DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Figure 3A, change 190 to 190A.
In Figure 8A, change from 180A to 190B.
In Figure 12C, delete 180A and 190A. They are not present at this stage of the process.
In Figure 12D, delete 180A and 190A. They are not present at this stage of the process.
In Figure 12E, delete 180A and 190A. They are not present at this stage of the process.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (a) the first and second epitaxial layers of the semiconductor liner layer of claim 5; (b) the first and second silicon epitaxial layers of the semiconductor liner layer claim 12; and (c) the third and fourth epitaxial layers of the first semiconductor liner layer of claim 20, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 100 in Figure 12F.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 15, paragraph 58, line 2 of the paragraph: Should “gallium” be “boron”?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 2: Add a comma after “SiGe”.
Claim 5, line 2: Add a comma after “germanium”, and add “the first epitaxial layer”.
Claim 5, line 3: Add a comma after “germanium”, and add “the second epitaxial layer”.
Claim 6 is objected to for depending from objected-to base claim 5.
Claim 8, line 2: After “at least one”, add “selected from the group consisting”, to ensure that this claim is interpreted as a Markush group, if this is what applicants intended.
Claim 9 is objected to for depending from objected-to base claim 8.
Claim 13, line 2: After “at least one”, add “selected from the group consisting”, to ensure that this claim is interpreted as a Markush group, if this is what applicants intended.
Claim 17, line 2: Add a comma after “SiGe”.
Claim 20, line 2: Add a comma after “germanium”, and add “the third epitaxial layer”.
Claim 20, line 3: Add a comma after “germanium”, and add “the fourth epitaxial layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 10: Claim 10 defines the second epitaxial layer doped with a second conductivity-type second impurity as being included in the semiconductor contact layer. See claim 10, lines 17-18. However, claim 12 includes, in the semiconductor liner layer, a second silicon epitaxial layer doped with the first impurity at a second concentration as the second epitaxial layer. This language is interpreted as placing the second epitaxial layer in the semiconductor liner layer. However, in claim 10, the first impurity (second conductivity-type first impurity) is associated with the first epitaxial layer of the semiconductor liner layer, not the second epitaxial layer of the semiconductor contact layer. Because the language is confusing, claim 12 is rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yin, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0157969, Figures 1-20.
Regarding claim 1: Yin Figures 1-20 disclose a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate (202); an active pattern (unnumbered base portion of fin-shaped structure (212)) extending on the substrate (202) in a first direction (X); a plurality of channel layers (208/2080) on the active pattern, the plurality of channel layers (208/2080) spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction (Z) perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (202); a gate structure (260) crossing the active pattern, the gate structure (260) surrounding the plurality of channel layers (208/2080) and extending in a second direction (Y), the second direction (Y) being orthogonal to the first direction (X); and source/drain patterns (244) on a region of the active pattern on both sides of the gate structure (260), the source/drain patterns (244) having a semiconductor liner layer (238) connected to each of side surfaces of the plurality of channel layers (208/2080), and a semiconductor filling layer (240) on the semiconductor liner layer (238), wherein the semiconductor liner layer (238) includes silicon-germanium (SiGe) doped with a first conductivity-type impurity (p, boron or gallium), and the semiconductor filling layer (240) includes an epitaxial layer having a germanium (Ge) concentration greater than a Ge concentration of the semiconductor liner layer (238), and the epitaxial layer being doped with Ga. Yin specification ¶¶ 12-40.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1: Yin discloses the semiconductor filling layer (238) overlaps at least a portion of a lowermost channel layer (208/2080) from among the plurality of channel layers (208/2080) in a direction horizontal to the upper surface of the substrate (202). See Yin Figure 20.
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1: Yin discloses the first conductivity-type impurity includes at least one of B, Ga, and In. Yin specification ¶ 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin, and further in view of Kim, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0151319, Figures 1, 2A, and 6.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Yin is silent as to the specifics relating the germanium concentration of the semiconductor liner layer and the semiconductor filling layer.
Kim Figures 1, 2A, and 6, directed to similar subject matter, discloses the Ge concentration of the semiconductor filling layer (27) is 30-90 at %, Kim specification ¶ 59, which overlaps the claim requirement of a Ge concentration of 70 at % or more. (The Ge concentration of the semiconductor liner layer (24), which is less than the Ge concentration of the semiconductor filling layer (27), id. ¶ 57, is 1-40%, id. ¶ 58.) One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yin to include the Kim concentration because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: Kim discloses the semiconductor filling layer includes Ge, SiGe or GeSn. Id. ¶ 57 (SiGe).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin, and further in view of Cho, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0027895, Figures 1, 2A-2D, and 15A-17B.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1: Yin is silent as to whether the semiconductor liner layer includes first and second epitaxial layers.
Cho Figures 1 and 2A-2D, directed to similar subject matter, discloses the semiconductor liner layer (151, 152, 153) includes a first epitaxial layer (151) including germanium having a first concentration and a second epitaxial layer (152) including germanium having a second concentration, the second concentration being greater than the first concentration. Cho specification ¶¶ 31-35, 86-94. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yin to include the Kim concentration because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose.
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 5: Cho discloses the first concentration of the first epitaxial layer is less than 20%, id. ¶ 33, which overlaps the claim requirement of 5 at % to 20 at %, and the second concentration of the second epitaxial layer is 20-40%, which overlaps the claim requirement of 20 at % to 60 at %, id. ¶ 34.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin, and further in view of Chung, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0328020, Figures 2A-11A.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1: Yin is silent as to the presence of a metal-semiconductor compound layer covering the semiconductor liner layer and the semiconductor filling layer; and a contact structure on the metal-semiconductor compound layer.
Chung Figures 2A-11A, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a metal-semiconductor compound layer (240) covering the semiconductor liner layer (228) and the semiconductor filling layer (232); and a contact structure (242) on the metal-semiconductor compound layer (240). Chung specification ¶¶ 15-42. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Yin to include the Chung electrical connection design because the modification would provide an electrical connection to the source/drain regions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 14-16, 18, and 19 are allowed.
Claims 13, 17, and 20 stand objected to for informalities, but would be allowable if the informalities were addressed.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the informality in claim 8 was addressed.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 9: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a concentration distribution of the first conductivity-type impurity from the semiconductor liner layer to the semiconductor filling layer has a peak in a boundary region between the semiconductor liner layer and the semiconductor filling layer”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 10: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a metal-semiconductor compound layer filling the trenches, the metal-semiconductor compound layer in contact with the semiconductor contact layer”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claims 11-15: The claims have been found allowable due to their dependency from claim 10 above.
With regard to claim 16: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a second metal-semiconductor compound layer filling the trenches, the second metal-semiconductor compound layer in contact with the semiconductor contact layer”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claims 17-20: The claims have been found allowable due to their dependency from claim 16 above.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897