DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application 18/667,364 filed 5/17/2024 and claims priority to US Provisional Application No 63/503,016 filed on May 18, 2023.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In the instant case, the following implied phrase should be deleted: “An apparatus, such as a seat post for an exercise bicycle, is described.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg (US 2005/0202938)(hereinafter Goldberg) in view of Machida et al (US 2013/0072356 A1)(hereinafter Machida).
RE Claim 1: Goldberg discloses a seat post for an exercise bicycle (Figs 1-2), the seat post comprising:
a vertical support post (5);
a horizontal support post (labeled in annotated Fig 1); and
an elbow connector (12 in Fig 1, formed by upper and lower extension as seen in annotated Fig 1), wherein the elbow connector includes:
a lower extension (annotated Fig 1), disposed within an opening of the vertical support post (5 receives lower extension); and
an upper extension (annotated Fig 1).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach the upper extension is disposed within an opening of the horizontal support post.
However, Machida teaches a bicycle seat support post (analogous art) comprising an upper extension (46), a horizontal support post (48) and further teaches the upper extension (46) is disposed within an opening of the horizontal support post (40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg in view of Machida such that the upper extension (46) is disposed within an internal cavity of the horizontal support post (40) as taught by Machida for the advantages of adjustment of the saddle relative to the support (para 0028).
Please note, as currently drafted, neither of the lengths or widths claimed are the entire length or width. The claim merely requires “a length” and “ a width.”
RE the limitation: “the lower extension… having a length that is at least two thirds a width…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that the lower extension has a length that is at least two thirds a width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE the limitation: “the upper extension… having a length that is at least two thirds a width…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that the upper extension has a length that is at least two thirds a width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
Fig 1. Reproduced and Annotated
RE Claim 9: Goldberg discloses an exercise bicycle (Figs 1-2), comprising:
a frame (Fig 1-2);
a seat (20, para 0025); and
a seat post (vertical extension coupled directly to 20) that supports the seat and is coupled to the frame (Fig 1),
wherein the seat post includes:
a vertical support post (5, also annotated Fig 1);
a horizontal support post (annotated Fig 1); and
an elbow connector (12, upper and lower extension labeled in annotated Fig 1), wherein the elbow connector includes:
a lower extension (annotated Fig 1), disposed within an opening of the vertical support post (lower extension within 5); and
an upper extension (annotated Fig 1).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach the upper extension is disposed within an opening of the horizontal support post.
However, Machida teaches a bicycle seat support post (analogous art) comprising an upper extension (46), a horizontal support post (48) and further teaches the upper extension (46) is disposed within an opening of the horizontal support post (40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg in view of Machida such that the upper extension (46) is disposed within an internal cavity of the horizontal support post (40) as taught by Machida for the advantages of adjustment of the saddle relative to the support (para 0028).
Please note, as currently drafted, neither of the lengths or widths claimed are the entire length or width. The claim merely requires “a length” and “ a width.”
RE the limitation: “the lower extension… having a length that is at least two thirds a width…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that the lower extension has a length that is at least two thirds a width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE the limitation: “the upper extension… having a length that is at least two thirds a width…”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that the upper extension has a length that is at least two thirds a width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 17: Goldberg discloses seat post (Fig 1), comprising:
a first post (upper extension, annotated Fig 1) configured to support a saddle (20);
a second post (vertical support, annotated Fig 1) configured to position the saddle above an exercise bicycle (Fig 1); and
a connector (12) that couples the first post to the second post, wherein the connector includes a first extension (horizontal support, annotated Fig 1) that is disposed within the first post (annotated Fig 1) and a second extension (lower extension, annotated Fig 1) that is disposed within the second post (Fig 1).
Please note, as currently drafted, neither of the lengths or widths claimed are the entire length or width. The claim merely requires “a length” and “ a width.”
RE the following limitation: “wherein the first extension and the second extension have a length to width ratio that is 2:3 or greater.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that the first extension and the second extension have a length to width ratio that is 2:3 or greater since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 2 (and 10): Goldberg as modified discloses the seat post of claim 1 (and 9) as previously discussed.
Goldberg further discloses wherein the lower extension (annotated Fig 1) is disposed within an internal cavity of the vertical support post (annotated Fig 1).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach the upper extension is disposed within an internal cavity of the horizontal support post.
However, Machida teaches a bicycle seat support post (analogous art) comprising an upper extension (46), a horizontal support post (48) and further teaches the upper extension (46) is disposed within an internal cavity of the horizontal support post (40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg in view of Machida such that the upper extension (46) is disposed within an internal cavity of the horizontal support post (40) as taught by Machida for the advantages of adjustment of the saddle relative to the support (para 0028).
RE Claim 3 (and 11): Goldberg as modified discloses the seat post of claim 1 (and 9).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the upper extension is greater than the length of the lower extension.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that the length of the upper extension is greater than the length of the lower extension, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 4 (and 12): Goldberg as modified discloses the seat post of claim 1 (and 9).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the lower extension is greater than the length of the upper extension.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that wherein the length of the lower extension is greater than the length of the upper extension, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 5 (and 13): Goldberg as modified discloses the seat post of claim 1 (and 9).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the upper extension is equal to the length of the lower extension.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that wherein the length of the upper extension is equal to the length of the lower extension, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 6 (and 14): Goldberg as modified discloses the seat post of claim 1 (and 9).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the lower extension or the length of the upper extension is equal to the width of the elbow connector.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that wherein the length of the lower extension or the length of the upper extension is equal to the width of the elbow connector, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 7 (and 15): Goldberg as modified discloses the seat post of claim 1 (and 9).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the length of the lower extension or the length of the upper extension is between two thirds of the width of the elbow connector and equal to the width of the elbow connector.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that wherein the length of the lower extension or the length of the upper extension is between two thirds of the width of the elbow connector and equal to the width of the elbow connector, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 18: Goldberg discloses the seat post of claim 17.
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the length to width ratio of the first extension is different than the length to width ratio of the second extension.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that the length to width ratio of the first extension is different than the length to width ratio of the second extension, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 19: Goldberg discloses the seat post of claim 17.
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the length to width ratio of the first extension is different than the length to width ratio of the second extension.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg such that a length of the first extension is greater than a length of the second extension, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
RE Claim 20: Goldberg discloses the seat post of claim 17.
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the length to width ratio of the first extension is different than the length to width ratio of the second extension.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goldberg such that a length of the second extension is greater than a length of the first extension, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) citing In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). This would be done for the advantages of structural stability.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg in view of Machida, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Baker (US 7,226,393 B2)(hereinafter Baker).
RE Claim 8 (and 16): Goldberg as modified discloses he seat post of claim 1 (and 9).
Goldberg does not explicitly teach wherein the vertical seat post is welded to the lower extension of the elbow connector.
However, Baker teaches a bicycle seat post with a connector (analogous art) and further teaches welding of joints (col 5, ln 35-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Goldberg in view of Baker such that the vertical seat post is welded to the lower extension of the elbow connector as taught by Baker for the advantages of secure connection and durability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various bicycle seat assemblies.
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644