DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 – 33, 35, and 38 – 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohchi (US 2020/0135820).
Regarding claim 21, Ohchi teaches (FIG. 1, 2):
A display panel, comprising:
an array base plate (100);
an isolation structure (120) formed on a side of the array base plate and defining a plurality of isolation openings;
a light-emitting layer (150) comprising a plurality of light-emitting units arranged at intervals, wherein the light-emitting unit is arranged in the isolation opening and comprises a first electrode (110), a light-emitting functional layer (130), and a second electrode (140), the first electrode is formed on a side of the array base plate, the light-emitting functional layer is formed on a side of the first electrode away from the array base plate, the second electrode is formed on a side of the light-emitting functional layer away from the array base plate, and adjacent light-emitting units are independent from each other (FIG. 1, 2); and
a light filtering layer (170) formed on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the array base plate and comprising light filtering functional portions, wherein the light filtering functional portion is located on a side of the light-emitting unit away from the array base plate and extends to a side of the isolation structure away from the array base plate (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 22, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 21, wherein an orthographic projection of the light filtering functional portion on the array base plate covers an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit on the array base plate (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 23, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 21, wherein the isolation structure comprises a first layer (121) and a second layer (122) stacked along a direction away from the array base plate, and an orthographic projection of the first layer on the array base plate is within an orthographic projection of the second layer on the array base plate (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 24, Ohchi teaches (FIG. 19):
The display panel according to claim 21, wherein the display panel further comprises a pixel definition layer (121) formed on a side of the array base plate and comprising a plurality of pixel openings, an orthographic projection of the pixel opening on the array base plate coincides with an orthographic projection of the isolation opening on the array base plate, the isolation structure is located on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the array base plate, and an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the pixel definition layer is located between adjacent pixel openings (FIG. 19).
Regarding claim 25, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 24, wherein a material of the pixel definition layer is an inorganic material ([0097]).
Regarding claim 26, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 21, wherein the isolation structure is arranged on a side surface of the array base plate (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 27, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 21, wherein an orthographic projection of the light filtering functional portion on the array base plate covers at least a part of an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the array base plate (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 28, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 27, wherein the isolation structure comprises a first layer and a second layer stacked along a direction away from the array base plate, an orthographic projection of the first layer on the array base plate is located within an orthographic projection of the second layer on the array base plate, orthographic projections of adjacent light filtering functional portions on the array base plate are overlapped to form an overlapped region, and an orthographic projection of the overlapped region on the array base plate covers a part of the orthographic projection of the second layer on the array base plate (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 29, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 27, wherein orthographic projections of adjacent light filtering functional portions on the array base plate are overlapped to form an overlapped region, and an orthographic projection of the overlapped region on the array base plate covers an orthographic projection of a center of the isolation structure along an arrangement direction of the adjacent light filtering functional portions on the array base plate (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 30, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 27, wherein the orthographic projection of the light filtering functional portion on the array base plate covers the orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the array base plate, and orthographic projections of adjacent light filtering functional portions on the array base plate are staggered (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 31, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 21, further comprising at least one encapsulation layer formed on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the array base plate, wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first encapsulation layer (160), a second encapsulation layer (black matrix [0095]), and a third encapsulation layer (180) stacked along a direction away from the array base plate, and the light filtering layer is arranged between the first encapsulation layer and the second encapsulation layer or between the second encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 32, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 21, further comprising at least one encapsulation layer formed on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the array base plate, wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first encapsulation layer (160), a second encapsulation layer (black matrix [0095]), and a third encapsulation layer (180) stacked along a direction away from the array base plate, and the light filtering layer is arranged on a side of the encapsulation layer away from the array base plate and adjacent to the encapsulation layer (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 33, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 31, wherein materials of the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer are inorganic materials, a material of the second encapsulation layer is an organic material, and the light filtering layer is arranged between the first encapsulation layer and the second encapsulation layer ([0080]).
Regarding claim 35, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 31, further comprising a first light blocking layer comprising a first body portion and a first aperture, wherein the first aperture is arranged opposite to the isolation opening, the first light blocking layer is arranged between the first encapsulation layer and the second encapsulation layer or between the second encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer, or the first light blocking layer is arranged on a side of the encapsulation layer away from the array base plate (black matrix [0095]).
Regarding claim 38, Ohchi teaches:
The display panel according to claim 21, wherein a material of the isolation structure is metal ([0079]).
Regarding claim 39, Ohchi teaches (FIG. 1, 2):
A display panel, comprising:
an array base plate (100);
an isolation structure (120) formed on a side of the array base plate and defining a plurality of isolation openings;
a light-emitting layer (150) comprising a plurality of light-emitting units arranged at intervals, wherein the light-emitting unit is arranged in the isolation opening and comprises a first electrode (110), a light-emitting functional layer (130), and a second electrode (140), the first electrode is formed on a side of the array base plate, the light-emitting functional layer is formed on a side of the first electrode away from the array base plate, the second electrode is formed on a side of the light-emitting functional layer away from the array base plate, and adjacent light-emitting units are independent from each other (FIG. 1, 2);
an encapsulation layer formed on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the array base plate, wherein the encapsulation layer comprises a first encapsulation layer (160), a second encapsulation layer ([0095]), and a third encapsulation layer (180) stacked along a direction away from the array base plate; and
a light filtering layer (170) formed between the first encapsulation layer and the second encapsulation layer and comprising light filtering functional portions, wherein the light filtering functional portion extends to a side of the isolation structure away from the array base plate (FIG. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 40, Ohchi teaches:
A display apparatus, comprising the display panel according to claim 21 (ABSTRACT).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohchi (US 2020/0135820) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2015/0349291).
Regarding claim 34, Ohchi fails to expressly disclose:
The display panel according to claim 31, wherein the at least one encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of encapsulation layers, the first encapsulation layers of the plurality of encapsulation layers are arranged at intervals at the isolation structure, and the first encapsulation layers and the light-emitting units are in a one-to-one correspondence; and
the first encapsulation layer is in contact with a side of the light-emitting unit away from the array base plate and covers a side wall of the isolation structure, the first encapsulation layer extends to a side surface of the isolation structure away from the array base plate and forms a gap with the side surface of the isolation structure away from the array base plate, and the light filtering layer is partially located in the gap.
However, Song teaches an organic LED structure with an encapsulation layer 3 that is patterned to correlate with the light emitting layer 5, and within which a light filtering layer 10 is formed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Ohchi to include the multi-layered packaging and encapsulation structure of Song for the predictable advantage of providing pixel isolation in a conventional and well known manner.
Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohchi (US 2020/0135820) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Hung et al. (US 2020/0057520).
Regarding claim 36, Ohchi fails to expressly disclose:
The display panel according to claim 31, further comprising a touch layer, wherein the light filtering layer is arranged on a side of the touch layer close to the array base plate.
However, Hung teaches the use of an AMOLED display integrated with a touch layer (FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate a touch layer with the display of Ohchi as taught by Hung for the further advantage of enabling a touch sensitive display in a conventional and predictable manner.
Regarding claim 37, Ohchi fails to expressly disclose:
The display panel according to claim 36, further comprising a second light blocking layer arranged on a side of the touch layer away from the array base plate, wherein the second light blocking layer comprises a second body portion and a second aperture, the second aperture is arranged opposite to the isolation opening, and an orthographic projection of the second body portion on the array base plate covers an orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the array base plate.
However, Hung teaches the use of an AMOLED display integrated with a touch layer (FIG. 3) and having multiple anti-reflective portions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate a touch layer with the display of Ohchi as taught by Hung for the further advantage of enabling an antireflective touch sensitive display in a conventional and predictable manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0357388 teaches multi-layered isolation structures having larger orthographic projections in layers further from the base
US 2006/0170340 teaches multi-layered isolation structures having larger orthographic projections in layers further from the base
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898