DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: there is no mention of the term uninterrupted and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to ascertain the scope of the claim within the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “uninterrupted” in claims 1, 8, and 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “uninterrupted” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no defined scope as to what uninterrupted means in applicants specification, and Merriam-webster dictionary describes the term as “not interrupted, stopped, or blocked”. This means that there is no clear definition as to which description to use for the term uninterrupted.
Examiner notes that although there is no mention as to the flow being uninterrupted within the specification, it is not being rejected under 112a in addition to 112b because applicant stated the drawings do show the flow passage as used absent of objects located within it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks (5526640) in view of Lighty (11365682).
Regarding claim 1, Brooks discloses a fuel cooled aft bearing system comprising: a main shaft (234, fig 9) supporting a compressor (228, fig 9) proximate a forward portion and the main shaft supporting a turbine (230, fig 9) proximate an aft portion; the main shaft comprising a shaft flow passage (296, fig 9) fluidly coupled with a fuel manifold (source from 298, fig 9) proximate the aft portion and the shaft flow passage fluidly coupled with a combustor supply tube (238d, fig 9) fluidly coupled with a combustor (240, fig 9), the combustor in operative communication with the compressor and the turbine; an aft bearing (248, fig 9) supporting the main shaft proximate the aft portion; the aft bearing fluidly coupled with the fuel manifold of the main shaft; a strut (297, fig 9) in operative communication with the aft bearing, the strut comprising a strut flow passage (fuel passage inside 297, fig 9) fluidly coupled uninterrupted with the aft bearing; a vane (264, fig 9) in operative communication with the strut, the vane comprising a vane flow passage (298, fig 9) fluidly coupled with the strut flow passage; and a fuel supply (fuel from inside 298, fig 9) fluidly coupled with the vane flow passage.
Brooks does not disclose wherein the strut supports the aft bearing, and wherein the vane is directly connected to the strut.
Lighty teaches a strut (49, fig 2) with an inner lubrication pipe (51, fig 2) which extends inside a gas turbine vane (col 7, lines 44-50), wherein the strut supports the gas turbine bearing (col 10, lines 3-14, the strut supports the hub which is what the bearings are mounted on, meaning that the strut supports the bearings), and wherein the vane is directly connected to the strut (annotated fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the strut disclosed by Brooks by using the strut as a support structure of the bearings and directly connecting the strut to the vane based upon the teachings of Lightly. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a lubrication line as a support strut would save on weight and costs due to the elimination of parts.
Regarding claim 2, Brooks discloses wherein the aft bearing comprises a bearing seat (248A and B, fig 9) having a crucible (248A, fig 9) which is partially sealed with the main shaft.
Regarding claim 3, Brooks discloses wherein the aft bearing comprises a bearing seat gap (gap with the bearing ball, fig 9) formed between the bearing seat and a bearing block (284, fig 9).
Regarding claim 4, Brooks discloses wherein the bearing block comprises a bearing cooling channel (gap where fuel is injected from 236C, fig 9).
Regarding claim 5, Brooks discloses wherein the vane flow passage comprises an annular insulation region (air gap in 264, fig 9) surrounding the vane flow passage, the annular insulation region configured to reduce heat transfer from a vane flow passage exterior (240b, fig 9) into a fuel (fuel inside 298, fig 9) within the vane flow passage (the air gap would serve to slow the transfer of heat as claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Brooks discloses a pump section (304, fig 9) proximate to the main shaft, the pump section configured to propel a fuel (fuel from 298, fig 9) through the main shaft from the aft bearing.
Regarding claim 8, Brooks discloses a gas turbine engine (220, fig 9) with a fuel cooled aft bearing (238, fig 9) comprising: a main shaft (234, fig 9) supporting a compressor (228, fig 9) proximate a forward portion of the gas turbine and the main shaft supporting a turbine (230, fig 9) proximate an aft portion of the gas turbine; the main shaft comprising a shaft flow passage (296, fig 9) fluidly coupled with a fuel manifold ( source from 298, fig 9) proximate the aft portion of the gas turbine and the shaft flow passage fluidly coupled with a combustor supply tube (238d, fig 9) fluidly coupled with a combustor (240, fig 9), the combustor in operative communication with the compressor and the turbine; an aft bearing (248, fig 9) supporting the main shaft proximate the aft portion of the gas turbine; the aft bearing fluidly coupled with the fuel manifold of the main shaft; a strut (297, fig 9) in operative communication with the aft bearing, the strut comprising a strut flow passage (fuel passage inside 297, fig 9) fluidly coupled uninterrupted with the aft bearing; a vane (264, fig 9) in operative communication with the strut, the vane comprising a vane flow passage (298, fig 9) fluidly coupled with the strut flow passage; and a fuel supply (fuel from inside 298, fig 9) fluidly coupled with the vane flow passage.
Brooks does not disclose wherein the strut supports the aft bearing, and wherein the vane is directly connected to the strut.
Lighty teaches a strut (49, fig 2) with an inner lubrication pipe (51, fig 2) which extends inside a gas turbine vane (col 7, lines 44-50), wherein the strut supports the gas turbine bearing (col 10, lines 3-14, the strut supports the hub which is what the bearings are mounted on, meaning that the strut supports the bearings), and wherein the vane is directly connected to the strut (annotated fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the strut disclosed by Brooks by using the strut as a support structure of the bearings and directly connecting the strut to the vane based upon the teachings of Lightly. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a lubrication line as a support strut would save on weight and costs due to the elimination of parts.
Regarding claim 9, Brooks discloses wherein the aft bearing comprises a bearing seat (248A and B, fig 9) having a crucible (248A, fig 9) which is partially sealed with the main shaft.
Regarding claim 10, Brooks discloses wherein the vane flow passage comprises an annular insulation region (air gap in 264, fig 9) surrounding the vane flow passage, the annular insulation region configured to reduce heat transfer from a vane flow passage exterior (240b, fig 9) into a fuel (fuel inside 298, fig 9) within the vane flow passage (the air gap would serve to slow the transfer of heat as claimed).
Regarding claim 11, Brooks discloses a pump section (304, fig 9) proximate to the main shaft, the pump section configured to propel a fuel (fuel from 298, fig 9) through the main shaft from the aft bearing.
Regarding claim 13, Brooks discloses wherein the aft bearing comprises a bearing seat gap (gap with the bearing ball, fig 9) formed between the bearing seat and a bearing block (284, fig 9), wherein the bearing block comprises a bearing cooling channel (gap where fuel is injected from 236C, fig 9).
Regarding claim 14, Brooks discloses a process for a gas turbine engine (220, fig 9) with a fuel cooled aft bearing (248, fig 9) comprising: supporting a compressor (228, fig 9) with a main shaft (234, fig 9) proximate a forward portion of the gas turbine engine; supporting a turbine (230, fig 9) with the main shaft proximate an aft portion of the gas turbine engine; fluidly coupling a shaft flow passage (296, fig 9) within the main shaft with a fuel manifold (source of 298, fig 9) in the main shaft proximate the aft portion of the gas turbine engine; fluidly coupling the shaft flow passage with a combustor supply tube (238D, fig 9) within the main shaft; fluidly coupling the combustor supply tube with a combustor (240, fig 9), the combustor in operative communication with the compressor and the turbine; supporting the main shaft with an aft bearing (248, fig 9) proximate the aft portion of the gas turbine engine; fluidly coupling the aft bearing with the fuel manifold of the main shaft; coupling a strut (297, fig 9) in operative communication with the aft bearing, the strut comprising a strut flow passage (fuel passage inside 297, fig 9) fluidly coupled uninterrupted with the aft bearing; coupling a vane (264, fig 9) in operative communication with the strut, the vane comprising a vane flow passage (298, fig 9) fluidly coupled with the strut flow passage; and fluidly coupling a fuel supply (fuel flowing within 298 from its source, fig 9) with the vane flow passage.
Brooks does not disclose wherein the strut supports the aft bearing, and wherein the vane is directly connected to the strut.
Lighty teaches a strut (49, fig 2) with an inner lubrication pipe (51, fig 2) which extends inside a gas turbine vane (col 7, lines 44-50), wherein the strut supports the gas turbine bearing (col 10, lines 3-14, the strut supports the hub which is what the bearings are mounted on, meaning that the strut supports the bearings), and wherein the vane is directly connected to the strut (annotated fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the strut disclosed by Brooks by using the strut as a support structure of the bearings and directly connecting the strut to the vane based upon the teachings of Lightly. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a lubrication line as a support strut would save on weight and costs due to the elimination of parts.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the vane flow passage comprises an annular insulation region (air gap in 264, fig 9) surrounding the vane flow passage, the annular insulation region configured to reduce heat transfer from a vane flow passage exterior (240b, fig 9) into a fuel (fuel inside 298, fig 9) within the vane flow passage (the air gap would serve to slow the transfer of heat as claimed).
Regarding claim 16, Brooks discloses attaching a pump section (304, fig 9) proximate to the main shaft, and configuring the pump section to propel a fuel (fuel from 298, fig 9) through the main shaft from the aft bearing.
Regarding claim 18, Brooks discloses wherein the aft bearing comprises a bearing seat gap (gap with the bearing ball, fig 9) formed between the bearing seat and a bearing block (284, fig 9).
Regarding claim 19, Brooks discloses wherein the bearing block comprises a bearing cooling channel (gap where fuel is injected from 236C, fig 9).
Regarding claim 20, Brooks discloses wherein the aft bearing comprises a bearing seat (248A and B, fig 9) having a crucible (248A, fig 9) which is partially sealed with the main shaft.
Claim 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks as modified by Lighty in claims 1, 8, and 14, further in view of Pankratov (11085330).
Regarding claims 7, 12, and 17, Brooks discloses a seal (294, fig 9) formed on the main shaft proximate the bearing seat, the seal configured to seal a fuel near the aft bearing.
Brooks as modified by Lighty does not disclose wherein the seal is a knife edge seal.
Pankratov teaches a bearing (36, fig 2) for a gas turbine engine which uses a knife edge seal (42a, fig 2) to seal the lubricant near the bearing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing assembly disclosed by Brooks as modified by Lighty by forming the seal as a knife edge seal based on the teachings of Pankratov. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a knife edge seal would provide a tight seal while simultaneously reducing friction between the seal and the mating surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the check valve of brooks impedes flow, although this is true in certain operations, the check valve is orientated to prevent backflow of fuel into the line, and that means during operation of the engine the check valve would be open and thus would meet the claimed limitation as fuel would flow uninterrupted into the bearing during operation. Furthermore, see the prior art below with a check valve located outside of the strut.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wilhelm (2642155) teaches a lubrication circuit wherein the check valve is located on a passage before a strut flow passage such that the flow within said strut passage is uninterrupted.
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741