DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of Species 6, Figures 6-10, claims 1-9 in paper filed on 12/22/25 with traverse is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
Page 2, Applicant argued that:
“that the cross-sectional structures (Species 2-4, Figs. 2-4) and the planar structure (Species 5, Fig. 5) should not be classified as separate species. Specifically, the embodiments of the present invention can only be clearly understood by comprehensively considering both the cross-sectional and planar configurations. Further, claim 1 is a generic claim. Therefore, they are integral parts of a single inventive concept and should not be interpreted as distinct inventions.”
This argument is not found to be persuasive, because the elements “S1, MB, NMB” in Figures 2-6 are different.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Cardone et al. (US 4847582).
Regarding claim 1, Cardone discloses the device comprising:
a yoke plate (10) disposed on a plane; and
a magnetic field generator (10a) which is disposed on the yoke plate (10) and includes magnet parts (26) including magnet units (29),
magnetic bodies (27), and non-magnetic bodies (32),
wherein the magnetic bodies (27) overlap the magnet parts (26) in a plan view,
the non-magnetic bodies (32) overlap an area between the magnet units (29) in a plan view,
the magnet assembly (see the drawing below) operates in one of a first mode and a second mode (see col. 3, lines 17-20), and
the magnetic field generator (10a) generates a magnetic field below the magnetic bodies (27) and the non-magnetic bodies (32) in the first mode (Fig. 6) and does not substantially generate the magnetic field below the magnetic bodies (27) and the non-magnetic bodies (32) in the second mode (see col. 5, lines 47-58).
Since Cardone discloses the invention similar with the Applicant, it would produce the same function.
[AltContent: textbox (MAS)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Cardone discloses:
the magnetic bodies (27) include iron (Fe) (see col. 6, lines 1-2), and the non-magnetic bodies (32) include brass (Cu-Zn) (see col. 6, lines 23-24).
Regarding claim 3, Cardone discloses:
the magnet parts (26) include the magnet units (29) spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 4, Cardone discloses:
the magnet units (29) are arranged in a matrix structure in a first direction and a second direction different from the first direction.
Since Cardone discloses the invention similar with the Applicant, it would produce the same function.
Regarding claim 5, Cardone discloses:
the magnetic bodies (27) and the non-magnetic bodies (32) extend in the second direction and are adjacent to each other in the first direction.
Since Cardone discloses the invention similar with the Applicant, it would produce the same function.
Regarding claim 6, Cardone discloses:
wherein, in the first mode, the magnet units (29) have a same polarity in the second direction, and the magnet units (29) adjacent to each other in the first direction have different polarities.
Since Cardone discloses the invention similar with the Applicant, it would produce the same function.
Regarding claim 9, Cardone discloses:
wherein, in the second mode, the magnet units (29) alternately form different polarities in the first direction and alternately form different polarities in the second direction.
Since Cardone discloses the invention similar with the Applicant, it would produce the same function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest the magnet assembly comprising:
Claim 7: the magnetic field generated in the first mode has a first magnetic field intensity at a position corresponding to a central area of the magnetic bodies and a second magnetic field intensity at a position corresponding to a central area of the non-magnetic bodies, the first magnetic field intensity is a highest intensity of the magnetic field, and the second magnetic field intensity is a lowest intensity of the magnetic field.
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
March 15, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837