Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
First, second, third, and Fourth air dams (no numerical identifier is given for any of these elements in the Descriptive Portion of the Specifications as filed)
the first baffle extends from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet, wherein the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion of the cabinet, and wherein the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a front portion of the cabinet (The context of both claims 10 & 19 are opposite the context of claims 7 & 17, however, while the claimed context of claims 7 & 17 are displayed in the Applicants own Fig. 6, which is reproduced below in Annotated Figure A for accuracy, the context of the claim limitations of claims 10 & 19 are not displayed, as can clearly be seen the first baffle 130 only extends from a lower rear of the interior of the cabinet, to an upper front of the interior of the cabinet; further, the limitations of the first portion 132 of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion 134 of the cabinet, and wherein the second portion 134 of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a front portion 132 of the cabinet, are also not shown in the figures)
Annotated Figure A
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The Examiner respectfully points to the MPEP 608.01(i) and 37 C.F.R. 1.75 which states “The claim or claims must conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description. (See 1.58(a)). Further, the MPEP 608.01(o) states “The meaning of every term used in any of the claims should be apparent from the descriptive portion of the specification with clear disclosure as to its import; and in mechanical cases, it should be identified in the descriptive portion of the specification by reference to the drawing, designating the part or parts therein to which the term applies. A term used in the claims may be given a special meaning in the description. See MPEP 2111.01 and 2173.05(a)”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “132” has been used to designate both the element of the first portion 132 of the interior space 112 in ¶0037 line 3 and the front portion 132 of the cabinet 110 in ¶0037, Line 11. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “134” has been used to designate both the second portion 134 of the interior space 112 in line 4 of ¶0037 and the rear portion 134 of the cabinet 110 in line 15 of ¶0037. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specifications as filed 05/15/2024, on at least ¶0037, outlines the element of the first portion 132 of the interior space 112 in line 3, to then in line 11 outline the element of the front portion 132 of the cabinet 110, to which within the disclosure, as at least seen in ¶0037, the Applicant has outlined two separate elements, that of the first portion and the front portion, to both have the identical numerical identifier 132. Appropriate correction is required on this issue throughout the Specifications.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The Specifications as filed 05/15/2024, on at least ¶0037, outlines the element of the second portion 134 of the interior space 112 in line 4, to then in line 15 outline the element of the rear portion 134 of the cabinet 110, to which within the disclosure, as at least seen in ¶0037, the Applicant has outlined two separate elements, that of the second portion and the rear portion, to both have the identical numerical identifier 134. Appropriate correction is required on this issue throughout the Specifications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 & 19 recite the limitations “wherein the first baffle extends from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet, wherein the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion of the cabinet, and wherein the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a front portion of the cabinet”, to which is unclear as to what the Applicant is claiming, given the objections to the Drawings and Specifications above, as to how the Applicant can claim both “wherein the first baffle extends from a lower rear of the interior space of the cabinet to an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet, wherein the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a front portion of the cabinet, and wherein the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion of the cabinet” in claims 7 & 17, to then claim “wherein the first baffle extends from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet, wherein the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion of the cabinet, and wherein the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a front portion of the cabinet” in claims 10 & 19, while only showing context in the Drawings for the limitations as claims 7 & 17 are constructed; additionally compounded by the Specifications themselves seemingly contradicting itself within at least ¶0037 of the Specifications filed 05/15/2024 in regards to multiple instances of multiple elements being identified as a single numerical identifier, all of which presents a lack of clarity in what the Applicant is claiming in claims 10 & 19.
Claims 11-13 and 20 similarly recite the limitation(s) (claim 20 will be used as an example, as it contains all the limitations within claims 11-12) of “wherein the first baffle defines a first air dam between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module and a top interior surface of the cabinet, a second air dam between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module and a bottom interior surface of the cabinet, a third air dam between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module and a first side interior surface of the cabinet, and a fourth air dam between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module and a second side interior surface of the cabinet”, to which, as outlined in the Drawing objection above, is unclear to what the Applicant is claiming with the first, second, third, and fourth air dams, as the Applicant has not further outlined or detailed the elements within the Specifications to be given a special definition, nor does the Applicant display any structural detail on the first baffle 130, as can be seen in Fig. 6, to give light to any structure sufficient to display the details of the first, second, third, or fourth air dams, and the limitations therein, outside of the single diagonal line of the first baffle 130. For examination purposes, and until further clarity is rendered, the Examiner is interpreting any structure that can be shown to perform the function of damming air, to be an air dam.
Claim 13 is rejected, as stated above, for further elaborating on all of the first, second, third, and fourth air dams, and its dependency from rejected claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, & 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunter (EP3603360).
Regarding claim 1, Hunter (EP3603360) shows a system for cooling a computer cabinet, comprising:
a computer cabinet (¶0018) having an interior space (110, Fig. 2, ¶0019);
at least two vertical rails (131 / 132, Fig. 1, ¶0021) disposed within the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1);
at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (120 / 321 / 322 / 323, Fig. 3C, ¶0033-0035) disposed between the vertical rails within the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1); and
a first baffle (161, Fig. 1¶0033-0035) configured to separate the interior space of the cabinet into a first portion (140, Fig. 1, ¶0035) and a second portion (150, Fig. 1, ¶0035),
wherein the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module extends into both the first and second portions of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1), and
wherein the first baffle (161, Fig. 1) directs air flowing into the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, ¶0025) through the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (¶0025, 0035) and to the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet (¶0025, 0035).
Regarding claim 2, Hunter shows wherein the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module comprises a plurality of modules (120 / 321 / 322 / 323, Fig. 3C, ¶0033-0035), with each module extending into both the first and second portions of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2), and
wherein the first baffle (161, Fig. 1) directs air flowing into the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet through the plurality of modules (Fig. 1/2) and to the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, ¶0025, 0035).
Regarding claim 3, Hunter shows further comprising a second baffle (162, Fig. 1/2) coupling the first baffle with the at least two vertical rails (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hunter shows wherein the at least two vertical rails comprise:
a first vertical rail (see Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to a right front of the interior space of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant has shown a first vertical rail disposed adjacent to a right front of the interior space of the cabinet by showing the first vertical rail 124a in their own Fig. 1, as does Hunter show);
a second vertical rail (see Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to a right rear of the interior space of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant has shown a second vertical rail disposed adjacent to a right rear of the interior space of the cabinet by showing the second vertical rail 124b in their own Fig. 1, as does Hunter show);
a third vertical rail (see Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to a left front of the interior space of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant has shown a third vertical rail disposed adjacent to a right rear of the interior space of the cabinet by showing the third vertical rail 124c in their own Fig. 1, as does Hunter show); and
a fourth vertical rail (see Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to a left rear of the interior
space of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant has shown a fourth vertical rail disposed adjacent to a right rear of the interior space of the cabinet by showing the fourth vertical rail 124d in their own Fig. 1, as does Hunter show); and
wherein the system further comprises: a second baffle (162, Fig. 1) that couples the first baffle
with the first and second vertical rails (Fig. 1); and
a third baffle (324, Fig. 3C/3D) that couples the first baffle with the third and fourth vertical rails (Fig. 1, see Annotated Figure 1 - ¶0023, Lines 1-4 – the first baffle 161 and the second baffle, of which the baffles 161 and 162 are located on the front and rear of elements 131 / 132, of which themselves extend from an upper front and upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front and a lower rear of the interior space if the cabinet, facilitate the third baffle 324, or a blanking plate, coupling the first baffle with the third and fourth vertical rails, located on elements 131 and 132).
Regarding claim 5, Hunter shows wherein the first baffle (161, Fig. 1) is vertically disposed within the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hunter shows further comprising: a cold air inlet vent (115, Fig. 1, ¶0014 – the cooling medium is air, which is also located at the lower end of the device where cold air sinks to (as heat rises and colder air falls), of which the cooling medium of air can be seen entering the cold air inlet 115) through a bottom surface of the cabinet (112, Fig. 1) in communication with the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1); and a hot air outlet vent (116, Fig. 1, ¶0023, Lines 10-13 – in preventing hot air from building up on the second portion of the interior space, element 116 vents the hot air therethrough) through a top surface (111, Fig. 1) of the cabinet in communication with the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Hunter shows wherein the first baffle defines a first air dam (see Annotated Figure 1) between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (see Annotated Figure 1) and a top interior surface of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant shows any first air dam in any context, as does Hunter show; see Drawing Objection and 112(b) rejection above), and
a second air dam (see Annotated Figure 1) between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (see Annotated Figure 1) and a bottom interior surface of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant shows any second air dam in any context, as does Hunter show; see Drawing Objection and 112(b) rejection above).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 12, Hunter shows wherein the first baffle further defines a third air dam (see Annotated Figure 1) between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (see Annotated Figure 1) and a first side interior surface of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant shows the first side interior surface of the cabinet to be on the same side as the first portion 132 in Fig. 7, as does Hunter show the third dam being between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module and a first side interior surface of the cabinet located within the first portion; see Drawing Objection and 112(b) rejection above), and
a fourth air dam (see Annotated Figure 1) between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (see Annotated Figure 1) and a second side interior surface of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant shows the second side interior surface of the cabinet to be on the same side as the second portion 134 in Fig. 7, as does Hunter show the fourth dam being between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module and a second side interior surface of the cabinet located within the second portion; see Drawing Objection and 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding claim 13, Hunter shows wherein the first, second, third, and fourth air dams are a unitary structure (see Annotated Figure 1, ¶0023, Lines 1-4 – the first, second, third, and fourth air dams are all located on the first baffle 161, of which the baffles 161 and 162 are located on the front and rear frames 131 / 132, of which themselves extend from an upper front and upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front and a lower rear of the interior space if the cabinet; therein, the first, second, third, and fourth air dams are a unitary structure of the first baffle 161).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (EP3603360), in view of Ignacio (US 2014/0306271).
Regarding claim 7, Hunter shows wherein the first baffle (161, Fig. 1) extends from a lower part of the interior space of the cabinet to an upper part of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1),
wherein the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a front portion of the cabinet (Fig. 1 – element 131 is identified as “a front frame” of which the Examiner is using the broadest reasonable interpretation to understand that it is located on a front portion of the cabinet, where the first portion 140 of the interior space is positioned), and
wherein the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion of the cabinet (Fig. 1 – element 132 is identified as a “rear frame” of which the Examiner is using the broadest reasonable interpretation to understand that it is located on a rear portion of the cabinet, where the second portion 150 of the interior space is positioned).
However, Hunter lacks showing wherein the first baffle extends from a lower rear of the interior space of the cabinet to an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet.
Ignacio (US 2014/0206271), a baffle for a ventilated cabinet, is in the same field of endeavor as Hunter which is a baffle for a ventilated cabinet.
Ignacio teaches wherein the baffle (10, Fig. 1 – the Merriam-Websters Dictionary defines Baffle: “a device (such as a plate, wall , or screen) to deflect, check, or regulate flow or passage (as of fluid, light, or sound)”, to which the Examiner is understanding element 10 to be a baffle that deflects passage of air, which is a fluid) extends from a lower rear of the cabinet (12, Fig. 1) to an upper front of the cabinet (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first baffle of Hunter to incorporate the teachings of the baffle of Ignacio, which would provide an apparatus that can be installed on new cabinets or retrofitted, that provides cooled air to the modules wherever needed within the rack cabinet (¶0007).
Regarding claim 8, Hunter shows further comprising: a cold air inlet vent (115, Fig. 1/2, ¶0014 – the cooling medium is air, which is also located at the lower end of the device where cold air sinks to (as heat rises and colder air falls), especially considering the temperature of that air before it flows through the heated rack, of which the cooling medium of air can be seen entering the cold air inlet 115) through a bottom surface of the cabinet (112, Fig. 1/2); and
a hot air outlet vent (116, Fig. 1/2, ¶0023, Lines 10-13 – in preventing hot air from building up on the second portion of the interior space, element 116 vents the hot air therethrough) through a top surface of the cabinet (111, Fig. 1/2).
Claims 9 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (EP3603360).
Regarding claim 9, Hunter shows further comprising: a hot air outlet vent (116, Fig. 1/2, ¶0023, Lines 10-13 – in preventing hot air from building up on the second portion of the interior space, element 116 vents the hot air therethrough) through a top surface of the cabinet (111, Fig. 1/2); and a cold air inlet vent (115, Fig. 1/2, ¶0014 – the cooling medium is air, which is also located at the lower end of the device where cold air sinks to (as heat rises and colder air falls), especially considering the temperature of that air before it flows through the heated rack, of which the cooling medium of air can be seen entering the cold air inlet 115) through a bottom surface of the cabinet (112, Fig. 1/2).
Regarding claim 9 and the limitation “a hot air outlet vent through a bottom surface of the cabinet, and a cold air inlet vent through a top surface of the cabinet”, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the hot air outlet vent through the bottom surface of the cabinet, and the cold air inlet vent through the top surface of the cabinet instead of having the hot air outlet vent through the top surface of the cabinet, and the cold air inlet vent through the bottom surface of the cabinet, because applicant has not disclosed that having the hot air outlet vent through the bottom surface of the cabinet, and the cold air inlet vent through the top surface of the cabinet provides an advantage, is used for particular purpose , or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, would have expected the Applicant's invention to perform equally well with having the hot air outlet vent through the bottom surface of the cabinet, and the cold air inlet vent through the top surface of the cabinet or having the hot air outlet vent through the top surface of the cabinet, and the cold air inlet vent through the bottom surface of the cabinet arrangements, because both arrangements performs the function of intaking, moving through, and exhausting air from the cabinet equally well. (MPEP 2144.04, Sect VI.A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunter’s cabinet to have the hot air outlet vent through the bottom surface of the cabinet, and the cold air inlet vent through the top surface of the cabinet for the predictable result and benefit of using geothermal cooling that runs underground for the hot air outlet vent through the bottom surface of the cabinet to vent through.
Regarding claim 10, Hunter shows wherein the first baffle (161, Fig. 1) extends from an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, ¶0023, Lines 1-4 – the baffles 161 and 162 are located on the front and rear frames 131 / 132, of which themselves extend from an upper front and upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front and a lower rear of the interior space if the cabinet), wherein the first portion (140, Fig. 1/2) of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, see Annotated Figure A - as the Applicant has shown the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet 132 comprises of a rear portion 134, as outlined in Annotated Figure A above, as does Hunter show the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet 140 comprises a rear portion of the cabinet, via the fluid connection to the rear portion of element 132 in the second portion 150), and wherein the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet (150, Fig. 1/2) comprises a front portion of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, see Annotated Figure A - as the Applicant has shown the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet 134 comprises of the front portion 132, as outlined in Annotated Figure A above, as does Hunter show the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet 150 comprises a front portion of the cabinet, via the fluid connection to the front portion of element 131 in the first portion 140).
Regarding claim 10 and the limitation “wherein the first baffle extends from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet”, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first baffle extending from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet instead of having the first baffle extending from an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet, because applicant has not disclosed that having the first baffle extending from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet provides an advantage, is used for particular purpose , or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, would have expected the Applicant's invention to perform equally well with having the first baffle extending from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet or having the first baffle extending from an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet arrangement, because both arrangements perform the function of working to transfer air inside the cabinet equally well. (MPEP 2144.04, Sect VI.C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunters first baffle to from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet for the predictable result and benefit of providing multiple cooling paths within rack-mounted data cabinets, which are presented in dense hardware configurations in a relatively small footprint (¶0001/0002).
Claims 14-16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunter (EP3603360).
Regarding claim 14, Hunter (EP3603360) shows a system for cooling a computer cabinet having at least two vertical rails configured to support a plurality of rack-mounted computer equipment modules which are attached to the at least two vertical rails, the system comprising:
a first baffle (161, Fig. 1) configured to separate an interior space of the cabinet into a first portion (140, Fig. 1) and a second portion (150, Fig. 1, ),
a first baffle (161, Fig. 1¶0033-0035) configured to separate the interior space (110, Fig. 1) of the cabinet into a first portion (140, Fig. 1, ¶0035) and a second portion (150, Fig. 1, ¶0035),
wherein the first baffle (161/162, Fig. 1) directs air flowing into the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, ¶0025) through the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (¶0025, 0035) and to the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet (¶0025, 0035).
Regarding claim 15, Hunter shows further comprising a second baffle (162, Fig. 1/2) coupling the first baffle with the at least two vertical rails (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Hunter shows wherein the at least two vertical rails comprise:
a first vertical rail (see Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to a right front of the interior space of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant has shown a first vertical rail disposed adjacent to a right front of the interior space of the cabinet by showing the first vertical rail 124a in their own Fig. 1, as does Hunter show);
a second vertical rail (see Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to a right rear of the interior space of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant has shown a second vertical rail disposed adjacent to a right rear of the interior space of the cabinet by showing the second vertical rail 124b in their own Fig. 1, as does Hunter show);
a third vertical rail (see Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to a left front of the interior space of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant has shown a third vertical rail disposed adjacent to a right rear of the interior space of the cabinet by showing the third vertical rail 124c in their own Fig. 1, as does Hunter show); and
a fourth vertical rail (see Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to a left rear of the interior
space of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant has shown a fourth vertical rail disposed adjacent to a right rear of the interior space of the cabinet by showing the fourth vertical rail 124d in their own Fig. 1, as does Hunter show); and
wherein the system further comprises: a second baffle (162, Fig. 1) that couples the first baffle
with the first and second vertical rails (Fig. 1); and
a third baffle (324, Fig. 3C/3D) that couples the first baffle with the third and fourth vertical rails (Fig. 1, see Annotated Figure 1 - ¶0023, Lines 1-4 – the first baffle 161 and the second baffle, of which the baffles 161 and 162 are located on the front and rear of elements 131 / 132, of which themselves extend from an upper front and upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front and a lower rear of the interior space if the cabinet, facilitate the third baffle 324, or a blanking plate, coupling the first baffle with the third and fourth vertical rails, located on elements 131 and 132).
Regarding claim 20, Hunter shows wherein the first baffle defines a first air dam (see Annotated Figure 1) between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (see Annotated Figure 1) and a top interior surface of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant shows any first air dam in any context, as does Hunter show; see Drawing Objection and 112(b) rejection above), and
a second air dam (see Annotated Figure 1) between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (see Annotated Figure 1) and a bottom interior surface of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant shows any second air dam in any context, as does Hunter show; see Drawing Objection and 112(b) rejection above),
a third air dam (see Annotated Figure 1) between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (see Annotated Figure 1) and a first side interior surface of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant shows the first side interior surface of the cabinet to be on the same side as the first portion 132 in Fig. 7, as does Hunter show the third dam being between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module and a first side interior surface of the cabinet located within the first portion; see Drawing Objection and 112(b) rejection above), and
a fourth air dam (see Annotated Figure 1) between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module (see Annotated Figure 1) and a second side interior surface of the cabinet (see Annotated Figure 1 – as the Applicant shows the second side interior surface of the cabinet to be on the same side as the second portion 134 in Fig. 7, as does Hunter show the fourth dam being between the at least one rack-mounted computer equipment module and a second side interior surface of the cabinet located within the second portion; see Drawing Objection and 112(b) rejection above).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (EP3603360), in view of Ignacio (US 2014/0306271).
Regarding claim 17, Hunter shows wherein the first baffle (161, Fig. 1) extends from a lower part of the interior space of the cabinet to an upper part of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1),
wherein the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a front portion of the cabinet (Fig. 1 – element 131 is identified as “a front frame” of which the Examiner is using the broadest reasonable interpretation to understand that it is located on a front portion of the cabinet, where the first portion 140 of the interior space is positioned), and
wherein the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion of the cabinet (Fig. 1 – element 132 is identified as a “rear frame” of which the Examiner is using the broadest reasonable interpretation to understand that it is located on a rear portion of the cabinet, where the second portion 150 of the interior space is positioned).
However, Hunter lacks showing wherein the first baffle extends from a lower rear of the interior space of the cabinet to an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet.
Ignacio (US 2014/0206271), a baffle for a ventilated cabinet, is in the same field of endeavor as Hunter which is a baffle for a ventilated cabinet.
Ignacio teaches wherein the baffle (10, Fig. 1 – the Merriam-Websters Dictionary defines Baffle: “a device (such as a plate, wall , or screen) to deflect, check, or regulate flow or passage (as of fluid, light, or sound)”, to which the Examiner is understanding element 10 to be a baffle that deflects passage of air, which is a fluid) extends from a lower rear of the cabinet (12, Fig. 1) to an upper front of the cabinet (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first baffle of Hunter to incorporate the teachings of the baffle of Ignacio, which would provide an apparatus that can be installed on new cabinets or retrofitted, that provides cooled air to the modules wherever needed within the rack cabinet (¶0007).
Regarding claim 18, Hunter shows further comprising:
a cold air inlet vent (115, Fig. 1/2, ¶0014 – the cooling medium is air, which is also located at the lower end of the device where cold air sinks to (as heat rises and colder air falls), of which the cooling medium of air can be seen entering the cold air inlet 115) through one of a top surface of the cabinet and a bottom surface of the cabinet (112, Fig. 1/2 – the cold air vent is located through a bottom surface of the cabinet, with “through one of a top surface of the cabinet and a bottom surface of the cabinet” being a Markush limitation in which “a bottom surface of the cabinet” was not selected); and
a hot air outlet vent (116, Fig. 1/2, ¶0023, Lines 10-13 – in preventing hot air from building up on the second portion of the interior space, element 116 vents the hot air therethrough) through the other of the top surface of the cabinet and the bottom surface of the cabinet (111, Fig. 1/2 – the hot air outlet vent is through the other of the selection of the Markush limitation above, in which the hot air outlet vent is through the top surface 111 of the cabinet).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (EP3603360).
Regarding claim 19, Hunter shows wherein the first baffle (161, Fig. 1) extends from an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, ¶0023, Lines 1-4 – the baffles 161 and 162 are located on the front and rear frames 131 / 132, of which themselves extend from an upper front and upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front and a lower rear of the interior space if the cabinet), wherein the first portion (140, Fig. 1/2) of the interior space of the cabinet comprises a rear portion of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, see Annotated Figure A - as the Applicant has shown the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet 132 comprises of a rear portion 134, as outlined in Annotated Figure A above, as does Hunter show the first portion of the interior space of the cabinet 140 comprises a rear portion of the cabinet, via the fluid connection to the rear portion of element 132 in the second portion 150), and wherein the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet (150, Fig. 1/2) comprises a front portion of the cabinet (Fig. 1/2, see Annotated Figure A - as the Applicant has shown the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet 134 comprises of the front portion 132, as outlined in Annotated Figure A above, as does Hunter show the second portion of the interior space of the cabinet 150 comprises a front portion of the cabinet, via the fluid connection to the front portion of element 131 in the first portion 140).
Regarding claim 19 and the limitation “wherein the first baffle extends from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet”, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first baffle extending from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet instead of having the first baffle extending from an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet, because applicant has not disclosed that having the first baffle extending from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet provides an advantage, is used for particular purpose , or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, would have expected the Applicant's invention to perform equally well with having the first baffle extending from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet or having the first baffle extending from an upper front of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet arrangement, because both arrangements perform the function of working to transfer air inside the cabinet equally well. (MPEP 2144.04, Sect VI.C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hunters first baffle to from an upper rear of the interior space of the cabinet to a lower front of the interior space of the cabinet for the predictable result and benefit of providing multiple cooling paths within rack-mounted data cabinets, which are presented in dense hardware configurations in a relatively small footprint (¶0001/0002).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related ventilated cabinets:
US 2009/0059523 - Mallia discloses a ventilated cabinet with the airflow flowing through the internal modules
US 2010/0141105 – Slessman discloses a ventilated cabinet with the airflow flowing horizontally through the internal modules
US 2010/0248609 – Tresh discloses a ventilated cabinet with airflow flowing across the internal modules, then exhausted upward
Conclusion
/RYAN L FAULKNER/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762