DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
1- The amendment filed on 01/05/2022 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-15 and 17-20 remain pending in the application, where the independent claims have been amended. New claim 21 has been added.
Response to Arguments
2- Applicants’ amendments and their corresponding arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of pending claims 1 and 14 under 35 USC §102 have been fully considered but are found not persuasive.
3- Applicants’ amendments and their corresponding arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of pending claims under 35 USC §102 and 103 have been fully considered but are found not persuasive.
4- Here is a brief response to the Arguments presented by the Applicants to explain further the rationale behind the rejections and the Examiner’s interpretations.
Applicants argue in their response (pp. 9-11) that Wangxu fails to teach a first reflector with an aperture, and that an eventual modification of the structure of the light sources proposed as crucial would not be without changing the design of Wangxu and affecting its functionality.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants and submits that the apparatus structure as proposed by Wangxu appears to correctly read on the claimed invention structure, as nothing specific in the claimed structure prevents the light sources of the disclosed prior art to read in terms of relationship with the reflectors and the direction of the light towards the object, and the reflected light towards the camera.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5- Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 14-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN204629260U (Wangxu) (English machine translation provided in the previous communication).
As to claim 1, Wangxu teaches an inspection sensor system comprising;
a first light source that emits first light of a first wavelength (first light source 41, Fig. 1, [0022]);
a first reflector that reflects the first light emitted by the first light source onto an object (semi transparent reflector 42, [0022-23]);
a second light source (second illumination source 32 of shadowless light source 3) that emits light of a second wavelength (second illumination source is a blue light LED [0023]);
a second reflector that reflects the second light emitted by the second light source onto the object ([0023] teaches spherical reflective portion 31 and light reflected from reflective portion onto metal cover);
a third light source that emits third light of a third wavelength (illumination source 21 of 0-degree annular light source 2);
a light diffuser (diffusion plate 22) that diffuses light emitted by the third light source onto the object ([0022] teaches diffusion plate 22 is behind illumination source 21);
a camera ([0023] teaches image acquisition device, 5 is lens of image acquisition device) that is configured to generate an image of the object while the object is illuminated by the first light source ([0023] teaches image acquisition device captures image of metal cover), the second light source, and the third light source; and
a computing system in communication with the camera ([0026] teaches image acquisition device captures images for computer system to process), wherein the computing system is configured to receive the image generated by the camera and output an indication as to whether or not the object is defective based upon the image [0026];
wherein the first reflector comprises a first reflector aperture through which light from the first, second, and third light sources is reflected by the object into the camera; and wherein the second reflector comprises a second reflector aperture through which light from the first, second, and third light sources is reflected by the object into the camera ([0022] teaches opening 22 at top of 31, in addition to the aperture at the top of the beam splitter module 42, see Fig. 1 showing lights from the first, second and third lights pass through to camera lens 5).
As to claim 2, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1, wherein the first reflector is positioned between the camera and the object (Fig. 1 shows first reflector 42 between lens 5 and metal cover 1), the second reflector is positioned between the first reflector and the object (second reflector 31 is shown between first reflector 42 and metal cover 1), and the light diffuser is positioned between the second reflector and the object (diffusion plate 22 is shown between second reflector 31 and metal cover 1) [0022-24].
As to claim 9, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1, wherein the camera, the first reflector, the second reflector, the light diffuser, the first light source, the second light source, and the third light source are mounted along a common axis (Fig. 1 shows components mounted along a vertical axis).
As to claim 14, the subject matter of claims 1 and 14 relate in that the technical features of apparatus claim 1 are in each case suitable for implementing the method of claim 14, therefore the method is inherent, in view of the apparatus claim 1.
As to claims 15 and 17, the combination teaches the method of claim 14.
As to claim 15, the subject matter of claims 2 and 15 relate in that the technical features of apparatus claim 2 are in each case suitable for implementing the method of claim 15, therefore the method is inherent, in view of the apparatus claim 2.
As to claim 17, the subject matter of claims 9 and 17 relate in that the technical features of apparatus claim 9 are in each case suitable for implementing the method of claim 17, therefore the method is inherent, in view of the apparatus claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN204629260U (Wangxu).
As to claim 3, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu does not teach expressly wherein the second aperture is larger than the first aperture.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to have the first reflector with an aperture be the same as the second reflector, as this would have required a mere duplication of parts (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), See MPEP 2144. 04). The benefit of using the same type of arrangement for the first reflector is to further avoid any shadows ([0016] of Wangxu). Fig. 1 also appears to show the second aperture to be larger than the first aperture by structure and to favor the numerical aperture of the combination of the two apertures and collect the maximum reflections from the object 1.
It would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to have the second aperture be larger than the first aperture to yield the predictable result of ensuring a maximum of of light reflected off of the object is collected.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN204629260U (Wangxu) in light of US20170068023A1 (Sze).
As to claim 5, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu is silent to: wherein the first and second reflectors are parabolically shaped.
However, Sze teaches a multi-band spectrum division device comprising a first and second reflector which are parabolically shaped [0006].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to wherein the first and second reflectors are parabolically shaped in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the divergent angle of an incident optical beam and generate a collimated optical beam, and further focus the signals on a focal plane, as suggested by Sze [0006].
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN204629260U (Wangxu) in light of US 20160033332 A (Sones).
As to claim 6, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu is silent to: wherein the light diffuser comprises a translucent polystyrene film.
However, Sones teaches systems and methods for extracting topographic information from inspected objects to identify defects in the inspected objects (Abstract) with a diffuser component (111, Fig. 3) made of translucent plastic material such as polystyrene [0042].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to use the polystyrene as the light diffuser as it is high impact and naturally bright ([0042] of Sones), in addition to being an affordable option.
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 13, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN204629260U (Wangxu) in light of US 20200134773 A1 (Pinter).
As to claim 4, the combination teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 3.
The combination is silent to: wherein the size of the first aperture is based on a size of a camera lens aperture of a lens coupled to the camera, even though in Fig. 1, Wangxu shows the aperture of the beam splitter module (42) to correspond to the width of the camera lens (5).
However, [0275] of Pinter teaches the aperture 4109a-d of the reflector 4105a,b is for incorporation of a camera 4160a,b which has a camera optical element (e.g. lens etc) 4161a,b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to have the size of the first aperture be based on a size of a camera lens aperture of a lens coupled to the camera, in order to be able to accommodate the camera lens and ensure it is receiving all of the reflected light.
As to claim 7, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu is silent to: wherein the first light source emits red light, the second light source emits green light, and the third light source emits blue light.
However, Pinter teaches machine vision systems, illumination sources for use in machine vision systems, and components for use in the illumination sources [0001], wherein the first light source emits red light, the second light source emits green light, and the third light source emits blue light ([0289] teaches a multi-function illumination source 4205 a may include structured lighting of a particular wavelength (e.g., a red lighting module, a green lighting module, a blue lighting module etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to have the light sources emit red, green, and blue light, in order to yield the predictable result of creating a high contrast image in a machine vision application by illuminating an object with light of a particular wavelength (color), as suggested by Pinter [0062].
As to claim 8, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu is silent to: wherein first light source emits blue light, the second light source emits green light, and the third light source emits red light.
However, Pinter teaches machine vision systems, illumination sources for use in machine vision systems, and components for use in the illumination sources [0001], wherein the first light source emits blue light, the second light source emits green light, and the third light source emits red light ([0289] teaches a multi-function illumination source 4205 a may include structured lighting of a particular wavelength (e.g., a red lighting module, a green lighting module, a blue lighting module etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to have the light sources emit red, green, and blue light, in order to yield the predictable result of creating a high contrast image in a machine vision application by illuminating an object with light of a particular wavelength (color), as suggested by Pinter [0062].
As to claim 13, Wang teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu is silent to: further comprising a sensor that is in communication with the computing system, wherein the computing system is configured to cause the camera to capture an image based upon a signal output by the sensor, the signal output by the sensor indicative of a position of the object on a conveyor relative to the camera.
However, Pinter teaches a processor receiving data from position/orientation input 4330a which is indicative of a position/orientation of at least one target 150 [0298], on a conveyor system ([141, 195, 214]; [0299] teaches an output 4433). Further, Pinter teaches the controller 4405 is configured to control a camera [0298].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to include the position/orientation input of Pinter in order to be able to capture the objects when they are in a desired or optimal field of view. It would have further been obvious to configure the camera to capture an image based on the output, in order to yield the predictable result of automating the process and eliminating the need of a user operated image capturing.
As to claim 21, Wangxu teaches inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu is still silent to: wherein the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are within distinct and non-overlapping wavelength bands.
However, Pinter teaches machine vision systems, illumination sources for use in machine vision systems, and components for use in the illumination sources [0001], wherein the first light source emits red light, the second light source emits green light, and the third light source emits blue light ([0289] teaches a multi-function illumination source 4205 a may include structured lighting of a particular wavelength (e.g., a red lighting module, a green lighting module, a blue lighting module etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to have the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are within distinct and non-overlapping wavelength bands, in order to yield the predictable result of creating a high contrast image in a machine vision application by illuminating an object with light of a particular wavelength (color), as suggested by Pinter [0062].
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN204629260U (Wangxu) in light of CN 220154285 U (He)(English machine translation submitted in the previous office action).
As to claim 10, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 9.
Wangxu is silent to: wherein the first reflector and the camera are moveable along the common axis.
However, He teaches a defect detecting device (Abstract) where the optical components are slidably mounted on an adjustment frame [0008].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to have the first reflector and the camera are moveable along the common axis by slidably mounting them to a frame as suggested by He, in order to yield the predictable result of being able to adjust the angles at which the object is being imaged and/or illuminated.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN204629260U (Wangxu) in light of US 4286311 A (Maglica).
As to claim 11, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu is silent to: further comprising a window layer coupled to a flange of the second reflector.
However, Maglica teaches a light source with a reflector, comprising a window layer coupled to a flange of the reflector (Col. 6 lines 20-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to include the window layer coupled to a flange of the second reflector to yield the predictable result of protecting optical elements from damage and external pollutants.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN204629260U (Wangxu) in light of US20060092417A1 (Schwarz).
As to claim 12, Wangxu teaches the inspection sensor system of claim 1.
Wangxu is silent to: wherein an opaque housing encases the inspection sensor system.
However, Schwarz teaches a device for examining optical properties of surfaces (Abstract) with an opaque housing [0018].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to include an opaque housing encasing the inspection sensor system to yield the predictable result of avoiding any interference from ambient light.
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN204629260U (Wangxu) in light of US 20070073439 A1 (Habibi), and in view of Pinter.
As to claim 18, Wangxu teaches a method of operating an inspection sensor system, the method comprising:
causing a first light source to emit first light of a first wavelength into a first reflector that reflects the light of the first wavelength onto the object [0023], (Fig. 1, first light source 41);
causing a second light source to emit second light of a second wavelength into a second reflector that reflects the light of the second wavelength onto the object [0023], (second light source 31 Fig. 1);
causing a third light source to emit third light of a third wavelength through a light diffuser and onto the object [0024], (third light source 21, Fig. 1);
generating an image of the object while the object is illuminated by the first, second, and third light sources ([0023] teaches capturing image of metal cover); and
generating an indication as to whether or not the object is defective based upon the image [0026].
Wangxu is silent to:
monitoring a position of a conveyor with a rotary encoder;
detecting a leading edge of an object upstream of a camera;
employing an encoder count offset parameter to determine when the object is in a field of view of the camera;
wherein the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are within distinct and non-overlapping wavelength bands.
However, Habibi teaches a visual tracking system and method (Abstract) which monitors a position of a conveyor with a rotary encoder [0048-49];
detecting a leading edge of an object upstream of a camera (Fig. 1 shows workpiece 104 upstream of image capture device 138, [0058] teaches the workpiece includes a visual feature as a cue, [0059] teaches the cue may be an edge of the workpiece) ;
employing an encoder count offset parameter to determine when the object is in a field of view of the camera ([0017] teaches using zero point as reference point, [0052] teaches keeping object in field of view).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu to include the monitoring of Habibi in order to yield the predictable result of being able to track the workpieces on a moving conveyer and capture accurate images for identification of defects.
The combination of Wangxu and Habibi is still silent to:
wherein the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are within distinct and non-overlapping wavelength bands.
However, Pinter teaches machine vision systems, illumination sources for use in machine vision systems, and components for use in the illumination sources [0001], wherein the first light source emits red light, the second light source emits green light, and the third light source emits blue light ([0289] teaches a multi-function illumination source 4205 a may include structured lighting of a particular wavelength (e.g., a red lighting module, a green lighting module, a blue lighting module etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art of Wangxu and Habibi to have the first wavelength, the second wavelength, and the third wavelength are within distinct and non-overlapping wavelength bands, in order to yield the predictable result of creating a high contrast image in a machine vision application by illuminating an object with light of a particular wavelength (color), as suggested by Pinter [0062].
As to claim 19, the combination teaches the method of claim 18.
Wangxu teaches: wherein the first reflector is positioned between the camera and the object (Fig. 1 shows first reflector 42 between lens 5 and metal cover 1), second reflector is positioned between the first reflector and the object (second reflector 31 is shown between first reflector 42 and metal cover 1), and the light diffuser is positioned between the second reflector and the object (diffusion plate 22 is shown between second reflector 31 and metal cover 1) [0022-24].
As to claim 20, the combination teaches the method of claim 18.
Wangxu teaches: wherein the camera, the first reflector, the second reflector, the light diffuser, the first light source, the second light source, and the third
light source are positioned along a common axis (Fig. 1 shows components mounted along a vertical axis).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/Mohamed K AMARA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877