Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20210013275 A1).
Regarding independent claim 22, Kim teaches a display device (Fig. 1; [0055], “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of an exemplary embodiment of a display device…”) comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2A, 100; [0065]) including a first pixel area, a second pixel area, and a third pixel area which emit light of different colors (Fig. 5, Pr, Pb, Pg; [0100], “In FIG. 5, a red sub-pixel Pr, a green sub-pixel Pg, and a blue sub-pixel Pb respectively denote sub-pixels emitting red light, green light, and blue light.”); a first light emitting element disposed in the first pixel area ([0083], “The sub-pixels P each may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode OLED.”) on the substrate and including a first pixel electrode having a polygonal planar shape (Fig. 7, 221a, Fig. 5, Pr; [0024], “…the plurality of organic light-emitting diodes each further includes a pixel electrode…”); a second light emitting element disposed in the second pixel area on the substrate and including a second pixel electrode (Fig. 7, 221b, OLED Fig. 5, Pg; [0083], “The sub-pixels P each may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode OLED.”); a third emitting element disposed in the third pixel area on the substrate and including a third pixel electrode having a polygonal planar shape (Fig. 7, 221a (the cross-sectional diagrams make no difference between the first and third pixels), OLED, Fig. 5, Pb; [0083], “The sub-pixels P each may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode OLED.”, [0024], “…the plurality of organic light-emitting diodes each further includes a pixel electrode…”); and a pixel defining layer covering edges of each of the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode and defining a first pixel opening, a second pixel opening, and a third pixel opening exposing at least a part of the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode, respectively (Fig. 7, 119, OPr, OPg (once again, blue is not shown in the diagram, but is implied); [0130], “The pixel-defining layer 119 includes openings respectively overlapping the first pixel electrode 221a and the second pixel electrode 221b to define sizes of corresponding sub-pixels.”), wherein any one of the first pixel electrode and the third pixel electrode has a quadrangle planar shape including a chamfered corner part (Fig. 5, Pr, Pb: The shapes are octagonal, meaning that they can be constructed through chamfering the corners of a quadrangle.).
Regarding dependent claim 23, Kim further teaches the display device of claim 22, wherein another of the first and third pixel electrodes has a quadrangle or octagonal planar shape (Fig. 5, Pr, Pb).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 18, 21, 25, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim teaches a display device (Fig. 1; [0055], “FIG. 1 is a perspective view of an exemplary embodiment of a display device…”), comprising: a substrate (Fig. 2A, 100; [0065], “The display panel 10 may include a substrate 100…”) including a first pixel area, a second pixel area, and a third pixel area which emit light of different colors (Fig. 5, Pr, Pb, Pg; [0100], “In FIG. 5, a red sub-pixel Pr, a green sub-pixel Pg, and a blue sub-pixel Pb respectively denote sub-pixels emitting red light, green light, and blue light.”); a first light emitting element disposed in the first pixel area ([0083], “The sub-pixels P each may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode OLED.”) on the substrate and including a first pixel electrode having an octagonal planar shape (Fig. 7, 221a, Fig. 5, Pr; [0024], “…the plurality of organic light-emitting diodes each further includes a pixel electrode…”); a second light emitting element disposed in the second pixel area on the substrate and including a second pixel electrode (Fig. 7, 221b, OLED Fig. 5, Pg; [0083], “The sub-pixels P each may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode OLED.”); a third emitting element disposed in the third pixel area on the substrate and including a third pixel electrode having an octagonal planar shape (Fig. 7, 221a (the cross-sectional diagrams make no difference between the first and third pixels), OLED, Fig. 5, Pb; [0083], “The sub-pixels P each may include a display element such as an organic light-emitting diode OLED.”, [0024], “…the plurality of organic light-emitting diodes each further includes a pixel electrode…”); and a pixel defining layer covering edges of the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode and defining a first pixel opening, a second pixel opening, and a third pixel opening exposing at least a part of the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode, respectively (Fig. 7, 119, OPr, OPg (once again, blue is not shown in the diagram, but is implied); [0130], “The pixel-defining layer 119 includes openings respectively overlapping the first pixel electrode 221a and the second pixel electrode 221b to define sizes of corresponding sub-pixels.”). However, Kim does not teach wherein a virtual first line extending to coincide with each of first sides extending in a first direction of the first pixel electrode and a virtual second line extending to coincide with each of second sides extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of the first pixel electrode define a virtual first quadrangle, wherein a virtual third line extending to coincide with each of first sides extending in the first direction of the third pixel electrode adjacent to the first pixel electrode and a virtual fourth line extending to coincide with each of second sides extending in the second direction of the third pixel electrode define a virtual second quadrangle, and wherein the virtual first quadrangle at least partially overlaps the virtual second quadrangle in a plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein a virtual first line extending to coincide with each of first sides extending in a first direction of the first pixel electrode and a virtual second line extending to coincide with each of second sides extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of the first pixel electrode define a virtual first quadrangle, wherein a virtual third line extending to coincide with each of first sides extending in the first direction of the third pixel electrode adjacent to the first pixel electrode and a virtual fourth line extending to coincide with each of second sides extending in the second direction of the third pixel electrode define a virtual second quadrangle, and wherein the virtual first quadrangle at least partially overlaps the virtual second quadrangle in a plan view (Fig. 3, Ra, Rb: Although virtual quadrangles are not explicitly mentioned, it is clear from Fig. 3 that if the boarders of the pixels Ra and Rb are extended, they form such “virtual quadrangles”, which by their name are not physical, and that these quadrangles overlap.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Kim, specifically the pixel areas containing light-emitting layers and electrodes, with the overlapping “virtual quadrangles” as evident from Lim so as to group the pixels closely together.
Regarding dependent claim 3, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first pixel area emit red light, the second pixel area emit green light, and the third pixel area emit blue light (Fig. 5, Pr, Pb, Pg; [0100], “In FIG. 5, a red sub-pixel Pr, a green sub-pixel Pg, and a blue sub-pixel Pb respectively denote sub-pixels emitting red light, green light, and blue light.”).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a length of a third side of the first pixel electrode which connects the first side and the second side of the first pixel electrode is a same as a length of a third side of the third pixel electrode which connects the first side and the second side of the third pixel electrode and extends parallel to the third side of the first pixel electrode (Fig. 5, Pr, Pb (The pixels are the same size, so the sides are the same size, too); [0180], “In this case, sizes of the red sub-pixels Pr, the green sub-pixels Pg, and the blue sub-pixels Pb may be substantially the same.”).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a planar shape of the first pixel opening substantially corresponds to a planar shape of the first pixel electrode, a planar shape of the second pixel opening substantially corresponds to a planar shape of the second pixel electrode, and a planar shape of the third pixel opening substantially corresponds to a planar shape of the third pixel electrode ([0011], “…the pixel-defining layer covers edges of the pixel electrodes and defines openings exposing portions of the pixel electrodes, and the sizes of the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel are defined by the openings.”).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first light emitting element further includes a first light emitting layer disposed in the first pixel opening, wherein the second light emitting element further includes a second light emitting layer disposed in the second pixel opening, and wherein the third light emitting element further includes a third light emitting layer disposed in the third pixel opening (Fig. 7, OLED; [0131], “The openings of the pixel-defining layer 119 may include a red sub-pixel opening which overlaps the organic light-emitting diode OLED emitting red light, a green sub-pixel opening which overlaps the organic light-emitting diode OLED emitting green light, and a blue sub-pixel opening which overlaps the organic light-emitting diode OLED emitting blue light.”).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a size of the first pixel electrode is substantially a same as a size of the third pixel electrode (Fig. 5, Pr, Pb (The two electrodes here are the same size); [0180], “In this case, sizes of the red sub-pixels Pr, the green sub-pixels Pg, and the blue sub-pixels Pb may be substantially the same.”).
Regarding dependent claim 21, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein a virtual line extending in a third direction between the first direction and the second direction, and a fourth direction perpendicular to the third direction defines a virtual square (Fig. 5, VS), and wherein centers of first pixel electrodes are positioned at first vertices of the virtual square facing each other, centers of the third pixel electrodes are positioned at second vertices of the virtual square facing each other (Fig. 5, VS, Pr, Pb; [0104], “…the red sub-pixels Pr are arranged at first and third vertices of the virtual quadrangle VS that face each other, and the blue sub-pixels Pb are arranged at second and fourth vertices which are the rest of the vertices of the virtual quadrangle VS.”), and the second pixel electrode is positioned at a center of the virtual square (Fig. 5, VS, Pg, [0104], “Such sub-pixel arrangement may be expressed in other words, in which: the green sub-pixel Pg is centered in a virtual quadrangle VS…”).
Regarding dependent claim 24, Kim teaches the display device of claim 23. However, Kim does not teach wherein a virtual first line extending to coincide with each of first sides extending in a first direction of the any one of the first and third pixel electrodes and a virtual second line extending to coincide with each of second sides extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of the any one of the first and third pixel electrodes define a virtual quadrangle, and wherein the virtual quadrangle at least partially overlaps the another of the first and third pixel electrode in the plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein a virtual first line extending to coincide with each of first sides extending in a first direction of the any one of the first and third pixel electrodes and a virtual second line extending to coincide with each of second sides extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of the any one of the first and third pixel electrodes define a virtual quadrangle, and wherein the virtual quadrangle at least partially overlaps the another of the first and third pixel electrode in the plan view (Fig. 3, Ra, Rb: Although virtual quadrangles are not explicitly mentioned, it is clear from Fig. 3 that if the boarders of the pixels Ra and Rb are extended, they form such “virtual quadrangles”, which by their name are not physical, and that these quadrangles overlap.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Kim, specifically the pixel areas containing light-emitting layers and electrodes, with the overlapping “virtual quadrangles” as evident from Lim so as to group the pixels closely together.
Regarding dependent claim 25, Kim teaches the display device of claim 23. However, Kim does not teach wherein, when the first pixel electrode includes the chamfered corner part and the third pixel electrode has a quadrangle planar shape, the chamfered corner part of the first pixel electrode surrounds at least a part of corner part of the third pixel electrode facing each other in the plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches herein, when the first pixel electrode includes the chamfered corner part and the third pixel electrode has a quadrangle planar shape, the chamfered corner part of the first pixel electrode surrounds at least a part of corner part of the third pixel electrode facing each other in the plan view (Fig. 3, Ra, Rb: If the corner of either electrode was there, it would surround part of the chamfered part of the other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Kim with the chamfered parts of Lim so as to group the pixels closely together.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1), Kim (US 20230217751 A1, hereafter Kim2), and Park (US 20230051074 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the second pixel electrode has a(n)…octagonal planar shape (Fig. 5, Pg). However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein the second pixel electrode has a rectangular (or) circular…planar shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim2 teaches the second pixel electrode has a rectangular planar shape (Fig. 4, PE2), and Park teaches the second pixel electrode has a circular planar shape (Fig. 3B, PXE2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim and Lim with the shapes of the pixel electrodes of Kim2 and Park, so that the pixels “may have various other shapes such as a circular shape, a polygonal shape, an elliptical shape, or an amorphous shape in a plan view.” (Park, [0225])..
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1) and Kang (US 20240016034 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein a length of a side of the first pixel electrode extending parallel to a first side of the second pixel electrode is shorter than a length of a side of the third pixel electrode extending parallel to a second side of the second pixel electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches wherein a length of a side of the first pixel electrode extending parallel to a first side of the second pixel electrode is shorter than a length of a side of the third pixel electrode extending parallel to a second side of the second pixel electrode (Fig. 3, R, B (the red pixel is smaller than the blue pixel, meaning its sides are smaller than the blue pixel’s sides.); [0138], “In this case, a size of the third sub-pixel P3″ may be greater than sizes of the first sub-pixel P1″ and the second sub-pixel P2″.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim and Lim with the larger third pixel electrode of Kang, so that “a high resolution may be realized with a smaller number of pixels” (Kang, [0138]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1) and Kim (US 20230172028 A1, hereinafter Kim3).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein a length of a first side of the second pixel electrode extending parallel to the second side of the first pixel electrode is the same as a length of the second side of the first pixel electrode, and wherein a length of a second side of the second pixel electrode extending parallel to the first side of the third pixel electrode is the same as a length of the first side of the third pixel electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim3 teaches wherein a length of a first side of the second pixel electrode extending parallel to the second side of the first pixel electrode is the same as a length of the second side of the first pixel electrode (Fig. 2, PA1, PA2 (all of the pixel areas are the same size in this diagram)), and wherein a length of a second side of the second pixel electrode extending parallel to the first side of the third pixel electrode is the same as a length of the first side of the third pixel electrode , and wherein a length of a second side of the second pixel electrode extending parallel to the first side of the third pixel electrode is the same as a length of the first side of the third pixel electrode (Fig. 2, PA2, PA3 (all of the pixel areas are the same size in this diagram)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim and Lim with the pixel electrode lengths of Kim3 so as to set the pixel electrodes at the same size as each other and “be formed substantially simultaneously” (Kim3, [0166]).
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1) and Choi (US 20190189706 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 8. However, as previously combined, they do not teach further comprising: a first transistor connected to the first pixel electrode through a first contact hole; a second transistor connected to the second pixel electrode through a second contact hole; and a third transistor connected to the third pixel electrode through a third contact hole.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches further comprising: a first transistor connected to the first pixel electrode through a first contact hole (Fig. 5, AE_R, CH_R; [0084], “The first electrode AE_R for the first pixel may be connected to a transistor for the first pixel, which is in the first pixel R, through a first pixel contact hole CH_R.”); a second transistor connected to the second pixel electrode through a second contact hole (Fig. 5, AE_G, CH_G; [0085], “The first electrode AE_G for the second pixel may be connected to a transistor T for the second pixel, which is in the second pixel G, through a second pixel contact hole CH_G.”); and a third transistor connected to the third pixel electrode through a third contact hole (Fig. 5, AE_B, CH_B; [0086], “The first electrode AE_B for the third pixel may be connected to a transistor T for the third pixel, which is in the third pixel B, through a third pixel contact hole CH_B.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim and Lim with the contact holes of Choi so as to connect each transistor to its corresponding pixel electrode (Choi, [0084]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kim, as previously modified by Lim and Choi, teaches the display device of claim 9. Choi further teaches wherein each of the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole has a rectangular planar shape (Fig. 5, CH_R, CH_G, CH_B (All three are rectangular)).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kim, as previously modified by Lim and Choi, teaches the display device of claim 9. Choi further teaches wherein the first contact hole does not overlap with the first light emitting layer in the plan view, the second contact hole does not overlap with the second light emitting layer in the plan view, and the third contact hole does not overlap with the third light emitting layer in the plan view (Fig. 5, EML_R, CH_R (The contact hole does not overlap the emitting layer from this view)).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kim, as previously modified by Lim and Choi, teaches the display device of claim 9. Choi further teaches wherein at least one contact hole among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole is positioned at an edge of a pixel electrode disposed adjacent to the at least one contact hole among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode (Fig. 5, CH_R (The contact holes are adjacent to the edge of the pixel electrodes)).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kim, as previously modified by Lim and Choi, teaches the display device of claim 9. Choi further teaches wherein at least one pixel electrode among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode includes a a first transistor connected to the first pixel electrode through a first contact hole; a second transistor connected to the second pixel electrode through a second contact hole; and a third transistor connected to the third pixel electrode through a third contact hole. positioned in one side, and wherein at least one contact hole disposed adjacent to the at least one pixel electrode among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole partially overlaps the protrusion in the plan view (Fig. 5, CH_R (The contact holes are located in protrusions from the edges of the pixel electrodes)).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1), Choi (US 20190189706 A1), and Kim (US 20230217751 A1, hereafter Kim2).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kim, as previously modified by Lim and Choi, teaches the display device of claim 9. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein at least one contact hole among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and third contact hole is positioned at a center of a pixel electrode adjacent to the at least one contact hole among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim2 teaches wherein at least one contact hole among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and third contact hole is positioned at a center of a pixel electrode adjacent to the at least one contact hole among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode (Fig. 4, CH1; [0100], “The first contact holes CH1 may be arranged at centers of the first emission areas EA1 and the third emission areas EA3.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim, Lim, and Choi with the contact hole location of Kim2 so as to minimize “…asymmetrical color shift between the pixels…” (Kim2, [0107]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1), Choi (US 20190189706 A1), Kim (US 20230217751 A1, hereafter Kim2), and Lee (US 20230240098 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, Choi, and Kim2, teaches the display device of claim 14. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein at least one contact hole overlaps the pixel defining layer in the plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein at least one contact hole overlaps the pixel defining layer in the plan view (Fig. 10, 120, Contact Holes unlabeled in layer 115 (the large V-shaped structures); [0202], “The first pixel electrode 311 may be electrically connected to the first thin-film transistor TFT1 through a contact hole defined in the third insulating layer 115…”, [0198], “The pixel-defining layer 120 may be disposed on the third insulating layer 115.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim, Lim, Choi, and Kim2, with the contact hole position of Lee so as to cover the contact hole with the pixel defining layer.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1), Choi (US 20190189706 A1), and Kidu (US 20090170230 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Kim, as previously modified by Lim and Choi, teaches the display device of claim 9. However, as previously combined, they do not teach further comprising: a conductive pattern filling each of the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole, contacting each of the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode, and includes a conductive material different from the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kidu teaches further comprising: a conductive pattern filling the contact hole, contacting the pixel electrode, and includes a conductive material different from the pixel electrode (Fig. 4, CH14; [0095], “Further, the pixel electrode 15 and the source electrode Tr12s may be connected via a contact metal by embedding the contact metal (omitted from drawing) formed of a conductive material which is different from the pixel electrode 15 in the contact hole CH14.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim, Lim, and Choi with the conductive pattern of Kidu so that “the pixel electrode 15 may be directly connected with the source electrode” (Kidu, [0094]).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, Choi, and Kidu, teaches the display device of claim 16. Kidu further teaches wherein the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole at least partially overlap the first light emitting layer, the second light emitting layer, and the third light emitting layer in the plan view, respectively (Fig. 4, 18, CH14 (The light emitting layers are directly above and overlapping the contact hole)).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Lim (US 20230005995 A1) and Hamade (US 20230140126 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Kim, as previously modified by Lim, teaches the display device of claim 1. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein each of sides of the first pixel electrode facing the second pixel electrode is depressed toward a center of the first pixel electrode and each of sides of the third pixel electrode facing the second pixel electrode is depressed toward a center of the third pixel electrode, and wherein the second pixel electrode has an octagonal or circular planar shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hamade teaches wherein each of sides of the first pixel electrode facing the second pixel electrode is depressed toward a center of the first pixel electrode and each of sides of the third pixel electrode facing the second pixel electrode is depressed toward a center of the third pixel electrode, and wherein the second pixel electrode has an octagonal or circular planar shape (Fig. 7, B: The B electrode has the indented shape as described in the application, while the R electrode is octagonal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim and Lim with the electrode shape of Hamade in order to solve the problem of different degrees of color change in the display (Hamade, [0007]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Kim, as previously modified by Lim and Hamade, teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of sides of the third pixel electrode facing the second pixel electrode is depressed toward a center of the third pixel electrode, and wherein the second pixel electrode has an octagonal or circular planar shape (Hamade’s layout can be used with the difference of which electrode has the depressed shape).
Claim(s) 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Kim (US 20230217751 A1, hereafter Kim2).
Regarding dependent claim 26, Kim teaches the display device of claim 22. However, Kim does not teach wherein the second pixel electrode has a quadrangle planar shape.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim2 teaches wherein the second pixel electrode has a quadrangle planar shape (Fig. 4, PE2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Kim with the shape of the second pixel electrodes of Kim2 so as to incorporate this shape into the second pixel electrode design.
Regarding dependent claim 28, Kim, as previously modified by Kim2, teaches the display device of claim 26. As previously combined, they do not teach wherein at least one contact hole among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole is positioned at a center of a pixel electrode adjacent to the at least one contact hole among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim2 teaches wherein at least one contact hole among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and third contact hole is positioned at a center of a pixel electrode adjacent to the at least one contact hole among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode (Fig. 4, CH1; [0100], “The first contact holes CH1 may be arranged at centers of the first emission areas EA1 and the third emission areas EA3.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim and Kim2 with the contact hole location of Kim2 so as to minimize “…asymmetrical color shift between the pixels…” (Kim2, [0107]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Kim (US 20230217751 A1, hereafter Kim2), and Choi (US 20230046091 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 27, Kim, as previously modified by Kim2, teaches the display device of claim 26. However, as previously combined, they do not teach wherein at least one pixel electrode among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode includes a protrusion positioned in one side, and wherein at least one contact hole adjacent to the at least one pixel electrode among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole partially overlaps the protrusion in the plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches wherein at least one pixel electrode among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode includes a protrusion positioned in one side, and wherein at least one contact hole disposed adjacent to the at least one pixel electrode among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole partially overlaps the protrusion in the plan view (Fig. 5, CH_R (The contact holes are located in protrusions from the edges of the pixel electrodes)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device as described by the combination of Kim and Kim2 with the contact hole in a protrusion described by Choi so as to connect each transistor to its corresponding pixel electrode (Choi, [0084]).
Claim(s) 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20210013275 A1) in further view of Choi (US 20230046091 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 29, Kim teaches the display device of claim 22. However, Kim does not teach further comprising: a first transistor connected to the first pixel electrode through a first contact hole; a second transistor connected to the second pixel electrode through a second contact hole; and a third transistor connected to the third pixel electrode through a third contact hole.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches further comprising: a first transistor connected to the first pixel electrode through a first contact hole (Fig. 5, AE_R, CH_R; [0084], “The first electrode AE_R for the first pixel may be connected to a transistor for the first pixel, which is in the first pixel R, through a first pixel contact hole CH_R.”); a second transistor connected to the second pixel electrode through a second contact hole (Fig. 5, AE_G, CH_G; [0085], “The first electrode AE_G for the second pixel may be connected to a transistor T for the second pixel, which is in the second pixel G, through a second pixel contact hole CH_G.”); and a third transistor connected to the third pixel electrode through a third contact hole (Fig. 5, AE_B, CH_B; [0086], “The first electrode AE_B for the third pixel may be connected to a transistor T for the third pixel, which is in the third pixel B, through a third pixel contact hole CH_B.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Kim with the contact holes of Choi so as to connect each transistor to its corresponding pixel electrode (Choi, [0084]).
Regarding dependent claim 30, Kim, as previously modified by Choi, teaches the display device of claim 29. Choi further teaches wherein at least one contact hole among the first contact hole, the second contact hole, and the third contact hole is positioned at an edge of a pixel electrode disposed adjacent to the at least one contact hole among the first pixel electrode, the second pixel electrode, and the third pixel electrode (Fig. 5, CH_R (The contact holes are adjacent to the edge of the pixel electrodes)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20240063343 A1, which describes a similar display device with a diamond subpixel layout.
/TIMOTHY JAMES MATTABONI/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897