Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 1, “primary stage” should correctly be “the primary stage”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, which stated “wherein the first common mode feedback circuit senses the common mode voltage of the differential output signals, and feeds the common mode voltage of the differential output signals back to a gate electrode of the transistor”. This is unclear since first common mode feedback is a part of a primary stage (110), wherein the differential output signals (Vout+ and Vout-) are a part of second stage (120). Therefore, it is not clear how “the first common mode feedback circuit senses the common mode voltage of the differential output signals (Vout+ and Vout-) and feeds the common mode voltage of the differential output signals back to a gate electrode of the transistor (118)” as claimed. The drawing (Fig. 1) discloses gate of transistor (118) receives output/feedback signals from inverters (112 and 114) of the primary stage (110) via respective capacitors (C1 and C2). Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 4, also rejected due to its dependency of rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maloberti et al. (5,281,924), hereafter called MALOBERTI.
Regarding claim 1, MALOBERTI (Fig. 2) discloses an amplifier circuit comprising: a differential input stage (A1) can be read as a primary stage, configured to receive differential input signals (IN+, IN-) to generate amplified signals, wherein the primary stage comprises a first common mode feedback circuit (CMF1) configured to sense and control a common mode voltage of the amplified signals; and a differential input stage (A2) can be read as a secondary stage, coupled to the primary stage (A1), configured to receive the amplified signals to generate differential output signals (OUT+, OUT-), wherein the secondary stage comprises a second common mode feedback circuit (CMF2) configured to sense and control a common mode voltage of the differential output signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MALOBERTI in view WANG et al. (20210013834), hereafter called WANG.
Regarding claim 2, MALOBERTI discloses claimed invention except the primary stage is an inverter-based amplifier. WANG (Fig. 1) discloses a fully differential amplifier having common mode feedback, wherein the differential amplifier is formed by inverters (2 and 3).
MALOBERTI and WANG are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely fully differential amplifier having feedback. Accordingly, it would have been obvious in view of the reference, taken as a whole, to have modified the circuit of MALOBERTI to have included inverter-based amplifier, as taught by WANG. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of stabilizing an output common mode level in low voltage and low power, see para. [0006], as taught by WANG, to MALOBERTI reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5-8, prior art(s) does not disclose the secondary stage is a floating inverter amplifier, and the secondary stage comprises: a third inverter and a fourth inverter, configured to receive the amplified signals to generate the differential output signals; the second common mode feedback circuit, coupled to output terminals of the third inverter and the fourth inverter, configured to sense the common mode voltage of the differential output signals to generate a common mode feedback signal; and a first reservoir capacitor and a second reservoir capacitor, wherein the second common mode feedback circuit generates the common mode feedback signal to control the third inverter and the fourth inverter through the first reservoir capacitor and the second reservoir capacitor.
Claims 9-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 9-12, among other subject matters claimed, prior art(s) does not disclose a first reservoir capacitor and a second reservoir capacitor, wherein the common mode feedback circuit generates the common mode feedback signal to control the first inverter and the second inverter through the first reservoir capacitor and the second reservoir capacitor.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ali (7,253,686), which is considered to be the closest prior art to the subject matters of claim 1, first and second stages, wherein each stage has a common-mode feedback circuit.
Sun et al. (11,539,336) discloses floating inverter amplifier having reservoir capacitor. However, it does not disclose two reservoir capacitors, wherein the common mode feedback circuit generates the common mode feedback signal to control the first inverter and the second inverter through the first reservoir capacitor and the second reservoir capacitor.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843