Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 - 12 in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matus (US 20190027796), in view of Rentrop (US 20200020467).
Regarding claim 1, Matus discloses a device assembly for surface mount devices (SMD), the device assembly comprising:
Matus discloses each SMD skeleton comprising: a pair of terminals (first and second contacts 102, 104; Fig. 3); and
a plurality of whiskers (digits 120, 122), the plurality of whiskers being disposed orthogonally between the pair of terminals; and
a polymeric positive temperature coefficient (PPTC 150, 155) material disposed over the matrix, wherein the PPTC material couples the terminals to the whiskers (120, 122).
Matus does not explicitly disclose a matrix comprising a plurality of rows, each row comprising a plurality of SMD skeletons.
Rentrop suggests a matrix comprising a plurality of rows (row of sensors 10, Fig. 4B), each row comprising a plurality of SMD skeletons (Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 2, Matus, in view of Rentrop, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Rentrop further suggests a backing (substrate 1) upon which the matrix is disposed.
Regarding claim 3, Matus, in view of Rentrop, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Rentrop further suggests the backing is a printed circuit board (the substrate is a printed circuit board; paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 4, Matus, in view of Rentrop, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2. Rentrop further suggests the backing is a flexible tape (the substrate is flexible; paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 11, Matus, in view of Rentrop, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Matus further discloses each SMD skeleton comprises an electrically conductive material (copper; paragraph 27).
Regarding claim 12, Matus, in view of Rentrop, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11. Matus further discloses the electrically conductive material comprises copper (paragraph 27).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 2, a combination of limitations that a pair of landing pads disposed opposite the pair of terminals such that the backing is sandwiched between the pair of landing pads and the pair of terminals. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wolkin (US 20070145362) discloses a substrate having an array of components, Fig. 2.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847