DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), in parent Application No. PCT/CN2021/132869, filed on 11/24/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 05/20/2024 and 06/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 05/20/2024 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 05/20/2024 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (WO 2021164559 A1; hereinafter “Hu”; hereinafter US 2022/0393248 A1 will be referenced as the English language equivalent).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a battery cell (cell; [0008]), comprising: a hexahedral housing ([t]he cell is substantially a cuboid; [0044]), wherein the hexahedral housing has a first wall and a second wall oppositely arranged (the housing body 111 may be provided with openings at two ends, and two cover plates 112 may be provided; [0035]; the first main electrode 141 and the second main electrode 142 of the electrode core assembly array . . . may be respectively led out from two cover plates 112; [0035]; see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 below), the first wall is provided with a positive electrode terminal (the first electrode lead-out member 121 . . . may be respectively a cathode; [0033]; see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248), and the second wall is provided with a negative electrode terminal (the second electrode lead-out member 122 may be . . . an anode tab; [0033]); and a cylindrical electrode assembly (an electrode core formed by winding; [0032]), wherein the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged in the housing (at least one electrode core assembly array encapsulated in the housing, [0008]), the axial direction of the cylindrical electrode assembly is perpendicular to the first wall or the second wall (see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248), a positive electrode tab of the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged at a first end of the cylindrical electrode assembly (the first electrode lead-out member 121 may be a lead-out member formed by compounding and welding the cathode tabs; [0033]) and connected to the positive electrode terminal ([t]he first electrode lead-out member 121; [0033]), and a negative electrode tab of the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged at a second end of the cylindrical electrode assembly (the second electrode lead-out member 122 may be a lead-out member formed by compounding and welding the anode tabs; [0033]) and connected to the negative electrode terminal (the second electrode lead-out member 122; [0033]).
<1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248>
Regarding claim 3, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that the battery cell comprises a plurality of cylindrical electrode assemblies ([t]he electrode core assembly array includes N rows and M columns of electrode core assemblies; [abstract]), wherein the plurality of cylindrical electrode assemblies are arranged in parallel (a plurality of electrode cores are connected in parallel; [0032]) in the hexahedral housing along a first direction (see 1.2. Modified figure 2 of Hu ‘248 below), and the first direction is parallel to the first wall (see 1.3. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 below).
<1.2. Modified figure 2 of Hu ‘248>
<1.3. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248>
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that the housing comprises a shell and an end cover (the housing 11 includes a housing body 111 . . . and a cover plate 112; [0034]), wherein the shell has at least one opening (the housing 11 includes a housing body 111 having an opening; [0034]), the end cover covers the opening (a cover plate 112 connected to the opening in a sealed manner; [0034]), and the first wall and/or the second wall is the end cover (the first main electrode 141 and the second main electrode 142 of the electrode core assembly array . . . may be respectively led out from two cover plates 112; [0035]).
Regarding claim 5, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that the shell comprises a side wall and a bottom wall, wherein the side wall and the bottom wall are arranged adjacent to each other (see 1.4. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 below), and the bottom wall is a wall with a largest area of the shell (the cell is provided with two opposing first surfaces 113 along the thickness direction of the cell. The first surfaces 113 are largest surfaces of the cell, that is, “large surfaces” of the cell; [0046]).
<1.4. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248>
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses a battery (the battery pack; [0075]), comprising: a plurality of the battery cells (a plurality of cells 100 are sequentially arranged along the thickness direction B of the cell, to form the cell array 21; [0061]) each according to claim 1; and a box (the battery pack 200 further includes a battery cover and a tray 22; [0075]) configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells ([t]he battery cover is connected to the tray 22 in a sealed manner, to form a battery accommodating cavity, and the cell array 21 is arranged inside the battery accommodating cavity; [0075]).
Regarding claim 11, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that a first battery cell and a second battery cell in the plurality of battery cells are arranged in the box along the axial direction (a first electrode lead-out member 121 of one electrode core assembly 12 of two adjacent electrode core assemblies 12 in each column and a second electrode lead-out member 122 of the other electrode core assembly 12 of the two adjacent electrode core assemblies are arranged on a same side of the column; [0025]), and a negative electrode terminal of the first battery cell is connected to a positive electrode terminal of the second battery cell ([a] first electrode lead-out member 121 of one electrode core assembly 12 of two adjacent electrode core assemblies 12 in each column is electrically connected to a second electrode lead-out member 122 of the other electrode core assembly 12 of the two adjacent electrode core assemblies; [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that a first battery cell and a second battery cell in the plurality of battery cells (the electrode core assembly array 14 includes a first main electrode 141 and a second main electrode 142; [0027] are arranged in the box along the second direction (the N electrode core assemblies 12 are arranged along the thickness direction of the cell. A thickness of the electrode core assembly 12 extends along the thickness direction of the cell; [0027]).
Regarding claim 16, Hu discloses a preparation method of battery cell (manufacture method for the Li-ion power cell; [0023]), comprising: providing a hexahedral housing ([t]he cell is substantially a cuboid; [0044]), wherein the hexahedral housing has a first wall and a second wall oppositely arranged (the housing body 111 may be provided with openings at two ends, and two cover plates 112 may be provided; [0035]; the first main electrode 141 and the second main electrode 142 of the electrode core assembly array . . . may be respectively led out from two cover plates 112; [0035]; see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 above), the first wall is provided with a positive electrode terminal (the first electrode lead-out member 121 . . . may be respectively a cathode; [0033]; see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 above), and the second wall is provided with a negative electrode terminal (the second electrode lead-out member 122 may be . . . an anode tab; [0033]; see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248); providing a cylindrical electrode assembly (laminating the anode plate electrode, the insulation film and the cathode plate electrode and then winding the lamination around a cylindrical winding pin to form a cylindrical winding core; [0048]), wherein the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged in the housing (fixing the cell core inside the housing; [0050]), the axial direction of the cylindrical electrode assembly is perpendicular to the first wall or the second wall (see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 above), a positive electrode tab of the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged at a first end of the cylindrical electrode assembly (the first electrode lead-out member 121 may be a lead-out member formed by compounding and welding the cathode tabs; [0033]) and connected to the positive electrode terminal ([t]he first electrode lead-out member 121; [0033]), and a negative electrode tab of the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged at a second end of the cylindrical electrode assembly (the second electrode lead-out member 122 may be a lead-out member formed by compounding and welding the anode tabs; [0033]) and connected to the negative electrode terminal (the second electrode lead-out member 122; [0033]); and installing the cylindrical electrode assembly in the hexahedral housing (fixing the cell core inside the housing; [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0393248 A1; hereinafter “Hu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2011/165444 A1; hereinafter “Guo”).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu fails to disclose that the positive electrode tab is connected to the positive electrode terminal through a first connector, and the negative electrode tab is connected to the negative electrode terminal through a second connector.
Guo teaches directed to a Li-ion power cell, that [t]he anode tabs 11 of the respective winding cores 10 are connected in parallel by the sheet metal 13 and then electrically connected to the anode pole 16. The cathode tabs 12 of the respective winding cores 10 are connected in parallel by the sheet metal 14 and then electrically connected to the cathode pole 17; [0043].
Hu and Guo are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium-ion cells.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to connect the positive electrode tab to the positive electrode terminal through a first connector, and the negative electrode tab to the negative electrode terminal through a second connector with the reasonable expectation that doing so would fixedly connect anode/cathode tabs of the respective winding cores in parallel first and then to the corresponding anode/cathode pole [0044], as suggested by Guo.
Regarding claim 15, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses an electric apparatus, comprising the battery according to claim 10 ([a]n electric vehicle 1000 is provided and includes the battery pack 200; [0078]),
Hu fails to disclose that the battery is configured to supply power to the electric apparatus.
Guo teaches, directed to a large-capacity Li-ion power cell [0003], that it will become one of main power supplies of electric vehicles in the 21th century; [0003].
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the battery in an electrical apparatus and configure it to supply power to the electric apparatus, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would provide advantages of a high specific energy, a stable discharge voltage, no memory effect and environmental protection [0003], as suggested by Guo.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0393248 A1; hereinafter “Hu”) as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 6, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that length h of the shell in the axial direction (length L of the cell; [0044]; see figure 1) and length t of the shell in a second direction ([a] thickness D of the cell; [0045]) satisfy the following formula: h=n×t' wherein n is the number of cylindrical electrode assemblies ([t]he electrode core assembly array includes N rows and M columns of electrode core assemblies; [0022]), n≥1 (M and N are integers greater than 1; [0008]), t'=t+/–20 mm, and the second direction is perpendicular to the axial direction and the first direction (see 1.5. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 below).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious that the length of the shell would be the result of the number of electric assemblies multiplied by the sum of the length of the shell in the second direction and the distance between the assemblies, doing so would result in a space of the battery pack 200 [being] fully used, the utilization of the battery pack 200 is improved, and a better buffer effect may also be achieved for the expansion of the cell 100 [0064], as suggested by Hu.
<1.5. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248>
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that diameter D of the cylindrical electrode assembly satisfies the following formula: D=t–cl wherein t is the length of the shell in the second direction ([a] thickness D of the cell; [0045]), and 0.01 mm≤cl≤5 mm (a thickness of the housing 11 ranges from 0.05 mm to 1 mm; [0054]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious that the diameter of the cylindrical electrode assembly would be the result of the length of the shell in the second direction, subtracting the thickness of the housing two times (considering the upper and lower walls). Thus, the disclosed range from 0.05 mm to 1 mm multiplied by 2, results in a range from 0.1 mm to 2 mm, which is within the claimed range of 0.01 mm≤cl≤5 mm; doing so would result in a space of the battery pack 200 [being] fully used, the utilization of the battery pack 200 is improved, and a better buffer effect may also be achieved for the expansion of the cell 100 [0064], as suggested by Hu.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0393248 A1; hereinafter “Hu”) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20210126231 A1; hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 8, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that the length of the shell in the first direction is 150 mm to 1200 mm.
Wang teaches, directed to a cuboid battery, that the length L of the battery is 400 mm to 2500 mm. In some embodiments, a length direction of the battery extends along the first direction; [0028]
Hu and Wang are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the range for the length of the shell in the first direction in the disclosed invention of Hu, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would improve the volume utilization of the battery pack [0128], as suggested by Wang; and, to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (400 mm to 2500 mm significantly overlaps with 150mm to 1200mm) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0393248 A1; hereinafter “Hu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawase et al. (JP 2008016210 A1; hereinafter “Kawase”; see attached machine translation for reference).
Regarding claim 9, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that the cylindrical electrode assembly (electrode core; [0032]) comprises a positive electrode plate [0032], a negative electrode plate [0032], and a spacer structure (a membrane; [0032])
Hu fails to disclose that the spacer structure is arranged between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, wherein the spacer structure is configured to construct a spacer between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, and the spacer is configured to absorb expansion deformation of the cylindrical electrode assembly.
Kawase teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery wherein the negative electrode 1 and positive electrode 2 may be wound with the separator 3 in between [0097]; wherein the material for the separator 33 is preferably a microporous polyethylene or polypropylene membrane with a high porosity that is prone to volume changes under pressure [0104]. Further, the separator 33 is easily compressed by the volume expansion of the negative electrode during charging, and a region that can accommodate the volume of the expanding negative electrode can be created by the compression of the separator 33 [0103].
Hu and Kawase are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange a spacer structure between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate wherein the spacer structure is configured to construct a spacer between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate, and the spacer is configured to absorb expansion deformation of the cylindrical electrode assembly, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would prevent battery deformation, a decrease in capacity with repeated charge and discharge cycles, a decrease in load characteristics, and a reduction in safety . . . in lithium-ion secondary batteries [0008], as suggested by Kawase.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0393248 A1; hereinafter “Hu”) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0161721 A1; hereinafter “Wang ‘721”).
Regarding claim 13, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses that length H of the box in the second direction (see 1.6. Modified figure 8 of Hu ‘248) satisfies the following formula: H–c=m×t wherein m is the number of layers of the plurality of battery cells arranged along the second direction, t is the length of the shell in the second direction, 10 mm≤c≤40 mm, and 1≤m≤8.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the length H of box would be the result of the length of the shell in the second direction multiplied by the number of battery cells (m), subtracting the thickness of the box two times (considering both walls); doing so would result in a space of the battery pack 200 [being] fully used, the utilization of the battery pack 200 is improved, and a better buffer effect may also be achieved for the expansion of the cell 100 [0064], as suggested by Hu.
Hu fails to explicitly disclose the ranges of “c” and “m”.
<1.6. Modified figure 8 of Hu ‘248>
Wang ‘721 teaches a battery pack wherein [t]he bottom panel 115 can have a thickness ranging between 2 mm to 6 mm [0024]. Therefore, the value of c/2 would be the disclosed range of 2mm to 6mm, and the equivalent disclosed value of c would be in the range of 4 mm to 12 mm. Wang ‘721 further teaches that [w]ithin the housing 110 for the battery pack 105, the apparatus 100 can include a set of one or more battery modules [0029].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges (4 mm to 12 mm overlaps with 10 mm≤c≤40 mm, and one or more overlaps with 1≤m≤8) because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0393248 A1; hereinafter “Hu”) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Churchill et al. (US 2021/0288362 A1; hereinafter “Churchill”).
Regarding claim 14, Hu discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Hu further discloses a gap between the cells 100 . . . may be understood as that another structural member is arranged between the cells 100 to separate the cells 100 by using the structural member [0066]; wherein [t]he structural member includes, but not limited to, aerogel, a heat conductive structure adhesive, or a heat insulation foam; [0068].
Hu fails to disclose the battery according to claim 10, further comprising: a water cooling plate arranged inside the box and attached to a third wall of the battery cell, wherein the third wall is parallel to the axial direction and connected to the first wall and the second wall.
Churchill teaches a thermal management multilayer sheet . . . disposed directly on a cell or cell array in any configuration in a battery. The thermal management multilayer sheet can be placed between individual cells or cell arrays in the battery. The thermal management multilayer sheet can be placed on, e.g., at the top, in between, below, adjacent, or a combination thereof the sides of the cells or cell arrays in the battery, a portion thereof, or a selected set of cells or cell arrays in the battery [0051]; (see 1.7. Modified figure 8 of Churchill ‘362 below).
<1.7. Modified figure 8 of Churchill ‘362>
Hu and Churchill are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium-ion batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include a water cooling plate arranged inside the box and attached to a third wall of the battery cell, wherein the third wall is parallel to the axial direction and connected to the first wall and the second wall, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would reduce thermal conductivity in any one or more directions and improve the fire resistance of batteries [0020], as suggested by Churchill.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0393248 A1; hereinafter “Hu”), and further in view of Tagawa et al. (Tagawa, K., Brodd, R.J. (2009). “Production Processes for Fabrication of Lithium-Ion Batteries,” Chapter 8; hereinafter “Tagawa”).
Regarding claim 17, Hu discloses providing a hexahedral housing ([t]he cell is substantially a cuboid; [0044]), wherein the hexahedral housing has a first wall and a second wall oppositely arranged (the housing body 111 may be provided with openings at two ends, and two cover plates 112 may be provided; [0035]; the first main electrode 141 and the second main electrode 142 of the electrode core assembly array . . . may be respectively led out from two cover plates 112; [0035]; see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 above), the first wall is provided with a positive electrode terminal (the first electrode lead-out member 121 . . . may be respectively a cathode; [0033]; see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 above), and the second wall is provided with a negative electrode terminal (the second electrode lead-out member 122 may be . . . an anode tab; [0033]; see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 above); and provide a cylindrical electrode assembly (laminating the anode plate electrode, the insulation film and the cathode plate electrode and then winding the lamination around a cylindrical winding pin to form a cylindrical winding core; [0048]), wherein the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged in the housing (fixing the cell core inside the housing; [0050]), the axial direction of the cylindrical electrode assembly is perpendicular to the first wall or the second wall (see 1.1. Modified figure 1 of Hu ‘248 above), a positive electrode tab of the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged at a first end of the cylindrical electrode assembly (the first electrode lead-out member 121 may be a lead-out member formed by compounding and welding the cathode tabs; [0033]) and connected to the positive electrode terminal ([t]he first electrode lead-out member 121; [0033]), and a negative electrode tab of the cylindrical electrode assembly is arranged at a second end of the cylindrical electrode assembly (the second electrode lead-out member 122 may be a lead-out member formed by compounding and welding the anode tabs; [0033]) and connected to the negative electrode terminal (the second electrode lead-out member 122; [0033]); install the cylindrical electrode assembly in the hexahedral housing (fixing the cell core inside the housing; [0050]).
Hu fails to disclose a preparation apparatus of battery cell, comprising: a providing module and an installation module.
Tagawa teaches an equipment used in cell fabrication [page 181, paragraph 1] and a winding machine that combines the two electrodes and separator strip on a mandrel and winds the combination in jellyroll fashion into a tight bobbin or cell core [page 186, paragraph 2], then the cell core is taped to keep it tightly wound before inserting it into the cell case [page 186, paragraph 2].
Hu and Tagawa are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium-ion batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include the method disclosed by Hu in the apparatus disclosed by Tagawa, with the reasonable expectation that doing so would ensure that [the apparatus] does not introduce defects in the cell that can cause safety problems [0020], as suggested by Tagawa.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US 2019/0319228 A1) discloses a battery cell, a battery module, a battery pack including the same, and an automobile.
/J.N.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 09/08/2026