DETAILED ACTION
Examiner notes that the previous non-final office action is vacated for being directed to the wrong claimset (original claims 1-5). This office action is directed to the preliminary amendment filed 25 October 2024 for claims 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (US 2008/004546).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses:
A guide wire (1; Fig. 1) comprising: a core shaft (2; Fig. 6); a coil (3) comprising a strand that is spirally wound around and covers an outer periphery of the core shaft (¶0070); and a distal end joint part (10) that joins a distal end (27a; Fig. 3) of the core shaft (2) and a distal end (33) of the coil (3), the distal end joint part (10) including a dispersion portion (distalmost tip of part 10) in which a first material that is radiopaque is dispersed (¶0082 – the part of the coil 3 that is embedded in part 10 is radiopaque and is spread over part of it, meaning a radiopaque material is dispersed by the time it reaches the dispersion portion).
Regarding claim 2, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 1, wherein the distal end joint part (10) further includes a high concentration region (proximalmost end of part 10 in which the coil 3 is embedded) in which a concentration of the first material is higher than a concentration of the first material in the dispersion portion (distalmost tip of part 10).
Regarding claim 3, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 2, wherein the high concentration region is located on a rear end side (proximalmost end of part 10) of the distal end joint part (10).
Regarding claim 4, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 1, wherein the core shaft (2) comprises a second material different from the first material (¶0071 – stainless steel), the coil (3) comprises the first material (¶0082 – radiopaque material), and the distal end joint part (10) is formed by melting and joining a distal end portion (27a) of the core shaft (2) and a distal end portion (31) of the coil (3) (¶0083 – the end joint part 10 is a soldering portion and is formed by melting the elements that are joined together).
Regarding claim 5, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 1, wherein the strand in the distal end joint part (10) includes a convex portion (because the wire is cylindrical, the outer curved surface of the wire is a convex portion).
Regarding claim 6, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 1, wherein the distal end joint part (10) encloses a distal end portion (33; Fig. 1) of the coil (3) (Fig. 6; ¶0083), and at the distal end portion of the coil (3), a diameter of the strand of the coil (3) decreases toward a distal end of the distal end portion (33) (¶0082).
Regarding claim 7, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 1, wherein an outer diameter of a distal end portion (33; Fig. 1) of the coil (3) at the distal end joint part (10) is smaller than an outer diameter of a rear end portion of the coil (3) (¶0082).
Regarding claim 8, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 2, wherein a part of the high concentration region is exposed on an outer surface of the distal end joint part (10) (the proximalmost portion of the distal end joint part 10 incorporates part of the coil 3 entering the distal end joint part 10 and therefore has the high concentration region exposed outside the proximal face of the distal end joint part 10).
Regarding claim 9, Kato discloses:
The guide wire according to claim 5, wherein the convex portion (because the wire is cylindrical, the outer curved surface of the wire is a convex portion) spreads radially outward from an outer periphery of the strand of the coil (3).
Conclusion
/TASNIM MEHJABIN AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783