Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on April 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 30, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko (US 2014/0264151).
Regarding claims 1-6 and 8-10, Ko teaches an aqueous cleaning composition for post copper chemical mechanical planarization, wherein the composition comprises an organic base, a copper etchant, an organic ligand like glycolic acid, a corrosion inhibitor like carbohydrazide, and water (see abstract, [0019] and [0021]). In Example 35, Ko teaches a cleaning composition comprising 500 ppm (0.05 wt%) glycolic acid and 100 ppm (0.01 wt%) carbohydrazide (see Table 2 on page 5), wherein the glycolic acid and carbohydrazide read on the General Formula (a1) and General Formula (b1), respectively, as recited in claims 1-5, wherein the amount of the glycolic acid meets claim 6, and wherein the ratio of the glycolic acid to carbohydrazide is 500:100 or 5:1 or simply 5, which meets claim 8. Even though Ko does not explicitly disclose a cleaning liquid for removing an etching residue containing a titanium component as recited in claim 1, or wherein the cleaning liquid is used for cleaning a substrate that includes a titanium component-containing layer and has been subjected to dry etching as recited in claim 9, or wherein the cleaning liquid is used for cleaning a substrate that has been subjected to dry etching using a titanium component-containing hard mask by a wiring process as recited in claim 10, the two different intended uses are not distinguishable in terms of the composition, see In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324; Ex parte Douros, 163 USPQ 667; and In re Craige, 89 USPQ 393. Hence, Ko anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-10 above.
Regarding claim 7, Ko teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Ko teaches that the corrosion inhibitor like carbohydrazide contained in the aqueous cleaning composition is generally in a concentration of about 10 ppm to about 5,000 ppm (or about 0.001 to about 0.5 wt%) (see [0021]-[0023]). Ko, however, fails to specifically disclose, say 500 ppm carbohydrazide in Example 35.
Considering that Ko teaches corrosion inhibitor like carbohydrazide which is contained in the aqueous cleaning composition in a concentration of about 0.001 to about 0.5 wt%, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (i.e., 0.05-0.5 wt%) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references are considered cumulative to or less material than those discussed above.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761