DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following subject matter must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 14, lines 6 and 7, recites “a gate structure intersecting one region of the first active fin on the second region of the substrate,” which is not illustrated by the drawings. Instead, the drawings (e.g., Figs. 5-7B) illustrate a gate structure (140) intersecting one region (e.g., top region) of a first active fin (105) on a first region (R1) of a substrate (101).
Claim 16, lines 1 and 2, recites “the first cross-section of the first epitaxial pattern has a pentagonal shape,” which is not illustrated by the drawings. Paragraph [0062] of the instant application says this feature is illustrated by Fig. 7A. But as may be determined by inspection of Fig. 7A the first epitaxial patter (130) has far more than five sides and does not resemble a geometric pentagon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14, lines 6 and 7, recites “a gate structure intersecting one region of the first active fin on the second region of the substrate,” which is indefinite for the reason identified with respect to the drawing objection applied to claim 14. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with independent claim 1, the drawings, and the specification, this recitation will be interpreted as “a gate structure intersecting one region of the first active fin on the first region of the substrate.” Claims 15-19 are rejected due to their dependence from base claim 14.
Claim 17, line 3, recites “the plurality of active fins,” which is indefinite because it lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “the plurality of active fin components.”
Claim 18, each of lines 2 and 4, recites “the plurality of active fins,” which is indefinite because each recitation lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, each recitation will be interpreted as “the plurality of active fin components.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US20210257449A1) in view of Okano (US20130234215A1) and Chen et al. (US20230028005A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate (101) having a first region (R1) and a second region (R2), the second region (R2) surrounding the first region (R1) {Fig. 1; [0043]};
an integrated circuit structure (100) disposed on the first region (R1) of the substrate (101) {Figs. 1, 4; [0043]}; and
a seal ring structure (200) disposed on the second region (R2) of the substrate (101) and surrounding the first region (R1) {Fig. 2A; [0043]},
wherein the integrated circuit structure (100) comprises:
a first active fin (105) extending on the first region (R1) of the substrate (101), a gate structure (140) intersecting the first active fin (105) on the first region (R1), a first epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 130) disposed on one region (e.g., top region) of the first active fin (105) on at least one side of the gate structure (140) and provided to a source/drain region (130), and a first contact structure (CA) connected to the first epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 130) (Figs. 4, 5B, 5D; [0099, 0100, 0102]}},
and wherein the seal ring structure (200) comprises:
a second active fin (205) extending on the second region (R2) of the substrate (101), a second epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 205), and a second contact structure (CA1) connected to the second epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 205) {Fig. 3A; [0046, 0047]}.
Hong does not teach the first active fin extending in a <110> crystal direction of the substrate.
In an analogous art, Okano teaches in Figs. 1A-1C and paragraph [0053] an active fin (111) extending in a <110> crystal direction of a substrate (101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Okano, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to improve the hole mobility in the side surface channels. Okano [0053].
Hong does not teach the second active fin extending in a <100> crystal direction of the substrate.
However, a consequence of modifying Hong’s semiconductor device to include Okano ‘s teaching of a directional extension of a fin structure with respect to the coordinates illustrated by Okana’s Figs. 1A-1C, as discussed two paragraphs above, is that Hong’s Y-coordinate direction within Fig. 1 becomes the <110> crystal direction of the substrate. Additionally, Hong’s X-coordinate direction becomes the <-110> direction and Z-coordinate direction becomes the <001> direction, as similarly illustrated by Applicants’ Fig. 1. Accordingly, in region D of Hong’s Fig. 1 that is illustrated in an expanded form by Hong’s Figs. 8A-8C, the second active fins (205) extend in a <100> or <010> (e.g., a 45 degree angle with respect to the X-coordinate) direction (as similarly illustrated by Applicants’ Fig. 1) depending on which of two of the four corners corresponding to region D are considered. And the <100> and <010> directions are equivalent crystal directions of <100> {see, e.g., [0021] of instant application}. Accordingly, as Hong’s semiconductor device is modified by Okano, Hong’s modified second active fin extends in a <100> crystal direction of the substrate.
Hong does not teach the second epitaxial pattern disposed on the second active fin and including the same material as that of the first epitaxial pattern.
However, Hong teaches in paragraph [0102] the epitaxial pattern of 130 may be Si or SiGe.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches in Figs. 1, 33, 34, and 45 and paragraphs [0061, 0064] a second epitaxial pattern (250a/350) [within a seal ring region 300] disposed on a second active fin (220a/320) and including a material (e.g., Si or SiGe). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device as modified by Okano based on the teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because the epitaxial rings … are portions of the seal ring structure … serving the purpose of protecting the circuit region … from damages of dust, moisture, mechanical stress, and/or other sources of damages. A consequence of this modification is that Chen’s second epitaxial pattern includes the same material (Si or SiGe) as Hong’s first epitaxial pattern.
Regarding claim 2, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Hong further teaches wherein the second epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 205 as modified by Chen) has an effective thickness greater than an effective thickness of the first epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 130) {Note: the claim does not require that either of the recited effective thicknesses be the maximum effective thickness; thus, any amount of thickness may be selected for each in the comparison}.
Regarding claim 3, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Hong further teaches wherein the first epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 130) has a first cross-section in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the first active fin (105) {Fig. 5B}.
Hong does not teach the second epitaxial pattern has a second cross-section in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the second active fin, and the first cross-section has a shape different from that of the second cross-section.
Chen teaches in Figs. 33 and 34 and paragraphs [0061, 0064] a second epitaxial pattern (250a/350) [within a seal ring region 300] has a second cross-section in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of a second active fin (220a/320). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1, above.
A consequence of this modification is that the first cross-section [of Hong’s first epitaxial layer] has a shape different from that of the second cross-section [of Chen’s second epitaxial layer]. Specifically, for example, the first epitaxial layer illustrated by Hong’s Fig. 5B has a different cross-sectional shape from the second epitaxial layer illustrated by Chen’s Fig. 33/34.
Regarding claim 4, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 3, and Hong further teaches wherein the second cross-section (Chen’s 250a/350 as implemented within Hong’s device) has an area greater than that of the first cross-section (of the epitaxial pattern of 130) {Note: the claim does not require that either of the recited areas be the maximum area; thus, any amount of area may be selected for each in the comparison}.
Regarding claim 5, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, but Hong does not teach wherein the second epitaxial pattern extends on an upper surface of the second active fin in an extension direction of the second active fin.
Chen teaches in Figs. 33 and 34 and paragraphs [0061, 0064] a second epitaxial pattern (250a/350) [within a seal ring region 300] extends on an upper surface of a second active fin (220a/320) in an extension direction of the second active fin (220a/320). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 6, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 5, but Hong does not teach wherein the second contact structure extends in a direction intersecting the extension direction of the second active fin and is connected to one region of the second epitaxial pattern.
Chen teaches in Figs. 53 and 54 a second contact structure (260/360) extends in a direction intersecting the extension direction of the second active fin (220a/320) and is connected to one region of the second epitaxial pattern (250a/350). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device as modified by Okano based on the teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because the epitaxial rings … are portions of the seal ring structure … serving the purpose of protecting the circuit region … from damages of dust, moisture, mechanical stress, and/or other sources of damages. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., second contact structure, second active fin, second epitaxial pattern) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Chen) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 7, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 5, and Hong further teaches
wherein the second contact structure (CA1) includes a plurality of contact structures ([leftmost 255 in leftmost RX1, rightmost 255 in leftmost RX1]/[254, 255]) extending in a direction intersecting the extension direction of the second active fin (205) {Fig. 3A; [0066]}, and
wherein each of the plurality of contact structures ([leftmost 255 in leftmost RX1, rightmost 255 in leftmost RX1]/[254, 255]) is connected (e.g., indirectly, directly, electrically, thermally) to one region (e.g., the same region) of the second epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 205 as modified by Chen) {Fig. 3A; [0066]}.
Regarding claim 8, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Hong further teaches wherein the second active fin (modified 205) has a pattern in which first fin components extending in a first direction of the <100> crystal direction, and second fin components extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of the <100> crystal direction, are connected to each other {Figs. 7A-7C, 8A; [0155-0163]}.
Regarding claim 9, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 8, and Hong further teaches wherein the second active fin (205) has a zigzag pattern, in which the first and second fin components are alternately arranged {Figs. 7A-7C, 8A; [0155-0163]}.
Regarding claim 10, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 8, and Hong further teaches wherein the second active fin (205) has a rectangular pattern including two first fin components and two second fin components {Fig. 7A; [0155-0156]}.
Regarding claim 11, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Hong further teaches
wherein the integrated circuit structure further includes a first wiring structure (CM1a, 171, 191) having a first metal via (CM1a/171) connected to the first contact structure (CA) and a first metal line (191) connected to the first metal via (CM1a/171) {Fig. 5B; [0117, 0123]}, and the seal ring structure (200) further includes a second wiring structure (CM1, 271, 281) having a second metal via (CM1/271) connected to the second contact structure (CA1) and a second metal line (281) connected to the second metal via (CM1/271) {Fig. 3A; [0077]}, and
wherein the second metal via (CM1/271) is disposed on a level corresponding to the first metal via (CM1a/171) {both are in layer 182/183}, and the second metal line (281) is disposed on a level corresponding to the first metal line (191) {both are in a layer directly above layer 183}.
Regarding claim 12, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 11, and Hong further teaches wherein the second metal line (281) has a width (implicit) corresponding to a region (region including 281 and 205) in which the second active fin (205) is arranged and a length that extends to surround the first region (R1) {Fig. 1; [0043]}.
Regarding claim 13, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, and Hong further teaches
wherein the integrated circuit structure (100) further includes a plurality of channel layers (121-123) spaced apart from each other in a direction (vertical) perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (101) on the one region (e.g., top region) of the first active fin {Fig. 5D; [0128]}, and
wherein the gate structure (140) includes a gate electrode (145a) intersecting the one region (e.g., top region) of the first active fin (105) and surrounding the plurality of channel layers (121-123), and gate spacers (144) disposed on both side surfaces of the gate electrode (145a), respectively {Fig. 5D; [0129]}.
Regarding claim 14, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Hong teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate (101) having a first region (R1) and a second region (R2), the second region (R2) surrounding the first region (R1) {Fig. 1; [0043]};
a first active fin (105) extending on the first region (R1) of the substrate (101);
a gate structure (140) intersecting one region (e.g., top region) of the first active fin (105) on the first region (R1) of the substrate (101) (Figs. 4, 5D; [0100]}};
a first epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 130) disposed on the first active fin (105) on both sides of the gate structure (140) and provided to a source/drain region (130) (Figs. 4, 5A, 5B; [0102]}};
a second active fin (205) extending on the second region (R2) of the substrate (101) and surrounding the first region (R1) {Figs. 1, 3A; [0046, 0047]}; and
a second epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 205) {Fig. 3A; [0046, 0047]},
wherein the first epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 130) has a first cross-section in direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the first active fin (105) {Fig. 5B}.
Hong does not teach the first active fin extending in a <110> crystal direction.
Okano teaches in Figs. 1A-1C and paragraph [0053] an active fin (111) extending in a <110> crystal direction of a substrate (101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Okano, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to improve the hole mobility in the side surface channels. Okano [0053].
Hong does not teach the second active fin extending in a <100> crystal direction.
However, a consequence of modifying Hong’s semiconductor device to include Okano ‘s teaching of a directional extension of a fin structure with respect to the coordinates illustrated by Okana’s Figs. 1A-1C, as discussed two paragraphs above, is that Hong’s Y-coordinate direction within Fig. 1 becomes the <110> crystal direction of the substrate. Additionally, Hong’s X-coordinate direction becomes the <-110> direction and Z-coordinate direction becomes the <001> direction, as similarly illustrated by Applicants’ Fig. 1. Accordingly, in region D of Hong’s Fig. 1 that is illustrated in an expanded form by Hong’s Figs. 8A-8C, the second active fins (205) extend in a <100> or <010> (e.g., a 45 degree angle with respect to the X-coordinate) direction (as similarly illustrated by Applicants’ Fig. 1) depending on which of two of the four corners corresponding to region D are considered. And the <100> and <010> directions are equivalent crystal directions of <100> {see, e.g., [0021] of instant application}. Accordingly, as Hong’s semiconductor device is modified by Okano, Hong’s modified second active fin extends in a <100> crystal direction of the substrate.
Hong does not teach the second epitaxial pattern disposed on the second active fin and including the same material as that of the source/drain region.
However, Hong teaches in paragraph [0102] the source/drain region (130) may be Si or SiGe.
Chen teaches in Figs. 1, 33, 34, and 45 and paragraphs [0061, 0064] a second epitaxial pattern (250a/350) disposed on a second active fin (220a/320) and including a material (e.g., Si or SiGe). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device as modified by Okano based on the teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because the epitaxial rings … are portions of the seal ring structure … serving the purpose of protecting the circuit region … from damages of dust, moisture, mechanical stress, and/or other sources of damages. A consequence of this modification is that Chen’s second epitaxial pattern includes the same material (Si or SiGe) as Hong’s source/drain region.
Hong does not teach the second epitaxial pattern has a second cross-section in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the second active fin, and the first cross-section has a shape different from that of the second cross-section and has an area greater than that of the second cross-section.
Chen teaches in Figs. 33 and 34 and paragraphs [0061, 0064] a second epitaxial pattern (250a/350) [within a seal ring region 300] has a second cross-section in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of a second active fin (220a/320). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device as modified by Okano and Chen based on the further teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because the epitaxial rings … are portions of the seal ring structure … serving the purpose of protecting the circuit region … from damages of dust, moisture, mechanical stress, and/or other sources of damages. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., epitaxial pattern, active fin, shape) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Chen) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
A consequence of this modification is that the first cross-section [of Hong’s first epitaxial layer] has a shape different from that of the second cross-section [of Chen’s second epitaxial layer]. Specifically, for example, the first epitaxial layer illustrated by Hong’s Fig. 5B has a different cross-sectional shape from the second epitaxial layer illustrated by Chen’s Fig. 33/34.
Regarding claim 15, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 14, and Hong further teaches wherein the first and second active fins (105, 205) include silicon (Si) {[0047], active fins 205 may be formed as a portion of the substrate 101; [0044], substrate 101 may include a semiconductor material such as … silicon (Si); [0100], In the structure of the circuit active fins 105, the same parts as the structure of the first guard active fins 205 will be designated by the same or similar reference numerals …, [and] it may be assumed that the description is at least similar to that of corresponding elements that have been described elsewhere in the instant specification}, and the first epitaxial pattern include[s] silicon-germanium (SiGe) {[0102]}.
Hong does not teach the second epitaxial pattern includes silicon-germanium (SiGe).
However, as discussed above with respect to base claim 14, Chen teaches paragraphs [0061, 0064] a second epitaxial pattern (250a/350) includes silicon-germanium (SiGe). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 15, but Hong does not teach wherein the first cross-section of the first epitaxial pattern has a pentagonal shape, and the second epitaxial pattern has an upper surface in parallel with an upper surface of the substrate.
Chen teaches in Fig. 31 a cross-section of an epitaxial pattern (250a) has a pentagonal shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device as modified by Okano and Chen based on the further teachings of Chen – such that the cross-section of Hong’s first epitaxial pattern has a pentagonal shape – because all the claimed elements (e.g., cross-section, epitaxial pattern, pentagonal shape) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Chen) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07. Furthermore, a change of shape is a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. MPEP §2144.04(IV)(B).
Chen also teaches in Fig. 31 the second epitaxial pattern (250a) has an upper surface in parallel with an upper surface of a substrate (102). The motivation for this modification is identified with respect to base claim 14.
Regarding claim 17, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 14, and Hong further teaches wherein the second active fin (205) includes a plurality of fin components (components of 205 as modified by Okano) {Figs. 1, 7A-7C; [0046]}, and
each of the plurality of fin components (components of 205 as modified by Okano) has a pattern including first fin components extending in a first direction of the <100> crystal direction, and second fin components extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of the <100> crystal direction {Figs. 7A-7C, 8A; [0155-0163]}.
Regarding claim 18, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 17, and Hong further teaches
wherein the plurality of active fin components (components of 205 as modified by Okano) are divided into a plurality of fin structures including two or more adjacent active fins (205s) {Figs. 1, 7A-7C; [0046]}, and
wherein active fins (205s) of each of the plurality of active fin components have the same pattern from a plan view {Figs. 1, 7A-7C, 8A; [0155-0163]}.
Regarding claim 19, Hong as modified by Okano and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 18, and Hong further teaches wherein active fins (205s) of at least one of the plurality of fin structures have a different pattern from active fins of other fin structures from a plan view {Figs. 7A-7C, 8A; [0155-0163]}.
Regarding claim 20, Hong teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate (101) having a device region (R1) and a sealing region (R2) surrounding the device region (R1) {Fig. 1; [0043]};
an integrated circuit structure (100) disposed on the device region (R1) of the substrate (101) {Figs. 1, 4; [0043]};
a first seal ring structure (leftmost RX1) disposed on an internal region of the sealing region (R2) of the substrate (101) and surrounding the device region (R1) {Figs. 2A, 3A; [0049]}; and
a second seal ring structure (rightmost RX1) disposed on an external region of the sealing region (R2) of the substrate (101) and surrounding the first seal ring structure (leftmost RX1) {Figs. 2A, 3A; [0049]},
wherein the integrated circuit structure (100) includes a first active fin (105) extending on the device region (R1) of the substrate (101), a gate structure (140) intersecting the first active fin (105) on the device region (R1) of the substrate (101), a first epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 130) disposed on one region (e.g., top region) of the first active fin (105) on at least one side of the gate structure (140) and provided to a source/drain region (130), and a first contact structure (CA) connected to the first epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 130) (Figs. 4, 5B; [0099, 0100, 0102]}},
wherein the first seal ring structure (leftmost RX1) includes a second active fin (205) extending on the internal region of the sealing region (R2) of the substrate (101), a second epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 205) extending in an extending direction of the second active fin (205), and a second contact structure (leftmost CA1) connected to one region (e.g., a top region) of the second epitaxial pattern (epitaxial pattern of 205) {Fig. 3A; [0046, 0047]}, and
wherein the second seal ring structure (rightmost RX1) includes a third active fin (205) extending on the external region of the sealing region (R2) of the substrate (101), and a third contact structure (rightmost CA1) connected to the third active fin (205) {Fig. 3A; [0046, 0047]}.
Hong does not teach the first active fin extending on the device region in a <110> crystal direction.
Okano teaches in Figs. 1A-1C and paragraph [0053] an active fin (111) extending in a <110> crystal direction of a substrate (101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device based on the teachings of Okano, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to improve the hole mobility in the side surface channels. Okano [0053].
Hong does not teach the second active fin extending in a <100> crystal direction.
However, a consequence of modifying Hong’s semiconductor device to include Okano ‘s teaching of a directional extension of a fin structure with respect to the coordinates illustrated by Okana’s Figs. 1A-1C, as discussed two paragraphs above, is that Hong’s Y-coordinate direction within Fig. 1 becomes the <110> crystal direction of the substrate. Additionally, Hong’s X-coordinate direction becomes the <-110> direction and Z-coordinate direction becomes the <001> direction, as similarly illustrated by Applicants’ Fig. 1. Accordingly, in region D of Hong’s Fig. 1 that is illustrated in an expanded form by Hong’s Figs. 8A-8C, the second active fins (205) extend in a <100> or <010> (e.g., a 45 degree angle with respect to the X-coordinate) direction (as similarly illustrated by Applicants’ Fig. 1) depending on which of two of the four corners corresponding to region D are considered. And the <100> and <010> directions are equivalent crystal directions of <100> {see, e.g., [0021] of instant application}. Accordingly, as Hong’s semiconductor device is modified by Okano, Hong’s modified second active fin extends in a <100> crystal direction of the substrate.
Hong does not teach the second epitaxial pattern on the second active fin and including the same material as that of the first epitaxial pattern.
However, Hong teaches in paragraph [0102] the epitaxial pattern of 130 may be Si or SiGe.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches in Figs. 1, 33, 34, and 45 and paragraphs [0061, 0064] a second epitaxial pattern (250a/350) [within a seal ring region 300] disposed on a second active fin (220a/320) and including a material (e.g., Si or SiGe). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hong’s semiconductor device as modified by Okano based on the teachings of Chen, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, because the epitaxial rings … are portions of the seal ring structure … serving the purpose of protecting the circuit region … from damages of dust, moisture, mechanical stress, and/or other sources of damages. A consequence of this modification is that Chen’s second epitaxial pattern includes the same material (Si or SiGe) as Hong’s first epitaxial pattern.
Hong does not teach the third active fin extending on the external region of the sealing region in a <100> crystal direction or a <110> crystal direction.
However, a consequence of modifying Hong’s semiconductor device to include Okano ‘s teaching of a directional extension of a fin structure with respect to the coordinates illustrated by Okana’s Figs. 1A-1C, as discussed two paragraphs above, is that Hong’s Y-coordinate direction within Fig. 1 becomes the <110> crystal direction of the substrate. Additionally, Hong’s X-coordinate direction becomes the <-110> direction and Z-coordinate direction becomes the <001> direction, as similarly illustrated by Applicants’ Fig. 1. Accordingly, in region D of Hong’s Fig. 1 that is illustrated in an expanded form by Hong’s Figs. 8A-8C, the third active fins (205) extend in a <100> or <010> (e.g., a 45 degree angle with respect to the X-coordinate) direction (as similarly illustrated by Applicants’ Fig. 1) depending on which of two of the four corners corresponding to region D are considered. And the <100> and <010> directions are equivalent crystal directions of <100> {see, e.g., [0021] of instant application}. Moreover, as illustrated by Hong’s Figs. 1 and 7A-8C the third active fins (205) also extend in a <110> direction. Accordingly, as Hong’s semiconductor device is modified by Okano, Hong’s modified third active fin extends in a <100> crystal direction or a <110> crystal dire of the substrate.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
You et al. (US20230087731A1) teaches a semiconductor device including a substrate having a central region and a peripheral region; an integrated circuit structure on the central region; and a first structure on the peripheral region and surrounding the central region, wherein a portion of the first structure includes a first fin structure defined by a device isolation region in the substrate; a first dielectric layer covering an upper surface and side surfaces of the first fin structure and an upper surface of the device isolation region; a first gate structure on the first fin structure, the first gate structure including a first gate conductive layer, a first gate dielectric layer covering lower and side surfaces of the first gate conductive layer, and first gate spacer layers on side walls of the first gate conductive layer; and a first insulating structure covering the first dielectric layer and the first gate structure.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891