DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 11, 2025, have been considered, but are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the corresponding new grounds of rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 2, 5–8, and 10–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110824740 (original and machine translation attached, hereinafter “Zhong”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0168527 to Liu et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0174529 to Fukushima.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhong discloses (e.g., Figs. 2(a) and 2(b) and their corresponding descriptions starting in paragraph [0066] of the translation) a liquid crystal panel comprising: a first transparent substrate 20 (not explicitly labeled as transparent, but reasonably understood to be transparent, as the polarizer 25 includes a transmission axis, suggesting light passing through the polarizer 25, further implying light passing through substrate 20); a first electrode 23; a liquid crystal layer 51; second electrodes 34; an interlayer insulating film 33; a third electrode 32; and a second transparent substrate 30 in this order (Figs. 2(a) and 2(b)), wherein the liquid crystal layer includes overlapping regions overlapping the second electrode electrodes and non-overlapping regions not overlapping the second electrode electrodes (e.g., Figs. 2(a) and 2(b), respective overlapping and non-overlapping regions with respect to second electrode 34), the first electrode and the third electrode control whether a voltage is applied to the non-overlapping regions (e.g., paragraphs [0058]–0063]), and the first electrode and the second electrodes control whether another voltage is applied to the overlapping regions (e.g., paragraphs [0058]–0063]).
Zhong does not explicitly disclose wherein the liquid crystal layer contains at least one of a polymer dispersed liquid crystal or guest-host liquid crystal containing a dichroic dye, the liquid crystal layer includes a transparent region and a switching region that switches between a transmitting state and a scattering or absorption state, and the overlapping regions function as one of the transparent region and the switching region, and the non-overlapping regions function as the other one of the transparent region and the switching region, the transparent region and the switching region are configured to be applied with different voltages.
Liu discloses a privacy display, similar to Zhong, and Liu teaches (e.g., referring to Figs. 6–10 and their description) the liquid crystal layer includes a transparent region 22 and a switching region 21 that switches between a transmitting state and a scattering or absorption state (paragraph [0056]), and the overlapping regions function as one of the transparent region and the switching region, and the non-overlapping regions function as the other one of the transparent region and the switching region (Figs. 6–10), the transparent region and the switching region are configured to be applied with different voltages (Fig. 6, different voltages/electric fields developed in the different regions) in order to achieve a privacy display where a user can adjust the viewing angles of the privacy function in different regions of the display for an improved viewing experience (e.g., paragraph [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Zhong such that the liquid crystal layer includes a transparent region and a switching region that switches between a transmitting state and a scattering or absorption state, and the overlapping regions function as one of the transparent region and the switching region, and the non-overlapping regions function as the other one of the transparent region and the switching region, the transparent region and the switching region are configured to be applied with different voltages, as suggested by Liu, in order to achieve a privacy display where a user can adjust the viewing angles of the privacy function in different regions of the display for an improved viewing experience.
The combination of Zhong and Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein the liquid crystal layer contains at least one of a polymer dispersed liquid crystal or guest-host liquid crystal containing a dichroic dye.
Fukushima discloses a privacy display, similar to Zhong and Liu, and Fukushima teaches that a suitable configuration for the liquid crystal layer is a guest-host liquid crystal containing a dichroic dye, and to achieve a simple structure (e.g., paragraphs [0040], [0099]–[0100], and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Zhong and Liu such that the liquid crystal layer contains at least one of a polymer dispersed liquid crystal or guest-host liquid crystal containing a dichroic dye, as suggested by Fukushima, as a suitable configuration (e.g., MPEP §§ 2144.06–07) and also to achieve a simple structure.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the second electrodes are disposed in a stripe shape or a lattice pattern in a plan view (Figs. 2(a) and 2(b) of Zhong; paragraph [0039] of Liu).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein a thickness of the non-overlapping region is 30 μm or less (where Fukushima discloses an example of 40µm, paragraph [0138], which is close to the claimed 30µm, Fukushima teaches that the viewing angle is a result of thickness and width, paragraph [0137], and Fukushima teaches that the widths can be adjusted to control the viewing angle, paragraph [0093], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing that the thickness can also be adjusted as needed per a specific design to achieve a desired viewing angle).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the second electrodes are a transparent electrode or an electrode including a light absorbing material (paragraph [0075] of Fukushima).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious an image display device (10 of Fukushima, Fig. 1) comprising the liquid crystal panel according to claim 1; and a display panel (13 of Fukushima, Fig. 1) configured to display an image (Fig. 1 of Fukushima).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the liquid crystal panel is arranged between the display panel and a backlight (e.g., 60 of Zhong; 11 of Fukushima, Fig. 1; also where the rearrangement of the basic components of the display would have been obvious, yielding predictable results, e.g., MPEP § 2144.04), and the display panel is a liquid crystal display panel (e.g., paragraphs [0081]–[0085] of Fukushima).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the liquid crystal panel is arranged in front of the display panel (e.g., Figs. 2(a) and 2(b) of Zhong; 11 of Fukushima, Fig. 1; also where the rearrangement of the basic components of the display would have been obvious, yielding predictable results, e.g., MPEP § 2144.04), and the display panel is a self-luminous display panel (e.g., paragraphs [0081]–[0085] of Fukushima).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the overlapping regions correspond to the switching region, and the non-overlapping regions correspond to the transparent region (e.g., Figs. 6–10 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the non-overlapping regions correspond to the switching region, and the overlapping regions correspond to the transparent region (e.g., Figs. 6–10 of Liu, where reversing or rearranging the regions would have been obvious, yielding predictable results, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobviousness, MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the first electrode is disposed in a planar shape on an entirety of a surface of the first transparent substrate, and wherein the third electrode is disposed in a planar shape on an entirety of a surface of the second transparent substrate (e.g., Figs. 2(a) and 2(b) of Zhong).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the thickness of the non-overlapping regions is 10 µm or less (where Fukushima discloses an example of 40µm, paragraph [0138], and teaches that the viewing angle is a result of thickness and width, paragraph [0137], and Fukushima teaches that the widths can be adjusted to control the viewing angle, paragraph [0093], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing that the thickness can also be adjusted as needed per a specific design to achieve a desired viewing angle).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein a pitch of the non-overlapping regions is smaller than a pixel pitch of the display panel (e.g., Figs. 2(a) and 2(b) of Zhong).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima would have rendered obvious wherein the pixel pitch of the display panel is an integer multiple of the pitch of the non-overlapping regions (e.g., Figs. 2(a) and 2(b) of Zhong).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0199043 to Wu.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima does not explicitly disclose wherein the backlight has a local dimming function.
Wu discloses a backlight for a display, and teaches that providing local dimming reduces power consumption and improves frame quality of the display (e.g., paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Zhong, Liu, and Fukushima such that the backlight has a local dimming function, as suggested by Wu, in order to reduce power consumption and improve frame quality of the display.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871