DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The priority document retrieval of foreign application CN202221404850.4 failed on 06/03/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted 5/14/2024 and 6/18/2025 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. WO-2022110652-A1 (US-20230275298-A1 used as translation and cited in PTO-892) (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a battery casing (battery tray) 10 in Figs. 1-2 and 6 (see abstract and paragraph [0026]), comprising:
a shell (tray body) 100 configured to accommodate a battery cell 20 (the tray body 100 forms a battery accommodating cavity for accommodating a battery module 20 or a cell) in Figs. 1-2 and 6 (see paragraph [0026]); and
a cushion assembly (first protection plate) 300 provided with a plurality of cushion holes (cellular structure in energy-absorbing plate 302 of cushion assembly 300), and configured to be deformed to reduce a stress transmitted to the shell 100 when the cushion assembly 300 is subjected to an external impact (impact to the battery module 20 in the battery tray 10 can be reduced, thereby improving the anti-impact capability of the battery tray 10) in Figs. 1-2 and 6 (see paragraphs [0026]-[0028] and [0033]-[0034]),
wherein the cushion assembly 300 comprises a connecting member 301 and a cushion member 302, the connecting member 301 is arranged on a side of the shell 100 away from the battery cell 20 (covering plates 301 are located on two sides of the energy-absorbing plate 302, thus the covering plate 301 that is connected to the tray bottom plate would function as the connecting member), the cushion member 302 is fixed to the shell 100 through the connecting member 301 (first protection plate 300 is fixed on the tray bottom plate via covering plate/high-strength plate 301) in Figs. 1-2 and 6 (see paragraphs [0026]-[0028]), and
the cushion holes are provided in the cushion member 302; the cushion member 302 is arranged on a side of the connecting member 301 away from the shell 100 in Figs. 1-2 and 6 (see annotated Figs. 1 and 2 below) (see paragraphs [0026]-[0028]).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses the battery casing according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Wang further discloses wherein an orthographic projection of each of the cushion holes on the shell is in a shape of a honeycomb shape (cellular structure) (see structure comparison below) in Fig. 2 (see paragraphs [0026]-[0028] and [0033]-[0034]).
Figure 1. Honeycomb Structure of Instant Application
Figure 2. Honeycomb Structure of Wang
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses the battery casing according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Wang further discloses a battery (battery pack), comprising the battery casing according to the aforementioned claim 1 (see paragraphs [0002]-[0004] and [0016]).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses the battery casing according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above). Wang further discloses an electricity-consuming apparatus, comprising the battery according to the aforementioned claim 9, wherein the battery is configured to supply an electric power (see paragraphs [0002]-[0004] and [0017]).
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng et al. CN-210576135-U (hereinafter “Peng”).
Regarding Claim 1, Peng discloses a battery casing in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0007]-[0022]), comprising:
a shell (top plate 11, bottom plate 12, and side plate 13 of the battery module 1 form a box) configured to accommodate a battery cell (battery module) 1 in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0022]-[0023]); and
a cushion assembly (buffering assembly) 2/3 provided with a plurality of cushion holes (holes in buffer element 22 to form wavy cross-section), and configured to be deformed to reduce a stress transmitted to the shell when the cushion assembly is subjected to an external impact (when the battery module is impacted by an external force, the first buffer component and the second buffer component collapse to absorb energy) in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0007]-[0008] and [0022]-[0023]),
wherein the cushion assembly comprises a connecting member (mounting plate) 23 and a cushion member (buffer member) 22, the connecting member 23 is arranged on a side of the shell away from the battery cell 1, the cushion member 22 is fixed to the shell through the connecting member 23 in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0022]-[0024]), and
the cushion holes are provided in the cushion member 22; the cushion member 22 is arranged on a side of the connecting member 23 away from the shell in Figs. 1-2 (see annotated Fig. 1 below) (see paragraphs [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 3, Peng discloses the battery casing according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Peng further discloses wherein the shell comprises a top plate 11, a bottom plate 12 and a plurality of side plates 13 connecting the top plate 11 and the bottom plate 12, the plurality of side plates 13, the top plate 11 and the bottom plate 12 enclose and form an accommodating cavity to accommodate the battery cell 1 (the top plate 11, bottom plate 12, and side plate 13 of the battery module 1 form a box with a sealing level of IP67), and the connecting member 23 is arranged on a side of at least one of the side plates 13 away from the accommodating cavity (the connecting member 23 is snapped between the top plate 11 and the bottom plate 12, which would result in the connecting member 23 being arranged on a side of at least one of the side plates 13 away from the accommodating cavity) in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 4, Peng discloses the battery casing according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above). Peng further discloses wherein the connecting member 23 comprises:
a body arranged opposite to any one of the side plates 13, where the cushion member 22 is arranged; and
a connecting part 231, formed by at least a portion of an edge of the body extending in a direction towards the side plate 13, wherein the connecting part 231 is connected to the side plates 13 (the connecting part 231 is detachably connected to the top plate 11 and the bottom plate 12, which are connected to the side plates 13 to form a box, thereby connecting the connecting part 231 and side plates 13) in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 5, Peng discloses the battery casing according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above). Peng further discloses wherein the connecting member 23 comprises two said connecting parts (protrusions on top and bottom) 231 that are arranged on two sides of the body respectively to be opposite to each other in Figs. 1-2 (see Fig. 2 below) (see paragraph [0024]).
Regarding Claim 7, Peng discloses the battery casing according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above). Peng further discloses wherein the body and the connecting part 231 are integrally formed in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 9, Peng discloses the battery casing according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above). Peng further discloses a battery (power battery module), comprising the battery casing according to the aforementioned claim 1 (see paragraphs [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding Claim 10, Peng discloses the battery casing according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above). Peng further discloses an electricity-consuming apparatus, comprising the battery according to the aforementioned claim 9, wherein the battery is configured to supply an electric power (see paragraphs [0004]-[0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng in view of Niedzwiecki et al. US-20130288105-A1 (hereinafter “Niedzwiecki”).
Regarding Claim 6, Peng discloses the battery casing according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above). Peng further discloses wherein the cushion member 22 comprises a first portion and the first portion is arranged on a surface of the body in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraphs [0023]-[0025]). Peng also discloses the two ends of the cushion member 22 are welded to the baffle 21 and the connecting member 23, respectively and the cushion member 22 provides better collapse energy absorption effect, avoiding the direct transmission of impact force to the battery module 1 in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraph [0023]).
Peng is silent on wherein the cushion member comprises second portions and the second portions cover the connecting parts and are connected to two sides of the first portion respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor of battery casings (battery modules including structures for retaining a plurality of electrochemical cells) (see abstract and paragraph [0002]), Niedzwiecki discloses sideplates 14 with cushion members (ribs) 28 and protruding parts (lips) 34 to extend over the top of the cells in Figs. 1-4 (see paragraphs [0020]-[0021])
Niedzwiecki additionally discloses the lips 34 on the sideplates 14 extend over the top of the cells to prevent the cells 12 from moving vertically during shock or vibration events and that joining the battery components using snap features instead of laser welding can reduce cost (see paragraphs [0018] and [0021]). A skilled artisan is capable of using snap features, as taught by Niedzwiecki, as second portions to attach the cushion member and connecting parts of the connecting member of Peng as a cheaper alternative to welding that would also aid in preventing the cells from moving vertically during shock or vibration events.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery casing of Peng wherein the cushion member comprises second portions and the second portions cover the connecting parts and are connected to two sides of the first portion respectively, as disclosed by Niedzwiecki, in order to appropriately connect the cushion member to the connecting member and prevent the cells from moving vertically during shock or vibration events.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng.
Regarding Claim 8, Peng discloses the battery casing according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above). Peng further discloses the two ends of the cushion member 22 are welded to the baffle 21 and the connecting member 23, respectively in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraph [0023]).
Peng is silent on wherein the cushion member and the connecting member are integrally formed.
However, the use of a one piece construction instead of a welded structure of the cushion member and connecting member would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice (see MPEP 2144.04, V, B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the battery casing of Peng wherein the cushion member and the connecting member are integrally formed as it is a matter of obvious engineering choice to use a one piece construction.
Conclusion
/S.L.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729