DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: heating element in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 4 recites a “condenser… remove heat”, but condensers do not remove heat from a surrounding air; condensers add heat to a surrounding air while evaporators remove heat from a surrounding air. Claim 4 is therefore interpreted to refer to an evaporator.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “heating element” in at least claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the user" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mun (KR20010028455).
Regarding claim 1,
Mun teaches a 3 in 1 humidifier, air-conditioner, and heater (e.g. wherein the apparatus has a cooling, heating, and humidifying function, see abstract) comprising of a heating element 18, a condenser 8, refrigerant (see aspect of the present disclosure section, pars. 5-7), water housing unit 14, and fan system 12.
Regarding claim 2,
Mun teaches wherein the heating element is used in combination with the fan system when the user is cold (e.g. the heating element is capable of being used in combination with the fan system when the user is cold; see configuration and operation of the invention section, par. 7).
Regarding claim 3,
Mun teaches wherein the heating element may be used to evaporate water from the water housing unit to provide additional humidity (see configuration and operation of the invention section, pars. 7-8).
Regarding claim 4,
Mun teaches wherein a condenser (e.g. evaporator) in combination with refrigerant remove(s) heat from the surrounding air (see aspect of the present disclosure section, pars. 5-6).
Regarding claim 5,
Mun teaches wherein the surrounding air is used in combination with the fan system to cool the user (see aspect of the present disclosure section, pars. 5-6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee teaches a 3 in 1 humidifier, air conditioner, and heater. Leezer teaches a portable air conditioner and dehumidifier with a handle for easy transport.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763