Attorney Docket Number: 133130-US-PA
Filling Date: 05/17/24
Priority Date: 06/30/23
Inventor: Chang et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al (US 2012/0057102 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses a display device (Figs. 1, 3), comprising: a display module 12 (Para. 22) having a display region 12; and a backlight module 10, 20 (Para. 22) overlapped with the display module 12 and comprising a plurality of light emitting diodes 40, 50, 60 (Para. 22); wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes 40, 50, 60 form a light emitting region 30 (Paras. 22, 24), the light emitting region 30 is overlapped with the display region 12, and an area of the light emitting region 30 is larger than an area of the display region 12.
Regarding claim 2, Cao discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein a difference between a length of the light emitting region 30 and a length of the display region 12 is greater than 0 (Figs. 1, 3) and smaller than or equal to 10 mm.
Regarding claim 3, Cao discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting region 30 comprises a plurality of first unit regions 60 and a plurality of second unit regions 50, and an area of one of the plurality of first unit regions 30-1 is equal to an area of one of the plurality of second unit regions 30-2, and a density of the light emitting diodes of one of the plurality of second unit regions 50 is greater (brighter, light density, Fig. 3) than a density of the light emitting diodes of one of the plurality of first unit regions 60.
Regarding claim 4, Cao discloses the display device according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of second unit regions 50 surround the plurality of first unit regions 60 (surround one side).
Regarding claim 16, Cao further discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein pitches of the plurality of light emitting diodes 40, 50, 60 are the same.
Regarding claim 17, Cao further discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein all of the display region 12 falls within the light emitting region 10, 20, 40, 50, 60.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (US 2012/0057102 A1) in view of Shao et al (US 2020/0117050 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Cao does not explicitly disclose the display device according to claim 3, wherein the light emitting diodes in the plurality of first unit regions and the light emitting diodes in the plurality of second unit regions are controlled by different chips respectively.
However, Shao discloses the light emitting diodes in the plurality of first unit regions 104 (Fig. 1, Para. 42) and the light emitting diodes 105 (Para. 43) in the plurality of second unit regions 104 are controlled by different chips 103 respectively. Shao teaches the above modification is used to supply drive current separately to the LEDs of the device (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Cao structure with Shao driver chips as suggested above to supply drive current separately to the LEDs of the device (Abstract).
Claim(s) 18-19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (US 2012/0057102 A1) in view of Liu et al (US 2022/0413340 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Cao discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the backlight module further comprises: a back plate 10, 20 comprising a bottom portion, a side wall portion, and a carrying portion 30, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes 40, 50, 60 are disposed on the bottom portion 30, and the display module 12 is disposed on the carrying portion 30.
Cao does not explicitly disclose a reflection sheet disposed on the side wall portion. However, Liu discloses a reflection sheet 192 (Fig. 3, Para. 46) disposed on the side wall portion 170 (Para. 46). Liu teaches the above modification is used to save power of the device (Para. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combined Cao structure with Liu reflection sheet as suggested above to save power of the device (Para. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Cao does not explicitly disclose the display device according to claim 18, wherein a maximum lateral distance between the reflection sheet and the display region of the display module is from 1mm to 10mm.
However, Liu discloses a particular distance between the reflection sheet 192 and the display region of the display module 200 (Para. 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to obtain a maximum lateral distance between the reflection sheet and the display region of the display module is from 1mm to 10mm for intended purposes.
the applicants have not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the distance.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed distance or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 20, Cao discloses the display device according to claim 18, wherein the backlight module further comprises: an optical film sheet 20 disposed on the carrying portion 30 and positioned between the display module 12 and the plurality of light emitting diodes 40, 50, 60, wherein the optical film sheet 20 maintains a light mixing distance with the plurality of light emitting diodes through the carrying portion 30.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10, 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817