Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20190393153 to Wang et al. (Wang).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, Wang teaches in Figs. 1-14 at least, package 1450 comprising:
a first integrated device 1413/1415;
a package interposer 850 coupled to the first integrated device; and
a passive device Figs. 1-6 located at least partially in the package interposer, wherein the passive device comprises:
a passive device substrate 101;
a plurality of trench capacitors 105-109 located at least partially in the passive device substrate;
a plurality of through substrate vias 201 extending through the passive device substrate; and
a protection layer 401 that is part of a first surface of the passive device, wherein the protection layer comprises an encapsulation layer or a polymer dielectric layer [0029].
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Wang teaches the package and passive device of claims 1 and 11, wherein the passive device further comprises a dielectric layer 305 located between the protection layer and the passive device substrate.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Wang teaches the package and passive device of claims 2 and 12, wherein the dielectric layer comprises silicon oxide and/or silicon nitride [0022,0027].
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Wang teaches the package and passive device of claims 2 and 12, wherein the protection layer is different from the dielectric layer (organic vs. inorganic).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Wang teaches the package and passive device of claims 1 and 11, further comprising a first plurality of post interconnects 405 coupled to the first surface of the passive device.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Wang teaches the package and passive device of claims 5 and 15, further comprising a second plurality of post interconnects 603 coupled to a second surface of the passive device.
Regarding Claims 7 and 20, Wang teaches the package and passive device of claims 1 and 11, wherein the encapsulation layer may include a mold, a resin, an epoxy and/or a filler, and wherein the polymer dielectric layer may include polyimide (PI), Polybenzoxazole (PBO) [0029], and/or Benzocyclobutene (BCB).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang teaches the package of claim 1, wherein the package interposer comprises:
a first metallization portion 1403;
a second metallization portion 1001; and
a first encapsulation layer 901 coupled to the first metallization portion and the second metallization portion, wherein the first encapsulation layer and the passive device are located between the first metallization portion and the second metallization portion (see Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang teaches the package of claim 1, wherein the passive device includes a trench capacitor device (see Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang teaches the package of claim 1, wherein the package is one of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle ([0003], memory device which is used in any of the listed applications).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang teaches the passive device of claim 11, wherein the passive device substrate comprises silicon [0014].
Regarding Claim 18, Wang teaches the passive device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of trench capacitors comprise a first electrically conductive layer 105 and a second electrically conductive layer 109.
Regarding Claim 19, Wang teaches the passive device of claim 18, wherein the first electrically conductive layer comprises polysilicon [0015].
Conclusion
/EVREN SEVEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812