DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 24 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa et al. (JP 2541667 B2) in view of Zheng et al. (CN 110340459 A).
Regarding claims 1-2, Kitagawa et al. discloses a tap machining method comprising: forming a female thread (in hole 10a) by cutting while synchronizing a rotation phase of a main spindle with positions of a workpiece to be machined (using numerical control device 80) by a tap 16 and the main spindle 18 in a rotation axis direction of the main spindle, the main spindle rotating while holding the tap with a tool holder 14 mounted on a distal end portion.
Kitagawa et al. does not disclose adding or subtracting an angle amount of torsional deformation of the tap generated according to a cutting speed to or from the rotation phase of the main spindle during the synchronization, or wherein the angle amount of the torsional deformation of the tap is calculated from a relationship between an angle amount of the torsional deformation of the tap and the cutting speed preliminarily obtained by at least any one of a calculation based on material mechanics, a finite element method, or an actual measurement.
Zheng et al. teaches a tap machining method wherein a tap tool shaft torsion deformation is measured according to a rotational period (time for one rotation of the tap) from a rotational phase of the tap main spindle (circumferential position of the tap which is attached to a spindle), wherein the angle amount of the torsional deformation of the tap is calculated from a relationship between an angle amount ΔӨ-1 of the torsional deformation of the tap and the cutting speed (based on the rotational period) using a calculation of actual measurements by a photoelectric sensor, all for the purpose of optimizing the tapping precision of the machine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the tap machining method of Kitagawa et al. with the torsional deformation measurement of Zheng et al. in order to improve the tapping precision of the tap machining method.
Regarding claims 3-4, Kitagawa et al. discloses a tap machining apparatus comprising: a machining unit 12/14/16/18/20 that forms a female thread (in hole 10a) by cutting while synchronizing a rotation phase of a main spindle 18 with positions of a workpiece 10 to be machined (using numerical control device 80) by a tap 16 and the main spindle in a rotation axis direction of the main spindle, the main spindle rotating while holding the workpiece mounted on a distal end portion 12.
Kitagawa et al. does not disclose an adding or subtracting unit that adds or subtract an angle amount of torsional deformation of the tap generated according to a cutting speed to or from the rotation phase of the main spindle during the synchronization, or wherein the angle amount of the torsional deformation of the tap is calculated from a relationship between an angle amount of the torsional deformation of the tap and the cutting speed preliminarily obtained by at least any one of a calculation based on material mechanics, a finite element method, or an actual measurement.
Zheng et al. teaches a tap machining apparatus comprising a control box 2 that is used whereby a tap tool shaft torsion deformation is measured according to a rotational period (time for one rotation of the tap) from a rotational phase of the tap main spindle (circumferential position of the tap which is attached to a spindle), wherein the angle amount of the torsional deformation of the tap is calculated from a relationship between an angle amount ΔӨ-1 of the torsional deformation of the tap and the cutting speed (based on the rotational period) using a calculation of actual measurements by a photoelectric sensor, all for the purpose of optimizing the tapping precision of the machine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the tap machining method of Kitagawa et al. with the torsional deformation measurement of Zheng et al. in order to improve the tapping precision of the tap machining apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-7, filed 24 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kitagawa et al. (JP 2541667 B2) in view of Zheng et al. (CN 110340459 A).
Conclusion
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 15 July 2026