DETAILED ACTION
Contents
Election/Restrictions 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 3
Conclusion 10
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-19, in the reply filed on 3/17/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because claim 20 is not expressly recited in any of the dependent claims in regards to the same scope of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claim 20 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwier et al (US 2022/0392614 A1) in view of Naimark et al (OJSM: “Effect of Muscle Quality on Operative and Nonoperative Treatment of Rotator Cuff Tears”).
Regarding claim 1, Schwier teaches a method comprising: obtaining an image of skeletal muscles of a patient (see 0014-0017, 0034, 0040-0044); inputting the image into a machine learning system trained to segment the muscles in the image (see 0054, 0063-0064, 0091); identifying a property of at least one of the skeletal muscles based on an identification of the segmented muscles (see 0054, 0055, 0092-0093). Schwier does not teach expressly determining a treatment procedure for the patient based on the identified property.
Naimark, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining a treatment procedure for the patient based on the identified property (see abstract, methods section, discussion section).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwier to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Naimark. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable a reliable, prognostic indicator used by clinicians when counseling patients (see conclusion). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Schwier, while the teaching of Naimark continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claims 3-5, 8-9, 11, 13, 17-18, Schwier teaches a magnetic resonance image (see 0004, 0040-0042);
a computed tomography image (see 0040-0041, 0120);
sagittal plane (see 0042);
a muscle quality(see 0083, 0091-0094);
a fat fraction of the muscle (see 0049-0050, 0055, 0083, 0092-0095, 0050);
pre-processing the obtained image prior to inputting the image into the trained machine learning system (see 0048, 0089, 0097, 104);
a shoulder muscle (see 0017, 0042-0044);
a two-dimensional image from a computed tomography or magnetic resonance three-dimensional volume (see 0041, 0113);
inputting a plurality of images into the machine learning system, the plurality of images being of a three-dimensional volume of the skeletal muscles, wherein the machine learning system is trained to segment the muscles in the three-dimensional volume (see 0041, 0044, 0056, 0113, 0054, 0063-0064, 0091).
Regarding claim 16, Schwier with Naimark teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Schwier with Naimark does not teach expressly determining a likelihood of success of a plurality of different treatment procedures and identifying the treatment procedure having the greatest likelihood of success.
Naimark, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining a likelihood of success of a plurality of different treatment procedures and identifying the treatment procedure having the greatest likelihood of success (see abstract, method).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwier with Naimark to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Naimark. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable a reliable, prognostic indicator used by clinicians when counseling patients (see conclusion). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Schwier with Naimark, while the teaching of Naimark continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claims 2, 6-7, 10, 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwier et al (US 2022/0392614 A1) in view of Naimark et al (OJSM: “Effect of Muscle Quality on Operative and Nonoperative Treatment of Rotator Cuff Tears”) with Riem et al (RAI: “Deep learning algorithm for automatic 3d segmentation of rotator cuff muscle and fat from clinical mri scans”).
Regarding claims 2, 6-7, 10, 19, Schwier with Naimark teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Schwier with Naimark does not teach expressly generating a visualization of the segmentation muscles as an output of the trained machine learning system, or based on the trained machine learning system;
a three-dimensional muscle volume;
a number of pixels or voxels within the segmented muscle;
a multi-class classifier and is trained to segment at least three muscles of a shoulder of the patient;
inputting a plurality of images into the machine learning system, the plurality of images being of a three-dimensional volume of the skeletal muscles, wherein the machine learning system is trained to output a three-dimensional volume in which the plurality of skeletal muscles are segmented.
Riem, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating a visualization of the segmentation muscles as an output of the trained machine learning system, or based on the trained machine learning system (see AI framework);
a three-dimensional muscle volume (see summary);
a number of pixels or voxels within the segmented muscle (see statistical analysis/model performance section);
a multi-class classifier and is trained to segment at least three muscles of a shoulder of the patient (see training dataset section);
inputting a plurality of images into the machine learning system, the plurality of images being of a three-dimensional volume of the skeletal muscles, wherein the machine learning system is trained to output a three-dimensional volume in which the plurality of skeletal muscles are segmented (see training dataset/AI model).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwier with Naimark to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Riem. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have enable more variability in images (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Schwier with Naimark, while the teaching of Riem continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwier et al (US 2022/0392614 A1) in view of Naimark et al (OJSM: “Effect of Muscle Quality on Operative and Nonoperative Treatment of Rotator Cuff Tears”) with Carnell et al (US 2022/0222816 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Schwier with Naimark teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 11. Schwier with Naimark does not teach expressly performing a contrast limited adaptive histogram equalization (CLAHE).
Carnell, in the same field of endeavor, teaches performing a contrast limited adaptive histogram equalization (CLAHE) (see 0054).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwier with Naimark to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Carnell. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have identify rapidly lesions (see 0007). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Schwier with Naimark, while the teaching of Carnell continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwier et al (US 2022/0392614 A1) in view of Naimark et al (OJSM: “Effect of Muscle Quality on Operative and Nonoperative Treatment of Rotator Cuff Tears”) with Agosti et al (MRMPBM: “Deep learning for automatic segmentation of thigh and leg muscles”).
Regarding claim 14, Schwier with Naimark teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 11. Schwier with Naimark does not teach expressly a knee or thigh muscle.
Agosti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a knee or thigh muscle (see abstract).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwier with Naimark to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Agosti. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have enable high performance (SEE abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Schwier with Naimark, while the teaching of Agosti continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwier et al (US 2022/0392614 A1) in view of Naimark et al (OJSM: “Effect of Muscle Quality on Operative and Nonoperative Treatment of Rotator Cuff Tears”) with Marzola et al (CBM: “Deep learning segmentation of transverse musculoskeletal ultrasound images for neuromuscular disease assessment”).
Regarding claim 15, Schwier with Naimark teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 11. Schwier with Naimark does not teach expressly an elbow muscle.
Marzola, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an elbow muscle (see abstract).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwier with Naimark to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Marzola. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have enable robust performance and help in neuromuscular disease diagnosis (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Schwier with Naimark, while the teaching of Marzola continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Conclusion
Telephone: (571)270-1576 | Fax: 571.270.2576 | Edward.Park@uspto.gov
For email communications, please notate MPEP 502.03, which outlines procedures pertaining to communications via the internet and authorization. A sample authorization form is cited within MPEP 502.03, section II.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6 CST.
/EDWARD PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666