DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, line 2, the term “its” is not understood because examiner does not know what does “its” refer to?. Please, revise.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by
Sugiura (U.S. 2020/0036269).
As to claim 1, Sugiura discloses a control device (ECU), as shown in figures 1-9
comprising:
an electronics unit (1) which includes at least two separate and mutually
independent subsystems (120, 220) configured to control an electric motor and/or
detect at least one operating variable of the electric motor (80);
a communication unit (29, the rotation angle sensor (29) can have a communication function depending on whether it is an analog or digital model); and
a printed circuit board (30) on which the electronics unit is arranged,
wherein the printed circuit board (30) has at least one electrically non-conductive
separating section (305) which electrically separates the two subsystems (120, 220)
from one another, and
wherein the communication unit (29, para-0055+) configured to provide a communication connection between the subsystems.
In engineering and hardware patents, the term of "bridging manner" (or bridging arrangement) refers to a mechanical or electrical structure that spans across two separate components to link them together; therefore, the rotation angle sensor or communication unit as described as above that that function and configured to provide a communication connection between the subsystems (120, 220).
As to claim 2, Sugiura discloses in figure 5 that the separating section (305)
extends from a first side edge of the printed circuit board (30) to a second side edge of
the printed circuit board opposite the first side edge.
As to claim 3, Sugiura discloses the separating section (305) has over an entire length, has a straight course.
As to claim 4, Sugiura discloses the separating section (305) is formed in one
piece with the printed circuit board.
As to claim 5, Sugiura discloses the separating section (305) is applied
directly to the top surface of the printed circuit board (30) as an insulating layer (para-
0058+).
As to claim 6, Sugiura discloses the separating section (slit 305) is formed
directly by the printed circuit board and is designed as a raised or recessed portion.
As to claim 8, Sugiura discloses the communication unit (rotation angle sensor
29) includes at least one CAN transceiver and/or at least one overvoltage-protected
decoupling element (the rotation angle sensor can have an integrated Controller Area Network (CAN) transceiver if it is specifically designed with a digital CAN bus interface OR in certain specialized or automotive-grade rotation angle sensors feature an overvoltage-protected decoupling element to ensure signal integrity and protect internal circuitry from electrical faults).
As to claim 9, Sugiura discloses an actuator assembly (8), comprising:
at least one electric motor (80); and at least one control device (10) according to claim
As to claim 10, Sugiura discloses a steering system (90) comprising at least one
actuator assembly according to claim 9.
As to claim 11, Sugiura discloses the control device (10) is a steering control
device.
As to claim 12, Sugiura discloses the actuator assembly (8) is a steering
actuator.
As to claim 13, Sugiura discloses the communication unit (rotation angle sensor 29) includes at least one CAN transceiver and at least one overvoltage-protected decoupling element, the rotation angle sensor typically features both a CAN transceiver and an overvoltage-protected decoupling element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
Sugiura does not disclose “the communication unit (29, para-0055+) configured to provide a communication connection between the subsystems.“
After carefully review, examiner respectively disagrees. As shown in figures 1-9, Sugiura clearly discloses the rotation angle sensor (29) have function as the "bridging manner" (or bridging arrangement) that refers to a mechanical or electrical structure that spans across two separate components to link them together; therefore, the rotation angle sensor or communication unit as described as above that that function and configured to provide a communication connection between the subsystems (120, 220).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN T DINH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847