DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 6/24/2026 wherein claims 2-3, 11, 13 are canceled and claims 1, 4-10, 12, and 14-23 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor” (Claim 1); the “purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet” (Claims 1, 14, and 20).
The “valve mechanism” is described in the specification as being a “valve and a connection piece” (Applicant’s Paragraph 0018) and the “purging mechanism” is described as being a “fan” (Applicant’s Paragraphs 0067-0068).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 2876280 A1) in view of Scipio et al. (US 2017/0342900) and Laing et al. (US 2017/0306845).
Regarding Independent Claim 14, Huber teaches (Figures 1-10) a micro gas turbine (1, 2, 3, 4, 5; see title and Figures 1a and 8-10) comprising:
a compressor (1) configured to take in and pressurize gas (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a combustor (3) configured to:
take in pressurized gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) from the compressor (1); and
generate hot gas on the basis of fuel combustion (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a turbine (4) configured to take in and expand hot gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) generated by the combustor (3);
a generator (5) mechanically coupled (via 4a) to the turbine (4) and configured to generate electric power on the basis of mechanical power provided by the turbine (4) (see abstract and Paragraphs 0001 and 0005); and
a valve mechanism (16) which is associated with an inlet path (6) to the compressor (1).
Huber does not teach a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine, a valve mechanism comprising a valve and a connection piece having three connection areas; a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine, the cabinet is connected to a respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece; or a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; to an exhaust connected to another respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece and associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, and the compressor is connected to another respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece through the valve.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) a controller (92) configured to control operation of a gas turbine (10), a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprising a valve (122) and a connection piece (78) having three connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80), a cabinet (48) accommodating at least the compressor (32), the combustor (18) and the turbine (22), the cabinet (48) is connected to a respective one (via 88 or 210) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78), and a purging mechanism (at 88, 210) configured to purge an interior of the cabinet (48; see Paragraph 0039, Paragraph 0045, and Figures 1-3 and 6), wherein a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) that is controllable by the controller (92) to open (via 96) the inlet path of the compressor (32): to the interior (via 88 or 210; see Figures 1-6) of the cabinet (48) enabling the compressor (32) to take in air from the interior (via 88 or 210) of the cabinet (48); to an exhaust (80) connected to another respective one (via 80) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78) and associated with the turbine (22) for enabling the compressor (32) to take in exhaust gas (TEG; see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0021) from the turbine (22), and wherein the compressor (32) is connected to another respective one (via 76) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78) through the valve (122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber to have a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine, a valve mechanism comprising a valve and a connection piece having three connection areas; a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine, the cabinet is connected to a respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece; and a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; to an exhaust connected to another respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece and associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, and wherein the compressor is connected to another respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece through the valve., as taught by Scipio, in order to control the quantity of the inlet flow supplied by the compressor by controlling the temperature of the inlet flow without controlling the volumetric flow rate of the inlet flow and to control the temperature, the composition, and the flow rate of the heated flow supplied to the compressor (Paragraphs 0019 and 0029 of Scipio). Huber in view of Scipio does not teach air being supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged.
Laing teaches (Figures 1-17) a purge mechanism (232) configured to purge (see flow arrows in Figure 2) an interior of a cabinet (220) of a turbine engine (200) by supplying air (induced airflow 226) to the interior (via 230) of the cabinet (220).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio to have air supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged, as taught by Laing, in order to cool parts of the turbomachine, e.g., combustor assembly, turbine portion, etc., before being vented through the outlet opening (see Paragraph 0031 of Laing).
Regarding Claim 15, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber further teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein: the connection piece (16) is Y-shaped and the three connection areas comprise two bifurcation legs (annotated below) and a main leg (annotated below); the compressor (1) is connected to a first one of the bifurcation legs (an inlet of 16; see Figures 8-10) of the connection piece (16), the exhaust (9) is connected to another of the bifurcation legs (at 28; see Figures 8-10) of the connection piece (16). Huber in view of Scipio does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the compressor is connected to a first inlet of the connection piece through the valve or that the cabinet is connected to the main leg of the connection piece.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprises: a valve (122); and a connection piece (78) having three connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80); the compressor (32) is connected to a first inlet (80) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78) through the valve (122) and the cabinet (48) is connected to (via 190) the outlet (76) of the connection piece (78).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio and Laing to have the valve mechanism comprises: a valve; and a connection piece having three connection areas; the compressor being connected to a first inlet of the connection piece through the valve and the cabinet being connected to the main leg of the connection piece, as taught by Scipio, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 14.
Regarding Claim 16, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the purging mechanism comprises a ventilating mechanism configured to generate a flow of air in the cabinet.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the purging mechanism (at 88, 210) is further configured to (at 202) generate a flow of air (by drawing airflow to 204) in the cabinet (48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio and Laing to have the purging mechanism comprises a ventilating mechanism configured to generate a flow of air in the cabinet, as taught by Scipio, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
It is noted that Laing also teaches a purging mechanism (250) comprises a ventilating mechanism (254) configured to generate a flow of air (by drawing airflow through 226) in the cabinet (220).
Regarding Claim 17, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber further teaches (Figures 1-10) a heat exchanger (2) configured and arranged to serve as a recuperator (see Figures 8-10) for pre-heating pressurized gas (7) obtained from the compressor (1) before being supplied to the combustor (3) by allowing the pressurized gas (7) to exchange heat with exhaust gas (9) from the exhaust (see Figures 8-10) and also teaches a heat exchanger (13) configured and arranged to serve for heating an external medium (from 29) by allowing the external medium (from 29) to exchange heat with exhaust gas (9) from the exhaust (see Figures 8-10).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Huber teaches (Figures 1-10) a micro gas turbine (1, 2, 3, 4, 5; see title and Figures 1a and 8-10) comprising:
a compressor (1) configured to take in and pressurize gas (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a combustor (3) configured to:
take in pressurized gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) from the compressor (1); and
generate hot gas on the basis of fuel combustion (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a turbine (4) configured to take in and expand hot gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) generated by the combustor (3);
a generator (5) mechanically coupled (via 4a) to the turbine (4) and configured to generate electric power on the basis of mechanical power provided by the turbine (4) (see abstract and Paragraphs 0001 and 0005); and
a valve mechanism (16, 27) which is associated with an inlet path (6) to the compressor (1), the valve mechanism comprising a valve (27) and a Y-shaped connection piece (at 16; see Figures 8-10) comprising two bifurcation legs (the inlets of the Y-shaped connection piece; see annotation above) and a main leg (at 6, the outlet of the Y-shaped connection piece; see annotation above).
Huber does not teach a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine; a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine, the cabinet is connected to the main leg of the Y shaped connection piece; or a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; to an exhaust connected to a respective one of the two bifurcation legs of the Y-shaped connection piece and associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, and wherein the compressor is connected to another respective one of the two bifurcation legs of the Y-shaped connection piece through the valve.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) a controller (92) configured to control operation of a gas turbine (10), a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprising a connection piece (78) and a valve (122), the connection piece (78) having inlets (88 or 210, and 80) and an outlet (76), a cabinet (48) accommodating at least the compressor (32), the combustor (18) and the turbine (22), the cabinet (48) is connected to an outlet (at 76) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8), and a purging mechanism (at 88, 210) configured to purge an interior of the cabinet (48; see Paragraph 0039, Paragraph 0045, and Figures 1-3 and 6), wherein the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) that is controllable by the controller (92) to open (via 96) the inlet path of the compressor (32): to the interior (via 88 or 210; see Figures 1-6) of the cabinet (48) enabling the compressor (32) to take in air from the interior (via 88 or 210) of the cabinet (48); to an exhaust (from 86) connected to a respective inlet (at 80) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8) and associated with the turbine (22) for enabling the compressor (32) to take in exhaust gas (TEG; see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0021) from the turbine (22), and wherein the compressor (32) is connected to another inlet (via 210 or 88) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8) through the valve (122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber to have a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine, a valve mechanism comprising a valve and a connection piece having two inlets and an outlet; a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine, the cabinet is connected to an outlet of the connection piece; and a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; to an exhaust connected to an inlet of the connection piece and associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, and wherein the compressor is connected to another inlet of the connection areas of the connection piece through the valve., as taught by Scipio, in order to control the quantity of the inlet flow supplied by the compressor by controlling the temperature of the inlet flow without controlling the volumetric flow rate of the inlet flow and to control the temperature, the composition, and the flow rate of the heated flow supplied to the compressor (Paragraphs 0019 and 0029 of Scipio).
Huber in view of Scipio does not teach air being supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged.
Laing teaches (Figures 1-17) a purge mechanism (232) configured to purge (see flow arrows in Figure 2) an interior of a cabinet (220) of a turbine engine (200) by supplying air (induced airflow 226) to the interior (via 230) of the cabinet (220).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio to have air supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged, as taught by Laing, in order to cool parts of the turbomachine, e.g., combustor assembly, turbine portion, etc., before being vented through the outlet opening (see Paragraph 0031 of Laing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-10, 12, and 21 are allowed.
Claims 18-19 and 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach, in combination with the other limitations with the independent claims: “controlling the valve mechanism to allow air from the cabinet and/or exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow to the compressor, besides ambient air; checking an actual value related to an output electric power of the micro gas turbine selected from a group consisting of an actual value of an output electric current of the micro gas turbine and an actual value of an electric efficiency of the micro gas turbine; when the actual value is found to be lower than a predetermined operative value related to the output electric power of the micro gas turbine selected from a group consisting of a predetermined operative of the output electric current of the micro gas turbine and a predetermined operative value of the electric efficiency of the micro gas turbine, driving the micro gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value is achieved . . . and perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value related to the output electric power of the micro gas turbine selected from a group consisting of a predetermined maximum value of the output electric current of the micro gas turbine and a predetermined maximum value of the electric efficiency of the micro gas turbine” (Claim 1, lines 23-47 and Claim 18, lines 4-23); “controlling the valve mechanism to allow air from the cabinet and/or exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow to the compressor, besides ambient air; checking an actual value related to an output electric power of the micro gas turbine selected from a group consisting of an actual value of an output electric current of the micro gas turbine and an actual value of an electric efficiency of the micro gas turbine; when the actual value is found to be lower than a predetermined operative value selected from a group consisting of a predetermined operative of the output electric current of the micro gas turbine and a predetermined operative value of the electric efficiency of the micro gas turbine, driving the micro gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value is achieved . . . and perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value related to the output electric power of the micro gas turbine selected from a group consisting of a predetermined maximum value of the output electric current of the micro gas turbine and a predetermined maximum value of the electric efficiency of the micro gas turbine” (Claim 22, lines 3-21).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, regarding claims 14 and 20, filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach or suggest a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet, and a valve mechanism controllable by a controller to open an inlet path of the compressor (i) to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet, and (ii) to an exhaust associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine. In response and as discussed in the body of the rejection above, Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) a purging mechanism (at 88, 210) configured to purge an interior of the cabinet (48; see Paragraph 0039, Paragraph 0045, and Figures 1-3 and 6), wherein a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) that is controllable by the controller (92) to open (via 96) the inlet path of the compressor (32): to the interior (via 88 or 210; see Figures 1-6) of the cabinet (48) enabling the compressor (32) to take in air from the interior (via 88 or 210) of the cabinet (48); to an exhaust (80) associated with the turbine (22) for enabling the compressor (32) to take in exhaust gas (TEG; see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0021) from the turbine (22). Laing teaches (Figures 1-17) a purge mechanism (232) configured to purge (see flow arrows in Figure 2) an interior of a cabinet (220) of a turbine engine (200) by supplying air (induced airflow 226) to the interior (via 230) of the cabinet (220). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 14 and 20 are refuted by the references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741