Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "said main valve unit" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-14, 19-27, 29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Van Thiel (US-20200023820).
Regarding claim 1, Van Thiel discloses a redundancy valve assembly (figs 1 and 2b, 14a/9a) for redundantly supplying a redundant brake pressure (pRa) into a service brake pressure path of an electronically controllable (SU) pneumatic brake system for a vehicle, the redundancy valve assembly comprising: a service brake pressure connection (14a1) configured to receive a service brake pressure from a service brake pressure modulator (9a/9b, [0075]); a redundancy brake pressure connection (14a2) configured to receive a redundancy brake pressure from a redundancy brake pressure modulator (9a/b, [0077]); a brake actuator connection (14a3) for connecting at least one brake actuator; and, wherein the redundancy valve assembly is electrically actuatable (fig 2b, via SU) in order to optionally modulate the service brake pressure or the redundancy brake pressure at said brake actuator connection (fig 2b, [0075]-[0077] a least between positions X1 and X2).
Regarding claim 2, Van Thiel discloses a solenoid valve unit (14a/SU) connected at least to said service brake pressure connection and said redundancy brake pressure connection (fig 2b); and, said solenoid valve unit being switchable by at least one first switching signal (SU), wherein the service brake pressure or the redundancy brake pressure at the brake actuator connection is modulated in dependence upon said at least one first switching signal (SU, [0095], wherein switching valve 14a is embodied as a 3/2-way valve 40b which can be moved into the respective switching-valve switched position X1, X2 under electrical control via a switching signal SU, and therefore either the first front-axle switching valve input 14a1 (X1) or the second front-axle switching valve input 14a2 (X2) is connected to the front-axle switching-valve output 14a3).
Regarding claim 3, Van Thiel discloses wherein said solenoid valve unit (14a) includes an electromagnetic service pilot valve and an electromagnetic redundancy pilot valve (at least fig 3, 22/29); said electromagnetic service pilot valve is switchable by said at least one first switching signal and is configured to provide a first pilot pressure; and, said electromagnetic redundancy pilot valve is switchable by a second switching signal and is configured to provide a second pilot pressure (fig 3, pilot control module 29).
Regarding claim 4, Van Thiel discloses a main valve unit (13) connected to said service brake pressure connection (14a1), said redundancy brake pressure connection (14a2), and said brake actuator connection (14a3) for optionally shutting off the service brake pressure or the redundancy brake pressure (fig 1 and 2b, [0075-0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Van Thiel discloses wherein said main valve unit includes a service main valve (13) having a first service main valve connection connected to said service brake pressure connection and a second service main valve connection connected to said brake actuator connection (fig 1, 13 at psa/psb and fig 2b at 14a3) ; and, said service main valve separates said first service main valve connection and said second service main valve connection in a blocking position and connects said first service main valve connection and said second service main valve connection by pressurized fluid in a passage position (13 at least when open or closed position).
Regarding claim 9, Van Thiel discloses wherein the first switching signal and the second switching signal are provided by a redundancy control unit (18, [0095] wherein The switching-signal SU can be generated and output, for example, by the parking-brake control module 18).
Regarding claim 10, Van Thiel discloses wherein an ABS valve (3a or 14a/9a) is connected upstream of said service brake pressure connection so that an ABS modulated service brake pressure is provided to said service brake pressure connection (fig 1, ABS valves 3a and [0066], wherein the service-brake brake pressure pBa, pBb can be specified individually for each of the individual service brakes 3, for example within the scope of a traction control process which is carried out at the individual wheels 4 on the basis of the data from wheel speed sensors 4a. The traction control process can take place directly on the rear axle 6b by means of the rear-axle pressure modulator 9b, and on the front axle 6a via ABS control valves 3a which are connected upstream of the service brakes 3).
Regarding claim 11, Van Thiel discloses wherein the redundancy valve assembly (14a/9a) is configured as an ABS valve and is capable of modulating the service brake pressure received at said service brake pressure connection in an ABS modulated manner (at least VA) at said brake actuator connection (a least [0066], wherein the service-brake brake pressure pBa, pBb can be specified individually for each of the individual service brakes 3, for example within the scope of a traction control process which is carried out at the individual wheels 4 on the basis of the data from wheel speed sensors 4a. The traction control process can take place directly on the rear axle 6b by means of the rear-axle pressure modulator 9b, and on the front axle 6a via ABS control valves 3a which are connected upstream of the service brakes 3.
Regarding claim 12, Van Thiel discloses a rapid bleed valve (22/23) for venting the pressure modulated at said brake actuator connection (14a3, fig 3).
Regarding claim 13, Van Thiel discloses wherein said rapid bleed valve (23) is connected to said redundancy brake pressure connection such that the redundancy brake pressure is optionally modulatable via the rapid bleed valve and the brake actuator connection is ventable (fig 3 and at least [0058] wherein the redundancy line can be bled via 23).
Regarding claim 14, Van Thiel discloses wherein said rapid bleed valve (fig 3, 22) has a first rapid bleed valve connection connected to said redundancy brake pressure connection (21), a second rapid bleed valve connection connected to said main valve unit (pl), and a third rapid bleed valve connection connected to a venting arrangement (23).
Regarding claim 19, Van Thiel discloses a pressure sensor (31) capable of detecting a pressure modulated at said brake actuator connection.
Regarding claim 20, Van Thiel discloses a service control unit (10) for controlling the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system in an operating mode ([0067] , in the normal driving mode); at least one service axle modulator (9a/b) connected to said service control unit and configured to receive service braking signals from said service control unit and to modulate a service brake pressure for a first axle on a basis of said service braking signals ([0067], wherein respective pressure modulator 9a, 9b applies to the service brakes 3 a service-brake brake pressure pBa, pBb ); a redundancy control unit (10 or 18) for controlling the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system in a redundancy mode; at least one redundancy axle modulator (15 and/or 9a/b)connected to said redundancy control unit and configured to receive redundancy braking signals from said redundancy control unit and to modulate a redundancy braking pressure for the first axle on a basis of said redundancy brake signals; at least one redundancy valve assembly (14a) for redundantly supplying the redundant brake pressure into a service brake pressure path of the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system for a vehicle (at least figs 2-3); said at least one redundancy valve assembly including a service brake pressure connection (14a1), a redundancy pressure brake connection (14a2), and a brake actuator connection (14a3) for connecting at least one brake actuator (at least figs 2-3); said service brake pressure connection being configured to receive a service brake pressure from said at least one service brake pressure modulator (10); said redundancy brake pressure connection being configured to receive a redundancy brake pressure from a redundancy brake pressure modulator (10 or 18); said at least one redundancy valve assembly being electrically actuatable (at least SU) in order to optionally modulate the service brake pressure or the redundancy brake pressure at said brake actuator connection; said service brake pressure connection being connected to said at least one service axle modulator and configured to receive the service brake pressure from said service axle modulator (10); said redundancy brake pressure connection being connected to said redundancy axle modulator and being configured to receive the redundancy brake pressure from said redundancy axle modulator (10 or 18); and, said brake actuator connection being connected to at least one first service brake actuator on the first axle (at least figs 1-3 and [0074-0077]).
Regarding claim 21, Van Thiel discloses wherein said at least one redundancy valve assembly (14a) is connected to said redundancy control unit (10 or 18) and is configured to receive a first switching signal and a second switching signal from said redundancy control unit (at least SAss/Sa/Sb, or S2).
Regarding claim 22, Van Thiel discloses wherein said at least one redundancy valve assembly is connected to said service control unit (10) and capable of receiving from said service control unit at least one of i) a third switching signal and a fourth switching signal and ii) an inlet switching signal and an outlet switching signal (fig 1, SD, Sb, St1, etc).
Regarding claim 23, Van Thiel discloses a first wheel speed sensor (4a) at the first axle; and, said first wheel speed sensor being connected to both said service control unit and said redundancy control unit (fig 1) and capable of providing a first wheel speed signal at said service control unit and said redundancy control unit (4a, and [0066], wherein the service-brake brake pressure pBa, pBb can be specified individually for each of the individual service brakes 3, for example within the scope of a traction control process which is carried out at the individual wheels 4 on the basis of the data from wheel speed sensors 4a. The traction control process can take place directly on the rear axle 6b by means of the rear-axle pressure modulator 9b, and on the front axle 6a via ABS control valves 3a which are connected upstream of the service brakes 3).
Regarding claim 24, Van Thiel discloses a first wheel speed sensor (4a)at the first axle; said first wheel speed sensor being connected to both said service control unit and said redundancy control unit and configured to provide a first wheel speed signal at said service control unit and said redundancy control unit; and, wherein said first switching signal and said second switching signal are generated and provided by said redundancy control unit based on the first wheel speed signal (4a and [0066], wherein the service-brake brake pressure pBa, pBb can be specified individually for each of the individual service brakes 3, for example within the scope of a traction control process which is carried out at the individual wheels 4 on the basis of the data from wheel speed sensors 4a. The traction control process can take place directly on the rear axle 6b by means of the rear-axle pressure modulator 9b, and on the front axle 6a via ABS control valves 3a which are connected upstream of the service brakes 3.
Regarding claim 25, Van Thiel discloses wherein said redundancy valve assembly (14a) is arranged on said first service brake actuator or installed adjacent to said first service brake actuator (fig 1).
Regarding claim 26, Van Thiel discloses wherein at least one of said at least one redundancy valve assembly (14a) is provided on each axle of the vehicle (fig 1 at least at 9a/9b, [0022], electrically redundant actuation of service brakes on both vehicle axles).
Regarding claim 27, Van Thiel discloses wherein at least one of said at least one redundancy valve assembly (14a) is provided on each service brake actuator (fig 1, [0022], electrically redundant actuation of service brakes on both vehicle axles).
Regarding claim 29, Van Thiel discloses wherein the vehicle is a utility vehicle (fig 1, [0023] utility vehicle).
Regarding claim 31, Van Thiel discloses: at least a first axle; a second axle (fig 1, front and rear); the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system of claim 20 (fig 1, [0022], electrically redundant actuation of service brakes on both vehicle axles).
Regarding claim 32, Van Thiel discloses wherein the vehicle is a utility vehicle (fig 1, [0023] utility vehicle).
Regarding claim 33, Van Thiel discloses an operating mode of the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system, modulating a service brake pressure by a service brake pressure modulator at a service brake pressure connection of a redundancy valve assembly (14a), actuating the redundancy valve assembly by a service control unit (10) based on first wheel speed signals and thereby providing slip controlled modulation of the service brake pressure at a brake actuator connection of the redundancy valve assembly ([0066] , wherein the service-brake brake pressure pBa, pBb can be specified individually for each of the individual service brakes 3, for example within the scope of a traction control process which is carried out at the individual wheels 4 on the basis of the data from wheel speed sensors 4a); and, in a redundancy mode of the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system, modulating a redundancy brake pressure by a redundancy axle modulator at a redundancy brake pressure connection (14a2) of the redundancy valve assembly; and, actuating the redundancy valve assembly (14a) by a redundancy control unit based on the first wheel speed signals and thereby providing slip controlled modulation of the redundancy brake pressure at the brake actuator connection (at least [0087-95], first and second fallback levels).
Regarding claim 34, Van Thiel discloses a service control unit (10) for controlling the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system in an operating mode (fig 1, [0067]); the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system further includes at least one service axle modulator (9a/b) connected to the service control unit and configured to receive service braking signals from the service control unit (10) and to modulate a service brake pressure for a first axle on a basis of the service braking signals ([0067], wherein respective pressure modulator 9a, 9b applies to the service brakes 3 a service-brake brake pressure pBa, pBb ); the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system further having a redundancy control unit (at least one of 10/18/35) for controlling the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system in a redundancy mode and at least one redundancy axle modulator (14a) connected to the redundancy control unit and configured to receive redundancy braking signals from the redundancy control unit and to modulate a redundancy braking pressure for the first axle on a basis of the redundancy brake signals (at least [0087-95], first and second fallback levels); the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system having at least one redundancy valve assembly (14a) for redundantly supplying the redundant brake pressure into a service brake pressure path of the electronically controllable pneumatic brake system for a vehicle (fig 1); the at least one redundancy valve assembly including a service brake pressure connection (14a1), a redundancy pressure brake connection (14a2), and a brake actuator connection (14a3) for connecting at least one brake actuator (at least figs 2-3); the service brake pressure connection being configured to receive a service brake pressure from the at least one service brake pressure modulator (9a/b); the redundancy brake pressure connection being configured to receive a redundancy brake pressure from a redundancy brake pressure modulator (9a/b and/or 15); the at least one redundancy valve assembly being electrically actuatable in order to optionally modulate the service brake pressure or the redundancy brake pressure at said brake actuator connection (fig 2b, [0075]-[0077] a least between positions X1 and X2); the service brake pressure connection (14a1) being connected to the at least one service axle modulator and configured to receive the service brake pressure from the service axle modulator (fig 1 and 2b); the redundancy brake pressure connection (14a2) being connected to said redundancy axle modulator and being configured to receive the redundancy brake pressure from the redundancy axle modulator (figs 1-3); and, the brake actuator connection being connected to at least one first service brake actuator (3) on the first axle (fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 15-18, 28, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a main valve unit connected to said service brake pressure connection, said redundancy brake pressure connection, and said brake actuator connection for optionally shutting off the service brake pressure or the redundancy brake pressure; said main valve unit including a redundancy main valve having a first redundancy main valve connection connected to said redundancy brake pressure connection and a second redundancy main valve connection connected to the brake actuator connection; and, wherein said redundancy main valve separates said first redundancy main valve connection and said second redundancy main valve connection in a blocking position and connects said first redundancy main valve connection and said second redundancy main valve connection by pressurized fluid in a passage position.
As to claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a solenoid valve unit connected at least to said service brake pressure connection and said redundancy brake pressure connection; said solenoid valve unit being switchable by at least one first switching signal, wherein the service brake pressure or the redundancy brake pressure at the brake actuator connection is modulated in dependence upon said at least one first switching signal; said solenoid valve unit including an electromagnetic service pilot valve and an electromagnetic redundancy pilot valve; said electromagnetic service pilot valve being switchable by said at least one first switching signal and is configured to provide a first pilot pressure; said electromagnetic redundancy pilot valve being switchable by a second switching signal and is configured to provide a second pilot pressure; said service main valve being pneumatically switchable and has a service control connection connected to said solenoid valve unit for receiving the first pilot pressure; and, said service main valve being spring biased into said blocking position.
As to claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein said electromagnetic service pilot valve is switchable by a third switching signal and said electromagnetic redundancy pilot valve is switchable by a fourth switching signal; and, a service control unit is configured to provide the third switching signal and the fourth switching signal.
As to claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein said solenoid valve unit includes an electromagnetic inlet pilot valve and an electromagnetic outlet pilot valve; said electromagnetic inlet pilot valve is switchable by an inlet switching signal and is configured to provide a third pilot pressure; and, said electromagnetic outlet pilot valve is switchable by an outlet switching signal and is configured to provide a fourth pilot pressure.
As to claim 28, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a second redundancy valve assembly having a service brake pressure connection connected to said service axle modulator and configured to receive said service brake pressure from said service axle modulator; said second redundancy valve assembly having a redundancy brake pressure connection connected to said redundancy axle modulator and configured to receive the redundancy brake pressure from said redundancy axle modulator; and, a third redundancy valve assembly having a brake actuator connection connected to at least one second service brake actuator on the first axle.
Conclusion
/JAMES K HSIAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616