DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0313356 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 20 May 2024, 14 October 2025, and 17 July 2026 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The view numbers of FIGS. 1 and 2 are not larger than the letters, numbers, and reference characters used in the drawing. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIGS. 3, 12, 13, and 19 are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY CELL INCLUDING INSULATORS SURROUNDING SUPPORT ASSEMBLY CONFIGURED TO REDUCE SHORT CIRCUITS, METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING, BATTERY, AND ELECTRICAL DEVICE INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 130 is referred to as an electrode assembly in paragraph [0110]. Reference character 120 is used to designate an electrode assembly; and reference character 130 is used to designate a first insulator. Reference character 120 should be used to designate an electrode assembly in paragraph [0110].
Reference character 152 is referred to as a second insulator in paragraph [0110]. Reference character 150 is used to designate a second insulator; and reference character 152 is used to designate a second part. Reference character 150 should be used to designate a second insulator in paragraph [0110].
Reference character 140a is referred to as a first channel in paragraph [0127]. Reference character 130a is used to designate a first channel; and reference character 140a is used to designate a second channel. Reference character 140a should be referred to as a second channel in paragraph [0127].
Reference character 100 is referred to as a housing in paragraph [0146]. Reference character 100 is used to designate a battery cell; and reference character 110 is used to designate a housing. Reference character 110 should be used to designate a housing in paragraph [0146].
Reference character 150 is referred to as a first insulator in paragraph [0152]. Reference character 130 is used to designate a first insulator; and reference character 150 is used to designate a second insulator. Reference character 130 should be used to designate a first insulator in paragraph [0152].
Reference character 130 is referred to as an electrode assembly in paragraph [0157]. Reference character 120 is used to designate an electrode assembly; and reference character 130 is used to designate a first insulator. Reference character 120 should be used to designate an electrode assembly in paragraph [0157].
Reference character 152 is referred to as a second insulator in paragraph [0157]. Reference character 150 is used to designate a second insulator; and reference character 152 is used to designate a second part. Reference character 150 should be used to designate a second insulator in paragraph [0157].
Reference character 130 is referred to as an electrode assembly in paragraph [0159]. Reference character 120 is used to designate an electrode assembly; and reference character 130 is used to designate a first insulator. Reference character 120 should be used to designate an electrode assembly in paragraph [0159].
Reference character 152 is referred to as a second insulator in paragraph [0159]. Reference character 150 is used to designate a second insulator; and reference character 152 is used to designate a second part. Reference character 150 should be used to designate a second insulator in paragraph [0159].
Reference character 130 is referred to as an electrode assembly in paragraph [0161]. Reference character 120 is used to designate an electrode assembly; and reference character 130 is used to designate a first insulator. Reference character 120 should be used to designate an electrode assembly in paragraph [0161].
Reference character 152 is referred to as a second insulator in paragraph [0161]. Reference character 150 is used to designate a second insulator; and reference character 152 is used to designate a second part. Reference character 150 should be used to designate a second insulator in paragraph [0161].
Reference character 130 is referred to as an electrode assembly in paragraph [0168]. Reference character 120 is used to designate an electrode assembly; and reference character 130 is used to designate a first insulator. Reference character 120 should be used to designate an electrode assembly in paragraph [0168].
Reference character 152 is referred to as a second insulator in paragraph [0168]. Reference character 150 is used to designate a second insulator; and reference character 152 is used to designate a second part. Reference character 150 should be used to designate a second insulator in paragraph [0168].
Reference character 130 is referred to as an electrode assembly in paragraph [0177]. Reference character 120 is used to designate an electrode assembly; and reference character 130 is used to designate a first insulator. Reference character 120 should be used to designate an electrode assembly in paragraph [0177].
Reference character 152 is referred to as a second insulator in paragraph [0177]. Reference character 150 is used to designate a second insulator; and reference character 152 is used to designate a second part. Reference character 150 should be used to designate a second insulator in paragraph [0177].
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a part of the second channel" in line 15. Claim 1 has previously recited the limitation "a part of the second channel" in lines 12–13 and provides antecedent basis for the term "part of the second channel." It is unclear if "a part of the second channel" recited in line 15 is further limiting or referencing "a part of the second channel" recited in lines 12–13 because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the side being away from the first insulation portion" in lines 15–16. Claim 1 has previously recited the limitation "a side of the first insulation portion" in line 10 and the limitation "a side of the support assembly" in lines 14–15. It is unclear if "the side" recited in line 15 is further limiting "a side" recited in line 10 or "a side" recited in line 14.
Claims 2–6 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–6 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein the support assembly comprises two support pieces." Claim 6, which claim 7 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "wherein the support assembly comprises at least two support pieces." It is unclear if "two support pieces" recited in claim 7 is further limiting or referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6. If "two support pieces" recited in claim 7 is further limiting and referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6, the number of support pieces required by claim 7 is at least two. However if "two support pieces" recited in claim 7 is not further limiting nor referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6, the number of support pieces required by claim 7 is at least four. Therefore, the number of support pieces required by claim 7 is unclear.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a side of the first insulation portion." Claim 1, which claim 7 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a side of the first insulation portion." It is unclear if "a side of the first insulation portion" recited in claim 7 is further limiting or referencing "a side of the first insulation portion" recited in claim 1 because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the side being away from the electrode assembly." Claim 1, which claim 7 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a side of the first insulation portion" and the limitation "a side of the support assembly." It is unclear if "the side" recited in claim 7 is further limiting the first instance or the second instance of the term "a side" recited claim 1.
Claims 8 and 9 are directly dependent from claim 7, are indirectly dependent from claim 1, and include all the limitations of claims 1 and 7. Therefore, claims 8 and 9 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein the support assembly comprises three support pieces." Claim 6, which claim 10 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "wherein the support assembly comprises at least two support pieces." It is unclear if "three support pieces" recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6. If "three support pieces" recited in claim 10 is further limiting and referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6, the number of support pieces required by claim 10 is at least three. However if "three support pieces" recited in claim 10 is not further limiting nor referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6, the number of support pieces required by claim 10 is at least five. Therefore, the number of support pieces required by claim 10 is unclear.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a side of the first insulation portion." Claim 1, which claim 10 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a side of the first insulation portion." It is unclear if "a side of the first insulation portion" recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing "a side of the first insulation portion" recited in claim 1 because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the side being away from the electrode assembly." Claim 1, which claim 10 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a side of the first insulation portion" and the limitation "a side of the support assembly." It is unclear if "the side" recited in claim 10 is further limiting the first instance or the second instance of the term "a side" recited claim 1
Claims 11 and 12 are directly dependent from claim 10, and are indirectly dependent from claim 1, and include all the limitations of claims 11 and 12. Therefore, claims 11 and 12 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "wherein the support assembly comprises four support pieces." Claim 6, which claim 13 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "wherein the support assembly comprises at least two support pieces." It is unclear if "four support pieces" recited in claim 13 is further limiting or referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6. If "four support pieces" recited in claim 13 is further limiting and referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6, the number of support pieces required by claim 13 is at least four. However if "four support pieces" recited in claim 13 is not further limiting nor referencing "at least two support pieces" recited in claim 6, the number of support pieces required by claim 10 is at least six. Therefore, the number of support pieces required by claim 13 is unclear.
Claim 14 is indirectly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "two adjacent second insulation portions" in line 6. Claim 15 has previously recited the limitation "a plurality of second insulation portions" in lines 1–2. It is unclear if "two adjacent second insulation portions" recited in line 6 is further limiting or referencing "a plurality of second insulation portions" in lines 1–2. because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claim 16 is directly dependent from claim 15, is indirectly dependent from claim 1, and include all the limitations of claims 1 and 15. Therefore, claim 16 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a side of the support assembly." Claim 1, which claim 17 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a side of the support assembly." It is unclear if "a side of the support assembly" recited in claim 17 is further limiting or referencing "a side of the support assembly" recited in claim 1 because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a part of the second channel." Claim 1, which claim 17 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a part of the second channel." It is unclear if "a part of the second channel" recited in claim 17 is further limiting or referencing "a part of the second channel" recited in claim 1 because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "two adjacent second insulation portions." Claim 15, which claim 17 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "two adjacent second insulation portions" and provides antecedent basis for the term "two adjacent second insulation portions." It is unclear if "two adjacent second insulation portions" recited in claim 17 is further limiting or referencing "two adjacent second insulation portions" recited in claim 15 because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claims 18 and 19 recites the limitation "the battery cell according to claim 1" and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 18 and 19 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "a part of the second channel" in line 13. Claim 20 has previously recited the limitation "a part of the second channel" in line 11 and provides antecedent basis for the term "part of the second channel." It is unclear if "a part of the second channel" recited in line 13 is further limiting or referencing "a part of the second channel" recited in line 11 because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the side being away from the first insulation portion" in lines 13–14. Claim 20 has previously recited the limitation "a side of the first insulation portion" in line 9 and the limitation "a side of the support assembly" in line 13. It is unclear if "the side" recited in line 13 is further limiting "a side" recited in line 9 or "a side" recited in line 13.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "an electrode assembly" in line 16. Claim 20 has previously recited the limitation "an electrode assembly" in line 2 and provides antecedent basis for the term "electrode assembly." It is unclear if "an electrode assembly" recited in line 16 is further limiting or referencing "an electrode assembly" recited in line 2 because the limitation does not include "the" or "said" indicating the term is referencing the previously recited term that has antecedent basis.
Claim Interpretation
The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111.
The plain meaning of the term "piece" is "an item of a particular type" (see piece, New Oxford American Dictionary). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the term "piece" does not require a separate and unconnected part.
The plain meaning of the term "battery cell" is a device that contains a stack of first electrode, separator, and second electrode (see battery, A Dictionary of Energy Science; see Daniell cell, A Dictionary of Energy Science).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (CN 208637495 U, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a battery cell (FIG. 1, [0025]), comprising:
a housing (3), forming an accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0025]);
an electrode assembly (1), accommodated in the accommodation cavity (fig. 1, [0025]),
wherein the electrode assembly (1) comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked along a first direction; (FIG. 1, [0025]),
a first insulator (21), comprising a first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
wherein the first insulation portion (21) is disposed on one side of the electrode assembly (1) and parallel to the first direction (FIG. 1, [0028]), and
the first insulation portion (21) comprises a first channel (210) that runs through the first insulation portion (21, [0028]);
a support assembly (22), disposed on a side of the first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
the side being away from the electrode assembly (1, [0028]),
wherein the support assembly (22) defines a second channel (220) that communicates the first channel (210) to the accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0028]), and
at least a part of the second channel (220) is disposed opposite to the first channel (210, [0028]); and
a second insulator (23, [0028]),
wherein at least a part of the second insulator (23) is disposed on a side of the support assembly (22) and covers the first channel (210) and a part of the second channel (220, [0028]),
the side being away from the first insulation portion (21, [0028]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein a dimension of the second channel (220) is larger than a dimension of the first channel (210) in a direction parallel to the first direction (FIG. 2, [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the second channel (220) completely covers the first channel (210, [0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the support assembly (22) comprises a support piece (22, [0028]),
the second channel (220) comprises a conduit (220) created on the support piece (22, [0028]), and
at least a part of the conduit (220) is disposed opposite to the first channel (210, [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the second channel (220) further comprises a first notch (220) created on the support piece (22, [0028]), and
the first notch (220) communicates with the conduit (220, [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the support assembly (22) comprises at least two support pieces (22, [0028]), and
the second channel (220) is formed between the at least two support pieces (22, [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the support assembly (22) comprises two support pieces (22, [0028]);
the two support pieces (22) are disposed apart on a side of the first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
the side being away from the electrode assembly (1, [0028]);
the second channel (220) comprises a second space (220) defined between the two support pieces (22, [0028]); and
at least a part of the second space (220) is disposed opposite to the first channel (210, [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the second channel (220) further comprises a second notch (220, [0028]),
the second notch (220) is created on at least one of the two support pieces (22, [0028]), and
the second notch (220) communicates with the second space (220, [0028]).
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the two support pieces (22) are distributed apart in parallel along the first direction; or the two support pieces (22) are distributed apart in parallel along a second direction, and the second direction is coplanar with and perpendicular to the first direction (FIG. 2, [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the support assembly (22) comprises three support pieces (22) disposed on a side of the first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
the side being away from the electrode assembly (1, [0028]);
the three support pieces (22) are distributed apart from each other (FIG. 2, [0028]);
the second channel (220) comprises a third space (220) defined between every two adjacent support pieces (22, [0028]); and
at least a part of each third space (220) communicates with the first channel (210, [0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the second channel (220) further comprises a third notch (220, [0028]),
the third notch (220) is created on at least one of the three support pieces (22, [0028]), and
the third notch (220) communicates with the third space (220, [0028]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the three support pieces (22) are distributed apart from and in parallel with each other along the first direction; or the three support pieces (22) are distributed apart from and in parallel with each other along a second direction, and the second direction is coplanar with and perpendicular to the first direction (FIG. 2, [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the support assembly (22) comprises four support pieces (22, [0028]);
the four support pieces (22) are disposed apart along a periphery of the first insulation portion (21, [0028]); and
the second channel (220) comprises a fourth space (220) jointly defined by the four support pieces (22) and a fifth space (220) jointly defined by every two adjacent support pieces (22, [0028]); and
at least a part of the fourth space (220) is disposed opposite to the first channel (210), or at least a part of the fifth space (220) is disposed opposite to the first channel (210, [0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the support piece (22) assumes a plate structure (22, [0028]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the first insulator (21) further comprises a plurality of second insulation portions (231) connected to the first insulation portion (21, [0027]);
the plurality of second insulation portions (231) each are folded along a line of connection at which the second insulation portion (231) is connected to the first insulation portion (21), and gather together with the first insulation portion (21) to form a cylindrical structure (2) opened at a top of the cylindrical structure;
the cylindrical structure (2) wraps around the electrode assembly (1, [0027]); and
two adjacent second insulation portions (231) are butt-jointed to or overlap each other outside the electrode assembly (1, [0027]).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the first insulation portion (21) and the second insulation portion (231) are formed in one piece (2, [0027]).
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery cell:
wherein the second insulator (23) comprises a first part (23) and a second part (23) that are formed in one piece (FIG. 4, [0028]);
the first part (23) is disposed on a side of the support assembly (22) and covers the first channel (210) and a part of the second channel (210, [0028]),
the side being away from the first insulation portion (21, [0028]); and
the second part (23) covers a region of butt-joint or overlap between two adjacent second insulation portions (231) outside the electrode assembly (1, [0028]).
Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses a battery comprising a battery cell (FIG. 1, [0025]), wherein the battery cell comprises:
a housing (3), forming an accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0025]);
an electrode assembly (1), accommodated in the accommodation cavity (fig. 1, [0025]),
wherein the electrode assembly (1) comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked along a first direction; (FIG. 1, [0025]),
a first insulator (21), comprising a first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
wherein the first insulation portion (21) is disposed on one side of the electrode assembly (1) and parallel to the first direction (FIG. 1, [0028]), and
the first insulation portion (21) comprises a first channel (210) that runs through the first insulation portion (21, [0028]);
a support assembly (22), disposed on a side of the first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
the side being away from the electrode assembly (1, [0028]),
wherein the support assembly (22) defines a second channel (220) that communicates the first channel (210) to the accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0028]), and
at least a part of the second channel (220) is disposed opposite to the first channel (210, [0028]); and
a second insulator (23, [0028]),
wherein at least a part of the second insulator (23) is disposed on a side of the support assembly (22) and covers the first channel (210) and a part of the second channel (220, [0028]),
the side being away from the first insulation portion (21, [0028]).
Regarding claim 19, Huang discloses an electrical device comprising a battery cell (FIG. 1, [0025]), wherein the battery cell comprises:
a housing (3), forming an accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0025]);
an electrode assembly (1), accommodated in the accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0025]),
wherein the electrode assembly (1) comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked along a first direction (FIG. 1, [0025]);
a first insulator (21), comprising a first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
wherein the first insulation portion (21) is disposed on one side of the electrode assembly (1) and parallel to the first direction (FIG. 1, [0028]), and
the first insulation portion (21) comprises a first channel (210) that runs through the first insulation portion (21, [0028]);
a support assembly (22), disposed on a side of the first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
the side being away from the electrode assembly (1, [0028]),
wherein the support assembly (22) defines a second channel (220) that communicates the first channel (210) to the accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0028]), and
at least a part of the second channel (220) is disposed opposite to the first channel (210, [0028]); and
a second insulator (23, [0028]),
wherein at least a part of the second insulator (23) is disposed on a side of the support assembly (22) and covers the first channel (210) and a part of the second channel (220, [0028]),
the side being away from the first insulation portion (21, [0028]).
Regarding claim 20, Huang discloses method for manufacturing a battery cell (FIG. 1, [0025]), comprising:
providing an electrode assembly (1, [0025]),
wherein the electrode assembly (1) comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked along a first direction (FIG. 1, [0025]);
providing a first insulator (21) comprising a first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
wherein the first insulation portion (21) is disposed on one side of the electrode assembly (1) and parallel to the first direction (FIG. 1, [0028]), and
the first insulation portion (21) comprises a first channel (210) that runs through the first insulation portion (21, [0028]);
providing a support assembly (22) disposed on a side of the first insulation portion (21, [0028]),
the side being away from the electrode assembly (1, [0028]),
wherein the support assembly (22) defines a second channel (220, [0028]), and
at least a part of the second channel (220) is disposed opposite to the first channel (210, [0028]);
providing a second insulator (23, [0028]),
wherein at least a part of the second insulator (23) is disposed on a side of the support assembly (22) and covers the first channel (210) and a part of the second channel (220),
the side being away from the first insulation portion (21, [0028]); and
providing a housing (3, [0025]),
wherein the housing (3) forms an accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0025]);
the accommodation cavity accommodates an electrode assembly (1) equipped with the first insulator (21), the support assembly (22), and the second insulator (23, [0025]); and
the second channel (220) communicates the first channel (210) to the accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 2017/0331090 A1) discloses a battery cell (FIG. 1, [0039]), comprising a housing (10), forming an accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0039]); an electrode assembly (30), accommodated in the accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0039]), wherein the electrode assembly (30) comprises a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, and a separator disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are stacked along a first direction (FIG. 1, [0044]); a first insulator (40), comprising a first insulation portion (40, [0042]), wherein the first insulation portion (40) is disposed on one side of the electrode assembly (30) and parallel to the first direction (FIG. 1, [0042]), and the first insulation portion (40) comprises a first channel (42) that runs through the first insulation portion (40, [0042]); a support assembly (50), disposed on a side of the first insulation portion (40, [0043]), the side being away from the electrode assembly (30, [0039]), wherein the support assembly (50) defines a second channel (58) that communicates the first channel (42) to the accommodation cavity (FIG. 1, [0044]), and at least a part of the second channel (58) is disposed opposite to the first channel (42, [0044]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725