DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 10-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,947,727).
Regarding to claim 1, Lee teaches a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 15, element 100);
an isolation structure arranged on a side of the substrate (Fig. 15, element 122a; column 14, lines 40-42), the isolation structure being configured to enclose a plurality of defining openings and a plurality of light-transmitting openings (Fig. 15);
a light-emitting functional layer comprising a plurality of light-emitting portions, each of the plurality of light-emitting portions being at least partially arranged in the defining opening (Fig. 15, element 123; column 14, lines 40-42);
a touch layer arranged on a side of the isolation structure facing away from the substrate (Fig. 15, element 155; column 15, lines 1-3); and
a light-transmitting shielding layer arranged between the isolation structure and the touch layer (Fig. 15, element 159b; column 16, lines 13-17), an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate being at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate (Fig. 15).
Regarding to claim 4, Lee teaches at least part of the touch layer is electrically connected to the light-transmitting shielding layer (Fig. 15).
Regarding to claim 5, Lee teaches a first encapsulation layer, the first encapsulation layer covers a side of the light-transmitting shielding layer facing away from the substrate, the first encapsulation layer comprises a first opening, the light-transmitting shielding layer is exposed by the first opening, and at least part of the touch layer is electrically connected to the light-transmitting shielding layer by the first opening (Fig. 15, element 159a).
Regarding to claim 6, Lee teaches a display region and a non-display region connected to each other, and the first opening is located in the non-display region (Fig. 15).
Regarding to claim 10, Lee teaches the light-transmitting opening is located between the adjacent defining openings (Fig. 15); or an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the substrate is grid-like and has a grid intersection position, and the light-transmitting opening is arranged at the grid intersection position.
Regarding to claim 11, Lee teaches along a direction from the touch layer to the substrate, the orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate is at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the substrate (Fig. 15).
Regarding to claim 12, Lee teaches the isolation structure comprises a first isolation portion and a second isolation portion stacked on the first isolation portion, the first isolation portion is arranged on a side of the second isolation portion close to the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the substrate (Fig. 15).
Regarding to claim 20, Lee teaches a display apparatus, comprising the display panel of claim 1 (column 1, lines 13-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 10-14, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,114,542) in view of Liang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0081758).
Regarding to claim 1, Park teaches a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 6, element 100);
an isolation structure arranged on a side of the substrate (Fig. 6, element 119; column 8, line 23), the isolation structure being configured to enclose a plurality of defining openings and a plurality of light-transmitting openings (Fig. 6);
a light-emitting functional layer comprising a plurality of light-emitting portions, each of the plurality of light-emitting portions being at least partially arranged in the defining opening (Fig. 6, elements OLED1 and OLED2; column 9, line 22);
a touch layer arranged on a side of the isolation structure facing away from the substrate (Fig. 6, element 400; column 9, line 29); and
a light-transmitting shielding layer (Fig. 6, element 510; column 10, lines 1-3), an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate being at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate (Fig. 6, column 10, lines 24-26).
Park does not disclose the light-transmitting shielding layer is arranged between the isolation structure and the touch layer.
Liang disclose a light-transmitting shielding layer arranged between a isolation structure and a touch layer (Fig. 5, light-transmitting shielding layer 5 arranged between isolation structure 32 and touch layer 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park in view of Liang to arrange the light-transmitting shielding layer between the isolation structure and the touch layer in order increase sensitivity for touching operations.
Regarding to claim 2, Park teaches the display panel further comprises a first planarization layer, the light-transmitting shielding layer is arranged on a side of the first planarization layer facing away from the substrate, and at least part of the first planarization layer is arranged in the light-transmitting opening (Fig. 6, element 320).
Regarding to claim 8, Park teaches the display panel further comprises a first electrode layer located on a side of the light-emitting portion facing away from the substrate, the first electrode layer comprises a first electrode located in the defining opening, and the first electrode is electrically connected to the light-transmitting shielding layer (Fig. 6, element 223; column 8, lines 58-59).
Regarding to claim 10, Park teaches the light-transmitting opening is located between the adjacent defining openings (Fig. 6); or an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the substrate is grid-like and has a grid intersection position, and the light-transmitting opening is arranged at the grid intersection position.
Regarding to claim 11, Park teaches along a direction from the touch layer to the substrate, the orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate is at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the substrate (Fig. 6).
Regarding to claim 12, Park teaches the isolation structure comprises a first isolation portion and a second isolation portion stacked on the first isolation portion, the first isolation portion is arranged on a side of the second isolation portion close to the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the substrate.
Regarding to claim 13, Park teaches the display panel further comprises a pixel defining layer arranged between the substrate and the isolation structure, the pixel defining layer comprises a plurality of pixel openings, an orthographic projection of the pixel opening on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the defining opening on the substrate, and the isolation structure is arranged on a side of the pixel defining layer facing away from the substrate, and at least part of the light-emitting portion is arranged in the pixel opening (Fig. 6).
Regarding to claim 14, Park teaches the first planarization layer comprises a transparent filling portion arranged in the light-transmitting opening, and the light-transmitting shielding layer is located on a side of the transparent filling portion facing away from the substrate (Fig. 6).
Regarding to claim 16, Park teaches the light-transmitting shielding layer comprises a plurality of light-transmitting blocking portions, the plurality of light-transmitting blocking portions are spaced apart, and the orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting blocking portion on the substrate (Fig. 6, plurality of block portions 510).
Regarding to claim 20, Park teaches the display panel of claim 1 (Fig. 3).
Claims 1-3, 10-11, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0081758) in view of Kusunoki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,804,064).
Regarding to claim 1, Liang teaches a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 5, element 1);
an isolation structure arranged on a side of the substrate (Fig. 5, element 32; [0093], last 2 lines), the isolation structure being configured to enclose a plurality of defining openings and a plurality of light-transmitting openings (Fig. 5);
a light-emitting functional layer comprising a plurality of light-emitting portions, each of the plurality of light-emitting portions being at least partially arranged in the defining opening (Fig. 5, element 33; [0093], last 2 lines);
a touch layer arranged on a side of the isolation structure facing away from the substrate (Fig. 5, element 6; [0085], line 4); and
a light-transmitting shielding layer arranged between the isolation structure and the touch layer (Fig. 5, element 5; [0085], line 4).
Liang does not disclose an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate being at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate.
Kusunoki discloses an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate being at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate (Fig. 10A, column 31, lines 1-4, orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer 158 on the substrate being at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liang in view of Kusunoki to configure n orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate being at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate in order to avoid interference.
Regarding to claim 2, Liang teaches a first planarization layer, the light-transmitting shielding layer is arranged on a side of the first planarization layer facing away from the substrate, and at least part of the first planarization layer is arranged in the light-transmitting opening (Fig. 5, element 4).
Regarding to claim 3, Liang teaches the first planarization layer covers a side of the isolation structure facing away from the substrate, the first planarization layer covers a side of the light-emitting functional layer facing away from the substrate (Fig 5), and the display panel further comprises a first encapsulation layer, the first encapsulation layer is arranged between the first planarization layer and the touch layer, and the first encapsulation layer covers a side of the light-transmitting shielding layer facing away from the substrate (Fig. 5, element 56).
Regarding to claim 10, Liang teaches the light-transmitting opening is located between the adjacent defining openings (Fig. 5); or an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the substrate is grid-like and has a grid intersection position, and the light-transmitting opening is arranged at the grid intersection position.
Regarding to claim 11, Liang teaches along a direction from the touch layer to the substrate, the orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate is at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the substrate (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 13, Liang teaches the display panel further comprises a pixel defining layer arranged between the substrate and the isolation structure, the pixel defining layer comprises a plurality of pixel openings, an orthographic projection of the pixel opening on the substrate is located within a range of an orthographic projection of the defining opening on the substrate, and the isolation structure is arranged on a side of the pixel defining layer facing away from the substrate, and at least part of the light-emitting portion is arranged in the pixel opening (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 14, Liang teaches the first planarization layer comprises a transparent filling portion arranged in the light-transmitting opening, and the light-transmitting shielding layer is located on a side of the transparent filling portion facing away from the substrate (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 15, Liang teaches a distance between a surface of the transparent filling portion facing away from the substrate and the substrate is a first distance, and a distance between a surface of the isolation structure facing away from the substrate and the substrate is a second distance, and the first distance is less than or equal to the second distance (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 16, Liang teaches the light-transmitting shielding layer comprises a plurality of light-transmitting blocking portions, the plurality of light-transmitting blocking portions are spaced apart, and the orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting blocking portion on the substrate (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 20, Liang teaches A display apparatus, comprising the display panel of claim 1 (the title).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 7, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the light-transmitting shielding layer further comprises a plurality of first vias, the first planarization layer and the first encapsulation layer are in contact through the plurality of first vias, and an orthographic projection of the light-emitting portion on the light-transmitting shielding layer is at least partially overlapped with the first via” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1 and 4-5, and the rest of limitations recited in claim 7.
Regarding to claim 9, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the first planarization layer comprises a second opening, the conductive layer is exposed by the second opening, a portion of the light-transmitting shielding layer is arranged in the second opening and is electrically connected to the conductive layer, and the display panel comprises a display region and a non-display region connected to each other, the conductive layer comprises a main body portion located in the display region and a frame portion located in the non-display region, the second opening is located in the non-display region” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1 and the rest of limitations recited in claim 9.
Regarding to claim 17, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the light-transmitting blocking portion is electrically connected to the isolation structure” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1-2, 14, 16 and the rest of limitations recited in claim 17.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-20240099071-A1, US-11538270-B2, US-10831294-B2, US-10886353-B2, US-12349576-B2, US-12524102-B2, and US-20240249551-A1, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose “a light-transmitting shielding layer arranged between the isolation structure and the touch layer, an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting shielding layer on the substrate being at least partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-transmitting opening on the substrate.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897