DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Amendments filed 9/3/2026 have been entered, wherein claims 1, 4, 8-9, 11-15, 18 and 20 are pending. Accordingly, claims 1, 4, 8-9, 11-15, 18 and 20 have been examined herein. The previous drawing objections, claim objections and 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments and arguments. This action is Final.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 4, 11, 12, 15 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, “an inner volume” should read “[[an]] the inner volume” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Claim 11, “an inner volume” should read “[[an]] the inner volume” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Claim 12, “a polishing liquid and a surfactant” should read “[[a]] the polishing liquid and [[a]] the surfactant” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Claim 15, line 7, “the nozzle body” should read “[[the]] a nozzle body” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Claim 15, second line from bottom, “gas supply line mix are mixed” should read “gas supply line [[mix]] are mixed” to provide increased clarity
Claim 15, last line, “a nozzle body” should read “[[a]] the nozzle body” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Claim 18, last line, “a gas supply line” should read “[[a]] the gas supply line” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 18, the claim language recites the term “a polishing mixture supply line”. However, the term “a polishing mixture supply line” lacks proper antecedent basis because it is not precisely clear if the “polishing mixture supply line” is the same or different from the previously introduced “polishing liquid supply line”. As best understood by the examiner, the polishing mixture supply line is the same as the polishing liquid supply line. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as “[[a]] the polishing [[mixture]] liquid supply line”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al. (US PGPUB 20080227297), hereinafter Matsui, in view of Watanabe (JP 2002273651) and further in view of Wu et al. (US PGPUB 20210402553), hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Matsui teaches a polishing apparatus (fig. 5), comprising:
a platen (fig. 5, table 11);
a polishing pad having a polishing surface and disposed on the platen (fig. 5, pad 12);
a carrier head configured to press a substrate onto the polishing surface (fig. 5, head 13 with substrate 14);
a spray bar assembly (see annotated fig. 5 below) comprising a foam sprayer nozzle assembly comprising a nozzle body (in annotated fig. 5 below, the indicated structure is interpreted as a foam sprayer nozzle assembly including a nozzle body of the spray bar assembly) coupled to a polishing liquid supply line (fig. 5 of Matsui, line 20, [0035]), a surfactant supply line (line from tank 15, fig. 5 of Matsui, [0022-0023]), wherein the foam sprayer nozzle assembly is configured to dispense a polishing foam onto the polishing surface (fig. 5, [0050]); and
place the substrate on the polishing surface using the carrier head (fig. 5);
create the polishing foam (bubble generator 16) using a polishing liquid (second chemical liquid nozzle 20 [0050]) and a surfactant (from tank 15, [0022-0023]), using the foam sprayer nozzle assembly (fig. 5), wherein the polishing liquid, the surfactant mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body (fig. 5, wherein the polishing liquid and the surfactant mix in the inner volume before being dispersed);
use the spray bar assembly to dispense the polishing foam onto the polishing pad (fig. 5 at slurry 22); and
rotate the polishing pad using the platen to polish the substrate (fig. 5, [0020]).
Matsui does not explicitly teach the polishing foam is creating using a gas from a gas supply line; wherein the polishing liquid, the surfactant, and the gas mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body; wherein a controller is coupled to the polishing apparatus for controlling the apparatus.
Specifically, Matsui does not teach how the polishing foam is created and only teaches a generic bubble generator 16.
However, Watanabe teaches a polishing method and polishing device which includes a foaming device 7, wherein an abrasive supply pipe 10 supplies an abrasive agent to the foaming device 7 (fig. 1), a compressed air supply pipe 11 supplies compressed air to the foaming device 7, and supply pipe 12 outputs a foamy abrasive supply (paragraph 0010 of the attached translation). Watanabe teaches wherein the compressed air includes a nitrogen gas (paragraph 0011 of the attached translation). Overall, Watanabe teaches creating a foamy abrasive agent via foaming an abrasive agent supply from pipe 10 with a compressed gas from pipe 11.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsui to incorporate the teachings of Watanabe to provide the polishing foam is creating using a gas. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein the bubble generator of Matsui creates the foam by mixing the agent from tank 15 (of Matsui) with compressed air including nitrogen (as taught by Watanabe) from a respective gas line in the bubble generator 16 of Matsui. Doing so provides a known method of creating the polishing foam, wherein Matsui does not provide explicit details. Additionally, doing so would allow the device to function as intended and create a polishing foam.
In summary, Matsui, as modified, teaches the polishing foam is creating using a gas from a gas supply line (as incorporated from Watanabe); wherein the polishing liquid, the surfactant, and the gas mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body (as modified with the teachings of Watanabe, the polishing liquid, surfactant and the gas all mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body).
Matsui, as modified, does not explicitly teach
wherein a controller is coupled to the polishing apparatus for controlling the apparatus.
However, Wu teaches a CMP apparatus, wherein the CMP includes a controller 200 to control operation of various components [0041] and process parameters [0048].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Matsui, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Wu to provide a controller is coupled to the polishing apparatus for controlling the apparatus. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the controller of Wu into the apparatus of Matsui, as modified, to control the process and apparatus of Matsui, as modified. Doing so would allow the device to function as intended. Additionally, doing so would promote quality of the process and the workpiece by providing the controller to control the process and parameters.
Regarding claim 4, Matsui, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Matsui, as modified, teaches wherein the gas supply line delivers nitrogen gas (N2) to an inner volume of the nozzle body (see above rejection of claim 1 for more details, wherein the gas (including nitrogen) supply line of Watanabe was incorporated).
Regarding claim 9, Matsui teaches a spray bar assembly (fig. 5), comprising:
a dispense arm (see annotated fig. 5 below);
a polishing liquid supply line (fig. 5 of Matsui, line 20, [0035]) routed along the dispense arm (fig. 5);
a surfactant supply line (line from tank 15, fig. 5 of Matsui, [0022-0023]);
a foam sprayer nozzle assembly (nozzle which outputs agent 22 in fig. 5 of Matsui) comprising a nozzle body (fig. 5) and coupled to the polishing liquid supply line (fig. 5) and the surfactant supply line (fig. 5), the foam sprayer nozzle assembly configured to dispense a polishing foam on a polishing pad [0050]; and
create the polishing foam (bubble generator 16) using a polishing liquid (second chemical liquid nozzle 20 [0050]) and a surfactant (from tank 15, [0022-0023]), using the foam sprayer nozzle assembly (fig. 5), wherein the polishing liquid, the surfactant mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body (fig. 5, wherein the polishing liquid and the surfactant mix in the inner volume before being dispersed); and
dispense, using the dispense arm, the polishing foam onto the polishing pad (fig. 5 at slurry 22).
Matsui does not explicitly teach
a gas supply line;
creating the polishing foam using the gas;
wherein the polishing liquid, the surfactant, and the gas mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body;
a controller coupled to the spray bar assembly for controlling the apparatus.
Specifically, Matsui does not teach how the polishing foam is created and only teaches a generic bubble generator 16.
However, Watanabe teaches a polishing method and polishing device which includes a foaming device 7, wherein an abrasive supply pipe 10 supplies an abrasive agent to the foaming device 7 (fig. 1), a compressed air supply pipe 11 supplies compressed air to the foaming device 7, and supply pipe 12 outputs a foamy abrasive supply (paragraph 0010 of the attached translation). Watanabe teaches wherein the compressed air includes a nitrogen gas (paragraph 0011 of the attached translation). Overall, Watanabe teaches creating a foamy abrasive agent via foaming an abrasive agent supply from pipe 10 with a compressed gas from pipe 11.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsui to incorporate the teachings of Watanabe to provide the polishing foam is creating using a gas from a gas supply line. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein the bubble generator of Matsui creates the foam by mixing the agent from tank 15 (of Matsui) with compressed air including nitrogen (as taught by Watanabe) from a respective gas supply line in the bubble generator 16 of Matsui. Doing so provides a known method of creating the polishing foam, wherein Matsui does not provide explicit details. Additionally, doing so would allow the device to function as intended and create a polishing foam.
In summary, Matsui, as modified, teaches wherein the polishing liquid, the surfactant, and the gas mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body (as modified with the teachings of Watanabe, the polishing liquid, surfactant and the gas all mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body).
Matsui, as modified, does not explicitly teach
a controller coupled to the spray bar assembly for controlling the apparatus.
However, Wu teaches a CMP apparatus, wherein the CMP includes a controller 200 to control operation of various components [0041] and process parameters [0048].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Matsui, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Wu to provide a controller is coupled to the polishing apparatus for controlling the apparatus. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the controller of Wu into the apparatus of Matsui, as modified, to control the process and apparatus of Matsui, as modified. Doing so would allow the device to function as intended. Additionally, doing so would promote quality of the process and the workpiece by providing the controller to control the process and parameters.
Regarding claim 11, Matsui, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 9. Additionally, Matsui, as modified, teaches wherein the gas supply line delivers nitrogen gas (N2) to an inner volume of the nozzle body (see above rejection of claim 9 for more details, wherein the gas (including nitrogen) supply line of Watanabe was incorporated).
Regarding claim 12, Matsui, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 9. Additionally, Matsui, as modified, teaches wherein the polishing liquid supply line (the polishing liquid supply line is reinterpreted as the horizontal segment of line from tank 15 to bubble generator 16, fig. 5 of Matsui) delivers a polishing mixture of a polishing liquid and a surfactant (Matsui teaches the agent from tank 15 includes a polishing liquid (“as long as the electrolyte is dissolved in the first chemical liquid” [0027], wherein the first chemical liquid is reinterpreted as the polishing liquid) and a surfactant (wherein paragraph 0023 teaches the surfactant is used as the electrolyte)) from the surfactant supply line (the surfactant supply line is reinterpreted as the vertical segment of line from tank 15 to bubble generator 16, fig. 5 of Matsui) before mixing with the gas and before entering an inner volume of the nozzle body (as incorporated from Watanabe, the gas is mixed in at bubble generator 16 of Matsui, wherein the tank 15 provides the mixture of polishing liquid and surfactant before mixing with the gas and before entering an inner volume of the nozzle body.).
Regarding claim 13, Matsui, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 9. Additionally, Matsui, as modified, teaches wherein the polishing foam comprises bubbles of the gas with bubble walls having the polishing liquid and the surfactant (Matsui teaches the agent from tank 15 includes a polishing liquid (“as long as the electrolyte is dissolved in the first chemical liquid” [0027], wherein the first chemical liquid is reinterpreted as the polishing liquid) and a surfactant (wherein paragraph 0023 teaches the surfactant is used as the electrolyte). Matsui teaches the bubbles have bubble walls having the polishing liquid and the surfactant (fig. 2 of Matsui, [0030]). That is, the bubble walls are partially made up of the first chemical liquid and the surfactant (as seen in fig. 2 of Matsui)).
Regarding claim 14, Matsui, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 13. Additionally, Matsui, as modified, teaches the bubble walls further comprising abrasive particles (fig. 3 of Matsui, wherein Matsui, as modified, teaches at least some bubbles 24 have bubble walls that further comprise abrasive particles 32).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al. (US PGPUB 20080227297), hereinafter Matsui, in view of Watanabe (JP 2002273651) and further in view of Wu et al. (US PGPUB 20210402553), hereinafter Wu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakamura et al. (JP 2019025575), hereinafter Nakamura and further in view of Kitamura (US PGPUB 20150045264).
Regarding claim 8, Matsui, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Matsui, as modified, does not explicitly teach further comprising a station cup wherein a de-foaming agent is injected to reduce the polishing foam to a liquid.
However, Nakamura teaches a work polishing device and method, wherein a workpiece is polished via a lower surface plate 32 and an upper surface plate 36 (fig. 1). Nakamura also teaches slurry is supplied via a slurry supply pipe 78 (fig. 1, [0018 of attached translation). The device also includes a collection gutter 80 (fig. 1) for collecting the slurry that has flowed down form the lower turn table 32 (paragraph 0019 of attached translation).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Matsui, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura to provide a station cup. Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the collection gutter of Nakamura into the device of Matsui, as modified. Doing so would promote cleanliness by collecting the slurry which flows from the polishing operation. Additionally, doing so would allow the slurry to be recycled and reused.
Matsui, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein a de-foaming agent is injected to reduce the polishing foam to a liquid.
However, Kitamura teaches a silicon wafer processing solution and processing method, wherein the processing fluid can be injected with an antifoaming agent [0034], wherein the antifoaming agent is used for keeping the processing fluid from spilling out of the processing chamber [0036].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Matsui, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Kitamura to provide wherein a de-foaming agent is injected to reduce the polishing foam to a liquid. Specifically, it would have been obvious to include an antifoaming agent in the processing fluid as it is collected in the previously incorporated collection gutter to reduce the polishing foam to a liquid. Doing so would prevent the processing fluid from spilling out [0036 of Kitamura] which promotes cleanliness and prevents safety hazards.
Claims 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al. (US PGPUB 20080227297), hereinafter Matsui, in view of Watanabe (JP 2002273651).
Regarding claim 15, Matsui teaches a method of polishing a substrate (fig. 5), comprising:
placing the substrate (substrate 14) on a polishing pad (pad 12) of a polishing apparatus (fig. 5);
creating a polishing foam (bubble generator 16) using a polishing liquid (second chemical liquid nozzle 20 [0050]) and a surfactant (from tank 15, [0022-0023]);
dispensing the polishing foam onto the polishing pad (fig. 5 at slurry 22); and
rotating the polishing pad to polish the substrate (fig. 5, [0020]),
wherein the polishing foam is created using a foam sprayer nozzle assembly comprising the nozzle body (fig. 5, structure that dispenses the foam), a polishing liquid supply line (fig. 5 of Matsui, line 20, [0035]), a surfactant supply line (line from tank 15, fig. 5 of Matsui, [0022-0023]), and
wherein the polishing liquid from the polishing liquid supply line, the surfactant from the surfactant supply line are mixed in an inner volume of a nozzle body to create the polishing foam (fig. 5, wherein the polishing liquid and the surfactant mix in the inner volume before being dispersed).
Matsui does not explicitly teach the polishing foam is creating using a gas from a gas supply line;
wherein the polishing liquid from the polishing liquid supply line, the surfactant from the surfactant supply line and the gas from the gas supply line mix are mixed in an inner volume of a nozzle body to create the polishing foam.
Specifically, Matsui does not teach how the polishing foam is created and only teaches a generic bubble generator 16.
However, Watanabe teaches a polishing method and polishing device which includes a foaming device 7, wherein an abrasive supply pipe 10 supplies an abrasive agent to the foaming device 7 (fig. 1), a compressed air supply pipe 11 supplies compressed air to the foaming device 7, and supply pipe 12 outputs a foamy abrasive supply (paragraph 0010 of the attached translation). Watanabe teaches wherein the compressed air includes a nitrogen gas (paragraph 0011 of the attached translation). Overall, Watanabe teaches creating a foamy abrasive agent via foaming an abrasive agent supply from pipe 10 with a compressed gas from pipe 11.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Matsui to incorporate the teachings of Watanabe to provide the polishing foam is creating using a gas. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein the bubble generator of Matsui creates the foam by mixing the agent from tank 15 (of Matsui) with compressed air including nitrogen (as taught by Watanabe) from a respective gas line in the bubble generator 16 of Matsui. Doing so provides a known method of creating the polishing foam, wherein Matsui does not provide explicit details. Additionally, doing so would allow the device to function as intended and create a polishing foam.
In summary, Matsui, as modified, teaches
the polishing foam is creating using a gas from a gas supply line (as incorporated from Watanabe);
wherein the polishing liquid from the polishing liquid supply line, the surfactant from the surfactant supply line and the gas from the gas supply line mix are mixed in an inner volume of a nozzle body to create the polishing foam (as modified with the teachings of Watanabe, the polishing liquid, surfactant and the gas all mix in an inner volume of the nozzle body).
Regarding claim 18, Matsui, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 15. Additionally, Matsui, as modified, teaches wherein the foam sprayer nozzle assembly further comprises a polishing mixture supply line configured to deliver a polishing mixture having the polishing liquid and the surfactant (Matsui teaches the agent from tank 15 is supplied via a line (fig. 5) and includes a polishing liquid (“as long as the electrolyte is dissolved in the first chemical liquid” [0027], wherein the first chemical liquid is reinterpreted as the polishing liquid and the line indicated by element 17 is reinterpreted as the polishing mixture supply line) and a surfactant (wherein paragraph 0023 teaches the surfactant is used as the electrolyte)), and a gas supply line (as incorporated from Watanabe, see above rejection of claim 15 for more details).
Regarding claim 20, Matsui, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 15. Additionally, Matsui, as modified, teaches wherein the gas is nitrogen gas (N2) (see above rejection of claim 15 for more details, wherein the gas (including nitrogen) supply line of Watanabe was incorporated).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art fails to teach the amended language of claims 1, 9 and 15. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The amended language does not require a simultaneous mixing of the gas, polishing liquid and surfactant in a mixing chamber (as shown in instant fig. 3). Matsui was relied upon to teach mixing of a surfactant supply line connecting to tank 15 with the polishing liquid supply line 20 (as shown in fig. 5 of Matsui). Watanabe was relied upon to teach a gas supply line connecting to the bubble generator of Matsui. Watanabe in view of Matsui teaches the surfactant supply line from tank 15 mixing with the gas supply line at the bubble generator 16 of Matsui, and then later mixing with the polishing liquid supply line 20 of Matsui. Therefore, Matsui, as modified, teaches the amended claim language, wherein the amended claim language does not require simultaneously mixing of the three lines. Additionally, the claim language does not require any specific structure of the nozzle body, and therefore the nozzle structure of Matsui is valid. See above rejection for more details.
The independent claims have been rejected above over Matsui, as modified. The dependent claims have been rejected accordingly. See above rejection for more details.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A GUMP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723