DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 16 May, 2024, is a national stage application of PCT/EP2022/082192, filed 17 November, 2022, which claims foreign benefit of application EP21209197.9, filed 19 November, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 May, 2026 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant's claimed invention, filed 12 May, 2026, in the matter of Application N° 18/665,776. Said documents have been entered on the record.
Claims 15-17 are new. No new matter was introduced.
Thus, Claims 1-17 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4, and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims do not end with a period as required by §608.01(m). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites that Form A is “…characteristic peaks expressed in values of degrees 2-theta at approximately (±20 degree 2-theta)” and claim 4 recites the same limitation with respect to Form B. This language is indefinite for the following reason:
Claim 2 and 4 recites, the compound of claim 1, the use of parenthesis in the claim renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the recitation within the parenthesis are definitions or preferred embodiments. For example, it is unclear ±20 degree 2-theta is meant to be the tolerance on the peak location or if it is merely a suggestion (e.g., “preferably”) since it shows up in parentheses. As a consequence, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, given the uncertainty around the terms within the parenthesis claims 2 and 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2 is directed to crystalline Form A of the compound of formula I and claim 4 is directed to the crystalline Form B of the compound of formula I.
Claim 3 recites crystalline Form A, according to claim 2 characterized by the XRPD shown in figure 1. Claim 5 is similar and recites the crystalline Form B, according to claim 4 as characterized in Figure 4. However, claims 2 and 3 specify the crystal is of Form A or B respectively. Form A is Form A (and Form B is Form B) – further specifying characteristics fails to further limit. As soon as the claim calls for Form X – that is as specific as the claim form can get. The examiner suggests making claims 3 and 5 depend from a more generic claim, like claim 1. Or amending claims 2 and 4 to be a crystalline form characterized by the 2-theta peaks (omit the Form A/B from these claims). The most specific dependent claim should be directed to a crystalline form which is Form A/B.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Runtz- Schmitt et al. (US 10,479,796 B2, published 19 November, 2019, cited in IDS), hereinafter Runtz, and further in view of Elder et al. (International Journal of Pharmaceutics 2013; 88-100), hereinafter Elder.
Runtz teaches the compound for Formula I, as presently claimed, including the specific compound 2'-(7,7-dimethyl-1'H,7H-spiro[furo[3,4-b]pyridine-5,4'-piperidin]-1'-yl)-1,3-dihydro-4'H-spiro[indene-2,5'-[1,3]oxazol]-4'-one (‘796, Col 10, Lines 10-12, Col 16, Lines 12-16), and processes for preparing the compound (‘796, Col 16-20). Runtz further teaches pharmaceutical compositions and medicaments comprising the compound (‘796, Abstract), and recognizes that crystalline products or crystalline intermediates may be characterized by X-Ray crystallography (Col 17, Lines 52-60). Runtz, however, does not expressly disclose a crystalline form of the compound of Formula I as presently claimed.
Elder teaches the importance of solid-form selection and characterization in pharmaceutical development. Elder explains that traditional pharmaceutical solid-state forms include polymorphs and salts (2013, Pg. 89, Col 1, Para 3) and discuss high throughput crystallization screening of candidate molecules, including polymorphs/solvates, in which crystallization conditions such as solvent composition, temperature, anti-solvent addition, evaporation rate/time, and slurry conversion are varied to generate and evaluate different solid forms. Elder further explains that understanding processing conditions leading to different forms, including polymorphs and solvates, provides useful information for developing scalable processes for later-stage development (2013, Pg. 92, Col 1).
Elder additionally teaches that pharmaceutical compounds may exist in multiple solid forms and that polymorphic form can affect thermodynamic stability and pharmaceutical properties (2013, Pg. 94, Col 1). Elder further summarizes that selection of an appropriate solid form is important to pharmaceutical processing and to obtaining a product having suitable solubility and physicochemical properties, and identify crystallinity, hygroscopicity, physical form, and stability as relevant attributes in solid-form optimization (2013, Pg. 98, Conclusion). Thus, although Elder principally discusses salt and cocrystal selection, Elder expressly places such selection within the broader practice of pharmaceutical solid-form development and recognizes polymorphic crystalline forms and their characterization as relevant to that process.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to prepare and evaluate the known pharmaceutical compound of Formula I taught by Runtz in crystalline form as part of conventional pharmaceutical solid-form development. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in view of Elder’s teaching that solid-form selection and characterization permit evaluation of forms having properties relevant to pharmaceutical processing and performance, including solubility/dissolution, stability, and other physicochemical properties. Such investigation would have involved conventional crystallization and solid-form characterization techniques, as taught by Elder, to obtain and evaluate a crystalline form of the known compound.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a crystalline form because Runtz recognizes crystalline products or crystalline intermediates and its characterization by X-ray crystallography (‘796, Col 17, Lines 56-61), while Elder teaches conventional crystallization techniques for obtaining and evaluating crystalline pharmaceutical solid forms (2013, Pg. 92, Col 1). The claimed invention does not require a particular polymorphic form, XRPD pattern, degree of crystallinity, or improvement in a pharmaceutical property, but merely a crystalline form of the known compound of Formula I. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Runtz and Elder renders obvious the subject matter of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Runtz further teaches a medicament comprising the compound of Formula I (‘796, Col 17, Lines 12-15). In view of the reasons discussed above, it would have been obvious to employ the crystalline form of the compound in the medicament taught by Runtz, thereby arriving at the medicament comprising a crystalline form according to instant Claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 12-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,479,796 B2 in view of Elder (International Journal of Pharmaceutics 2013; 88-100).
‘796 recites the identical compound of Formula I presently claimed, both by structure (claim 1) and by chemical name (claim 12). ‘796 further recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound (claim 13), corresponding to the medicament of instant claim 15. ‘796 does not, however, expressly require the compound to be in crystalline form.
Elder teaches that solid-form selection and characterization are important aspects of pharmaceutical development and recognizes polymorphs as conventional pharmaceutical solid-state forms. Elder further teaches crystallization screening of pharmaceutical compounds, including polymorphs/solvates, by varying crystallization conditions to generate and evaluate different solid forms, and explains that selection of an appropriate soli form is important to pharmaceutical processing and to obtaining suitable physicochemical properties, including solubility and stability.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare and evaluate the known compound of ‘796 in crystalline form as part of conventional pharmaceutical solid-form development, with motivation to identify a solid form having properties suitable for pharmaceutical processing and performance. Accordingly, the crystalline form of the compound recited in instant claim 1, and the medicament comprising that crystalline form recited in instant claim 15, would have been obvious over the claims of ‘796 in view of Elder.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-5 and 16-17 contain allowable subject matter over the prior art of record. Runtz (U.S. 10,479,796 B2) considered the closest prior art, discloses the compound of Formula I presently claimed, but does not teach or suggest the specific crystalline Forms A and B having the respective XRPD characteristics recited in Claims 2-5. Claims 16-17, by virtue of their dependence from Claims 2 and 4, respectively, likewise contain allowable subject matter over the prior art of record. Claims 2-5 and 16-17, however, are not presently in condition for allowance because they ultimately depend from rejected Claim 1 and are subject to the outstanding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as applicable. These claims would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the outstanding rejections and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-14 are allowable over the prior art of record. Although Runtz discloses the compound of Formula I and processes for its preparation, Runtz employs a different synthetic route, including thermal condensation of a secondary spiropiperidine with a 2-amino-oxazol-4-one. In contrast, Claims 6-14 recite a particular multistep synthetic route to the compound of Formula I through specifically defined intermediates, including the preparation and sequential conversion of the pyridyl and spiropiperidine intermediates recited therein. Runtz does not teach or suggest this claimed sequence of intermediates and transformations.
Accordingly, the prior art of record, considered individually and in combination, does not teach or render obvious the specific XRPD-defined crystalline forms recited in claims 2-5 and relied upon by claims 16-17, or the particular synthetic route to the compound of Formula I recited in claims 6-14.
Communication
/D.M.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627