DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 3 – 5, 7, 9, 11 – 12 and 14 – 15 objected to because of the following informalities: “adapted to” does not further limit the structure of the invention. Examiner suggest removing this language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by King, JR. (US 20220057090 A1, “King”).
Regarding claim 1, King discloses (Fig. 1, 12-21) an electrical pedestal (10 or 100) comprising a sleeve (D) adapted to carry electrical wires to a flat roof (R) (para [0086], [0088]), a pedestal adapted (12) to be connected to the sleeve and mounted on the flat roof, a cover (14) adapted to be attached to the top of the pedestal (see fig 1), and optionally a strain relief adapted to be attached to the inside of the pedestal(since this limitation is optional it was not addressed).
Regarding claim 2, King discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 1 wherein the sleeve, the pedestal and the cover are made of plastic (See abstract and para [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, King discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 1 wherein the pedestal is adapted to receive a one-piece tubular flashing (See para [0088]).
Regarding claim 4, King discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 2 wherein the pedestal is adapted to receive a one-piece tubular flashing (See para [0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King, JR. (US 20220057090 A1, “King”)
Regarding claim 5, King discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 1 wherein the electrical pedestal is adapted to receive the electrical wires to wire at least two devices selected from the group consisting of an electrical disconnect, a convenience outlet, a light or a combination thereof.
It has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.
Regarding claim 11, King discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 1 adapted to be installed by an electrician and left for later installation of a one-piece tubular flashing by a roofer.
It has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King, JR. (US 20220057090 A1, “King”) in view of Carr (US 5638758 A “Carr”).
Regarding claim 6, King discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 1 wherein the sleeve is plastic (see the abstract) and comprises a tubular portion (para [0072]) and a funnel shaped end.
King is silent the sleeve having a funnel shaped end
However, Carr discloses (Fig. 1, 2) the sleeve (6) having a funnel shaped end {(5), (see fig. 2)}
King and Carr are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pedestal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified King to incorporate the teachings of Carr and provide the sleeve (6) having a funnel shaped end {(5), (see fig. 2)}. Doing so would provide cable routing and 360o access gap (Col. 1, lines: 61 - 67).
Claim(s) Claim(s) 7 – 9, 12 and 14 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King, JR. (US 20220057090 A1, “King”) in view of Carr (US 5638758 A “Carr”) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Bedegrew et al (US 5750915 A, “Bedegrew”) and Carr (US 5638758 A “Carr”).
Regarding claim 7, King in view of Carr discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 6 wherein King further discloses the pedestal (12) is plastic (see the abstract) and comprises at least two parts consisting of a tubular base (122) having a flashing (120) at one end thereof adapted to overlie and be connected to the sleeve and an upper end having a square or rectangular portion adapted to receive at least two devices selected from the group consisting of an electrical disconnect, a convenience outlet, a light or a combination thereof.
It has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.
King in view of Carr is silent on an upper end of the pedestal having a square or rectangular portion
However, Bedegrew discloses (Fig. 2, 7) an upper end of the pedestal having a square or rectangular portion (See Claim 5)
King in view of Carr and Bedegrew are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pedestal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified King in view of Carr to incorporate the teachings of Bedegrew and provide an upper end of the pedestal having a square or rectangular portion (See Claim 5). Doing so would make it much easier to weld and bolt to other flat components and also provide high strength and rigidity (Col. 5, lines: 1 – 17).
Regarding claim 8, King in view of Carr and Bedegrew discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 7 wherein Carr further discloses the cover (10) includes an opening for attaching a light.
Regarding claim 9, King in view of Carr and Bedegrew discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 8 wherein the electrical pedestal is adapted to receive two electrical disconnects, one convenience outlet and a light.
It has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.
Regarding claim 12, King discloses (Fig. 1, 12-21) an electrical pedestal (10 or 100) comprising a plastic sleeve (D) adapted to carry electrical wires to a flat roof (R) (para [0086], [0088]) comprising a tubular portion and a funnel shaped end; a plastic pedestal (12) adapted to be connected to the sleeve (D) and mounted on the flat roof (R) comprising a tubular (122) end having a flashing (120) and the tubular end transitioning to a square or rectangular end adapted to receive the electrical wires and adapted to wire at least two devices selected from the group consisting of an electrical disconnect, a convenience outlet, a light or a combination thereof; a plastic cover (112) adapted to be attached to the top of the pedestal; and optionally a strain relief adapted to be attached to the inside of the pedestal, wherein the electrical pedestal is adapted to receive a one-piece tubular flashing overlying the flashing of the pedestal.
It has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.
King is silent on the tubular end of the pedestal transitioning to a square or rectangular end and the sleeve having a funnel shaped end
However, Bedegrew discloses (Fig. 2, 7) the tubular end of the pedestal transitioning to a square or rectangular end (See Claim 5)
King and Bedegrew are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pedestal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified King to incorporate the teachings of Bedegrew and provide the tubular end of the pedestal transitioning to a square or rectangular end (See Claim 5). Doing so would make it much easier to weld and bolt to other flat components and also provide high strength and rigidity (Col. 5, lines: 1 – 17).
King in view of Bedegrew is silent the sleeve having a funnel shaped end
However, Carr discloses (Fig. 1, 2) the sleeve (6) having a funnel shaped end {(5), (see fig. 2)}
King in view of Bedegrew and Carr are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pedestal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified King in view of Bedegrew to incorporate the teachings of Carr and provide the sleeve (6) having a funnel shaped end {(5), (see fig. 2)}. Doing so would provide cable routing and 360o access gap (Col. 1, lines: 61 - 67).
Regarding claim 14, King in view of Carr and Bedegrew discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 13 adapted to be installed by an electrician and left for later installation of the one-piece tubular flashing by a roofer.
It has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.
Regarding claim 15, King in view of Carr and Bedegrew discloses the electrical pedestal according to claim 14 wherein the electrical pedestal is adapted to receive two electrical disconnects, one convenience outlet and a light.
It has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847