DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form PTO-1449, filed. The information disclosed therein was considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 13 and 20 recite “being in one of a plurality of groups”. Parent claims previously establish “computing a group” and it is unclear if these terms are tied together and therefore the antecedent basis is unclear. For examination purposes (see below), it is interpreted as referring to the same group which is computed in the parent claim(s).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,335,407. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘407 patent clearly anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,990,186. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘186 patent clearly anticipate the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conley in view of Yoo (US 8,331,144).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 19, Conley discloses a device, comprising: memory cells (see Figure 3); and a logic circuit coupled with the memory cells (see Figure 5) and configured to: receive a plurality of pages of data bits (see Figure 20); and program a page of the memory cells to have threshold voltages representative of the plurality of pages of data bits, via: programming, in a first pass, a threshold voltage of each respective memory cell in the page of the memory cells (see paragraph 0122) and increasing a voltage applied to the page of the memory cells to a sequence of read voltages in an increasing order (see Figure 11).
Conley fails to teach the step of computing a group identification for the respective memory cell. However, one of ordinary skill was aware at the time of many reasons for determining a group identification of memory cells. For example, Yoo teaches computing a group identification for cells as aggressor cells or victim cells (see Figure 3 for example). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to compute a group identification for the respective memory cells being programmed in order to reduce disturbance in a program operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11, 13-18 and 20 are provisionally objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and an overcoming of the double patenting rejection by Terminal Disclaimer and the overcoming of the antecedent issues in the manner interpreted by the Examiner above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while the prior art teaches various embodiments of grouping and program passes, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest in combination each of the threshold levels being in one of a plurality of groups, each of the plurality of groups containing a subset of the threshold levels and having a set of associated read voltages that separate threshold levels in the subset.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824