DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-15 and 17-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner notes the Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the newly amended claim language which requires new prior art interpretations as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Williams (US 9580879).
Regarding claim 17, Williams discloses a pole tamper comprising: a handle [#7]; a motor [[#2; Figure 7; positioned in housing #4] supported by the handle; a shoe [#5] supported by the handle; a drive mechanism [piston positioned within percussion housing #24; Figure 5] operably coupled to the motor, the drive mechanism configured to move the shoe in a reciprocating manner; and a sensor [as part of IMU #650; Column 11, Lines 18-42] supported by the handle and configured to deactivate the motor in response to detection of the handle deviating from a substantially upright position [Willaims discloses the IMU can recognize a litany of parameters including disturbance from the environment to the device including positional state of the compactor body, pitch/yaw, torque/force, movement of inertia and magnitude of the system, lateral velocity, acceleration (Column 14, Line 4 to Column 15, Line 22); as such, the device is at least configured to stop moving].
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Williams further discloses the sensor is an accelerometer [Column 11, Lines 18-42] coupled to the handle [they are connected/joined together; Figure 4a], and the sensor and shoe are coupled to opposite sides of the handle [left and right sides respectively; Figure 4a].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 9580879) in view of Hamilton (US 2018/0016764).
Regarding claim 13, Williams discloses a pole tamper comprising: a handle [#7]; a motor [#2; Figure 7; positioned in housing #4] supported by the handle; a shoe [#5] supported by the handle; a drive mechanism [piston positioned within percussion housing #24; Figure 5] operably coupled to the motor, the drive mechanism configured to move the shoe in a reciprocating manner; and a sensor [as part of IMU #650; Column 11, Lines 18-42] supported by the handle and configured to deactivate the motor in response to detection of the handle deviating from a substantially upright position [Willaims discloses the IMU can recognize a litany of parameters including disturbance from the environment to the device including positional state of the compactor body, pitch/yaw, torque/force, movement of inertia and magnitude of the system, lateral velocity, acceleration (Column 14, Line 4 to Column 15, Line 22); as such, the device is at least configured to stop moving].
Williams fails to disclose a remote power unit unsupported by the handle and a cable configured to transmit electrical current from the remote power unit to the motor.
Hamilton teaches a pole tamper comprising a remote power unit unsupported by the handle and a cable configured to transmit electrical current from the remote power unit to the motor [outlet where corded plugs plug in; Paragraph 13].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Williams by substituting an internal combustion based power system for an electric, plug-in one as described by Hamilton to reduce environmental emissions, save on fuel costs, and obviate requiring to bring additional fuel wherever the device is intended to operate, thereby saving time/money and helping the environment.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, it would have been obvious to include a motor control unit on the device [e.g. a switch to turn it on/off].
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Williams further discloses the sensor is an accelerometer [Column 11, Lines 18-42] coupled to the handle [they are connected/joined together; Figure 4a], and the sensor and shoe are coupled to opposite sides of the handle [left and right sides respectively; Figure 4a].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 9580879) in view of Steffan (US 2013/0279980).
Williams fails to disclose the compactor is powered by a battery pack connected to the motor.
Steffan teaches a tamper comprising a battery pack [13] connected to, and powering, the motor.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Williams by substituting an internal combustion based power system for an electric, plug-in one as described by Steffan to reduce environmental emissions, save on fuel costs, and obviate requiring to bring additional fuel wherever the device is intended to operate and to further extend the range of use of the device, thereby saving time/money and helping the environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 7-11 are allowed.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record fails to disclose, teach or suggest – either alone or in combination – a pole tamper having a remote power unit that is unsupported by the handle and connected to a batter pack; as explicitly recited in the instant claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Becket et al. (US 2014/0161541) discloses a tamper comprising an automatic shutdown system to improve safety.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619