DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0301739 A1 (Chen).
Chen discloses, referring primarily to figures 7A-7H, a transparent flexible substrate comprising: an optically transparent cyclo-olefin polymer flexible substrate (130; [0053]); an optically transparent dielectric bonding film (140; [0054]) on said cyclo-olefin polymer surface; a monolayer graphene circuitry (122; [0044]) on said bonding film; copper traces (112, 116; [0041]) on said bonding film and electrically connected to said graphene circuitry at edges of a transparent area; and a layer of transparent permanent resist (140, 160; [0054], [0076]) on top of said graphene circuitry and portions of said copper traces [claim 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of US 2022/0312594 A1 (Park).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 1 and including that said cyclo-olefin polymer flexible substrate has a thickness of 12.5 to 100 μm ([0014]). Chen does not specifically state that the cyclo-olefin polymer flexible substrate has a dielectric constant of <2.3 [claim 2]. However, such a dielectric constant is well known in the art as evidenced by Park ([0040]-[0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the claimed features in the invention of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been provide the device with the required electrical characteristics.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 1 and including wherein said dielectric bonding film comprises adhesive film reinforced with fibers, chosen from the group containing: epoxy, cyanide ester, acrylic adhesive, and modified polyimide (MPI) with epoxy ([0055]) and wherein said bonding film has a thickness of 15 to 50 µm ([0018]). Chen does not specifically disclose that the dielectric bonding film has a dielectric constant of 2 to 2.6 [claim 3]. However, such a dielectric constant is well known in the art as evidenced by Park ([0040]-[0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the claimed features in the invention of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been provide the device with the required electrical characteristics.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Chen discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 1 and including that said monolayer graphene circuitry has a thickness range of 2 to 10 nm ([0052]). Chen does not specifically state that the monolayer graphene circuitry has a fine line/space circuit formation down to 2/2 µm. However, such a modification would amount to a mere change in size of the existing parts of the invention of Chen, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the claimed features into the invention of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to meet required wiring density.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 5-12 state the limitation “thereafter etching said first graphene layer using patterned said first transparent permanent resist as an etching mask to form first graphene circuitry on said first bonding film.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claims 13-15 state the limitation “thereafter etching first and second said graphene layers using patterned said first and second transparent permanent resist as etching masks to form first graphene circuitry on said first bonding film and second graphene circuitry on said second bonding film.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art. Claims 16-19 state the limitation “wherein said first copper traces are connected to said second copper traces through copper filling via openings through all layers between said first and second copper traces; and a first layer of transparent permanent resist on top of said first graphene circuitry and portions of said first copper traces and a second layer of transparent permanent resist on top of said second graphene circuitry and portions of said second copper traces.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847