DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/02/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the second planar component" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6,833,992 to Kusaka et al.
Kusaka discloses;
As to claim 13, an electronic device (1) comprising: a display panel (11) including a plurality of pixels arranged to display an image on a front surface of the display panel (col. 3, l. 33, 11 being an LCD panel which uses pixels to display an image); and a heat dissipation module (23, FIG. 1) disposed on a rear surface of the display panel, wherein the heat dissipation module comprises: a first planar component (35, FIG. 7) facing the rear surface of the display panel; a partition wall (36) coupled to the first planar component and defining a first path (39) one side of which is closed by the first planar component, and a second path (33) spaced apart from the first path and communicating with an outside of the heat dissipation module (that is, it communicates with the outside of 39), the first path forming a closed loop (inlet 41 from 21, outlet 42 back to 21 by way of 51,52); and working fluid (col. 3, l. 56) disposed in the first path.
As to claim 15, the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the first planar component includes a first surface connected to the partition wall (surface of 35 opposite 11) and (13) including a second surface (inside surface of 13) connected to the partition wall (structurally connected via 10, 15, FIG. 9).
As to claim 18, the electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the partition wall includes an opening (pointed to but not characterized by numeral 31 in FIG. 7) in an area facing away from the first planar surface and the opening connects the second path to the outside of the heat dissipation module.
As to claim 20, the electronic device according to claim 13, further comprising a second planar component (13) facing the first planar component (35) with the partition wall disposed between the first planar component and the second planar component, wherein the second planar component includes a hole (26, 34, FIG. 2 )that exposes at least a portion of the second path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusaka in view of US, 7,133,281 to Bae.
As to claim 14, Kusaka discloses the electronic device according to claim 13. Kusaka fails to disclose further comprising an adhesive component attached to the rear surface of the display panel, and configured to attach the rear surface of the display panel to the first planar component of the heat dissipation module. Bae teaches a heat dissipation module (107) attached to a display panel (101) by means of an adhesive (113, col. 2, ll. 58-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the heat dissipation module of Kusaka to use an adhesive attachment means as taught by Bae as choice of design, the use of adhesive as an attachment means in display devices being well known in the art as demonstrated by Bae.
Claim(s) 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusaka in view of US 2021/0119235 to Ohnishi et al.
Kusaka discloses the limitations of claims 13 and 15. Kusaka fails to disclose;
As to claim 16, the electronic device according to claim 15 wherein the partition wall is disposed to be inclined with respect to the first surface and the second surface, wherein the first path has a width of a third dimension disposed adjacent to the first surface and has a width of a fourth dimension less than the third dimension and disposed adjacent to the second surface, and wherein the second path has a width of a fifth dimension disposed adjacent to the first surface and has a width of a sixth dimension.
As to claim 17, the electronic device according to claim 15, wherein the partition wall includes at least one stepped portions, wherein the first path has a width of a third dimension disposed adjacent to the first surface and has a width of a fourth dimension less than the third dimension and disposed adjacent to the second surface, and wherein the second path has a width of a fifth dimension disposed adjacent to the first surface and has a width of a sixth dimension greater than the fifth dimension and disposed adjacent to the second surface.
As to claim 19, the electronic device according to claim 13, wherein the first path has a width of a first dimension and the second path has a width of a second dimension less than the first dimension.
Ohnishi teaches;
As to claim 16, a partition wall (70, Fig. 11) disposed to be inclined with respect to a first surface (32, Fig 10) and a second surface (26), wherein the first path (A, Fig. 11) has a width of a third dimension (d3, see annotated Fig. 11 below) disposed adjacent to the first surface and has a width of a fourth dimension (d4) less than the third dimension and disposed adjacent to the second surface, and wherein the second path has a width of a fifth dimension (d5) disposed adjacent to the first surface and has a width of a sixth dimension (d6) greater than the fifth dimension and disposed adjacent to the second surface.
As to claim 17, wherein the partition wall (70) includes at least one stepped portion (A, B Fig. 11) wherein the first path (A, Fig. 11) has a width of a third dimension (d3, see annotated Fig. 11 below) disposed adjacent to the first surface and has a width of a fourth dimension (d4) less than the third dimension and disposed adjacent to the second surface, and wherein the second path has a width of a fifth dimension (d5) disposed adjacent to the first surface and has a width of a sixth dimension (d6) greater than the fifth dimension and disposed adjacent to the second surface.
As to claim 19, wherein the first path (A) has a width of a first dimension (d3, see annotated Fig. 11 below) and the second path has a width of a second dimension (d5) less than the first dimension.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the filing to modify the cross-section of the radiating body of Kusaka to be inclined, or stepped, as taught by Oshnishi in order to increase the surface area proximate to the surface where heat transfer is needed by the respective fluids of the partitioned channels for the purpose of maximizing heat transfer taught by Ohnishi ([0213]]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6,250,378 to Kobayashi discloses a heat pipe cooled display.
/JAMIL ALEXANDER DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841