DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) based upon an application filed in KOREA on 07/19/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 2: “spaced from” should read “spaced apart from”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20220302185A1; Honda et al.; (hereinafter “Honda”) in view of US 20240379709A1; Furusho et al.; (hereinafter “Furusho”).
Regarding Claim 1, Honda teaches an image sensor (Figure 2) comprising:
a substrate (#101, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) having a first surface and a second surface (front and back surface of #101) opposite to the first surface in a first direction (#Z), the substrate comprising pixel areas (#PX) arranged along a second direction (#X) parallel to the first surface;
photodiodes (#65) in the substrate in each of the pixel areas and separated from each other in the second direction (isolation structures #61-62 separate #65);
a first device isolation layer (#62) between the pixel areas; and
a pair of second device isolation layers (#62-1) extending between the photodiodes (#65) from the first device isolation layer (#62) along a third direction (#Y) and being spaced apart from each other in the third direction (Figure 11 or 25, [0141]),
wherein the third direction (#Y, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) is parallel to the first surface and different from the second direction (#X), and
wherein the substrate further comprises a potential barrier region (#BA) between the photodiodes (#65) and between the pair of second device isolation layers (#62-1), and the potential barrier region comprises p-type impurities (Figures 5-6, [0127-0133], P-type impurity is implanted in regions of SiO-2 isolation films #141-151 of barrier #BA).
Honda does not explicitly teach the potential barrier region comprises and carbon.
However, Furusho teaches a comparable image sensor (Figure 4), wherein a potential barrier region comprises carbon ([0159], the material of a separation structure is doped with boron and carbon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Honda with the teaching of Furusho in order to control the diffusion of boron according to Furusho, [0159].
Regarding Claim 2, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the p-type impurities comprise boron, aluminum, gallium, indium, or a combination thereof ([0127], P-type impurity comprises such as boron).
Regarding Claim 7, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the potential barrier region (#BA, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) extends along the first direction (#Z) from the first surface of the substrate to a depth spaced from the second surface of the substrate (#BA extend from front surface of substrate to below back surface of substrate).
Regarding Claim 8, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches photodiodes (#65, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) separated in the third direction (#Y) in each of the pixel areas (#PX); and
another pair of second device isolation layers (#62-2) extending from the first device isolation layer (#62) between the photodiodes (#65) along the second direction (#X) and spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Figure 11, [0141]),
wherein the potential barrier region (#BA) is between the photodiodes (#65) and the second device isolation layers (#62-2).
Regarding Claim 9, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the potential barrier region (#BA, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) is in a central region of each of the pixel areas (#PX).
Regarding Claim 10, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the photodiodes (#65, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) are connected to the potential barrier region (#BA).
Regarding Claim 11, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the substrate (#101, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) further comprises a first doped region (#DR1) adjacent to a sidewall of the second device isolation layers (#62-1), and the first doped region comprises p-type impurities ([0115], #DR1 is region of P-type impurity layer #64).
Honda does not explicitly teach the first doped region comprises carbon.
However, Furusho teaches a first doped region comprises carbon ([0159], the material of a separation structure is doped with boron and carbon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Honda with the teaching of Furusho for the reason set forth in rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the substrate further comprises a second doped region (#DR2, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) adjacent to a sidewall of the first device isolation layer (#62), and the second doped region comprises p-type impurities ([0115], #DR2 is region of P-type impurity layer #64).
Honda does not explicitly teach the second doped region comprises carbon.
However, Furusho teaches a second doped region comprises carbon ([0159], the material of a separation structure is doped with boron and carbon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Honda with the teaching of Furusho for the reason set forth in rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the substrate further comprises a third doped region (#DR3, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) on the first surface (front surface), and the third doped region comprises p-type impurities ([0115], #DR3 is region of P-type impurity layer #64).
Honda does not explicitly teach the third doped region comprises carbon.
However, Furusho teaches a third doped region comprises carbon ([0159], the material of a separation structure is doped with boron and carbon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Honda with the teaching of Furusho for the reason set forth in rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 14, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches a transfer transistor (#72, Figure 2 annotated or 16) on the first surface of the substrate (front surface of substrate #101) in each of the pixel areas (#PX),
wherein the third doped region (#DR3, Figure 16) is between the transfer transistor (#72) and the first surface of the substrate (top surface).
Regarding Claim 15, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the substrate further comprises a floating diffusion region (#71, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) adjacent to the transfer transistor (#72) and in the first surface of the substrate (front surface of substrate #101), and
wherein the third doped region (#DR3/p-type layer #326, Figure 26) is between the floating diffusion region (#71/#314, [0202]) and the first surface of the substrate (top surface).
Regarding Claim 20, Honda teaches an image sensor (Figure 2 of Honda annotated) comprising:
a substrate (#101) having a first surface and a second surface (front and back surfaces of #101) opposite to the first surface in a first direction (#Z), the substrate comprising pixel areas (#PX) arranged along a second direction (#X) parallel to the first surface;
photodiodes (#65) in the substrate in each of the pixel areas and separated from each other in the second direction (isolation structures #61-62 separate #65) and a third direction (#Y) parallel to the first surface (front surface) and different from the second direction (#X);
a first device isolation layer (#62) between the pixel areas (#PX);
a pair of second device isolation layers (#62-1) extending between the photodiodes (#65) from the first device isolation layer (#62) along the third direction (#Y) and spaced apart from each other in the third direction (Figure 11 or 25, [0141]); and
another pair of second device isolation layers (#62-2) extending from the first device isolation layer (#62) between the photodiodes (#65) along the second direction (#X) and spaced apart from each other in the second direction (Figure 11 or 25, [0141]),
wherein the substrate further comprises:
a potential barrier region (#BA) between the photodiodes (#65) and the second device isolation layers (#62-2);
a first doped region (#DR1) adjacent to a sidewall of the second device isolation layers (#62-2);
a second doped region (#DR2) adjacent to a sidewall of the first device isolation layer (#62); and
a third doped region (#DR3) on the first surface (front surface of substrate), and
wherein each of the potential barrier region, the first doped region, the second doped region, and the third doped region comprises p-type impurities (Figures 5-6, [0127-0133], P-type impurity is implanted in regions of SiO-2 isolation films #141-151 of barrier #BA. [0115], #DR1-3 are regions of P-type impurity layer #64).
Honda does not explicitly teach each of the potential barrier region, the first doped region, the second doped region, and the third doped region comprises carbon.
However, Furusho teaches a comparable image sensor (Figure 4), wherein each of potential barrier region, first doped region, second doped region, and third doped region comprises carbon ([0159], the material of a separation structure can be doped with boron and carbon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Honda with the teaching of Furusho in order to control the diffusion of boron using carbon according to Furusho, [0159].
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda in view of Furusho, and further in view of US20220367536A1; Saka et al.; (hereinafter “Saka”).
Regarding Claim 3, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1.
Honda in view of Furusho does not explicitly teach a concentration of the carbon in the potential barrier region is greater than a concentration of the p-type impurities in the potential barrier region.
However, Saka teaches an image sensor (Figure 7), wherein a concentration of the carbon in the potential barrier region is greater than a concentration of the p-type impurities in the potential barrier region (in order to suppress the diffusion of impurity such as boron in potential barrier region, see rejection of claim 1, it is desirable to have a greater carbon concentration than impurity concentration according to Saka, [0315]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Honda in view of Furusho with the teaching of Saka in order to effectively suppress the diffusion of the impurities using carbon according to Saka, [0315].
Regarding Claim 4, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches a concentration of the p-type impurities in the potential barrier region is less than or equal to about 1×1018 at/cm3 ([0206], P-type impurity concentration is 1×1018 at/cm3).
Honda in view of Furusho does not explicitly teach a concentration of the carbon in the potential barrier region is about 1×1018 at/cm3 to about 1×1020 at/cm3.
However, Saka teaches a concentration of the carbon in the potential barrier region is about 1×1018 at/cm3 to about 1×1020 at/cm3 ([0315], carbon concentration is desirable to be greater than impurity concentration, see also rejection of claim 3. Hence, carbon concentration is 1×1018 at/cm3 or greater).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Honda in view of Furusho with the teaching of Saka in order to effectively suppress the diffusion of the impurities using carbon according to Saka, [0315].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda in view of Furusho, and further in view of US20160104734A1; Hirose et al.; (hereinafter “Hirose”).
Regarding Claim 5, Honda in view of Furusho teaches the image sensor as described in claim 1, wherein Honda further teaches the potential barrier region (#BA, Figure 2 of Honda annotated) further comprises silicon ([0131] & [0136], #BA comprises SiO2 insulators).
Honda in view of Furusho does not explicitly teach a concentration of the silicon in the potential barrier region is less than or equal to about 5×1022 at/cm3.
However, Hirose teaches an imaging device ([0016]), wherein a concentration of the silicon in the potential barrier region is less than or equal to about 5×1022 at/cm3 (a potential barrier comprises SiO2 film, see rejection above, it is desirable to have a low silicon concentration such as 1×1019 at/cm3 or lower according to [0344-0346]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Honda in view of Furusho with the teaching of Hirose in order to make oxide semiconductor layer intrinsic and prevent deterioration of device electrical characteristics according to Hirose, [0343-0346].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6, the most relevant prior art of record, Honda in view of Furusho discloses the image sensor as described in claim 1.
Saka discloses an image sensor (Figure 7), wherein a concentration of the carbon in the potential barrier region is greater than a concentration of the p-type impurities in the potential barrier region ([0315]).
US20220190007; Kim et al.; (hereinafter “Kim”) discloses an image sensor ([0004]), wherein, in a first region of the potential barrier region from a surface adjacent to the second device isolation layers in the third direction, a concentration of the p-type impurities is greater than a concentration of the carbon ([0049], a region closer to a barrier area has greater potential than the surrounding region of the barrier. Hence, the potential/concentration of barrier material in the surrounding area, closer to isolation films, is high), and
wherein, in a second region of the potential barrier region where a distance from the surface adjacent to the second device isolation layers in the third direction, a concentration of the carbon is greater than a concentration of the p-type impurities ([0049], a region closer to a barrier area has greater potential than the surrounding region of the barrier. Hence, the potential/concentration of barrier material in the barrier area, away from the isolation films, is high).
None of the prior art of record discloses or makes obvious the limitations: “in a first region of the potential barrier region where a distance from a surface adjacent to the second device isolation layers in the third direction is less than or equal to about 50 nm, a concentration of the p-type impurities is greater than a concentration of the carbon” and “in a second region of the potential barrier region where a distance from the surface adjacent to the second device isolation layers in the third direction is greater than about 50 nm, a concentration of the carbon is greater than a concentration of the p-type impurities” recited in claim 6, in combination of the other claimed elements.
Regarding Claim 16, the most relevant prior art of record, Honda discloses an image sensor comprising:
a substrate (#101, Figure 2 of Hondo annotated) having a first surface and a second surface (front and back surface of #101) opposite to the first surface in a first direction (#Z), the substrate comprising pixel areas (#PX) arranged along a second direction (#X) parallel to the first surface (front surface of #101);
photodiodes (#65) in the substrate in each of the pixel areas (#PX) and separated from each other in the second direction (#X);
a first device isolation layer (#62) between the pixel areas; and
a pair of second device isolation layers (#62-1) extending between the photodiodes (#65) from the first device isolation layer (#62) along a third direction (#Y) and being spaced apart from each other in the third direction (Figure 11 or 25, [0141]), wherein the third direction (#Y) is parallel to the first surface (front surface of substrate) and different from the second direction (#X);
wherein the substrate further comprises a first doped region (#DR1) adjacent to a sidewall of the second device isolation layers (#62-1), and the first doped region (#DR1) comprises p-type impurities ([0115], #DR1 is region of P-type impurity layer #64),
Furusho discloses a comparable image sensor (Figure 4), wherein a material of a separation structure can be doped with boron and carbon ([0159]).
Saka discloses an image sensor (Figure 7), wherein a concentration of the carbon in the potential barrier region is greater than a concentration of the p-type impurities in the potential barrier region ([0315]).
Kim discloses an image sensor (Figure 7), wherein, in a first region of the first doped region from a surface adjacent to the second device isolation layers in a vertical direction, a concentration of the p-type impurities is greater than a concentration of the carbon ([0049], a region closer to a barrier area has greater potential than the surrounding region of the barrier. Hence, the potential/concentration of barrier material in the surrounding area, closer to isolation films, is high), and
wherein, in a second region of the first doped region from surface adjacent to the second device isolation layers in the vertical direction, a concentration of the carbon is greater than a concentration of the p-type impurities ([0049], a region closer to a barrier area has greater potential than the surrounding region of the barrier. Hence, the potential/concentration of barrier material in the barrier area, away from the isolation films, is high).
None of the prior art of record discloses or makes obvious the limitations: “in a first region of the first doped region where a distance from a surface adjacent to the second device isolation layers in a vertical direction is less than or equal to about 50 nm, a concentration of the p-type impurities is greater than a concentration of the carbon” and “a second region of the first doped region where a distance from surface adjacent to the second device isolation layers in the vertical direction is greater than about 50 nm, a concentration of the carbon is greater than a concentration of the p-type impurities” recited in claim 16, in combination of the other claimed elements.
Therefore, claim 16 is allowed.
Claims 17-19 are allowed at least by virtue of their dependency on claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20200066768A1 – Figures 4, 13, [0024-0026]
US20190157323A1 – Figures 22-26, [0111-0112]
US20160141317A1 – Figure 3
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812