DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (US 2008/004546).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses:
A guide wire (1; Fig. 1) comprising: a core shaft (2; Fig. 6); a coil (3) comprising a strand that is spirally wound around and covers an outer periphery of the core shaft (¶0070); and a distal end joint part (10) that joins a distal end (27a; Fig. 3) of the core shaft (2) and a distal end (33) of the coil (3), the distal end joint part (10) including a dispersion portion (distalmost tip of part 10) in which a first material that is radiopaque is dispersed (¶0082 – the part of the coil 3 that is embedded in part 10 is radiopaque and is spread over part of it, meaning a radiopaque material is dispersed by the time it reaches the dispersion portion).
Regarding claim 2, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 1, wherein the distal end joint part (10) further includes a high concentration region (proximalmost end of part 10 in which the coil 3 is embedded) in which a concentration of the first material is higher than a concentration of the first material in the dispersion portion (distalmost tip of part 10).
Regarding claim 3, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 2, wherein the high concentration region is located on a rear end side (proximalmost end of part 10) of the distal end joint part (10).
Regarding claim 4, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 1, wherein the core shaft (2) comprises a second material different from the first material (¶0071 – stainless steel), the coil (3) comprises the first material (¶0082 – radiopaque material), and the distal end joint part (10) is formed by melting and joining a distal end portion (27a) of the core shaft (2) and a distal end portion (31) of the coil (3) (¶0083 – the end joint part 10 is a soldering portion and is formed by melting the elements that are joined together).
Regarding claim 5, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 1, wherein the strand in the distal end joint part (10) includes a convex portion (because the wire is cylindrical, the outer curved surface of the wire is a convex portion).
Conclusion
/TASNIM MEHJABIN AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783