DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant's application filed May 20th, 2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeya (US 2019/0393198 A1).
With respect to claim 12, Takeya teaches a light emitting structure in Figs. 2A-2I with Fig. 1A teaching overlapping subject matter, comprising a light emitting transfer structure, wherein the light emitting transfer structure comprises a transfer film layer 110, an electrode fixing structure S and a light emitting chip 120 (see Fig. 2A, 2H, and paragraphs 71, 72, 79, 80);
wherein the electrode fixing structure S is provided on the transfer film layer 110, the transfer film layer 110 is provided with a through-wire hole (via-hole) close to the electrode fixing structure S, and an electrode of the light emitting chip 120 is connected to the electrode fixing structure S (see Fig. 2H and paragraphs 79, 80);
wherein the light emitting structure further comprises a driving backplane 59, a binding-point electrode (bottom of 132’, 134’) is provided on a surface of the driving backplane 59, the light emitting transfer structure is provided on the driving backplane 59, and the through-wire hole (via-hole) corresponds to the binding-point electrode (bottom of 132’, 134’) of the driving backplane 59 (see 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81); and
wherein the light emitting structure further comprises a connection wire (132’ and 134’ in via-hole), the connection wire (132’ and 134’ in via-hole) is provided in the through-wire hole (via-hole), an end of the connection wire is connected to the binding-point electrode (bottom of 132’, 134’) and another end of the connection wire is connected to the electrode fixing structure S (see Figs. 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81).
With respect to claim 15, Takeya teaches the light emitting structure according to claim 12, wherein the electrode fixing structure S comprises an anode fixing portion (where S connects to 37) and a cathode fixing portion (where S connects to 35) spaced from each other, two through-wire holes comprising an anode through-wire hole (134’ in via-hole) and a cathode through-wire hole (132’ in via-hole), the anode through-wire hole is opened on a side of the anode fixing portion (where S connects to 37) away from the cathode fixing portion (where S connects to 35), the cathode through-wire hole is opened on a side of the cathode through-wire hole away from the anode fixing portion (where S connects to 37), the anode through-wire hole (134’ in via-hole) and the cathode through-wire hole (132’ in via-hole) are provided respectively at both sides of the light emitting chip 120 (see Figs. 1A, 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 53, 59, 80; p-type means positive anode and n-type means negative cathode).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeya (US 2019/0393198 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Takeya discloses a method of transferring a light emitting chip 120 in Figs. 2A-2I with Fig .1A teaching overlapping subject matter, comprising:
forming a light emitting chip 120 on a surface of a growth substrate 57 (see Figs. 2F, 2G and paragraphs 78, 79);
forming a transfer film layer 110 on a transient substrate (buffer layer) (see Fig. 2H and paragraphs 79-81);
forming an electrode fixing structure S on a side of the transfer film layer 110 away from the transient substrate (buffer), and opening a through-wire hole (via-hole) in the transfer film layer 110 adjacent to the electrode fixing structure S (see Fig. 2H and paragraphs 79-81);
making the growth substrate 57 opposite to the transient substrate (buffer layer), to make an electrode of the light emitting chip 120 on the growth substrate 57 connect to the electrode fixing structure S on the transient substrate (buffer layer) (see Figs. 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81);
stripping off the growth substrate 57 to form a light emitting transfer structure (see Figs. 2H, 2I and paragraphs 79-81);
making the light emitting transfer structure opposite to a driving backplane 59, to make a through-wire hole (via-hole) in the light emitting transfer structure correspond to a binding-point electrode (bottom of 132’, 134’) on the driving backplane 59 (see Figs. 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81); and
forming a connection wire (132’ and 134’ in via-hole), wherein a portion of the connection wire (132’ and 134’ in via-hole) is connected to the binding-point electrode (bottom of 132’ and 134’) through the through-wire hole (via-hole), and another portion of the connection wire is connected to the electrode fixing structure S (see Figs. 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81).
Takeya does not explicitly disclose stripping off at least a portion of the transient substrate.
However, Takeya discloses that 132’ and 134’ are disposed on the lower surface of 110 and that the transient substrate (buffer) is disposed between 110 and 59 (see paragraphs 79, 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the display panel would comprise stripping off at least a portion of the transient substrate because such a stripping off of the transient substrate (buffer) would be required to allow the first and second substrate electrodes 132’ and 134’ to be formed on the lower surface of 110 (see MPEP 2144 I).
With respect to claim 8, Takeya discloses the method of transferring the light emitting chip according to claim 1, wherein making the growth substrate 57 opposite to the transient substrate (buffer layer) means that the light emitting chip 120 and the electrode fixing structure S are opposite to each other, and the electrode of the light emitting chip 120 is directly faced to the electrode fixing structure S (see Figs. 1A, 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 53, 59, 79-81).
With respect to claim 9, Takeya discloses the method of transferring the light emitting chip according to claim 1, wherein electrodes of the light emitting chip 120 comprises an anode 37 and a cathode 35, and two through-wire holes (via-hole) are provided; two binding-point electrodes (bottom of 132’ and 134’) on the driving backplane 59 are provided, one of two binding-point electrodes is configured for providing an electrical signal to the anode (where S connects to 37) of the light emitting chip 120 and the other of the two binding-point electrodes is configured for providing electrical signals to the cathode (where S connects to 35) of the light emitting chip 120 (see Figs. 1A, 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 53, 59, 80; p-type means positive anode and n-type means negative cathode).
With respect to claim 10, Takeya discloses the method of transferring the light emitting chip according to claim 9, wherein the electrode fixing structure S comprises an anode fixing portion (where S connects to 37) and a cathode fixing portion (where S connects to 37) spaced from each other, the two through-wire holes comprise an anode through-wire hole (134’ in via-hole) and a cathode through-wire hole (132’ in via-hole), the anode through-wire hole is opened on a side of the anode fixing portion (where S connects to 37) away from the cathode fixing portion (where S connects to 35), the cathode through-wire hole is opened on a side of the cathode through-wire hole away from the anode fixing portion (where S connects to 37), the anode through-wire hole (134’ in via-hole) and the cathode through-wire hole (132’ in via-hole) are provided respectively at both sides of the light emitting chip 120 (see Figs. 1A, 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 53, 59, 80; p-type means positive anode and n-type means negative cathode)..
With respect to claim 16, Takeya discloses a display panel in Figs. 2A-2I with Fig. 1A teaching overlapping subject matter, comprising a light emitting chip 120 and a driving backplane 59, wherein a method of transferring the light emitting chip 120 is used by the display panel to transfer the light emitting chip 120 to the driving backplane 59 (see Figs. 2A, 2H, 2I and paragraphs 71, 72, 79-81), and paragraphs ; wherein the method comprises:
forming a light emitting chip 120 on a surface of a growth substrate 57 (see Figs. 2F, 2G and paragraphs 78, 79);
forming a transfer film layer 110 on a transient substrate (buffer layer) (see Fig. 2H and paragraphs 79-81);
forming an electrode fixing structure S on a side of the transfer film 110 layer away from the transient substrate (buffer), and opening a through-wire hole (via-hole) in the transfer film layer 110 adjacent to the electrode fixing structure S (see Fig. 2H and paragraphs 79-81);
making the growth substrate 57 opposite to the transient substrate (buffer layer), to make an electrode of the light emitting chip 120 on the growth substrate 57 connect to the electrode fixing structure S on the transient substrate (buffer layer) (see Figs. 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81);
stripping off the growth substrate 57 to form a light emitting transfer structure (see Figs. 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81);
making the light emitting transfer structure opposite to a driving backplane 59, to make a through-wire hole (via-hole) in the light emitting transfer structure correspond to a binding-point electrode (bottom of 132’, 134’) on the driving backplane 59 (see Figs. 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81); and
forming a connection wire (132’ and 134’ in via-hole), wherein a portion of the connection wire (132’ and 134’ in via-hole) is connected to the binding-point electrode (bottom of 132’, 134’) through the through-wire hole (via-hole), and another portion of the connection wire is connected to the electrode fixing structure S (see Figs. 2H, 2I, and paragraphs 79-81).
Takeya does not explicitly disclose stripping off at least a portion of the transient substrate.
However, Takeya discloses that 132’ and 134’ are disposed on the lower surface of 110 and that the transient substrate (buffer) is disposed between 110 and 59 (see paragraphs 79, 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the display panel would comprise stripping off at least a portion of the transient substrate because such a stripping off of the transient substrate (buffer) would be required to allow the first and second substrate electrodes 132’ and 134’ to be formed on the lower surface of 110 (see MPEP 2144 I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 11, 13, 14, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or fairly suggest:
wherein the forming the electrode fixing structure on the side of the transfer film layer away from the transient substrate comprises: providing a conductive layer on a surface of the transfer film layer, and providing a conductive adhesive on a side of the conductive layer away from the transfer film layer; wherein the electrode of the light emitting chip is connected to the conductive layer through the conductive adhesive, as called for in claim 2 (claims 3 and 11 depend from claim 2);
wherein the opening the through-wire hole in the transfer film layer adjacent to the electrode fixing structure comprises: providing a stripped-off layer on a surface of the transfer film layer, and providing an etching blocking layer on a side of the stripped-off layer away from the transfer film layer, wherein the stripped-off layer covers the electrode fixing structure; opening an etching hole in the etching blocking layer, and opening an etching channel in the stripped-off layer corresponding to the etching hole, wherein a positive projection of the etching hole on the transfer film layer is located outside a positive projection of the electrode fixing structure on the transfer film layer; etching the transfer film layer through the etching hole and the etching channel to form the through-wire hole; and stripping off the stripped-off layer to remove the etching blocking layer, as called for in claim 4;
wherein before the transferring the light emitting transfer structure to the driving backplane comprises: providing an adhesive layer on a surface of the driving backplane to adhesively fix the transfer film layer to the driving backplane, as called for in claim 5 (claim 6 depends from claim 5);
wherein the light emitting chip comprises an epitaxial layer and electrodes, the forming the light emitting chip on the surface of the growth substrate comprises: forming the epitaxial layer on the surface of the growth substrate, and forming the electrodes on a top of the epitaxial layer, as called for in claim 7;
wherein the light emitting transfer structure comprises a transient substrate provided between the transfer film layer and the driving backplane, and the transient substrate is provided with a through-hole corresponding to the through-wire hole, as called for in claim 13;
wherein the light emitting structure comprises a dielectric layer provided on the driving backplane, and a positive projection of the light emitting chip on the driving backplane is located within a positive projection of the dielectric layer on the driving backplane, as called for in claim 14;
wherein the forming the electrode fixing structure on the side of the transfer film layer away from the transient substrate comprises: providing a conductive layer on a surface of the transfer film layer, and providing a conductive adhesive on a side of the conductive layer away from the transfer film layer; wherein the electrode of the light emitting chip is connected to the conductive layer through the conductive adhesive, as called for in claim 17 (claim 18 depends from claim 17);
wherein the opening the through-wire hole in the transfer film layer adjacent to the electrode fixing structure comprises: providing a stripped-off layer on a surface of the transfer film layer, and providing an etching blocking layer on a side of the stripped-off layer away from the transfer film layer, wherein the stripped-off layer covers the electrode fixing structure; opening an etching hole in the etching blocking layer, and opening an etching channel in the stripped-off layer corresponding to the etching hole, wherein a positive projection of the etching hole on the transfer film layer is located outside a positive projection of the electrode fixing structure on the transfer film layer; etching the transfer film layer through the etching hole and the etching channel to form the through-wire hole; and stripping off the stripped-off layer to remove the etching blocking layer, as called for in claim 19;
wherein before the transferring the light emitting transfer structure to the driving backplane comprises: providing an adhesive layer on a surface of the driving backplane to adhesively fix the transfer film layer to the driving backplane, as called for in claim 20.
Inquiry
/J.M.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893