DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Fig. 1-3,6 and 9; Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-11) in the reply filed on 08/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 3, 4, 7, 8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishihata (US 2023/0317599 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Nishihata (Fig. 1) discloses a semiconductor apparatus comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (200), on a front surface of which a semiconductor device (IGBT in first active region 281) is formed;
a surface electrode (211) formed on the front surface and connected to the semiconductor device;
a metal film (212) formed on the surface electrode;
a suppression film (240) formed on the surface electrode (211) and configured to suppress the spread of solder (310) applied on the metal film (212); and
a thermally conductive film (260; Al base, Ni top) formed further on an outer periphery side than the metal film (212) and the suppression film (240) on the surface electrode (211), thicker than the metal film (212), and having higher thermal conductivity than the suppression film (polyimide).
Regarding Claim 2, Nishihata discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising
a protective film (250) configured to cover a terminal end of the surface electrode (250) further on the outer periphery side than the thermally conductive film (260), wherein
the suppression film (250) is formed of a same material as the protective film (polyimide).
Regarding Claim 6, Nishihata discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the suppression film (250) is formed on the surface electrode to surround an outer periphery of the metal film (212) in plan view (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Nishihata discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the semiconductor device is formed by a wide band gap semiconductor. (0027 SiC)
Regarding Claim 11, Nishihata discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the wide band gap semiconductor is silicon carbide, a gallium nitride-based material, or diamond. (0027 SiC)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishihata (US 2023/0317599 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Nishihata discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
Nishihata does not explicitly disclose that the thermally conductive film is formed of a same material as the surface electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor apparatus in Nishihata such that the thermally conductive film is formed of a same material as the surface electrode since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishihata (US 2023/0317599 A1) in view Fukutani et al. (US 2024/0072045 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Nishihata discloses the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the semiconductor device is an IGBT. (0027).
Nishihata does not explicitly disclose an RC-IGBT.
Fukutani (Fig. 4) discloses RC-IGBT. [0062, 0091]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor apparatus in Nishihata in view of Fukutani such that the semiconductor device is an RC-IGBT in order to utilize entire footprint for both conduction states and allow for higher current output and for RC-IGBT to exhibit a desired function [0091]
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891