DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 10/02/2025.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
With regard to the Double Patenting rejection, the rejection is still maintained due to similar claim scope between the instant application and previously issued patents.
With regard to the 101 rejection, the arguments have been considered and they are persuasive. The applicant asserted in page 9 that “the pending claims are not directed to any abstract idea, incorporate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application . . .”. And, the claims were amended to have the computer system load a physical lockbox (even though that is still broad, a computer is actually instructing a mechanism to do the loading) and unlocking the door of the lockbox. Hence, the claim is integrating an abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is patent eligible.
With regard to the 103 rejection, the arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has amended the independent claims and asserted that “[the independent claims] are patentable over each of the cited references, taken alone or in any proper combination”. However, the cited references, in combination, still teach all the elements of the claimed invention. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of configuring a physical lockbox as taught by Janiga with the invention disclosed by Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson to identify any nearby CTMs, request a withdrawal amount, and physically obtain the cash representative of the withdrawal amount at a particular CTM using a transaction code (Abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Patent No. 11989735 (parent), claims 1-20 of Patent No. 11682023 (grandparent case), and Claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 12-21, 23 of Patent No. 11341502 (great grandparent case). The claims are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to methods for completing transactions via lockboxes. The claims from the current application are anticipated by the claims of the Patent Nos. 11989735, 11682023, 11341502.
Current Application 18/669119
Patent No. 11989735
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a computing system of a provider from a user device associated with a user account, a transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identifying, by the computing system, a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the lockbox location being identified from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading, by the computing system, a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked, based on the transaction identification; receiving, by the computing system, an unlock attempt; and unlocking, by the computing system, the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmitting, by the computing system, the user interface to the user device.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, the method further comprising: validating, by the computing system, the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting, by the computing system, a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
8. A computing system associated with a provider, the computing system comprising: a network interface circuit configured to communicate data to and from a lockbox computing system associated with the provider over a network; and one or more processing circuits configured to: receive, from a user device associated with a user account, a transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identify a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the lockbox location being identified from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked, based on the transaction identification ;receive an unlock attempt; and unlock the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
9. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: generate a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmit the user interface to the user device.
10. The computing system of claim 9, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
11. The computing system of claim 10, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
12. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, and the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: validate the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
13. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: generate a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmit a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
14. The computing system of claim 8, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
15. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause a processing circuit to perform operations comprising: receiving a transaction service request from a user device associated with a user account, the transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identifying a lockbox location that is capable of completing based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked, based on the transaction identification; receiving an unlock attempt; and unlocking the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox
16. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmitting the user interface to the user device.
17. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
18. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, wherein the operations further comprise: validating the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a computing system of a provider from a user device associated with a user account, a transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identifying, by the computing system, a first plurality of lockbox locations that can complete the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the first plurality of lockbox locations being identified from a second plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, each of the first plurality of lockbox locations having a plurality of physical lockboxes; receiving, by the computing system from the user device, a selection of one of the lockbox locations of the first plurality of lockbox locations that can complete the transaction service request; configuring, by the computing system, a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the selected lockbox location, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type while a door of the physical lockbox is locked, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository; receiving, by the computing system, an unlock attempt; and transmitting, by the computing system, an unlock command to the physical lockbox to unlock the door of the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the first plurality of lockbox locations; and transmitting, by the computing system, the user interface to the user device, wherein the selection is received from the user via the user interface.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, the method further comprising: validating, by the computing system, the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting, by the computing system, a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
8. A computing system associated with a provider, the computing system comprising: a network interface circuit configured to communicate data to and from a lockbox computing system associated with the provider over a network; and one or more processing circuits configured to: receive, from a user device associated with a user account, a transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identify a first plurality of lockbox locations that can complete the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the first plurality of lockbox locations being identified from a second plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, each of the first plurality of lockbox locations having a plurality of physical lockboxes; receive, from the user device, a selection of one of the lockbox locations of the first plurality of lockbox locations that can complete the transaction service request; configure a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the selected lockbox location, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type while a door of the physical lockbox is locked, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository; receive an unlock attempt; and transmit an unlock command to the physical lockbox to unlock the door of the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
9. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: generate a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the first plurality of lockbox locations; and transmit the user interface to the user device, wherein the selection is received from the user via the user interface.
10. The computing system of claim 9, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
11. The computing system of claim 10, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
12. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, and the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: validate the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
13. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: generate a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmit a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
14. The computing system of claim 8, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
15. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing system associated with a provider, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving a transaction service request from a user device associated with a user account, the transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identifying a first plurality of lockbox locations that can complete the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the first plurality of lockbox locations being determined from a second plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, each of the first plurality of lockbox locations having a plurality of physical lockboxes; receiving, from the user device, a selection of one of the lockbox locations of the first plurality of lockbox locations that can complete the transaction service request; configuring a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the selected lockbox location, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type while a door of the physical lockbox is locked, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository; receiving an unlock attempt; and transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox to unlock the door of the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
16. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the first plurality of lockbox locations; and transmitting the user interface to the user device, wherein the selection is received from the user via the user interface.
17. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
18. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, wherein the operations further comprise: validating the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
Current Application 18/669119
Patent No. 11682023
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a computing system of a provider from a user device associated with a user account, a transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identifying, by the computing system, a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the lockbox location being identified from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading, by the computing system, a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked; receiving, by the computing system, an unlock attempt; and unlocking,the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmitting, by the computing system, the user interface to the user device.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, the method further comprising: validating, by the computing system, the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting, by the computing system, a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
8. A computing system associated with a provider, the computing system comprising: a network interface circuit configured to communicate data to and from a lockbox computing system associated with the provider over a network; and one or more processing circuits configured to: receive, from a user device associated with a user account, a transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identify a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the lockbox location being identified from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked, based on the transaction identification; receive an unlock attempt; and unlock the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
9. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: generate a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmit the user interface to the user device.
10. The computing system of claim 9, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
11. The computing system of claim 10, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
12. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, and the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: validate the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
13. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: generate a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmit a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
14. The computing system of claim 8, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
15. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause a processing circuit to perform operations comprising: receiving a transaction service request from a user device associated with a user account, the transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identifying a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the lockbox location being determined from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with a provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked, based on the transaction identification; receiving an unlock attempt; and unlocking the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
16. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmitting the user interface to the user device.
17. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
18. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, wherein the operations further comprise: validating the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
1. (Original) A method comprising: receiving, by a computing system of a financial institution, a transaction service request including a transaction identification, a transaction time, a transaction location, and a lockbox locking passcode, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type, the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction, and the transaction location being a desired location of the transaction; determining, by the computing system, a lockbox location that can complete the transaction service request based on the transaction identification, the transaction time, and the transaction location, the lockbox location being determined from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the financial institution, each of the plurality of lockbox locations having a plurality of physical lockboxes; configuring, by the computing system, a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the determined lockbox location, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type and locking a door of the physical lockbox based on the lockbox locking passcode, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository; receiving, by the computing system, an unlock attempt; and transmitting, by the computing system, an unlock command to the physical lockbox to unlock the door of the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to the lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: validating, by the computing system, that the amount of the physical currency type is removed from the physical lockbox.
3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, the method further comprising: validating, by the computing system, the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
4. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the lockbox locking passcode is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
5. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising, transmitting, by the computing system, a ready notification to a user device associated with an account holder of the financial institution.
6. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting, by the computing system, a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a financial institution computing system associated with the financial institution.
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
8. (Original) A computing system associated with a financial institution, the computing system comprising: a network interface circuit configured to communicate data to and from a lockbox computing system associated with the financial institution over a network; and one or more processing circuits structured to: receive a transaction service request including a transaction identification, a transaction time, a transaction location, and a lockbox locking passcode, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type, the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction, and the transaction location being a desired location of the transaction; determine a lockbox location that can complete the transaction service request based on the transaction identification, the transaction time, and the transaction location, the lockbox location being determined from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the financial institution, each of the plurality of lockbox locations having a plurality of physical lockboxes; configure a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the determined lockbox location, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type and locking a door of the physical lockbox based on the lockbox locking passcode, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository; receive an unlock attempt; and transmit an unlock command to the physical lockbox to unlock the door of the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to the lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
9. (Original) The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further structured to: validate that the amount of the physical currency type is removed from the physical lockbox.
10. (Original) The computing system of claim 8, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, and the one or more processing circuits are further structured to: validate the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
11. (Original) The computing system of claim 8, wherein the lockbox locking passcode is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
12. (Original) The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further structured to transmit a ready notification to a user device associated with an account holder of the financial institution.
13. (Original) The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further structured to: generate a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmit a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a financial institution computing system associated with the financial institution.
14. (Original) The computing system of claim 8, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
15. (Original) One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system associated with a financial institution, are structured to perform operations comprising: receiving a transaction service request including a transaction identification, a transaction time, a transaction location, and a lockbox locking passcode, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type, the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction, and the transaction location being a desired location of the transaction; determining a lockbox location that can complete the transaction service request based on the transaction identification, the transaction time, and the transaction location, the lockbox location being determined from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the financial institution, each of the plurality of lockbox locations having a plurality of physical lockboxes; configuring a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the determined lockbox location, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type and locking a door of the physical lockbox based on the lockbox locking passcode, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository; receiving an unlock attempt; and transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox to unlock the door of the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to the lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
16. (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: validating that the amount of the physical currency type is removed from the physical lockbox.
17. (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, wherein the operations further comprise: validating the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
18. (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the lockbox locking passcode is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
19. (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise transmitting a ready notification to a user device associated with an account holder of the financial institution.
20. (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a financial institution computing system associated with the financial institution.
Current Application 18/669119
Patent No. 11341502
1. A method comprising: receiving, by a computing system of a provider from a user device associated with a user account, a transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identifying, by the computing system, a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the lockbox location being identified from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading, by the computing system, a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked; receiving, by the computing system, an unlock attempt; and unlocking, by the computing system, the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmitting, by the computing system, the user interface to the user device.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, the method further comprising: validating, by the computing system, the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting, by the computing system, a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
8. A computing system associated with a provider, the computing system comprising: a network interface circuit configured to communicate data to and from a lockbox computing system associated with the provider over a network; and one or more processing circuits configured to: receive, from a user device associated with a user account, a transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identify a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the lockbox location being identified from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked based on the transaction identification; receive an unlock attempt; and unlock the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.9. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: generate a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmit the user interface to the user device.
10. The computing system of claim 9, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
11. The computing system of claim 10, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
12. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, and the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: validate the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
13. The computing system of claim 8, wherein the one or more processing circuits are further configured to: generate a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmit a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
14. The computing system of claim 8, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
15. One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause a processing circuit to perform operations comprising: receiving a transaction service request from a user device associated with a user account, the transaction service request including a transaction identification and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction; identifying a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time, the lockbox location being determined from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with a provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes; loading a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked based on the transaction identification; receiving an unlock attempt; and unlocking the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
16. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmitting the user interface to the user device.
17. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode.
18. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan.
19. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, wherein the operations further comprise: validating the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
20. The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: generating a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider.
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising:
receiving, by a financial institution computing system of a financial institution, a lockbox transaction request from a user device associated with an account holder of the financial institution, the lockbox transaction request including a transaction identification, a transaction time, and a transaction location, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and an indication of at least one denomination of the amount of the physical currency type, the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction, and the transaction location being a desired location of the transaction;
determining, by the financial institution computing system, a lockbox location that can complete the lockbox transaction request from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the financial institution based on the transaction identification, the transaction time, and the transaction location, each of the plurality of lockbox locations having a plurality of physical lockboxes;
prior to receiving approval of the lockbox location from the user device, transmitting, by the financial institution computing system, the lockbox location to the user device;
receiving, by the financial institution computing system, approval of the lockbox location from the user device;
transmitting, by the financial institution computing system, a withdrawal service call to the approved lockbox location, the withdrawal service call including instructions to prepare the amount of the physical currency type according to the indication of the at least one denomination of the amount of the physical currency type in a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes associated with the approved lockbox location and to lock the physical lockbox;
configuring, by a lockbox computing system associated with the approved lockbox location, the physical lockbox, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type according to the indication of the at least one denomination of the amount of the physical currency type and locking a door of the physical lockbox, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository; and
transmitting, by the financial institution computing system, transaction information to the user device, wherein the transaction information includes the approved lockbox location, lockbox unlock information, and a lockbox number, the lockbox number identifying the physical lockbox, wherein the lockbox unlock information is sufficient to unlock the door of the physical lockbox.
2-4. (Cancelled).
5. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 1, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what the account holder must provide to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, further comprising:
transmitting, by the financial institution computing system, an exchange service call to the lockbox location, the exchange service call including instructions to an employee at the lockbox location to ready the first amount of the first currency type;
wherein the currency repository comprises at least the first amount of the first currency type; and
wherein the physical lockbox is configured to accept the first amount of the first currency type and provide the second amount of the second currency type.
6. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising, transmitting, by the financial institution computing system, a transaction ready notification to the user device, the transaction ready notification indicating that the transaction information is ready to be completed at the lockbox location.
7. (Cancelled).
8. (Currently Amended) A method comprising:
receiving, by a lockbox computing system of a financial institution, a transaction service request from a financial institution computing system associated with the financial institution, wherein the transaction service request includes a transaction identification, a transaction time, a transaction location, and a lockbox locking passcode, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and an indication of at least one denomination of the amount of the physical currency type, the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction, and the transaction location being a desired location of the transaction;
determining, by the lockbox computing system, a lockbox location that can complete the transaction service request based on the transaction identification, the transaction time, and the transaction location, the lockbox location being determined from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the financial institution, each of the plurality of lockbox locations having a plurality of physical lockboxes;
configuring, by the lockbox computing system, a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the determined lockbox location, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type according to the indication of the at least one denomination of the amount of the physical currency type and locking a door of the physical lockbox based on the lockbox locking passcode, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository;
receiving, by the lockbox computing system, an unlock attempt;
authenticating, by the lockbox computing system, the unlock attempt, wherein authentication occurs by comparing the unlock attempt to the lockbox locking passcode; and
transmitting, by the lockbox computing system, an unlock command to the physical lockbox to unlock the door of the physical lockbox based on the authentication, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type.
9. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 8, further comprising:
validating, by the lockbox computing system, that the amount of the physical currency type is removed from the physical lockbox.
10-11. (Canceled).
12. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 8, further comprising, transmitting, by the lockbox computing system, a pickup request to the financial institution computing system, wherein the pickup request is a request to retrieve the amount of the physical currency type inside the physical lockbox.
13. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 8, wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, further comprising:
validating, by the lockbox computing system, the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox.
14. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein the lockbox locking passcode is one of a password string, NFC, fob, or biometric scan.
15. (Original) The method of claim 8, further comprising, transmitting, by the lockbox computing system, a ready notification to a user device associated with an account holder of the financial institution.
16. (Original) The method of claim 8, further comprising:
generating, by the lockbox computing system, a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and
transmitting, by the lockbox computing system, a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to the financial institution computing system.
17. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording device.
18. (Currently Amended) A physical lockbox comprising:
a content verification circuit operably coupled to a sensor configured to detect removal of an amount of physical currency from the physical lockbox;
a currency dispensing device operably coupled to a currency repository and configured to automatically load the amount of physical currency into the physical lockbox;
an access control device operably connected to a lock and an input device, the lock operably connected to a door of the physical lockbox, the lock preventing the door from opening and providing access to the physical lockbox when the lock is locked and the lock allowing the door to open and provide access to the physical lockbox when the lock is unlocked, the input device structured to receive an unlock attempt from a [[the ]]user, the access control device comprising:
a network interface configured to communicate data to and from a lockbox and an authentication computing system over a network; and
a processing circuit structured to:
upon the loading of the amount of physical currency into the physical lockbox by the currency dispensing device:
receive a first lock command, the first lock command locking the physical lockbox and preventing access to the amount of physical currency located within the physical lockbox;
receive the unlock attempt from the [[a ]]user;
authenticate the unlock attempt;
transmit an unlock command to the lockbox based on the authentication; and
upon detection of the removal of the amount of physical currency from the physical lockbox by the sensor of the content verification circuit, receive a second lock command, the second lock command re-locking the physical lockbox.
19. (Original) The lockbox of claim 18, wherein the input device is at least one of a keypad, a biometric sensor, or a card reader.
20. (Previously Presented) The lockbox of claim 18, wherein the sensor is inside the lockbox, the sensor further structured to determine contents inside the lockbox.
21. (Original) The lockbox of claim 18, further comprising a camera connected to the lockbox, the camera structured to record a transaction.
22. (Cancelled)
23. (Currently Amended) A computing system associated with a financial institution, the computing system comprising:
a lockbox database having information relating to the use and availability of a plurality of physical lockboxes at a plurality of lockbox locations;
a network interface configured to communicate data to and from a lockbox computing system associated with the financial institution and a user device associated with a user over a network; and
a lockbox management circuit structured to:
receive a lockbox transaction request from the [[a ]]user device associated with an account holder of the financial institution, the lockbox transaction request including a transaction identification, a transaction time, and a transaction location, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type and an indication of at least one denomination of the amount of the physical currency type, the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction, and the transaction location being a desired location of the transaction;
determine a lockbox location that could complete the lockbox transaction request from the plurality of lockbox locations associated with the financial institution based on the transaction identification, the transaction time, and the transaction location;
prior to receiving approval of the lockbox location from the user device, transmit the lockbox location to the user device;
receive approval of the lockbox location from the user device;
transmit a withdrawal service call to the approved lockbox location, the withdrawal service call including instructions to prepare the amount of the physical currency type according to the indication of the at least one denomination of the amount of the physical currency type in a physical lockbox associated with the approved lockbox location and to lock the physical lockbox;
configure the physical lockbox, wherein configuring the physical lockbox is based on the transaction identification and comprises loading the physical lockbox with the amount of the physical currency type according to the indication of the at least one denomination of the amount of the physical currency type and locking a door of the physical lockbox, wherein the loading of the physical lockbox is performed automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository; and
transmit a transaction information to the user device, wherein the transaction information includes the approved lockbox location, lockbox unlock information and a lockbox number, the lockbox number being the physical lockbox associated with the approved lockbox location, wherein the lockbox unlock information is sufficient to unlock the door of the physical lockbox.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauller et al. (US 2016/0048813 A1), in view of Oakes, III et al. (US 8,577,805 B1) in further view of Hanson (US 2016/0014552 A1) and in further view of Janiga (US 10,354,246 B1).
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are grouped together. Claim 1, for instance, is disclosed: Mauller discloses: A method comprising: receiving, by a computing system of a provider from a user device associated with a user account, (Mauller, [0042] “Once a product and/or service is provided to the consumers 910, the payee may allow the consumers 950, or a third-party on behalf of the consumers 950, to provide a payment, or other supplemental information, via a postal service and/or electronically using one or more computing devices 914 (e.g., a computer, a smart phone, a tablet, and the like).” & “For example, the payee 920 may desire the payment processor 930 to collect payor financial transactions and/or other consumer communications 925 over a specified time period (e.g., a month, a week, a year, and the like) and provide the correspondence information, including payment information, to a lockbox provider (e.g., a financial institution 940). For example, a payor transaction may include a payment, or other supplemental information, sent by a consumer and/or by a third-party on behalf of the consumer. The lockbox provider may receive the consumer communications 925 from the payment processor 930 and process one or more payments received from the one or more payors, such as the consumers 910”) The system receives a lockbox transaction request, or payment request from the payee, a transaction service request including a transaction identification ([0051] “In some cases, the source information (e.g., a payment processor identifier) may be provided at a batch level, such as in the payee identifier section 315, or with individual communications. In some cases, a full lockbox identifier (e.g., xxxx-yyyyyy), or a lockbox number (e.g., yyyyyy) may be provided in the payee identifier section 315. When a full lockbox identifier has been provided, then a site code (e.g., xxxx) may be checked for accuracy”) and a transaction time, the transaction identification comprising an amount of a physical currency type (see at least par. [0047] “. . . In some cases, remittances requiring collection of foreign currency and/or conversion to a domestic funds type (e.g., conversion from Euros or Japanese Yen to U.S. dollars) may be specified to be sent as a paper remittance”) and the transaction time being a desired time of a transaction (see at least par. [0047] “10. In some cases, the header section 310 may also include a date and/or time at which the batch file 300 was created and/or communicated to the electronic lockbox system 220.”)
identifying, by the computing system, a lockbox location that is capable of completing the transaction service request based on the transaction identification and the transaction time (Mauller, [0051] “In some cases, a full lockbox identifier (e.g., xxxx-yyyyyy), or a lockbox number (e.g., yyyyyy) may be provided in the payee identifier section 315. When a full lockbox identifier has been provided, then a site code (e.g., xxxx) may be checked for accuracy . . . In some cases, the header section 310 may also include a date and/or time at which the batch file 300 was created and/or communicated to the electronic lockbox system 220 . . . .”)) A site code and lockbox identifier correspond to transaction identifier, transaction time and transaction location respectively.
Mauller, however, does not disclose the following. Oakes teaches:
receiving, by the computing system, an unlock attempt (Oakes, Col. 4, lines 31-40) Verification, or unlock information and access location, could be done on the mobile device or transmitted by the system.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of transmitting unlock attempt as taught by Oakes with the invention disclosed by Mauller to help better provide a remote system for the lockbox (claim 1). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Mauller in view of Oakes does not disclose the following; however, Hanson teaches:
and unlocking, by the computing system, the door of the physical lockbox by transmitting an unlock command to the physical lockbox based on a comparison of the unlock attempt to a lockbox locking passcode, the unlocked physical lockbox providing access to the amount of the physical currency type (Hanson, par. [0083] “. . . The notification transmitted to the user may include a code, password, or the like, to access the secure location or container. For instance, the item may be held in a secure lockbox with a keypad entry system. The user may enter the code 862 received in the notification into the keypad and the lockbox may open . . .”) The cited portion discloses a command for a pre-staged transaction is sent to the lockbox for withdrawal. User can open the door of the lockbox to withdraw the currency by inputting a keypad entry.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of transmitting unlock command to withdraw physical currency as taught by Hanson with the invention disclosed by Mauller in view of Oakes to make it convenient for users to perform a pre-staged transaction (abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson does not disclose the following; however, Janiga teaches:
the lockbox location being identified from a plurality of lockbox locations associated with the provider and based on being within a threshold proximity of a geographic area associated with the user account, the lockbox location having a plurality of physical lockboxes (Col. 17, ln 20-34) the cited portion discloses using geofence to determine whether a lockbox is within a geographic threshold of the user.;
loading, by the computing system, a physical lockbox of the plurality of physical lockboxes of the lockbox location, with the amount of the physical currency type automatically via an automated dispenser operably coupled to a currency repository while a door of the physical lockbox is locked is based on the transaction identification (Janiga, Col. 5 ln 10-20 “ After the user has obtained, or withdrawn, the cash from the selected CTM, the PSS executes, or initiates, a funds transfer between the financial account associated with the user and a financial account associated with the selected CTM. The funds transfer can include the withdrawal amount and a transaction fee amount associated with the withdrawal request. For example, the funds transfer includes funds for the original $50 requested amount and a $1.00 fee amount (e.g., 2% transaction fee). In some embodiments, the PSS initiates the funds transfer prior to the cash withdrawal. In some embodiments, the PSS initiates the funds transfer concurrent to the user's cash withdrawal.”) The lockbox, or CTM machine, is loaded with currency such as $50, and is based on transaction requested.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of configuring a physical lockbox as taught by Janiga with the invention disclosed by Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson to identify any nearby CTMs, request a withdrawal amount, and physically obtain the cash representative of the withdrawal amount at a particular CTM using a transaction code (Abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claims 2, 9, 16 are grouped together. Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson in further view of Janiga teaches the method of claim 1, for instance. Furthermore, Janiga teaches: generating, by the computing system, a user interface to be displayed to a user via the user device, the user interface including the lockbox location; and transmitting, by the computing system, the user interface to the user device (Janiga, Col. 4 ln 3-12) the cited portion generates display of the lockbox locations and transmits to the user.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of configuring a physical lockbox as taught by Janiga with the invention disclosed by Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson to identify any nearby CTMs, request a withdrawal amount, and physically obtain the cash representative of the withdrawal amount at a particular CTM using a transaction code (Abstract). Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claims 3, 10, 17 are grouped together. Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson in further view of Janiga teaches the method of claim 2, for instance. Furthermore, Oakes teaches: wherein the user interface further includes a pickup passcode field configured to receive a selection of a lockbox locking passcode format for the lockbox locking passcode (Oakes, Col. 4, lines 31-46, “In other aspects, verification can be based on biometric data. For example, voice recognition results, finger scans, iris scans, DNA scans, and so on may be used to verify users who want to access the lockbox. And, in still other aspects, a combination of biometric and non-biometric security measures (discussed above) can be employed. The type of security measure each users has to provide may depend on the individual in question (and perhaps the location from where such an individual is trying to access the lockbox). Moreover, the type of verification to be employed may depend on the type of data users are trying to access. For instance, to obtain the social security number from a lockbox, users may only have to provide a user identification and password; but, to obtain more sensitive data, such as a will or medical evaluation data, users may have to provide biometric data, such as voice recognition, and so on.”) Verification, or authentication, inherently verifying authentication data such as biometric to existing data;
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of unlocking lockboxes using passcode as taught by Oakes with the invention disclosed by Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson to better configure the lockbox remotely. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claims 4, 11, 18 are grouped together. Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson in further view of Janiga teaches the method of claim 3, for instance. Furthermore, Oakes teaches: wherein the lockbox locking passcode format is one of a password string, an electric token submitted via NFC, a fob used to authenticate the transaction, or a biometric scan (Oakes, Col. 4, lines 31-46, “In other aspects, verification can be based on biometric data. For example, voice recognition results, finger scans, iris scans, DNA scans, and so on may be used to verify users who want to access the lockbox. And, in still other aspects, a combination of biometric and non-biometric security measures (discussed above) can be employed. The type of security measure each users has to provide may depend on the individual in question (and perhaps the location from where such an individual is trying to access the lockbox). Moreover, the type of verification to be employed may depend on the type of data users are trying to access. For instance, to obtain the social security number from a lockbox, users may only have to provide a user identification and password; but, to obtain more sensitive data, such as a will or medical evaluation data, users may have to provide biometric data, such as voice recognition, and so on.”) Verification, or authentication, inherently verifying authentication data such as biometric to existing data;
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of unlocking lockboxes using passcode as taught by Oakes with the invention disclosed by Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson to better configure the lockbox remotely. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claims 6, 13, 20 are grouped together. Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson in further view of Janiga teaches the method of claim 1, for instance. Furthermore, Oakes teaches: further comprising: generating, by the computing system, a transaction details summary, the transaction details summary confirming the unlock command of the transaction service request; and transmitting, by the computing system, a notification of completed transaction and transaction details to a provider computing system associated with the provider (Oakes, Fig. 4 & Col. 6 lines 56-63. Once this processing is complete, the currency can be placed on the card (or, in other scenarios, withdrawn from the card), as shown at block 420. It may be transferred from a financial institution to the card using typically secure transfer mechanisms, such as secure hypertext transfer protocol (HTTPS) and the like. As an additional convenience and/or security measure, as block 445 indicates, an acknowledgment can be provided after the transaction has completed.”) A notification of a completed transaction inherently includes the transaction details summary
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of transmitting transaction summary as taught by Oakes with the invention disclosed by Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson to better summarize the transactional history. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Claims 7, 14 are grouped together. Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson in further view of Janiga teaches the method of claim 1, for instance. Furthermore, Oakes teaches: wherein transmitting the unlock command further includes a recording command to a recording devices (Oakes, Fig. 4 & Col. 6 lines 29-43 “As block 430 indicates, such requests can be logged to keep track of the number of requests, by the requesting users, and the times such requests were made. Once the request is received, at block 410, another subsystem can verify that the user making the request is authorized to withdraw or deposit a designated amount of currency (where the verification can be performed against a database at a financial institution). Furthermore, as block 435 indicates, such a verification can be a standard verification and/or a biometric verification. As was already explained above in the context of virtual lockboxes, in the former case it can be a user identification, password, digital certificate, and the like, while in the latter case it can be biometric verification, taking into account a user's voice, iris, fingerprint, DNA, etc. signature.”) Every time a request is made, that request is recorded in the system, or a recording device is part of the system.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the features of transmitting transaction summary as taught by Oakes with the invention disclosed by Mauller in view of Oakes in further view of Hanson to better record the transactional history. Therefore, the combination is obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 5, 12 and 19 do not have art applied to the currently. However, other rejections are still outstanding such as the rejection(s) under Non-statutory Double Patenting, 35 U.S.C. 103, set forth in this Office action. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of withdrawing art: wherein the transaction identification further comprises a currency exchange and the amount of the physical currency type further includes a first amount of a first currency type and a second amount of a second currency type, the second amount of the second currency type being what must be provided to acquire the first amount of the first currency type, the method further comprising: validating, by the computing system, the second amount of the second currency type is inside the physical lockbox. However, the claims still do not overcome 103, Double Patenting rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOAN DUC BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3693
.
/ELIZABETH H ROSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693