DETAILED ACTION
Tittle
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CONTROL DEVICE AND ACTUATOR ASSEMBLY IN STEERING SYSTEM.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, the phrase of “the separating section has a straight
course over its entire length” is not understood. What does applicant mean of “its”? and what does “its” refers to? Please, revise.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Sugiura (U.S. 2020/0036269).
As to claim 1, Sugiura discloses a control device (ECU), as shown in figures 1-9 comprising:
an electronics unit (1) which includes at least two separate and mutually independent subsystems (120, 220) configured to control an electric motor and/or detect at least one operating variable of the electric motor (80); and
a printed circuit board (30) on which the electronics unit is arranged,
wherein the printed circuit board (30) has at least one electrically non-conductive separating section (305) which electrically separates the two subsystems (120, 220) from one another.
As to claim 2, Sugiura discloses in figure 5 that the separating section (305) extends from a first side edge of the printed circuit board (30) to a second side edge of the printed circuit board opposite the first side edge.
As best understood to claim 3, Sugiura discloses the separating section (305) has a straight course over [[its]] an entire length.
As to claim 4, Sugiura discloses the separating section (305) is formed in one piece with the printed circuit board.
As to claim 5, Sugiura discloses the separating section (305) is applied
directly to the top surface of the printed circuit board (30) as an insulating layer (para-0058+).
As to claim 6, Sugiura discloses the separating section (slit 305) is formed directly by the printed circuit board and is designed as a raised or recessed portion.
As to claim 7, Sugiura further comprising a communication unit (29, para-0055+) configured to provide a communication connection between the subsystems.
As to claim 8, Sugiura discloses the communication unit (rotation angle sensor 29) includes at least one CAN transceiver and/or at least one overvoltage-protected decoupling element.
As to claim 9, Sugiura discloses an actuator assembly (8), comprising:
at least one electric motor (80); and at least one control device (10) according to claim 1.
As to claim 10, Sugiura discloses a steering system (90) comprising at least one actuator assembly according to claim 9.
As to claim 11, Sugiura discloses the control device (10) is a steering control device.
As to claim 12, Sugiura discloses the actuator assembly (8) is a steering actuator.
Tashima (U.S. 2022/0225497) discloses an electronic control device as shown in figures 1-10 comprising an electronics unit (1) which includes at least two separate and mutually independent subsystems (175, 275) configured to control an electric motor (80) and/or detect at least one operating variable of the electric motor (80); and
a printed circuit board (31) on which the electronics unit is arranged,
wherein the printed circuit board (31) has at least one electrically non-conductive separating section (315) which electrically separates the two subsystems (175, 275) from one another.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847