DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-12 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 05/16/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 & 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication Number 2006/0222478 A1 to Wakabayashi in view of US Patent Number 5,496,389 to Wilcox.
A) As per Claim 1, Wakabayashi teaches a substrate processing apparatus (Wakabayashi: Figures 2-3) comprising:
an equipment front end module (EFEM) comprising a housing (Wakabayashi: Figures 2-3, Item 6) bounded by a front wall, a back wall, first and second side walls between the front wall and the back wall, a top wall, and a bottom wall;
a load port (Wakabayashi: Figure 3, port between Items 3 & 6) connected to the front wall and configured to receive a front opening unified pod (FOUP);
a load lock chamber (Wakabayashi: Figure 3, Item 4y) connected to the back wall and configured to load or unload a substrate;
a front-end robot (Wakabayashi: Figure 3, item 5) disposed in the housing and configured to transfer the substrate between the FOUP and the load lock chamber;
a fan filter unit (FFU) (Wakabayashi: Figure 2, Item 7) connected to the top wall and configured to provide filtered air to the housing.
Wakabayashi does not teach an air intake port provided above the FFU, the air intake port comprising an air inlet for introducing air, and
an air outlet for providing the air to the FFU, wherein the size of the air inlet is larger than that of the air outlet.
However, Wilcox teaches an air intake port (Wilcox: Figure 8) provided above the FFU, the air intake port comprising an air inlet (Wilcox: Figure 8 rectangular opening above Item 70) for introducing air, and
an air outlet (Wilcox: Figure 8, Item 67) for providing the air to the FFU, wherein the size of the air inlet is larger than that of the air outlet.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Wakabayashi by adding an intake port, as taught by Wilcox, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Wakabayashi with these aforementioned teachings of Wilcox with the motivation of prefiltering the airflow to the FFU so that the environment is further cleaned.
B) As per Claim 2, Wakabayashi in view of Wilcox teaches all the limitations except explicitly that the surface area of the air inlet is between 0.24 m2 and 0.56m2.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the surface area of the air inlet is between 0.24 m2 and 0.56m2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (an air inlet area), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that inlet air area is a result effective variable because the larger the area the more airflow but the larger the filter to cover the area. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the surface area of the air inlet is between 0.24 m2 and 0.56m2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
C) As per Claim 3, Wakabayashi in view of Wilcox teaches all the limitations except explicitly that the surface area of the air outlet is between 0.1 m2 and 0.32 m2.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the surface area of the air outlet is between 0.1 m2 and 0.32 m2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (the outlet being smaller than the inlet), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that the outlet area is a result effective variable because the smaller the more direct to the fan but the more turbulence introduced. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the surface area of the air outlet is between 0.1 m2 and 0.32 m2, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
D) As per Claim 4, Wakabayashi in view of Wilcox teaches that a fin disposed in the air intake port (Wilcox: Figure 8, Item 71).
E) As per Claim 5, Wakabayashi in view of Wilcox teaches a top portion including the air inlet for introducing the air and a bottom portion including the air outlet for providing the air to the FFU (Wilcox: Figure 8).
F) As per Claim 6, Wakabayashi in view of Wilcox teaches that the top portion has a rectangular cuboid shape (Wilcox: best shown in Figure 6).
G) As per Claim 10, Wakabayashi in view of Wilcox teaches an electric box disposed along the air intake port (Wilcox: Figure 7, Item 64).
H) As per Claim 11, Wakabayashi in view of Wilcox teaches that the electric box is disposed along the bottom portion (Wilcox: Figure 7, Item 64).
I) As per Claim 12, Wakabayashi in view of Wilcox teaches a reaction chamber (Wakabayashi: Figure 3, Item 4x) for processing the substrate; and
a substrate handling chamber (Wakabayashi: Figure 3, Item 4n) attached to the reaction chamber, the substrate handling chamber being attached to the load lock chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762