Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Reference characters “100” and “106” present within Para.[0013].
Claim Objections
Claims 5-7 and 14-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 5, line 1: “includes linkage moveable” should be “includes a linkage”. This objection also applies to the linkage recitations within claims 6 and 7.
Within claim 14, line 2: “moving of linkage” should be “moving of a linkage”. This objection also applies to the linkage recitations within claims 15 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 9-10, 14, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thorén (US 20230406114 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Thorén discloses a connection system for connecting a work machine to an external large-capacity energy source external to the work machine (Fig.1), the system comprising: an electrically conductive member configured to provide electrical energy from the external energy source to an energy receptacle of the work machine (112; Fig.1); a first contactor mechanically movable between a closed position electrically connecting the external energy source and the electrically conductive member, and an open position physically disconnecting the external energy source and the electrically conductive member (122; Fig.1); a second contactor mechanically movable between a closed position electrically connecting the electrically conductive member and the energy receptacle, and an open position physically disconnecting the electrically conductive member and the energy receptacle (128; Fig.4); and a controller configured to receive an indication to disconnect an electrical power system of the work machine from the external energy source; and selectively initiate opening of the first contactor or the second contactor according to the received indication (Para.[0116] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 2: Thorén further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: detect that the work machine is under load; and initiate opening of the second contactor in response to determining that the work machine is under load and receiving the indication to electrically disconnect the electrical power system of the work machine from the external energy source (Para.[0122],[0131] and 301b; Fig.5).
Regarding claim 5: Thorén further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first contactor (122; Fig.1) includes linkage (116; Fig.1) movable to connect the electrically conductive member to an external energy source (204; Fig.1) that includes a power rail (202; Fig.1), and movable to disconnect the electrically conductive member from the power rail (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 7: Thorén further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive member is a pantograph and the external energy source is a power line (Fig.1); wherein the first contactor includes linkage movable to disconnect the pantograph and the power line (apparent from Fig.1); and wherein the second contactor (128; Fig.4) includes linkage (130; Fig.4) movable to disconnect the pantograph (116; Fig.1) and the energy receptacle (126; Fig.4).
Regarding claim 9: Thorén discloses a method of controlling operation of an electrically powered work machine, the method comprising: receiving, by a controller of the work machine, an indication to disconnect an electrical power system of the work machine from an external energy source external to the work machine (Para.[0122]); and selectively initiating, by the controller, opening of one of a first movable contactor to mechanically disconnect an electrically conductive member from the external energy source (Para.[0156-0158]) or a second movable contactor to mechanically disconnect the electrically conductive member from an energy receptacle of the work machine in response to the indication to disconnect the electrical power system and according to an operating state of the work machine (Para.[0122] and [0116]).
Regarding claim 10: Thorén further discloses the method of claim 9, including: detecting, by the controller, that the work machine is under load; and initiating opening of the second contactor in response to determining that the work machine is under load and receiving the indication to electrically disconnect the electrical power system of the work machine from the external energy source (Para.[0122],[0131] and 301b; Fig.5).
Regarding claim 14: Thorén further discloses the method of claim 9, including: initiating, by the controller, moving of linkage of the first contactor to physically disconnect the electrically conductive member from a power rail of the external energy source in response to the indication to disconnect the electrical power system and according to the operating state of the work machine (Para.[0156]-[0158]).
Regarding claim 16: Thorén further discloses the method of claim 9, including: initiating, by the controller, moving of linkage of the first contactor (112; Fig.1) to physically disconnect a pantograph from a power line (Fig.1), or moving of linkage of the second contactor (128; Fig.4) to physically disconnect the pantograph from the energy receptacle of the work machine, in response to the indication to disconnect the electrical power system and according to an operating state of the work machine (Para.[0122] and [0116]).
Regarding claim 17: Thorén discloses an apparatus for an electrically powered work machine, the apparatus comprising: an energy receptacle for the work machine to receive electrical energy (126; Fig.4) from an electrically conductive member (112; Fig.1); a machine contactor mechanically movable between a closed position electrically connecting the energy receptacle and the electrically conductive member, and an open position physically disconnecting the electrically conductive member and the energy receptacle (128; Fig.4); and a controller configured to: determine that the work machine is operating under load; receive an indication to disconnect the work machine from an external energy source; and initiate moving the machine contactor to the open position in response to the received indication and the determining that the work machine is operating under load (Para.[0122],[0131] and 301b; Fig.5).
Regarding claim 20: Thorén further discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the controller is configured to initiate moving the machine contactor to the closed position (122; Fig.1) in response to an indication to connect the work machine to the external energy source (Para.[0166]-[0170]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-4, 12-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorén in view of Ruth (US 20130126251 A1).
Regarding claim 3: Thorén teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: initiate opening the first contactor in response to receiving the indication to disconnect the electrical power system of the work machine from the external energy source (Para.[0156]-[0158]). Thorén does not specifically teach detecting that the work machine is idle to initiate opening the first contactor.
However, Ruth teaches detecting with a control unit (62), that the work machine is idle and no longer suitable for being electrically connected with a trolley line (Para.[0026]-[0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Thorén to include determining if the work machine is idle as taught within Ruth to provide efficient system operations when work vehicle status changes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4: Thorén teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: initiate opening of the first contactor in response to receiving the indication to disconnect the electrical power system of the work machine from the external energy source (Para.[0156]-[0158]). Thorén does not teach detecting that a traction system of the work machine is off and initiate opening of the first contactor in response to determining that the traction system is off.
However, Ruth teaches detecting with a control unit (62), that the work machine is stopped and no longer suitable for being electrically connected with a trolley line (Para.[0026]-[0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Thorén to include determining if the work machine is off to provide efficient system operations and monitoring when work vehicle status changes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12: Thorén teaches the method of claim 9, including: detecting, by the controller; and initiating opening of the first contactor in response to receiving the indication to electrically disconnect the electrical power system of the work machine from the external energy source (Para.[0156]-[0158]). Thorén does not specifically teach detecting that the work machine is idle to initiate opening the first contactor.
However, Ruth teaches detecting with a control unit (62), that the work machine is idle and no longer suitable for being electrically connected with a trolley line (Para.[0026]-[0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Thorén to include determining if the work machine is idle as taught within Ruth to provide efficient operations when work vehicle status changes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13: Thorén teaches the method of claim 9, including: detecting, by the controller; and initiating opening of the first contactor in response to receiving the indication to electrically disconnect the electrical power system of the work machine from the external energy source (Para.[0156]-[0158]). Thorén does not teach detecting that the work machine is off and initiate opening of the first contactor in response to determining that the work machine is off.
However, Ruth teaches detecting with a control unit (62), that the work machine is stopped and no longer suitable for being electrically connected with a trolley line (Para.[0026]-[0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Thorén to include determining if the work machine is off to provide efficient system operations and monitoring when work vehicle status changes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19: Thorén teaches the apparatus of claim 17 including: the electrically conductive member (112; Fig.1); and a member contactor (122; Fig.1) mechanically movable between a closed position electrically connecting an external energy source (202; Fig.1) and the electrically conductive member (112; Fig.1), and an open position physically disconnecting the external energy source and the electrically conductive member (apparent from Fig.1); and wherein the controller is configured to initiate moving the member contactor to the open position in response to the received indication to disconnect the work machine from the external energy source (Para.[0156]-[0158]). Thorén does not teach determining that the work machine is not operating under load to initiate opening the member contactor.
However, Ruth teaches detecting with a control unit (62), that the work machine is idle and no longer suitable for being electrically connected with a trolley line (Para.[0026]-[0027]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Thorén to include determining if the work machine is idle as taught within Ruth to provide efficient system operations when work vehicle status changes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorén in view of Ruffels et al. (US 20230074416 A1).
Regarding claim 6: Thorén teaches the system of claim 1, of including the electrically conductive member; wherein the first contactor includes linkage movable to disconnect (116; Fig.1) the electrically conductive member from the external energy source; and wherein the second contactor (128; Fig.4) includes linkage (130; Fig.4) movable to disconnect the electrically conductive member (112; Fig.4) from the energy receptacle (126; Fig.4). Thorén does not teach that the electrically conductive member is specifically an electrically conductive tether.
However, Ruffels teaches the use of an electrically conductive tether to power work vehicles (Fig.5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Thorén to utilize an electrically conductive tether since it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15: Thorén teaches the method of claim 9, of including: initiating, by the controller, moving of linkage of the first contactor to physically disconnect an electrically conductive member from the external energy source (Fig.1), or moving of linkage of the second contactor (128; Fig.4) to physically disconnect the electrically conductive member (Fig.1) from the energy receptacle of the work machine (126; Fig.4), in response to the indication to disconnect the electrical power system and according to an operating state of the work machine (Para.[0156]-[0158]). Thorén does not teach that the electrically conductive member is specifically an electrically conductive tether.
However, Ruffels teaches the use of an electrically conductive tether to power work vehicles (Fig.5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Thorén to utilize an electrically conductive tether since it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 8, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorén in view of Cun (CN 111572683 A).
Regarding claim 8: Thorén teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second contactor is disposed within an enclosure (132; Fig.1) when the second contactor is moved from the closed position to the open position while the work machine is under load (128; Fig.4). Thorén does not teach an enclosure configured to contain arcing.
However, Cun teaches the use of an enclosure for contacts that is configured to contain arcing during operations (see attached EPO translations; Para.[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Thorén to include an enclosure configured to contain arcing since it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11: Thorén teaches the method of claim 10, including the second contactor moving from a closed position to an open position while the work machine is under load (128; Fig.4). Thorén does not teach an enclosure configured to contain arcing.
However, Cun teaches the use of an enclosure for contacts that is configured to contain arcing during operations (see attached EPO translations; Para.[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Thorén to include an enclosure configured to contain arcing since it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 18: Thorén teaches the apparatus of claim 17, including an enclosure (132; Fig.1) and wherein the energy receptacle (126; Fig.4) and the machine contactor (128; Fig.4) are arranged within the enclosure (132; Fig.4). Thorén does not teach an enclosure configured to contain arcing.
However, Cun teaches the use of an enclosure for contacts that is configured to contain arcing during operations (see attached EPO translations; Para.[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Thorén to include an enclosure configured to contain arcing since it is obvious to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615