DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1, B1, and C2 (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “optical sweet spot” in claims 5-8 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “optical sweet spot” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Examiner notes that the “first optical sweet spot” in claims 5-8 and the “second optical sweet spot” in claim 5 are rendered indefinite because of the recitation of the relative term, “optical sweet spot.” For the purposes of examination, the recitation of “first optical sweet spot” in claims 5-8 and the recitation of “second optical sweet spot” in claim 5 will be broadly interpreted as: “first optical spot” in claims 5-8 and “second optical spot” in claim 5. Claims 6-8 and 11 are also rejected as being dependent on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. 2020/0292824).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a mobile display device (1, Fig. 1; page 4, para [0080]), comprising:
a first display device (220, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0217]) that provides images to a user’s left eye (Fig. 15);
a second display device (211, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0217]) that provides images to the user’s right eye (Fig. 15);
a display device housing (20, Fig. 15; page 4, para [0080]) that accommodates the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the second display device (211, Fig. 15); and
a housing cover (combination of: 21 and 22, Fig. 15; page 4, para [0080]) that covers a face of the display device housing (bottom face of the display device housing 20, Fig. 15) and includes a first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15) aligned with the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and a second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15) aligned with the second display device (211, Fig. 15),
wherein each of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the second display device (211, Fig. 15) includes a display panel (2201 of 220 and 2111 of 211, Fig. 15; page 12, para [0195]) that includes an emission material layer (1240, Fig. 4; page 7, para [0115]; page 6, para [0103]; page 12, para [0196]), an optical layer (110 and 120, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0216]) that includes lenses (page 13, para [0216]) disposed on the emission material layer (1240 of 211 and 220, Figs. 4 and 15); and a circuit board (2202 of 220 and 2112 of 211, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0099]; page 11, para [0193]) at one end of the display panel (upper end of 2201 and 2111, Fig. 15) and that includes a driver circuit (2203 of 220 and 2113 of 211, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0099]; page 11, para [0193]) that drives the display panel (2201 and 2111, Fig. 15); and
wherein the circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) of the second display device (211, Fig. 15) are symmetrically arranged with respect to a center of the housing cover (combination of: 21 and 22, Fig. 15) located between the first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15) and the second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses a mobile display device with all the limitations above and further discloses
wherein a first circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) is disposed in a first space of the display device housing (20, Figs. 1 and 15) located in a first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15), and
wherein a second circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) of the second display device (211, Fig. 15) is disposed in a second space of the display device housing (20, Figs. 1 and 15) located in a second direction (x direction, Fig. 15) opposite to the first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses a mobile display device with all the limitations above and further discloses
wherein the first display device (220, Fig. 15) comprises a first display panel (2201, Fig. 15) that includes a first emission material layer (1240 of 220, Figs. 4 and 15) and a first optical layer (120, Fig. 15), and a first circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) disposed in the first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the first display panel (2201, Fig. 15), and
wherein the second display device (110, Fig. 15) comprises a second display panel (2111, Fig. 15) that includes a second emission material layer (1240, Figs. 4 and 15) and a second optical layer (110, Fig. 15), and a second circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) disposed in the second direction (x direction, Fig. 15) from the second display panel (2111, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses a mobile display device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein first lenses (120, Fig. 15) of the first optical layer (layer 120, Fig. 15) and second lenses of the second optical layer (layer 110, Fig. 4) are symmetrically arranged with respect to the center of the housing cover (20, Figs. 1 and 15).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses a mobile display device with all the limitations above and further discloses
wherein a first optical spot (420, Fig. 15; page 5, para [0091]) of the first optical layer (layer 120, Fig. 15) is shifted from a center of the first display panel (such as shifted in the x direction away from a center of the first display panel 2201, Fig. 15) in a third direction (x direction, Fig. 15), and
wherein a second optical spot (410, Fig. 15; page 5, para [0091]) of the second optical layer (layer 110, Fig. 15) is shifted from a center of the second display panel (such as shifted in the -x direction away from a center of the second display panel 2111, Fig. 15) in a fourth direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) opposite to the third direction (x direction, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses a mobile display device with all the limitations above and further discloses
wherein the first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) is a direction from the first display panel (2201, Fig. 15) to the center of the housing cover (20, Fig. 15),
wherein the second direction (x direction, Fig. 15) is a direction from the second display panel (110, Fig. 15) to the center of the housing cover (20, Fig. 15),
wherein the third direction (x direction, Fig. 15) is opposite to the first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15), and
wherein the fourth direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) is opposite to the second direction (x direction, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses a mobile display device with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the mobile display device (1, Fig. 1) is a glasses-type display device that provides virtual reality or augmented reality (page 4, para [0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses a head-mounted display device (1, Fig. 1; page 4, para [0080]), comprising:
a first display device (220, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0217]) that provides images to a user’s left eye (Fig. 15);
a second display device (211, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0217]) that provides images to the user’s right eye (Fig. 15);
a display device housing (20, Fig. 15; page 4, para [0080]) that accommodates the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the second display device (211, Fig. 15); and
a housing cover (combination of: 21 and 22, Fig. 15; page 4, para [0080]) that covers a face of the display device housing (bottom face of the display device housing 20, Fig. 15) and includes a first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15) aligned with the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and a second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15) aligned with the second display device (211, Fig. 15),
wherein each of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the second display device (211, Fig. 15) includes a display panel (2201 of 220 and 2111 of 211, Fig. 15; page 12, para [0195]) that comprises an emission material layer (1240, Fig. 4; page 7, para [0115]; page 6, para [0103]; page 12, para [0196]), an optical layer (110 and 120, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0216]) that includes lenses (page 13, para [0216]) disposed on the emission material layer (1240 of 211 and 220, Figs. 4 and 15); and a circuit board (2202 of 220 and 2112 of 211, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0099]; page 11, para [0193]) disposed at one end of the display panel (upper end of 2201 and 2111, Fig. 15) and that includes a driver circuit (2203 of 220 and 2113 of 211, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0099]; page 11, para [0193]) that drives the display panel (2201 and 2111, Fig. 15); and
wherein the circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) of the second display device (211, Fig. 15) are symmetrically arranged with respect to a center of the housing cover (combination of: 21 and 22, Fig. 15) located between the first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15) and the second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses a head-mounted display device with all the limitations of claim 13 above and further discloses
wherein a first circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) is disposed in a first space of the display device housing (20, Figs. 1 and 15) located in a first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15), and
wherein a second circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) of the second display device (211, Fig. 15) is disposed in a second space of the display device housing (20, Figs. 1 and 15) located in a second direction (x direction, Fig. 15) opposite to the first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses a head-mounted display device with all the limitations of claim 14 above and further discloses
wherein the first display device (220, Fig. 15) comprises a first display panel (2201, Fig. 15) that includes a first emission material layer (1240 of 220, Figs. 4 and 15) and a first optical layer (120, Fig. 15), and a first circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) disposed in the first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the first display panel (2201, Fig. 15), and
wherein the second display device (110, Fig. 15) comprises a second display panel (2111, Fig. 15) that includes a second emission material layer (1240, Figs. 4 and 15) and a second optical layer (110, Fig. 15), and a second circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) disposed in the second direction (x direction, Fig. 15) from the second display panel (2111, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses a head-mounted display device with all the limitations of claim 15 above and further discloses wherein first lenses (120, Fig. 15) of the first optical layer (layer 120, Fig. 15) and second lenses of the second optical layer (layer 110, Fig. 4) are symmetrically arranged with respect to the center of the housing cover (20, Figs. 1 and 15).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses a glasses-type display device (1, Fig. 1; page 4, para [0080]), comprising:
a first display device (220, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0217]) that provides images to a user’s left eye (Fig. 15);
a second display device (211, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0217]) that provides images to the user’s right eye (Fig. 15);
a display device housing (20, Fig. 15; page 4, para [0080]) that accommodates the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the second display device (211, Fig. 15); and
a housing cover (combination of: 21 and 22, Fig. 15; page 4, para [0080]) that covers a face of the display device housing (bottom face of the display device housing 20, Fig. 15) and includes a first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15) aligned with the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and a second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15) aligned with the second display device (211, Fig. 15),
wherein each of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the second display device (211, Fig. 15) includes a display panel (2201 of 220 and 2111 of 211, Fig. 15; page 12, para [0195]) that includes an emission material layer (1240, Fig. 4; page 7, para [0115]; page 6, para [0103]; page 12, para [0196]), an optical layer (110 and 120, Fig. 15; page 13, para [0216]) that includes lenses (page 13, para [0216]) disposed on the emission material layer (1240 of 211 and 220, Figs. 4 and 15); and a circuit board (2202 of 220 and 2112 of 211, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0099]; page 11, para [0193]) disposed at one end of the display panel (upper end of 2201 and 2111, Fig. 15) and that includes a driver circuit (2203 of 220 and 2113 of 211, Fig. 15; page 6, para [0099]; page 11, para [0193]) that drives the display panel (2201 and 2111, Fig. 15); and
wherein the circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) and the circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) of the second display device (211, Fig. 15) are symmetrically arranged with respect to a center of the housing cover (combination of: 21 and 22, Fig. 15) located between the first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15) and the second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses a glasses-type display device with all the limitations of claim 17 above and further discloses
wherein a first circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) of the first display device (220, Fig. 15) is disposed in a first space of the display device housing (20, Figs. 1 and 15) located in a first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the first eyepiece (22, Fig. 15), and
wherein a second circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) of the second display device (211, Fig. 15) is disposed in a second space of the display device housing (20, Figs. 1 and 15) located in a second direction (x direction, Fig. 15) opposite to the first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the second eyepiece (21, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses a glasses-type display device with all the limitations of claim 18 above and further discloses
wherein the first display device (220, Fig. 15) comprises a first display panel (2201, Fig. 15) that includes a first emission material layer (1240 of 220, Figs. 4 and 15) and a first optical layer (120, Fig. 15), and a first circuit board (2202, Fig. 15) disposed in the first direction (-x direction, Fig. 15) from the first display panel (2201, Fig. 15), and
wherein the second display device (110, Fig. 15) comprises a second display panel (2111, Fig. 15) that includes a second emission material layer (1240, Figs. 4 and 15) and a second optical layer (110, Fig. 15), and a second circuit board (2112, Fig. 15) disposed in the second direction (x direction, Fig. 15) from the second display panel (2111, Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses a glasses-type display device with all the limitations of claim 19 above and further discloses wherein first lenses (120, Fig. 15) of the first optical layer (layer 120, Fig. 15) and second lenses of the second optical layer (layer 110, Fig. 4) are symmetrically arranged with respect to the center of the housing cover (20, Figs. 1 and 15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art as presently searched does not disclose the mobile display device of claim 6 (having all the combination of features including wherein the first lenses include a first central lens associated with the first optical spot and that is aligned with a center of a sub-pixel of the first emission material layer, and first peripheral lenses disposed outside the first central lens and that are shifted by a predetermined distance from the center of the sub-pixel of the first emission material layer), does not disclose the mobile display device of claim 10 (having all the combination of features including wherein the first direction and the third direction are directions from the center of the housing cover toward the first display panel, and wherein the second direction and the fourth direction are directions from the center of the housing cover toward the second display panel), and does not disclose the mobile display device of claim 11 (having all the combination of features including wherein the first direction is an upward direction of the housing cover, the second direction is a downward direction of the housing cover, the third direction is directed from the center of the housing cover toward the first display panel, and the fourth direction is directed from the center of the housing cover toward the second display panel). Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent on claim 6.
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871