DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/17/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by So et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0043925) (“So”).
Regarding Claim 1, So teaches a short wavelength infrared up-conversion device comprising: a first electrode (Figure 11, item 121) connected to an anode; an OLED layer (Figure 11, item 127) stacked on the first electrode and up-converting short-wavelength infrared ray incident through the first electrode into visible light; a blocking layer (Figure 11, item 122) located between the first electrode and an infrared-sensitive thin film layer to prevent hole injection into the infrared-sensitive thin film layer; an infrared-sensitive thin film layer (Figure 11, item 123) located between the blocking layer and the OLED layer, and injecting holes into the OLED layer from electron-hole pairs created by absorbing the short-wavelength infrared ray incident through the first electrode; and a transparent second electrode (Figure 11, item 128) stacked on the OLED layer and connected to a cathode, wherein the first electrode includes a transparent electrode unit, and a reflective electrode unit that reflects visible light incident from the OLED layer to the first electrode toward the second electrode.
Regarding Claim 2, So further teaches the transparent electrode unit includes a first transparent electrode unit (Figure 11, item 128) located below the reflective electrode unit, and a second transparent electrode unit (Figure 11, item 125) located above the reflective electrode unit.
Regarding Claim 3, So further teaches the reflective electrode unit is a metal thin film (¶0048).
Regarding Claim 4, So further teaches the metal includes silver (Ag), gold (Au), and aluminum (Al) (¶0048).
Regarding Claim 5, So further teaches the transparent electrode unit is made of metal oxide (¶0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over So as applied to Claims 1-5 above.
Regarding Claim 6, So teaches Claim 1 as indicated above. So further teaches a hole injection layer (¶0048) and a hole transport layer (¶0048) sequentially stacked in a direction from the first electrode to the second electrode. So does not specifically teach a combined thickness (d) of the blocking layer, the infrared sensitive thin film layer, the hole injection layer, and the hole transport layer is nd = 1/4λ (n = refractive index, d = thickness, λ = wavelength). However, So teaches optimizing the thickness of layers in the device (see ¶0032,0070, etc) in order to control the optical properties of the device. Absent a showing of criticality with respect to relative layer thicknesses (a result effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to adjust the thickness through routine experimentation in order to achieve desire light emission/absorption properties. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 7, So teaches Claim 2 as indicated above. So further teaches a hole injection layer (¶0048) and a hole transport layer (¶0048) sequentially stacked in a direction from the first electrode to the second electrode. So does not specifically teach a combined thickness (d) of the blocking layer, the infrared sensitive thin film layer, the hole injection layer, and the hole transport layer is nd = 1/4λ (n = refractive index, d = thickness, λ = wavelength). However, So teaches optimizing the thickness of layers in the device (see ¶0032,0070, etc) in order to control the optical properties of the device. Absent a showing of criticality with respect to relative layer thicknesses (a result effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to adjust the thickness through routine experimentation in order to achieve desire light emission/absorption properties. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 8, So teaches Claim 3 as indicated above. So further teaches a hole injection layer (¶0048) and a hole transport layer (¶0048) sequentially stacked in a direction from the first electrode to the second electrode. So does not specifically teach a combined thickness (d) of the blocking layer, the infrared sensitive thin film layer, the hole injection layer, and the hole transport layer is nd = 1/4λ (n = refractive index, d = thickness, λ = wavelength). However, So teaches optimizing the thickness of layers in the device (see ¶0032,0070, etc) in order to control the optical properties of the device. Absent a showing of criticality with respect to relative layer thicknesses (a result effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to adjust the thickness through routine experimentation in order to achieve desire light emission/absorption properties. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 9, So teaches Claim 4 as indicated above. So further teaches a hole injection layer (¶0048) and a hole transport layer (¶0048) sequentially stacked in a direction from the first electrode to the second electrode. So does not specifically teach a combined thickness (d) of the blocking layer, the infrared sensitive thin film layer, the hole injection layer, and the hole transport layer is nd = 1/4λ (n = refractive index, d = thickness, λ = wavelength). However, So teaches optimizing the thickness of layers in the device (see ¶0032,0070, etc) in order to control the optical properties of the device. Absent a showing of criticality with respect to relative layer thicknesses (a result effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to adjust the thickness through routine experimentation in order to achieve desire light emission/absorption properties. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding Claim 10, So teaches Claim 5 as indicated above. So further teaches a hole injection layer (¶0048) and a hole transport layer (¶0048) sequentially stacked in a direction from the first electrode to the second electrode. So does not specifically teach a combined thickness (d) of the blocking layer, the infrared sensitive thin film layer, the hole injection layer, and the hole transport layer is nd = 1/4λ (n = refractive index, d = thickness, λ = wavelength). However, So teaches optimizing the thickness of layers in the device (see ¶0032,0070, etc) in order to control the optical properties of the device. Absent a showing of criticality with respect to relative layer thicknesses (a result effective variable), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to adjust the thickness through routine experimentation in order to achieve desire light emission/absorption properties. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tyan et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0278067)
Wilson et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0353836)
MARK W. TORNOW
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891