DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 8 objected to because of the following informalities: The claim dictates variables that are not a part of the equation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Malkiel et al (US 2025/0238629, hereafter Malkiel).
As per claim 1, a method, comprising:
receiving, by a computer program, a plurality of input texts, wherein each input text is a prompt for a large language model (LLM) and comprises a slight perturbation from an initial input text (¶ 54);
generating, by the computer program and for each of the plurality of input texts, an input embedding vector (¶ 69);
providing, by the computer program, each input text to a large language model (LLM) (¶ 54);
receiving, by the computer program and for each input text from the LLM, an output text (¶ 54 - 65);
generating, by the computer program and for each of the plurality of output texts, an output embedding vector (¶ 54 - 65); and
generating, by the computer program, a hallucination metric based on the input embedding vectors and the output embedding vectors (¶ 54 - 65).
As per claim 2, Malkiel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the step of receiving the plurality of input texts comprises:
receiving, by the computer program, the initial input text; and receiving, by the computer program, a plurality of perturbed input texts; wherein the plurality of input texts comprises the initial input text and the plurality of perturbed input texts (¶ 54).
As per claim 3, Malkiel discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of perturbed input texts are generated by the LLM (¶ 53 and 54).
As per claim 4, Malkiel discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the input embedding vectors for the plurality of perturbed input texts are within a predetermined value of the input embedding vector for the initial input text (¶ 69).
As per claim 5, Malkiel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the input texts are received as natural language (¶ 133).
As per claim 6, Malkiel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the hallucination metric is calculated using the following equation:
1
M
∑
1
M
a
b
s
y
i
-
y
j
a
b
s
x
i
-
x
j
where M is a number of the plurality of input texts, y is the output embedding vector, and x is the input embedding vector (¶ 292 - 298).
As per claim 7, Malkiel discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the hallucination metric is calculated using the following equation:
1/M∑ yi-yj
where xi-xj is less than a fixed δ, M is a number of the plurality of input texts, y is the output embedding vector, x is the input embedding vector, and δ is a maximum change between two of the input embedding vectors (¶ 292 - 298).
Regarding claim 8, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 5 are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 7 are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 2 are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 3 are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 4 are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 6 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 7 are applicable for claim 20.
Conclusion
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487