direction of the connector to a mating connector” claimed in independent claim 1 must be shown.
The limitation phrase “mating connector” in the limitations “he connector configured to be able to connect to a mating connector” and “a front surface portion formed in a direction intersecting a fitting direction of the connector to the mating connector” claimed in independent claim 3 must be shown.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osawa et al. (US20240332842A1 and Osawa hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Osawa discloses a connector comprising (item 10 of Figs.1-4 and ¶[0036_0046_0056_0058_0066 & 0070-0072] shows and indicates connector 10): a plurality of terminal-attached electric wires in each of which a terminal is attached to an electric wire in a direction intersecting an extending direction of the electric wire (items 90, 100, 55, 55A, 55B, F, U of Fig. 2 and ¶[0040-0042_0044-0048_0050-0051_0058-0061-0062_0064-0066_0068_0072 & 0074-0075] shows and indicates a plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 {first wire 90 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]] fixed to first terminal fitting 55A [indicated in ¶[0046-0047_0050 _0059_0061-0062 _ 0072 & 0074-0075]] of terminal fitting 55 [indicated in ¶[0046 & 0068]], & second wire 100 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]] fixed to second terminal fitting 55B [indicated in ¶[0046_0048_0051_0059-0061 & 0072]] of terminal fitting 55} in each of which terminal 55 {terminal fitting 55} is attached to electric wire 90 & 100 in the direction intersecting F of the extending direction U of electric wire 90 & 100); and a housing including a front surface portion formed in a direction intersecting a fitting direction of the connector to a mating connector (items 20, 30, 120, F, U of Fig. 2 & items 20, 120 of Fig. 1 and ¶[0036-0039-0042_0045-0046_0050_0053_0055-0056_0061_0064-0069 & 0072-0073] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 {housing comprised of following structures: housing 20 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]]; dielectric 30 [indicated in ¶[0040-0042_0045_0050_0061_0064-0066 & 0072]]; and front retainer 120 [indicated in ¶[0036_0056-0057 & 0068]]} includes front surface portion 120 {front retainer 120} formed in the direction intersecting U of the fitting direction F of connector 10 to a mating connector {indicated in ¶[0046_0055 & 0067]}), a side wall portion having a frame shape and provided along an outer edge portion of the front surface portion (items 17, 122 of Fig. 2 & item 17 of Fig. 1 and ¶[0037 & 0057] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes side wall portion 17 {front surface opening 17} that has a frame shape and provided along outer edge portion 122 {cover peripheral wall 122} of front surface portion 120), an internal space defined by the front surface portion and the side wall portion and capable of accommodating the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires arrayed along the front surface portion (item 123 of Fig. 2 and ¶[0057] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes internal space 123 {four openings 123} defined by front surface portion 120 and side wall portion 17 and capable of accommodating the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 arrayed along front surface portion 120), a plurality of compartments each of which accommodates and holds the terminal of the plurality of arrayed terminal-attached electric wires in the fitting direction (items 46, 31, F of Fig. 3 and ¶[0041-0044_0046-0047_0050-0051_0060-0061_0065-0066_0070_0072-0073 & 0075] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes a plurality of compartments 46 & 31 {first cavity 46, [indicated in ¶[0042-0044_0047_0050_0061_0066_0070 & 0072-0073]], & second cavity 31, [indicated in ¶[0041_0044_0046-0047_0051_ 0060_0062-0063_0065-0066 & 0072-0075]]} each of which accommodates and holds terminal 55 of the plurality of arrayed terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 in the fitting direction F), and a plurality of electric wire insertion portions each having a cylindrical shape and provided to penetrate the side wall portion and configured to extract the electric wires of the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires from the internal space in the direction intersecting the fitting direction (items 83, 82, F, U of Fig. 2 & items 82, F, U of Fig. 3 and ¶[0054_0058 & 0078-0079] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes a plurality of electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 {first sealing hole 83 where first wires 90 are inserted through, & second sealing hole 82 where second wires 100 are inserted through}; where each electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 has a cylindrical shape and is provided to penetrate side wall portion 17 and configured to extract electric wire 90 & 100 of the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 from internal space 123 in the direction intersecting U of the fitting direction F), wherein the housing includes a guide portion provided between individual accommodating regions for the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires to be arrayed and accommodated in the internal space (items 31, 45, 46 of Fig. 3 & items 11, 123 of Fig. 2 and ¶[0037-0038_0040-0047_0050-0051__0055_0057_0060-0066_0070_0072-0075 & 0078] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes a guide portion 31_45 & 46_45 {guides formed by second cavity 31, [indicated in ¶[0041_0044_0046-0047_0051_ 0060_0062-0063_0065-0066 & 0072-0075]] and middle dielectric 45, [indicated in ¶[0040_0042-0045_0050 & 0061]], & guides formed by first cavity 46, [indicated in ¶[0042-0044_0047_0050_0061_0066_0070 & 0072-0073]] and middle dielectric 45} provided between individual accommodating regions 11_123 {four openings 123, [indicated in ¶[0057]], within accommodation chamber 11, [indicated in ¶[0037-0038_0045_0050_0055_0064-0066_0072 & 0078]]} for the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 to be arrayed and accommodated in internal space 123), the guide portion includes an inclined surface inclined with respect to the extending direction of the electric wire (items 31S, 46S, U of Fig. 3 and ¶[ 0044_0062 & 0066] shows and indicates where guide portion 31_45 & 46_45 includes inclined surface 31S & 46S {rear end surfaces 31S of the second cavities 31 & rear end surfaces 46S of the first cavities 46} inclined with respect to the extending direction U of electric wire 90 & 100), and the inclined surface is inclined so as to be separated from an inner surface of the front surface portion from the electric wire insertion portion toward the compartment (item 121 of Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 and ¶[0037-0038_0040-0047_0050-0051_0055_0057_0060-0066_0070_0072-0075 & 0078] shows and indicates where inclined surface 31S & 46S is inclined so as to be separated from an inner surface 121_122 {inner surface formed by the area from the front surface flat plate portion 121 through the cover peripheral wall 122} of front surface portion 120 from electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 toward compartments 46 & 31).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osawa.
Regarding claim 2, Osawa discloses a connector manufacturing method (item 10 of Figs.1-4 and ¶[0036_0046_0056_0058_0066 & 0070-0072] is understood to show and indicate connector 10 manufacturing method) comprising: an electric wire insertion step of sequentially inserting a plurality of terminal-attached electric wires into a housing through a plurality of electric wire insertion portions each having a cylindrical shape (items 90, 100, 55, 55A, 55B, 20, 30, 120, 83, 82 of Fig. 2 & items 20, 30 of Fig. 1 & item 82 of Fig. 3 and ¶[0036-0042_0044-0048_0050-0051_0054-0056_0058-0062_0064-0069_0072-0075 & 0078-0079] is understood to show and indicate an electric wire insertion step of sequentially inserting a plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 {first wire 90 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]] fixed to first terminal fitting 55A [indicated in ¶[0046-0047_0050 _0059_0061-0062 _ 0072 & 0074-0075]] of terminal fitting 55 [indicated in ¶[0046 & 0068]], & second wire 100 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]] fixed to second terminal fitting 55B [indicated in ¶[0046_0048_0051_0059-0061 & 0072]] of terminal fitting 55} into housing 20_30_120 {housing comprised of following structures: housing 20 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]]; dielectric 30 [indicated in ¶[0040-0042_0045_0050_0061_0064-0066 & 0072]]; and front retainer 120 [indicated in ¶[0036_0056-0057 & 0068]]} through a plurality of electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 {first sealing hole 83 where first wires 90 are inserted through, & second sealing hole 82 where second wires 100 are inserted through}, where each has a cylindrical shape); and an electric wire installation step of arraying the terminal-attached electric wire inserted through the electric wire insertion portion in an accommodating region of an internal space of the housing (items 31, 45, 46 of Fig. 3 & items 11, 123 of Fig. 2 and ¶[0037-0038_0040-0047_0050-0051__0055_0057_0060-0066_0070_0072-0075 & 0078] is understood to show and indicate where an electric wire installation step of arraying terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 inserted through electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 in accommodating regions 11_123 {four openings 123, [indicated in ¶[0057]], within accommodation chamber 11, [indicated in ¶[0037-0038_0045_0050_0055_0064-0066_0072 & 0078]]} of internal space 123 {four openings 123} of housing 20_30_120), and accommodating a terminal of the terminal-attached electric wire in a compartment provided in the housing in a direction intersecting an insertion direction of the electric wire insertion portion (items 46, 31, F, U of Fig. 3 & items F, U of Fig. 2 and ¶[0041-0044_0046-0047_0050-0051_0060-0061_0065-0066_0070_0072-0073 & 0075] is understood to show and indicate accommodating terminal 55 {terminal fitting 55} of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 in compartments 46 & 31 {first cavity 46, [indicated in ¶[0042-0044_0047_0050_0061_0066_0070 & 0072-0073]], & second cavity 31, [indicated in ¶[0041_0044_0046-0047_0051_ 0060_0062-0063_0065-0066 & 0072-0075]]} provided in housing 20_30_120 in the direction intersecting F of the insertion direction U of electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82), wherein the terminal-attached electric wire is obtained by attaching the terminal to an electric wire in the direction intersecting an extending direction of the electric wire (items 90, 100, F, U of Fig. 2 and ¶[0040-0042_0044-0048_0050-0051_0058-0061-0062_0064-0066_0068_0072 & 0074-0075] shows and indicates where terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 is obtained by attaching terminal 55 to electric wire 90 & 100 in the direction intersecting F of the extending direction U of electric wire 90 & 100), the housing laterally arrays the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires in the internal space, and forms a guide portion between each accommodating region of the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires (items 31, 45, 46 of Fig. 3 & items 11, 123 of Fig. 2 and ¶[0037-0038_0040-0047_0050-0051__0055_0057_0060-0066_0070_0072-0075 & 0078] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 laterally arrays the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 in internal space 123 and forms guide portion 31_45 & 46_45 {guides formed by second cavity 31, [indicated in ¶[0041_0044_0046-0047_0051_ 0060_0062-0063_0065-0066 & 0072-0075]] and middle dielectric 45, [indicated in ¶[0040_0042-0045_0050 & 0061]], & guides formed by first cavity 46, [indicated in ¶[0042-0044_0047_0050_0061_0066_0070 & 0072-0073]] and middle dielectric 45} between each accommodating regions 11_123 of the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55), the guide portion includes an inclined surface inclined with respect to the extending direction of the electric wire (items 31S, 46S, U of Fig. 3 and ¶[ 0044_0062 & 0066] shows and indicates where guide portion 31_45 & 46_45 includes inclined surface 31S & 46S {rear end surfaces 31S of the second cavities 31 & rear end surfaces 46S of the first cavities 46} inclined with respect to the extending direction U of electric wire 90 & 100), the inclined surface is inclined so as to be separated from the compartment from the electric wire insertion portion toward the compartment (Figs. 2-3 and ¶[0037-0038_0040-0047_0050-0051__0055_0057_0060-0066_0070_0072-0075 & 0078] shows and indicates where inclined surface 31S & 46S is inclined so as to be separated from electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 toward compartments 46 & 31), and the electric wire insertion step allows the terminal to abut on the inclined surface of the guide portion, and allows the terminal to be inserted into the electric wire insertion portion so as to be separated from the compartment (Figs. 1-3 and ¶[0037-0038_0040-0047_0050-0051__0055_0057_0060-0066_0070_0072-0075 & 0078] is understood to show and indicate where the electric wire insertion step allows terminal 55 to abut on inclined surface 31S & 46S of guide portion 31_45 & 46_45, and allows terminal 55 to be inserted into electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 so as to be separated from compartments 46 & 31, as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osawa in view of Bhat et al. (US20190173220A1 and Bhat hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Osawa discloses a wire harness comprising (item 10 of Figs.1-4 and ¶[0036_0046_0056_0058_0066 & 0070-0072] is interpreted to show and indicate a wire harness comprising connector 10): a plurality of electric wires (items 90, 100 of Fig. 2 and ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072] shows and indicates a plurality of electric wires 90 & 100 {first wire 90 & second wire 100}); and a connector including a housing that allows insertion of the plurality of electric wires and holds the electric wires (item 10 of Figs.1-4 & items 20, 30, 120 of Fig. 2 & items 20, 120 of Fig. 1 & Figs. 3-4 and ¶[0036-0039-0042_0045-0046_0050_0053_0055-0056_0058_0061_0064-0069 & 0070-0073] shows and indicates connector 10 including housing 20_30_120 {housing comprised of following structures: housing 20 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]]; dielectric 30 [indicated in ¶[0040-0042_0045_0050_0061_0064-0066 & 0072]]; and front retainer 120 [indicated in ¶[0036_0056-0057 & 0068]]} that allows insertion of the plurality of electric wires 90 & 100 and holds electric wires 90 & 100), the connector configured to be able to connect to a mating connector (Fig. 1 and ¶[0046_0055 & 0067] indicates connector 10 configured to be able to connect to a mating connector), wherein the plurality of electric wires constitutes a plurality of terminal-attached electric wires in each of which a terminal is attached in a direction intersecting an extending direction (items 55, 55A, 55B, F, U of Fig. 2 and ¶[0040-0042_0044-0048_0050-0051_0058-0061-0062_0064-0066_0068_0072 & 0074-0075] shows and indicates where the plurality of electric wires 90 & 100 constitutes a plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 {first wire 90 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]] fixed to first terminal fitting 55A [indicated in ¶[0046-0047_0050 _0059_0061-0062 _ 0072 & 0074-0075]] of terminal fitting 55 [indicated in ¶[0046 & 0068]], & second wire 100 [indicated in ¶[0040_0044_0046_0050-0051_0058_0066 & 0072]] fixed to second terminal fitting 55B [indicated in ¶[0046_0048_0051_0059-0061 & 0072]] of terminal fitting 55} in each of which terminal 55 {terminal fitting 55} is attached in the direction intersecting F of the extending direction U), the housing includes: a front surface portion formed in a direction intersecting a fitting direction of the connector to the mating connector (items 120, F, U of Fig. 2 & and ¶[0036-0039-0042_0045-0046_0050_0053_0055-0056_0061_0064-0069 & 0072-0073] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 includes front surface portion 120 {front retainer 120} formed in the direction intersecting U of the fitting direction F of connector 10 to a mating connector {indicated in ¶[0046_0055 & 0067]}); a side wall portion having a frame shape and provided along an outer edge portion of the front surface portion (items 17, 122 of Fig. 2 & item 17 of Fig. 1 and ¶[0037 & 0057] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes side wall portion 17 {front surface opening 17} that has a frame shape and provided along outer edge portion 122 {cover peripheral wall 122} of front surface portion 120); an internal space defined by the front surface portion and the side wall portion and capable of accommodating the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires arrayed along the front surface portion (item 123 of Fig. 2 and ¶[0057] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes internal space 123 {four openings 123} defined by front surface portion 120 and side wall portion 17 and capable of accommodating the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 arrayed along front surface portion 120); a plurality of compartments each of which accommodates and holds the terminal of the plurality of arrayed terminal-attached electric wires in the fitting direction (items 46, 31, F of Fig. 3 and ¶[0041-0044_0046-0047_0050-0051_0060-0061_0065-0066_0070_0072-0073 & 0075] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes a plurality of compartments 46 & 31 {first cavity 46, [indicated in ¶[0042-0044_0047_0050_0061_0066_0070 & 0072-0073]], & second cavity 31, [indicated in ¶[0041_0044_0046-0047_0051_ 0060_0062-0063_0065-0066 & 0072-0075]]} each of which accommodates and holds terminal 55 of the plurality of arrayed terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 in the fitting direction F); and a plurality of electric wire insertion portions each having a cylindrical shape and provided to penetrate the side wall portion and configured to extract the electric wires of the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires from the internal space in the direction intersecting the fitting direction (items 83, 82, F, U of Fig. 2 & items 82, F, U of Fig. 3 and ¶[0054_0058 & 0078-0079] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes a plurality of electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 {first sealing hole 83 where first wires 90 are inserted through, & second sealing hole 82 where second wires 100 are inserted through}; where each electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 has a cylindrical shape and is provided to penetrate side wall portion 17 and configured to extract electric wire 90 & 100 of the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 from internal space 123 in the direction intersecting U of the fitting direction F), the housing includes a guide portion provided between individual accommodating regions for the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires to be arrayed and accommodated in the internal space (items 31, 45, 46 of Fig. 3 & items 11, 123 of Fig. 2 and ¶[0037-0038_0040-0047_0050-0051__0055_0057_0060-0066_0070_0072-0075 & 0078] shows and indicates housing 20_30_120 also includes a guide portion 31_45 & 46_45 {guides formed by second cavity 31, [indicated in ¶[0041_0044_0046-0047_0051_ 0060_0062-0063_0065-0066 & 0072-0075]] and middle dielectric 45, [indicated in ¶[0040_0042-0045_0050 & 0061]], & guides formed by first cavity 46, [indicated in ¶[0042-0044_0047_0050_0061_0066_0070 & 0072-0073]] and middle dielectric 45} provided between individual accommodating regions 11_123 {four openings 123, [indicated in ¶[0057]], within accommodation chamber 11, [indicated in ¶[0037-0038_0045_0050_0055_0064-0066_0072 & 0078]]} for the plurality of terminal-attached electric wires 90_55 & 100_55 to be arrayed and accommodated in internal space 123), the guide portion including an inclined surface inclined with respect to the extending direction of the electric wire (items 31S, 46S, U of Fig. 3 and ¶[ 0044_0062 & 0066] shows and indicates where guide portion 31_45 & 46_45 includes inclined surface 31S & 46S {rear end surfaces 31S of the second cavities 31 & rear end surfaces 46S of the first cavities 46} inclined with respect to the extending direction U of electric wire 90 & 100), and the inclined surface is inclined so as to be separated from an inner surface of the front surface portion from the electric wire insertion portion toward the compartment (item 121 of Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 and ¶[0037-0038_0040-0047_0050-0051_0055_0057_0060-0066_0070_0072-0075 & 0078] shows and indicates where inclined surface 31S & 46S is inclined so as to be separated from an inner surface 121_122 {inner surface formed by the area from the front surface flat plate portion 121 through the cover peripheral wall 122} of front surface portion 120 from electric wire insertion portions 83 & 82 toward compartments 46 & 31).
Osawa discloses the claimed invention except to explicitly disclose a wire harness.
Bhat disclose a wire harness (item 100 of Figs. 1-2 and ¶[0032] shows and indicates electrical connector 100 may represent part of, or connect to, a charger inlet harness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a wire harness into the structure of Osawa. One would have been motivated in the wire harness of Osawa and have the wire harness, in order to charger the inlet harness of the vehicle that is used to charge a battery of the vehicle through a connector, as indicated by Bhat in ¶[0032], in the wire harness of Osawa.
Conclusion
/GUILLERMO J EGOAVIL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847