DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 24, “via the inclined groove” should be written as “via the inclined grooves” to avoid the antecedent basis issue because the grooves are plural.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (US 20240116162 A1), hereinafter Carlson, in view of Chang (US 20220402104 A1), additionally in view of Nakamura (US 20120073845 A1), and further in view of Stroh (US 20230234202 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Carlson teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) an impact tool assembly, comprising: a power-driven impact tool (multi-stroke powered safety hammer 10), having a grip (handle 12), the grip having an inner tubular member (cylinder 25) therein, a chamber (cylindrical interior 26) being formed inside the inner tubular member (“The cylinder 25 bounds and defines a cylindrical interior 26,”[0058], Carlson), an impact block (piston 30) being provided in the chamber, the impact block being driven by an external power (The compressed gas is passed into the interior 26 behind the piston 30 carried therein. The piston 30 is mounted for reciprocal movement within the cylinder 25,” [0062], Carlson) to move back and forth in the chamber (“The cylinder 25 bounds and defines a cylindrical interior 26 of the hammer 10 in which a piston 30 reciprocates between an advanced position toward the front end 20 [as shown in FIG. 1D] and a retracted position toward the rear end 21 [as shown in FIG. 1E], [0058], Carlson; as shown in annotated Figs. 1D and 1E below), a connector (engagement portion 67), having one end formed with an enlarged coupling portion (guide 63) and another end integrally formed with an extension section (front portion 75) and an insertion section (rear portion 74) that extend in a direction opposite to the coupling portion (as shown in annotated Figs. 2B and 2C below) and have an outer diameter less than that of the coupling portion (as shown in annotated Figs. 2B and 2C below), the insertion section of the connector being inserted into the positioning hole (“The rear end 66 of the driver 61 extends beyond the front of the neck 28, through the central bore 53 of the bumper 39, and just past the bumper 39 into the interior 26; as shown in annotated Fig. 1F below), a tool head (driver 61), the tool head having a head portion (front end 65 of driver 61) extending out of the coupling portion (as shown in annotated Fig. 2C below), the coupling portion being expanded outward to form an accommodating groove therein (annular space 78), the accommodating groove having an opening (“annular space 78 defined between the inner diameter of the base 62 and the outer diameter of the driver 61,” [0083], Carlson), the tool head further having a body portion (portion of driver 61) inserted in the accommodating groove (as shown in annotated Figs. 2B and 2C below), the coupling portion having an annular recess section (guide 63), two opposite sides of the annular recess section each having an inclined groove (“Slots 86 (best shown in FIG. 2A below) are formed into the sidewall 83 on opposed sides of the guide 63,“ [0085], Carlson), a spring (spring 80) being provided in the accommodating groove (“This annular space 78 receives a helical compression spring 80,” [0083], Carlson), two ends of the spring being against a bottom of the accommodating groove and the body portion of the tool head respectively (as shown in annotated Figs. 2B and 2C below) for pushing the tool head (“The spring is compressed between the base 62 and the guide 63 and serves to bias the guide 63 forwardly away from the base 62”; “the guide 63 quickly slides backward and forward on the driver 61, such that the driver 61 moves between an extended position (FIG. 2B) and a compressed position (FIG. 2C) within the guide 63.” [0083] & [0076], Carlson; as shown in annotated Figs. 2B and 2C below), a pin (pin 70) being inserted into the body portion of the tool head via the inclined groove of the coupling portion (“a pin 70 is firmly set into a transverse bore in the shank 64 of the driver 61,” [0077], Carlson; as shown in annotated Figs. 2B and 2C below), two ends of the pin being inserted in the inclined grooves of the two opposite sides of the annular recess section of the coupling portion respectively (“opposed ends 71 of the pin 70 project beyond the outer surface of the shank 64. These ends 71 slide within slots in the guide 63,” [0077], Carlson; as shown in annotated Figs. 2A-2C below).
Carlson does not teach one end of the inner tubular member having a hexagonal positioning hole communicating with the chamber the positioning hole being non-circular and having six engaging surfaces; an annular slope being integrally connected between the coupling portion and the extension section, the annular slope gradually tapering toward the extension section, a circular curved section being formed at an intersection of the annular slope and the extension section, a total length of the extension section and the insertion section being greater than a length of the coupling portion, the insertion section being a hexagonal post corresponding in shape to the positioning hole, thereby restricting the connector from rotating, a tool head, rotatably connected to the coupling portion, the head portion being in the form of a quadrangular post for connecting a socket bit, a bushing being fitted on the annular recess section to cover the inclined grooves and the pin.
However, Chang does teach a tool connecting rod having a hexagonal positioning hole (sleeving hole 21), the positioning hole being non-circular and having six engaging surfaces (as shown in annotated Fig. 3 below), an annular slope (as shown in annotated Fig. 9 below) being integrally connected between the coupling portion and the extension section (as shown in annotated Fig. 9 below), the annular slope gradually tapering toward the extension section (as shown in annotated Fig. 9 below), a circular curved section (as shown in annotated Fig. 9 below) being formed at an intersection of the annular slope and the extension section (as shown in annotated Fig. 9 below), the insertion section being a hexagonal post corresponding in shape to the positioning hole (driving portion 11 as shown in annotated Fig. 1 below), thereby restricting the connector from rotating (as shown in annotate Fig. 8 below);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson to incorporate the teachings of Chang for the hexagonal insertion section to engage with the hexagonal positioning hole and allow for the impact tool assembly to accommodate a wide variety of different inserting tools containing a hexagonal insertion section ([0021], Chang).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson to incorporate the teachings of Chang for the annular slope along with a circular curved section to be formed between the coupling portion and extension section to correspond with the varying diametric dimensions of each component as well as to secure and prevent rotation relative to each component ([0003], Chang).
Carlson, as modified, does not teach a total length of the extension section and the insertion section being greater than a length of the coupling portion, a tool head, a tool head rotatably connected to the coupling portion, the head portion being in the form of a quadrangular post for connecting a socket bit, a bushing being fitted on the annular recess section to cover the inclined grooves and the pin.
However, Stroh does teach a tool head (shaft 21), rotatably connected to the coupling portion (“The bored cylindrical portion 62 includes the counterbore 42 coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the adapter shaft (A) configured to house a shaft 21 of the working tool 22,” [0049], Stroh; as shown in annotated Figs. 5 and 8 below), a bushing (bushing 36) being fitted on the annular recess section to cover the inclined grooves and the pin (“the annular abutment 34 moves correspondingly and engages and moves a bushing 36 of the locking mechanism 24 against the bias of a biasing member 38 to allow the dowel pin 28 to freely move proximally in slot 30 towards a first or proximal position out of engagement with the working tool 22,” [0051], Stroh; as shown in annotated Fig. 7 below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Stroh to allow for the bushing to be slidable along the coupling portion to release the pins to freely move along the inclined grooves and permit the tool head to be removed from the impact tool assembly and replaced with a different tool ([0058], Stroh).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Stroh to allow for the tool head to be rotatably connected to the coupling portion to allow for the tool head via the coupling portion to be adjusted towards or away from the inner tubular member ([0049], Stroh).
Carlson, as modified, does not teach a total length of the extension section and the insertion section being greater than a length of the coupling portion, the head portion being in the form of a quadrangular post for connecting a socket bit.
However, Nakamura does teach an impact wrench containing a tool head (anvil 9), wherein the head portion being in the form of a quadrangular post for connecting a socket bit (“the anvil [9] including, at a front portion thereof, a square end [91] to which a tightening socket can be mounted or a hole into which a driver bit can be inserted,” [0021], Nakamura; as shown in annotated Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura for the quadrangular post to fit into a quadrangular or square-shaped hole, allowing for the quadrangular head portion to fully lock and tighten the bolt or nut via rotation from the tool head ([0077), Nakamura)
Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 1A-2C, as modified, does not teach a total length of the extension section and the insertion section being greater than a length of the coupling portion.
However, Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 16A-16B teaches a flat hammer head and shank for use with the hammer (impact block), wherein a total length of the extension section and the insertion section being greater than a length of the coupling portion (as shown in annotated Fig. 16B below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 1A-2C, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 16A-16B to allow easy maneuverability for the coupling portion and the tool head, given the tool head may function to repeatedly hammer or pound onto a working surface ([0176], Carlson; as shown in annotated Fig. 16B below)
Regarding claim 2, Carlson, as modified, teaches the invention as rejected above in claim 1, wherein a front end of the inner tubular member has a socket (collar 32 and inner barrel 41), when the insertion section of the connector is inserted into the positioning hole (“The rear end 66 of the driver 61 extends beyond the front of the neck 28, through the central bore 53 of the bumper 39, and just past the bumper 39 into the interior 26,” [0091], Carlson; as shown in annotated Fig. 1F below), the extension section is inserted into the socket (as shown in annotated Fig. 1H below), and the socket has a connecting portion (outer sleeve 40) that is in contact with the extension section (as shown in annotated Fig. 1H below).
Regarding claim 4, Carlson, as modified, teaches the invention as rejected above in claim 1, wherein the insertion section of the connector is inserted into the positioning hole, a distal end of the insertion section extends into the chamber of the inner tubular member (“The rear end 66 of the driver 61 extends beyond the front of the neck 28, through the central bore 53 of the bumper 39, and just past the bumper 39 into the interior 26,” [0091], Carlson; as shown in annotated Fig. 1F below).
Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 1A-2C, as modified, does not teach an enlarged annular flange is integrally formed between the extension section and the insertion section and the annular flange leans against an inner peripheral wall of the inner tubular member.
However, Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 9A-9B teaches a de-stapler attachment for use with a hammer, wherein an enlarged annular flange (flange 197) is integrally formed between the extension section and the insertion section (“The flange 197 is a ring formed integrally and monolithically on the shank 191,” [0138], Carlson; as shown in annotated Figs. 9A and 9B below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 1A-2C, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 9A-9B to allow for the annular flange to move relative to the connector while engaging with a plurality of beads within a collar portion of the socket without risking the flange potentially moving out of place, which can apply to if a flange were a separate component ([0138], Carlson).
This embodiment of Carlson, does not teach the annular flange leans against an inner peripheral wall of the inner tubular member.
However, Carlson’s embodiment of Figs. 17-25 teaches a powered stapler tool, wherein the annular flange (flange 564) leans against an inner peripheral wall of the inner tubular member (as shown in annotated Fig. 18 below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson’s embodiment of Figs, 1A-2C, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Carlson’s embodiment of 17-25 to properly define the maximum depth at which the insertion section can be inserted through the chamber of the inner tubular member, based on the interpreted connector extending from the annular flange to a distal end of the insertion section ([0228], Carlson; as shown in annotated Fig. 18 below).
Regarding claim 5, Carlson, as modified, teaches the invention as rejected above in claim 1,
Carlson does not teach the inclined grooves of the two opposite sides of the annular recess section of the coupling portion are V-shaped grooves.
However, Nakamura teaches an impact wrench, wherein the inclined grooves of the two opposite sides of the annular recess section of the coupling portion are V-shaped grooves (“As can be seen from FIG. 3, the cam grooves 53 of the spindle 5 are formed in a V-shape,” [0056], Nakamura; as shown in annotated Figs. 2, 3(a), and 3(b) below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura to allow for a plurality of beads to be disposed and move along the boundaries of the V-shaped grooves to enable the impact block to rotate on an axis while moving forwards or backwards in the chamber ([0056], Nakamura).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (US 20240116162 A1), hereinafter Carlson, in view of Chang (US 20220402104 A1), additionally in view of Nakamura (US 20120073845 A1), further in view of Stroh (US 20230234202 A1), and moreover in view of Schneider et al. (US 11938594 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Carlson, as modified, teaches the invention as rejected above in claim 2, wherein the socket is in the form of a hollow tube (“The inner barrel 41 and rear collar 32 form a one-piece cylindrical body,” [0065], Carlson; as shown in annotated Fig. 1C below) extending out of the grip (as shown in annotated Fig. 1F below), the connecting portion is composed of a quick-release joint (“The outer sleeve 40 moves or slides axially relative to the inner barrel 41 between advanced and retracted positions to arrange the mount 13 in either locked or unlocked conditions, respectively,” [0068], Carlson), the connecting portion includes a collar (outer sleeve 40) and a plurality of beads (ball bearings 45) located in the collar and partially extending into the socket (“partially-spherical depressions 44 extend into the body of the outer sleeve 40 from the inner surface 47 and are circumferentially spaced apart”; “Ball bearings 45 are carried in the holes 50 in the inner barrel 41 and are moved radially either into or out of these depressions 44 when the mount 13 is moved,” [0069], Carlson; as shown in annotated Fig. 1D below), and the insertion section and the extension section are held and supported by the positioning hole and the beads of the connecting portion, respectively (as shown in annotated Fig. 1H below).
Carlson, as modified, does not teach the socket is integrally formed with the front end of the inner tubular member.
However, Schneider does teach a high torque impact, wherein the socket is integrally formed with the front end of the inner tubular member (as shown in annotated Figs. 2 and 3 below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Carlson, as modified, to house the inserting connector and tool head to provide the stability necessary to couple further tool elements (e.g. additional sockets or sleeves) onto the tool head and connector (col. 5, lines 42-46, Schneider; as shown in annotated Figs. 2 and 3 below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Friedman et al. (US 20230268866 A1) teaches different aspects and methods of impact power tools via a motor and controller.
Sakai et al. (US 20150352699 A1) teaches a power tool where the hammer or impact block is driven to be rotated by a motor along with the anvil or tool head.
Santamarina et al. (US 20230140562 A1) teaches a socket driver tool configured to be mounted for rotation by a hand tool or power tool.
/I.M.I./ /MICHAEL A GUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723