DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 12/31/2025 wherein claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 18, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“supply of the air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust” (Claim 4, line 8; Claim 18, line 12; and Claim 19, line 8) is believed to be in error for - - supply at least one of air from the cabinet or exhaust gas - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor” (Claim 1); the “purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet” (Claims 1, 14, and 20); the “ventilation mechanism configured to generate a flow of air in the cabinet” (Claims 8 and 16).
The “valve mechanism” is described in the specification as being a “valve and a connection piece” (Applicant’s Paragraph 0018) and the “purging mechanism” is described as being a “fan” (Applicant’s Paragraphs 0067-0068).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “ventilating mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s specification describes “the purging mechanism comprises a ventilating mechanism designed to generate a flow of air in the cabinet” in Paragraph 0038, but does not disclose any corresponding structure of the “ventilating mechanism” Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 2876280 A1) in view of Scipio et al. (US 2017/0342900) and Laing et al. (US 2017/0306845).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Huber teaches (Figures 1-10) a micro gas turbine (1, 2, 3, 4, 5; see title and Figures 1a and 8-10) comprising:
a compressor (1) configured to take in and pressurize gas (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a combustor (3) configured to:
take in pressurized gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) from the compressor (1); and
generate hot gas on the basis of fuel combustion (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a turbine (4) configured to take in and expand hot gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) generated by the combustor (3);
a generator (5) mechanically coupled (via 4a) to the turbine (4) and configured to generate electric power on the basis of mechanical power (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005); and
a valve mechanism (16, 27) which is associated with an inlet path (6) to the compressor (1).
Huber does not teach a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine, a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine; or a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; and to an exhaust associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) a controller (92) configured to control operation of a gas turbine (10), a cabinet (48) accommodating at least the compressor (32), the combustor (18) and the turbine (22), and a purging mechanism (at 88, 210) configured to purge an interior of the cabinet (48; see Paragraph 0039, Paragraph 0045, and Figures 1-3 and 6), wherein a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) that is controllable by the controller (92) to open (via 96) the inlet path of the compressor (32): to the interior (via 88 or 210; see Figures 1-6) of the cabinet (48) enabling the compressor (32) to take in air from the interior (via 88 or 210) of the cabinet (48); and to an exhaust (80) associated with the turbine (22) for enabling the compressor (32) to take in exhaust gas (TEG; see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0021) from the turbine (22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber to have a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine, a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine; and a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; and to an exhaust associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, as taught by Scipio, in order to control the quantity of the inlet flow supplied by the compressor by controlling the temperature of the inlet flow without controlling the volumetric flow rate of the inlet flow and to control the temperature, the composition, and the flow rate of the heated flow supplied to the compressor (Paragraphs 0019 and 0029 of Scipio). Huber in view of Scipio does not teach air being supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged.
Laing teaches (Figures 1-17) a purge mechanism (232) configured to purge (see flow arrows in Figure 2) an interior of a cabinet (220) of a turbine engine (200) by supplying air (induced airflow 226) to the interior (via 230) of the cabinet (220).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio to have air supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged, as taught by Laing, in order to cool parts of the turbomachine, e.g., combustor assembly, turbine portion, etc., before being vented through the outlet opening (see Paragraph 0031 of Laing).
Regarding Claim 2, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber further (Figures 1-10) teaches wherein the valve mechanism (16, 27) comprises: a valve (27) and a connection piece (16) having connection areas (the two inlets and the outlet; see Figures 8-10), the compressor (1) is connected to a first one of the connection areas (at 6; see Figures 8-10) of the connection piece (16), the exhaust (9) is connected to a second one of the connection areas (at 28) of the connection piece (16). Huber in view of Scipio and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the compressor is connected to the connection piece through the valve or that the cabinet is connected to a third one of the connection areas of the connection piece.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprises: a valve (122); and a connection piece (78) having connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80); the compressor (32) is connected to a first one (76) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78) through the valve (122); the exhaust (flow from 86) is connected (via 176) to a second one (80) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78); and the cabinet (48) is connected to (via 190) a third one (88 or 210) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio and Laing to have the valve mechanism comprises: a valve; and a connection piece having connection areas; the compressor is connected to a first one of the connection areas of the connection piece through the valve; the exhaust is connected to a second one of the connection areas of the connection piece; and the cabinet is connected to a third one of the connection areas of the connection piece, as taught by Scipio, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber further teaches (Figures 1-10) a heat exchanger (2) configured and arranged to serve as a recuperator (see Figures 1a and 8-10) for pre-heating pressurized gas (7) obtained from the compressor (1) before being supplied to the combustor (3) by allowing the pressurized gas (7) to exchange heat with exhaust gas (9) from the exhaust (see Figures 1a and 8-10).
Regarding Claim 7, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber further teaches (Figures 1-10) a heat exchanger (13) configured and arranged to serve for heating an external medium (from 29) by allowing the external medium to exchange heat with exhaust gas (9) from the exhaust (see Figures 1a and 8-10).
Regarding Claim 8, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the purging mechanism comprises a ventilating mechanism configured to generate a flow of air in the cabinet.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the purging mechanism (at 88, 210) comprises a ventilating mechanism (at 202) configured to generate a flow of air (by drawing airflow to 204) in the cabinet (48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio and Laing to have the purging mechanism comprises a ventilating mechanism configured to generate a flow of air in the cabinet, as taught by Scipio, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
It is noted that Laing also teaches a purging mechanism (250) comprises a ventilating mechanism (254) configured to generate a flow of air (by drawing airflow through 226) in the cabinet (220).
Regarding Claim 9, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber further teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein: the connection piece (16) is Y-shaped and comprises bifurcation legs (annotated below) and a main leg (annotated below); the compressor (1) is connected to a first one of the bifurcation legs (an inlet of 16; see Figures 8-10) of the connection piece (16), the exhaust (9) is connected to another of the bifurcation legs (at 28; see Figures 8-10) of the connection piece (16). Huber in view of Scipio and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the compressor is connected to a first inlet of the connection piece through the valve or that the cabinet is connected to the main leg of the connection piece.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprises: a valve (122); and a connection piece (78) having three connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80); the compressor (32) is connected to a first inlet (80) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78) through the valve (122) and the cabinet (48) is connected to (via 190) the outlet (76) of the connection piece (78).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio and Laing to have the valve mechanism comprises: a valve; and a connection piece having three connection areas; the compressor being connected to a first inlet of the connection piece through the valve and the cabinet being connected to the main leg of the connection piece, as taught by Scipio, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding Independent Claim 14, Huber teaches (Figures 1-10) a micro gas turbine (1, 2, 3, 4, 5; see title and Figures 1a and 8-10) comprising:
a compressor (1) configured to take in and pressurize gas (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a combustor (3) configured to:
take in pressurized gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) from the compressor (1); and
generate hot gas on the basis of fuel combustion (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a turbine (4) configured to take in and expand hot gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) generated by the combustor (3);
a generator (5) mechanically coupled (via 4a) to the turbine (4) and configured to generate electric power on the basis of mechanical power (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005); and
a valve mechanism (16) which is associated with an inlet path (6) to the compressor (1).
Huber does not teach a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine, a valve mechanism comprising a valve and a connection piece having three connection areas; a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine, the cabinet is connected to a respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece; or a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; to an exhaust connected to another respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece and associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, and wherein the compressor is connected to another respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece through the valve.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) a controller (92) configured to control operation of a gas turbine (10), a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprising a valve (122) and a connection piece (78) having three connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80), a cabinet (48) accommodating at least the compressor (32), the combustor (18) and the turbine (22), the cabinet (48) is connected to a respective one (via 88 or 210) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78), and a purging mechanism (at 88, 210) configured to purge an interior of the cabinet (48; see Paragraph 0039, Paragraph 0045, and Figures 1-3 and 6), wherein a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) that is controllable by the controller (92) to open (via 96) the inlet path of the compressor (32): to the interior (via 88 or 210; see Figures 1-6) of the cabinet (48) enabling the compressor (32) to take in air from the interior (via 88 or 210) of the cabinet (48); to an exhaust (80) connected to another respective one (via 80) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78) and associated with the turbine (22) for enabling the compressor (32) to take in exhaust gas (TEG; see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0021) from the turbine (22), and wherein the compressor (32) is connected to another respective one (via 76) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78) through the valve (122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber to have a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine, a valve mechanism comprising a valve and a connection piece having three connection areas; a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine, the cabinet is connected to a respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece; and a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; to an exhaust connected to another respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece and associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, and wherein the compressor is connected to another respective one of the connection areas of the connection piece through the valve., as taught by Scipio, in order to control the quantity of the inlet flow supplied by the compressor by controlling the temperature of the inlet flow without controlling the volumetric flow rate of the inlet flow and to control the temperature, the composition, and the flow rate of the heated flow supplied to the compressor (Paragraphs 0019 and 0029 of Scipio). Huber in view of Scipio does not teach air being supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged.
Laing teaches (Figures 1-17) a purge mechanism (232) configured to purge (see flow arrows in Figure 2) an interior of a cabinet (220) of a turbine engine (200) by supplying air (induced airflow 226) to the interior (via 230) of the cabinet (220).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio to have air supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged, as taught by Laing, in order to cool parts of the turbomachine, e.g., combustor assembly, turbine portion, etc., before being vented through the outlet opening (see Paragraph 0031 of Laing).
Regarding Claim 15, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber further teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein: the connection piece (16) is Y-shaped and the three connection areas comprise two bifurcation legs (annotated below) and a main leg (annotated below); the compressor (1) is connected to a first one of the bifurcation legs (an inlet of 16; see Figures 8-10) of the connection piece (16), the exhaust (9) is connected to another of the bifurcation legs (at 28; see Figures 8-10) of the connection piece (16). Huber in view of Scipio does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the compressor is connected to a first inlet of the connection piece through the valve or that the cabinet is connected to the main leg of the connection piece.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprises: a valve (122); and a connection piece (78) having three connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80); the compressor (32) is connected to a first inlet (80) of the connection areas (76, 88 or 210, and 80) of the connection piece (78) through the valve (122) and the cabinet (48) is connected to (via 190) the outlet (76) of the connection piece (78).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio and Laing to have the valve mechanism comprises: a valve; and a connection piece having three connection areas; the compressor being connected to a first inlet of the connection piece through the valve and the cabinet being connected to the main leg of the connection piece, as taught by Scipio, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 14.
Regarding Claim 16, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the purging mechanism comprises a ventilating mechanism configured to generate a flow of air in the cabinet.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the purging mechanism (at 88, 210) comprises a ventilating mechanism (at 202) configured to generate a flow of air (by drawing airflow to 204) in the cabinet (48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio and Laing to have the purging mechanism comprises a ventilating mechanism configured to generate a flow of air in the cabinet, as taught by Scipio, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
It is noted that Laing also teaches a purging mechanism (250) comprises a ventilating mechanism (254) configured to generate a flow of air (by drawing airflow through 226) in the cabinet (220).
Regarding Claim 17, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber further teaches (Figures 1-10) a heat exchanger (2) configured and arranged to serve as a recuperator (see Figures 8-10) for pre-heating pressurized gas (7) obtained from the compressor (1) before being supplied to the combustor (3) by allowing the pressurized gas (7) to exchange heat with exhaust gas (9) from the exhaust (see Figures 8-10) and also teaches a heat exchanger (13) configured and arranged to serve for heating an external medium (from 29) by allowing the external medium (from 29) to exchange heat with exhaust gas (9) from the exhaust (see Figures 8-10).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Huber teaches (Figures 1-10) a micro gas turbine (1, 2, 3, 4, 5; see title and Figures 1a and 8-10) comprising:
a compressor (1) configured to take in and pressurize gas (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a combustor (3) configured to:
take in pressurized gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) from the compressor (1); and
generate hot gas on the basis of fuel combustion (Paragraphs 0001 and 0005);
a turbine (4) configured to take in and expand hot gas (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005) generated by the combustor (3);
a generator (5) mechanically coupled (via 4a) to the turbine (4) and configured to generate electric power on the basis of mechanical power (see Paragraphs 0001 and 0005); and
a valve mechanism (16, 27) which is associated with an inlet path (6) to the compressor (1), the valve mechanism comprising a valve (27) and a Y-shaped connection piece (at 16; see Figures 8-10) comprising two bifurcation legs (the inlets of the Y-shaped connection piece; see annotation above) and a main leg (at 6, the outlet of the Y-shaped connection piece; see annotation above).
Huber does not teach a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine; a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine, the cabinet is connected to the main leg of the Y shaped connection piece; or a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; to an exhaust connected to a respective one of the two bifurcation legs of the Y-shaped connection piece and associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, and wherein the compressor is connected to another respective one of the two bifurcation legs of the Y-shaped connection piece through the valve.
Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) a controller (92) configured to control operation of a gas turbine (10), a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprising a connection piece (78) and a valve (122), the connection piece (78) having inlets (88 or 210, and 80) and an outlet (76), a cabinet (48) accommodating at least the compressor (32), the combustor (18) and the turbine (22), the cabinet (48) is connected to an outlet (at 76) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8), and a purging mechanism (at 88, 210) configured to purge an interior of the cabinet (48; see Paragraph 0039, Paragraph 0045, and Figures 1-3 and 6), wherein the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) that is controllable by the controller (92) to open (via 96) the inlet path of the compressor (32): to the interior (via 88 or 210; see Figures 1-6) of the cabinet (48) enabling the compressor (32) to take in air from the interior (via 88 or 210) of the cabinet (48); to an exhaust (from 86) connected to a respective inlet (at 80) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8) and associated with the turbine (22) for enabling the compressor (32) to take in exhaust gas (TEG; see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0021) from the turbine (22), and wherein the compressor (32) is connected to another inlet (via 210 or 88) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8) through the valve (122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber to have a controller configured to control operation of the micro gas turbine, a valve mechanism comprising a valve and a connection piece having two inlets and an outlet; a cabinet accommodating at least the compressor, the combustor and the turbine, the cabinet is connected to an outlet of the connection piece; and a purging mechanism configured to purge an interior of the cabinet by supplying air to the interior of the cabinet; wherein the valve mechanism is controllable by the controller to open the inlet path of the compressor: to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet; to an exhaust connected to an inlet of the connection piece and associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine, and wherein the compressor is connected to another inlet of the connection areas of the connection piece through the valve., as taught by Scipio, in order to control the quantity of the inlet flow supplied by the compressor by controlling the temperature of the inlet flow without controlling the volumetric flow rate of the inlet flow and to control the temperature, the composition, and the flow rate of the heated flow supplied to the compressor (Paragraphs 0019 and 0029 of Scipio).
Huber in view of Scipio does not teach air being supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged.
Laing teaches (Figures 1-17) a purge mechanism (232) configured to purge (see flow arrows in Figure 2) an interior of a cabinet (220) of a turbine engine (200) by supplying air (induced airflow 226) to the interior (via 230) of the cabinet (220).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio to have air supplied to the interior of the cabinet when the interior of the cabinet is purged, as taught by Laing, in order to cool parts of the turbomachine, e.g., combustor assembly, turbine portion, etc., before being vented through the outlet opening (see Paragraph 0031 of Laing).
Claims 3-4 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 2876280 A1) in view of Scipio et al. (US 2017/0342900) and Laing et al. (US 2017/0306845) as applied to claims 1 and 17, and further in view of Scipio et al. (US 2013/0125557).
Regarding Claim 3, Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism to allow at least one of air from the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow the compressor, besides ambient air; checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine; and when the actual value related to the output electric power is found to be lower than a predetermined operative value, driving the micro gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved.
Scipio ‘900 teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the controller (92) is configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) to allow air (via 80, 88 or 210) from at least one of the cabinet (48) or exhaust gas (via 80) from the exhaust (from 86) to flow to the compressor (32), besides ambient air (see Figures 1-6), checking an actual value related to output electric power of the gas turbine (the controller may control the extracted gas flow from the turbine based at least in part on changes to the load on the turbine; see Paragraph 0029) and increase a supply of air (from 88 or 210) from at least one of the cabinet (48) or exhaust gas (from 80) from the exhaust (at 86) to the inlet path (via 76) of the compressor (32) each time the process is repeated (see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing to have the controller configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism to allow air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow the compressor, besides ambient air; checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine, as taught by Scipio ‘900, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, that the controller is configured to perform a process comprising: when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, driving the micro gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved or perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value.
Scipio ‘557 teaches (Figures 1-12) a controller (11) configured to: repeatedly perform a process (see Figures 10-12) comprising: controlling a valve mechanism (43) to allow exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow to the compressor (at step 263); checking an actual value related to output electric power of the gas turbine (the current load, at 253); and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value (at 257), driving the gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved (see 257-267), and increase a supply of the exhaust gas from the exhaust (via 43) to the inlet path of the compressor (see Figures 2-5) each time the process is repeated (each iteration of 253-267; see Figure 11); and perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value (step 267; see Figure 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing to have the controller is configured to perform a process comprising: when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, driving the gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved, and increase a supply of the air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor each time the process is repeated; and perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value, as taught by Scipio ‘557, in order to control the power output, while avoiding violation of predetermined limits (Paragraphs 0015 and 0061 of Scipio ‘557).
Regarding Claim 4, Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process once the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator has reached the predetermined maximum value, the subsequent process comprising: checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine; and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, controlling the valve mechanism to decrease the supply of the air from the at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved.
Scipio ‘900 teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the controller (92) is configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) to allow air (via 80, 88 or 210) from at least one of the cabinet (48) or exhaust gas (via 80) from the exhaust (from 86) to flow to the compressor (32), besides ambient air (see Figures 1-6), checking an actual value related to output electric power of the gas turbine (the controller may control the extracted gas flow from the turbine based at least in part on changes to the load on the turbine; see Paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism to allow air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow the compressor, besides ambient air; checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine, as taught by Scipio ‘900, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 does not teach, as discussed so far, that the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process once the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator has reached the predetermined maximum value, the subsequent process comprising: checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine; and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, controlling the valve mechanism to decrease the supply of the air from the at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved.
Scipio ‘557 teaches (Figures 1-12) a controller (11) is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process (see Figure 10) once the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator has reached the predetermined maximum value (after ramp up to increase the load in Figure 11), the subsequent process (Figure 10) comprising: checking an actual value related to output electric power of the gas turbine (see step 153); and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value (at 157), controlling the valve mechanism (43) to decrease the supply of the exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor (at step 163) until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved (at 167 to end; see Figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the controller configured to: repeatedly perform a process once the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator has reached the predetermined maximum value, the subsequent process comprising: checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine; and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, controlling the valve mechanism to decrease the supply of the air from the at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved, as taught by Scipio ‘557, in order to control the power output, while avoiding violation of predetermined limits (Paragraphs 0015 and 0061 of Scipio ‘557).
Regarding Claim 18, Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism to allow air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow to the compressor, besides ambient air; checking an actual value related to the output electric power of the micro gas turbine; and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than the predetermined operative value, driving the micro gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved; and increase a supply of the air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor each time the process is repeated; and perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value.
Scipio ‘900 teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the controller (92) is configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) to allow air (via 80, 88 or 210) from at least one of the cabinet (48) or exhaust gas (via 80) from the exhaust (from 86) to flow to the compressor (32), besides ambient air (see Figures 1-6), checking an actual value related to output electric power of the gas turbine (the controller may control the extracted gas flow from the turbine based at least in part on changes to the load on the turbine; see Paragraph 0029), and increase a supply of air (from 88 or 210) from at least one of the cabinet (48) or exhaust gas (from 80) from the exhaust (at 86) to the inlet path (via 76) of the compressor (32) each time the process is repeated (see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing to have the controller configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism to allow air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow the compressor, besides ambient air; checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine, as taught by Scipio ‘900, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 does not teach, as discussed so far, that the controller is configured to perform a process comprising: when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, driving the micro gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved or perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value.
Scipio ‘557 teaches (Figures 1-12) a controller (11) configured to: repeatedly perform a process (see Figures 10-12) comprising: controlling a valve mechanism (43) to allow exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow to the compressor (at step 263); checking an actual value related to output electric power of the gas turbine (the current load, at 253); and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value (at 257), driving the gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved (see 257-267), and increase a supply of the exhaust gas from the exhaust (via 43) to the inlet path of the compressor (see Figures 2-5) each time the process is repeated (each iteration of 253-267; see Figure 11); and perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value (step 267; see Figure 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Laing to have the controller is configured to perform a process comprising: when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, driving the gas turbine for increasing a rotational speed of the turbine and the generator until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved, and increase a supply of the air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor each time the process is repeated; and perform the process as long as the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator is below a predetermined maximum value, as taught by Scipio ‘557, in order to control the power output, while avoiding violation of predetermined limits (Paragraphs 0015 and 0061 of Scipio ‘557).
Regarding Claim 19, Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process once the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator has reached the predetermined maximum value, the subsequent process comprising: checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine; and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, controlling the valve mechanism to decrease the supply of the air from the at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved.
Scipio ‘900 teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the controller (92) is configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) to allow air (via 80, 88 or 210) from at least one of the cabinet (48) or exhaust gas (via 80) from the exhaust (from 86) to flow to the compressor (32), besides ambient air (see Figures 1-6), checking an actual value related to output electric power of the gas turbine (the controller may control the extracted gas flow from the turbine based at least in part on changes to the load on the turbine; see Paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process comprising: controlling the valve mechanism to allow air from at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to flow the compressor, besides ambient air; checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine, as taught by Scipio ‘900, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 does not teach, as discussed so far, that the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process once the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator has reached the predetermined maximum value, the subsequent process comprising: checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine; and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, controlling the valve mechanism to decrease the supply of the air from the at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved.
Scipio ‘557 teaches (Figures 1-12) a controller (11) is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process (see Figure 10) once the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator has reached the predetermined maximum value (after ramp up to increase the load in Figure 11), the subsequent process (Figure 10) comprising: checking an actual value related to output electric power of the gas turbine (see step 153); and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value (at 157), controlling the valve mechanism (43) to decrease the supply of the exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor (at step 163) until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved (at 167 to end; see Figure 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the controller is further configured to: repeatedly perform a process once the rotational speed of the turbine and the generator has reached the predetermined maximum value, the subsequent process comprising: checking an actual value related to output electric power of the micro gas turbine; and when it is found that the actual value related to the output electric power is lower than a predetermined operative value, controlling the valve mechanism to decrease the supply of the air from the at least one of the cabinet or exhaust gas from the exhaust to the inlet path of the compressor until the predetermined operative value related to the output electric power is achieved, as taught by Scipio ‘557, in order to control the power output, while avoiding violation of predetermined limits (Paragraphs 0015 and 0061 of Scipio ‘557).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 2876280 A1) in view of Scipio et al. (US 2017/0342900) and Laing et al. (US 2017/0306845) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Döbbeling et al. (US 2014/0000270).
Regarding Claim 5, Huber in view of Scipio and Laing teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio and Laing does not teach, as discussed so far, a grid converter configured to output electric power generated by the micro gas turbine during operation thereof to an electric power grid.
Döbbeling teaches (Figures 1-2) a grid converter (24) configured to output electric power generated (at 25) by the gas turbine (6) during operation thereof to an electric power grid (33).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio and Laing to a grid converter configured to output electric power generated by the micro gas turbine during operation thereof to an electric power grid, as taught by Döbbeling, in order to deliver power to the grid by converting the frequency to the grid frequency by a static frequency converter (see Paragraph 0016 of Döbbeling).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 2876280 A1) in view of Scipio et al. (US 2017/0342900), Laing et al. (US 2017/0306845), and Scipio et al. (US 2013/0125557) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Proctor (US 2015/0168264).
Regarding Claim 10, Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the controller is further configured to perform the repeated step of checking an actual value related to the output electric power at a predetermined time interval.
Scipio ‘557 teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the controller (11) is configured to perform the repeated step (see Figure 11 at 2530267) of checking an actual value related to an output electric power (see step 253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the controller be configured to perform the repeated step of checking an actual value related to the output electric power, as taught by Scipio ‘557, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 3. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Scipio ‘557 does not teach measuring the parameter at predetermined time intervals.
Proctor teaches (Figures 1-6) measuring a parameter at predetermined time intervals (see abstract and Paragraph 0039).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the parameter measured at predetermined time intervals, as taught by Proctor in order to identify parameter abnormalities from which an abnormality of the system can be determined (Paragraph 0039 of Proctor).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 2876280 A1) in view of Scipio et al. (US 2017/0342900), Laing et al. (US 2017/0306845), and Scipio et al. (US 2013/0125557) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Soni et al. (US 2017/0145851).
Regarding Claim 11, Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the value related to the output electric power of the micro gas turbine is one of a value of output electric current of the micro gas turbine and a value of electric efficiency of the micro gas turbine.
Scipio ‘557 teaches that the value related to the output electric power of the gas turbine is a load (see Figures 10-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the value related to the output electric power of the gas turbine be a load, as taught by Scipio ‘557, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 3.
It is evidenced by Soni that the load is related to a value of output electric current of the gas turbine (Paragraph 0002).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the load relate to a value of output of electric current of the gas turbine, as taught by Soni, since the load is essentially a resistance that the gas turbine must overcome so that the generator maintains an electrical output (see Paragraph 0002 of Soni).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 2876280 A1) in view of Scipio et al. (US 2017/0342900), Laing et al. (US 2017/0306845), and Scipio et al. (US 2013/0125557) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Proctor (US 2015/0168264).
Regarding Claim 12, Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the controller is further configured to perform the repeated step of checking an actual value related to the output electric power at a predetermined time interval.
Scipio ‘557 teaches (Figures 1-12) wherein the controller (11) is configured to perform the repeated step (see Figure 11 at 2530267) of checking an actual value related to an output electric power (see step 253).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the controller be configured to perform the repeated step of checking an actual value related to the output electric power, as taught by Scipio ‘557, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 3. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900 and Scipio ‘557 does not teach measuring the parameter at predetermined time intervals.
Proctor teaches (Figures 1-6) measuring a parameter at predetermined time intervals (see abstract and Paragraph 0039).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the parameter measured at predetermined time intervals, as taught by Proctor in order to identify parameter abnormalities from which an abnormality of the system can be determined (Paragraph 0039 of Proctor).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber et al. (EP 2876280 A1) in view of Scipio et al. (US 2017/0342900), Laing et al. (US 2017/0306845), and Scipio et al. (US 2013/0125557) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Soni et al. (US 2017/0145851).
Regarding Claim 13, Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the value related to the output electric power of the micro gas turbine is one of a value of output electric current of the micro gas turbine and a value of electric efficiency of the micro gas turbine.
Scipio ‘557 teaches that the value related to the output electric power of the gas turbine is a load (see Figures 10-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the value related to the output electric power of the gas turbine be a load, as taught by Scipio ‘557, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 3.
It is evidenced by Soni that the load is related to a value of output electric current of the gas turbine (Paragraph 0002).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huber in view of Scipio ‘900, Laing, and Scipio ‘557 to have the load relate to a value of output of electric current of the gas turbine, as taught by Soni, since the load is essentially a resistance that the gas turbine must overcome so that the generator maintains an electrical output (see Paragraph 0002 of Soni).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 3, lines 1-4, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 6-9, 14-17 and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach a valve mechanism that is controlled to open an inlet path of the compressor to the interior of the cabinet for enabling the compressor to take in air from the interior of the cabinet. In response and as discussed in the body of the rejection above, Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) that is controllable by the controller (92) to open (via 96) the inlet path of the compressor (32) to the interior (via 88 or 210; see Figures 1-6) of the cabinet (48) enabling the compressor (32) to take in air from the interior (via 88 or 210) of the cabinet (48).
Applicant also argues that the prior art does not teach a valve mechanism that is controlled to open an inlet path of the compressor to an exhaust associated with the turbine for enabling the compressor to take in exhaust gas from the turbine. In response and as discussed in the body of the rejection above, Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) that is controllable by the controller (92) to open (via 96) the inlet path of the compressor (32) to an exhaust (80) associated with the turbine (22) for enabling the compressor (32) to take in exhaust gas (TEG; see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0021) from the turbine (22).
Applicant also argues that the prior art does not teach a connection piece having three connection areas. In response and as discussed in the body of the rejection above, Scipio teaches (Figures 1-8) a valve mechanism (78, 122, 176, 190) comprising a connection piece (78) and a valve (122), the connection piece (78) having inlets (88 or 210, and 80) and an outlet (76), the cabinet (48) is connected to an outlet (at 76) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8), an exhaust (from 86) connected to a respective inlet (at 80) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8) and associated with the turbine (22) for enabling the compressor (32) to take in exhaust gas (TEG; see Figures 1-6 and Paragraph 0021) from the turbine (22), and wherein the compressor (32) is connected to another inlet (via 210 or 88) of the connection piece (78; see Figures 1 and 4-8) through the valve (122).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references teaching purging mechanisms for gas turbine engine enclosures.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741