Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a mental process without significantly more.
Representative claim 1 recites:
“A method for extract, transform and load (ETL) processing executed by a processing device, the method comprising:
receiving, from a data catalog, a field mapping between application data and a target schema, wherein the field mapping is defined according to a type of the application data;
receiving, from an ETL processing queue and after the field mapping is received, a signal comprising metadata and indicating that a record or a data file related to the application data is ready for processing, wherein the signal is inserted by the data catalog based on a type of the record or the data file matching the type of the application data;
determining source data by processing the metadata to identify a location of the record or the data file and retrieving the record or the data file from the identified location; and
providing, using the field mapping received from the data catalog, source data to a table defined according to the target schema after retrieving the record or the data file from the identified location.”
Independent claims 17 and 19 recite similar subject matter.
This is a mental process because the claims are directed toward data receiving an identification of data for analysis and performing the analysis. The additional elements in the claims appear to be the receiving steps and the providing step.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements do not appear to improve the processing of a computer, require the use of a particular machine, or provide a technological solution to a technological problem. The receiving steps are merely data gathering steps and represent pre-solution activity. The providing step merely outputs source data to a table after an analysis, and is thus extra post-solution activity. None of these steps appear to improve the processing of a computer, require the use of a particular machine, or provide a technological solution to a technological problem
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because each of the additional elements, in part and in whole, do not appear to improve the processing of a computer, require the use of a particular machine, or provide a technological solution to a technological problem. Data gathering by receiving a mapping or receiving a signal is merely pre-solution activity and is well understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Data output by providing source data to a table after processing is similarly post-solution activity and is well understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Dependent claims 2-7, 10-16, 18, and 20 are similarly directed towards additional data definition, data analysis, and data output steps. They do not appear to provide a practical application or appear to contain elements that, in part or in whole, are significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, dependent claims 2-16, 18, and 20 are also rejected as being directed towards a mental process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosgrove, JR et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0218052) in view of Davis (US Pre-Grant Publication 2016/0071033).
As to claim 1, Cosgrove teaches a method for extract, transform and load (ETL) processing executed by a processing device, the method comprising:
receiving, from a data catalog, a field mapping between application data and a target schema (see Cosgrove paragraph [0050]. Cosgrove shows a mapping table that maps extraction sources and targets to custom attributes. The source data is “application data” because it is in a format output by an application. As noted in paragraphs [0041]-[0042], the system generates a configuration document that generates custom attribute metadata tables. These metadata tables, including a mapping table (paragraph [0044]) are used later in the process to facilitate ETL processing),
wherein the field mapping is defined according to a type of the application data (see paragraphs [0022] and [0044]. The mapping table contains source data information, or a “type” of source data, custom attribute data types and a unique identifier of each source and target table);
receiving, from an ETL processing [application] and after the field mapping is received, a signal comprising metadata and indicating that a record or a data file related to the application data is ready for processing (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0046]-[0047]. Cosgrove shows an ETL processing application that submits a signal to begin processing a record or data file related to a selected set of application data by showing the identification of custom attributes to be processed. As noted in between paragraphs [0041]-[0042], [0044], and [0047]-[0050], the mapping table is updated and exists in the system before receiving an instruction to process data. The system uses an existing mapping table as part of the ETL process, [0050]),
…
determining source data by processing the metadata to identify a location of the record or the data file and retrieving the record or the data file from the identified location (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0050]. Cosgrove shows determining a source for the data to be processed. Also see Cosgrove paragraph [0053], in which data is extracted from the source); and
providing, using the field mapping received from the data catalog, source data to a table defined according to the target schema after retrieving the record or the data file from the identified location (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0053]-[0054]. Data is extracted from the source and provided to the target. The system uses a mapping table (paragraph [0050]). It is noted that the data is provided to the target after the data is extracted).
Cosgrove does not teach:
receiving, from an ETL processing queue, a signal comprising metadata …
wherein the signal is inserted by the data catalog based on a type of the record or the data file matching the type of the application data;
Davis teaches:
receiving, from an ETL processing queue, a signal comprising metadata (see Davis paragraphs [0052]-[0053]. A cloud queue contains data for ETL processing, and is thus “an ETL processing queue.” An indication may be provided from the queue to the ETL service when new data is available for processing),
wherein the signal is inserted by the data catalog based on a type of the record or the data file matching the type of the application data (see Davis paragraphs [0053]-[0055]. The signal is received and processed based on a type of the record, such as whether the record is “new.” “New” records are a type of record).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Cosgrove by the teachings of Davis because both references are directed towards ETL. Davis simply provides to Cosgrove the ability to perform dynamic processing of new records, which will increase the ability of Cosgrove to ensure that a target table is up to date.
As to claim 2, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the field mapping is stored to the data catalog by an application or server (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0022] and [0050]).
As to claim 3, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the application is configured to use the application data (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0022], [0050], and [0063]).
As to claim 4, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the application is configured to register, when available, a new record or a new source data file with the data catalog (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0022] and [0024]. Data in the data catalog may be updated).
As to claim 5, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the record or the data file were registered, with the data catalog, as ready for processing by the application (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0022] and [0024]. Data in the data catalog may be updated. After being updated, the data is ready for processing).
As to claim 6, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the record or the data file was aligned with the target schema by the data catalog (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0022] and [0050]).
As to claim 7, Cosgrove as modified by Davis teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the signal is inserted into the ETL processing queue by the data catalog (see Davis paragraph [0053]).
As to claim 10, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the target schema is deployed to a target table in the data catalog (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0014] and [0026] and Figure 1. The target table may be in a data repository, or data catalog, that also stores the mapping table).
As to claim 11, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the record or the data file is new or updated (see Davis paragraph [0053]).
As to claim 12, Cosgrove as modified by Davis teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the signal includes the location of the record or the data file (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0046]-[0047]. The identification may include a source table).
As to claim 13, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the data catalog provides the field mapping between the application data and the target schema when the record or the data file is not associated with a previously provided schema (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0050]-[0053]).
As to claim 14, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the source data is provided to the table using metadata provided by the data catalog (see Cosgrove paragraph [0050]).
As to claim 15, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the source data comprises first source data and the target schema comprises a first target schema (see Cosgrove paragraph [0050]), and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, from the data catalog, a second field mapping between a second application data and a second target schema (see Cosgrove paragraph [0055] and Figure 4, element 418. Notably, Figure 4 loops. There may be multiple identified field mappings and multiple target schemas and tables);
receiving, from the ETL processing queue, a second signal comprising second metadata and indicating that a second record or a second data file related to the second application data is ready for processing (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0046]-[0047] and Davis paragraph [0052] and the rejection of claim 1);
determining second source data by processing the second metadata to identify a second location of the second record or the second data file from the identified second location, wherein the first source data and the second source data comprise different formats (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0050] and [0053]-[0054] and the rejection of claim 1. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that different data types could be used); and
providing second source data to the table according to the second target schema, wherein the first target schema and the second target schema are a same schema (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0050] and [0053]-[0054] and the rejection of claim 1. Paragraph [0051] shows that a determination may be made that a target table already exists. Because this determination may be made in a later loop after the application has already run, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a same schema may be used in subsequent loops).
As to claim 16, Cosgrove as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the source data comprises first source data and the target schema comprises a first target schema (see Cosgrove paragraph [0050]), and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, from the data catalog, a second field mapping between a second application data and a second target schema (see Cosgrove paragraph [0055] and Figure 4, element 418. Notably, Figure 4 loops. There may be multiple identified field mappings and multiple target schemas and tables);
receiving, from the ETL processing queue, a second signal comprising second metadata and indicating that a second record or a second data file related to the second application data is ready for processing (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0046]-[0047] and Davis paragraph [0052] and the rejection of claim 1);
determining second source data by processing the second metadata to identify a second location of the second record or the second data file from the identified second location, wherein the first source data and the second source data comprise different formats (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0050] and [0053]-[0054] and the rejection of claim 1); and
providing second source data to a second table defined according to the second target schema, wherein the first target schema and the second target schema are different schemas (see Cosgrove paragraphs [0050] and [0053]-[0054] and the rejection of claim 1. Paragraph [0052] shows that a determination may be made that a target table configuration does not exist. Thus, in a subsequent loop, a different schema may be required).
As to claims 17 and 19, see the rejection of claim 1, and Cosgrove paragraph [0066] for the non-transitory medium and [0071] for the processor).
As to claims 18 and 20, see the rejection of claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Response to the 35 USC 101 Rejection
Applicant argues that “Claim 1, as a whole, improves computer technology and provides technological solutions to technological problems (akin to Enfish v. Microsoft and McRO v. Bandai) and, thus, is not abstract. As amended, claim 1 is not directed to a mere mental process or other abstract idea. Claim 1 now recites a specific computer-implemented ETL control flow in which a processing device receives, from a data catalog, a field mapping "defined according to a type of the application data," then receives, from an ETL processing queue and after the field mapping is received, a signal indicating that a record or data file is ready for processing, "wherein the signal is inserted by the data catalog based on a type of the record or the data file matching the type of the application data," and then uses the received mapping to load source data to a table defined according to the target schema. That ordered combination ties queue-driven ETL processing to the mapping/type context supplied by the data catalog, rather than to a generic indication that new data exists. The claim therefore recites a specific technological implementation for coordinating queue insertion, mapping selection, and schema-based loading in an ETL workflow, and is directed to an improvement in computerized data-ingestion processing.”
In response to this argument, it is noted that while the claimed “receiving” steps do represent additional elements beyond the mental process, they do not appear to integrate the mental process steps into a practical application. The receiving steps appear to be generic data gathering steps, wherein the gathered data includes mapping information, metadata, and a status check. This gathered data is then used by a data analysis process in the claimed “determining” step, which is a mental process. Based on the result of the data analysis, data is output to a user.
Thus, the claims comprise a series of data retrieval, data analysis, and data output steps. The data retrieval and data output steps do not appear to integrate the claims into a practical application or provide significantly more than a mental process in part or as a whole.
Applicant continues, arguing that “Practically, such an arrangement can help address three technical problems. First, it can reduce overly generic triggering, where ETL is kicked off merely because some new data arrived and a conventional ETL system has to spend additional effort resolving a larger queue, as in Davis's queue/storage model. Second, it can reduce late-stage resolution, where the ETL application has to sort out source/target handling only after execution has already begun, as in Cosgrove's metadata-querying flow. Third, it can improve coordination between mapping selection and processing initiation, so the queued work is more tightly associated with schema context. There is less risk of ETL work being launched for data that does not already have a field mapping. That ETL job never gets to the ETL queue because the data catalog handles queue insertion with more context.”
Applicant is requested to identify, with citations to the specification as originally filed, support for these alleged benefits. Applicant is also requested to explain how, for each particular alleged benefit, how the benefit is embodied in one of the additional non-mental process elements of the claims (as identified above, the claimed “receiving” and “providing” steps and the generic hardware of claims 17 and 19).
Response to the 35 USC 103 Rejection
Applicant argues that “neither of cited references, alone or in combination, disclose each and every element of Claim 1 as amended. Inserting a signal by the data catalog based on a type of the record or the data file matching the type of the application data provides a method which ties the ETL processing queue to a specific property of the incoming record or file, its type, e.g., and to the type of the application data for which the field mapping is defined…”
Applicant continues, arguing that “in Davis, queueing is driven by the generic fact that new data exists in storage, so ETL may be initiated without a match between the type of application data as defined by the field mapping and the type of record or the data file. In Cosgrove, the ETL application later consults metadata during execution, but the queueing/trigger point is not itself based on that type-linked mapping relationship. Rather, it is ‘periodic” or “on-demand,” for example. As a result, the approaches described in the cited references are less targeted. The cited references use generic techniques for building the ETL processing queue, rather than using the data catalog up front to couple queue insertion with the relevant application-data type and mapping match or no match content (match or no match).”
In response to Applicant’s argument, Examiner notes that the relevant portion of the claims requires “wherein the signal is inserted by the data catalog based on a type of the record or the data file matching the type of the application data.”
Notably, the signal is inserted (1) based on a type or the record or (2) the data file matching the type of the application data. Davis shows that an ETL may be initiated based on a type of the record, notably that the type of the record is “new data.” It is noted the claims do not define the limits of “type” of record and the specification contains no explicit definition for “type” of record. As such, Davis, as cited teaches the claimed invention to the extent claimed.
Applicant is reminded that unclaimed features from the specification, such as more specific methods of matching incoming data, receive no patentable weight until claimed.
Applicant continues, arguing that “In Cosgrove, there is no disclosure of inserting a signal into an ETL processing queue at all. Rather, the ETL application is described as executing periodically or on-demand and then identifying custom attributes for incorporation by querying repository tables, retrieving metadata, and determining source and target configuration from a mapping table (see Paras. [0046]-[0055] of Cosgrove, for example). While Davis discloses a queue, the queueing mechanism is still generic. Information describing transferred data is stored in a cloud queue, and the ETL service monitors the queue for an indication that new data has been written to cloud storage and is available for processing (see Paras. [0051]-[0055] of Davis, for example). Thus, Cosgrove relies on later repository queries by the ETL application, and Davis relies on a generic "new data available in storage" queue indication. Neither reference teaches tying queue insertion to a match between the type of the incoming record or file and the type of the application data for which the field mapping is defined.”
As noted above, “new” data is a type of data. Davis teaches to insert data based on the data being new, or “based on a type of the record.” The cited references teach the claim limitations to the extent claimed.
Applicant is reminded that unclaimed limitations from the specification receive no patentable weight until claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES D ADAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165