DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on May 21, 2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 21, 2024 and August 14, 2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0393389) in view of Zeng (US 2021/0384171).
With respect to Claim 1, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) most aspects of the current invention including a display panel, comprising:
a driving backplane (driving element in display 200), wherein a first surface of the driving backplane is provided with a plurality of normal bonding areas (202) and a plurality of redundant bonding areas (204)
at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas and at least one of the plurality of redundant bonding areas adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas constitute a bonding group (See Fig 1,5-8);
a distance between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other is defined as a first distance, a distance between each of the plurality of normal bonding areas and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas which is adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding areas is defined as a second distance, and at least one of the first distances is greater than at least one of the second distances (see Fig 8)
a light emitting layer (comprising device 206), located on the first surface and comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (p1-p3), wherein the plurality of sub-pixels are electrically connected to the normal bonding areas or the redundant bonding areas, (par 52)
Furthermore, although Chen shows that the plurality of sub-pixels are electrically connected to the normal bonding areas or the redundant bonding areas, and the sub-pixels may share a common p-electrode and the p-electrode is electrically connected to one main pad, while the n-electrodes of the subpixels are electrically connected to three different main pads (see par 52), Chen fails to explicitly disclose the normal bonding area and the redundant bonding area of the same bonding group are configured to be electrically connected to sub-pixels with the same emitting color.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Zeng teaches (1-10) a display panel comprising a driving backplane (10), wherein a first surface of the driving backplane is provided with a plurality of normal bonding areas (20) and a plurality of redundant bonding areas (30), and a light emitting layer (comprising diodes 21 connected to pads), located on the first surface and comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (BB), wherein the plurality of sub-pixels are electrically connected to the normal bonding areas or the redundant bonding areas, and the normal bonding area and the redundant bonding area of the same bonding group are configured to be electrically connected to sub-pixels with the same emitting color (using color structure 60). Zeng teaches the color resistance structure allows the color of the light through the color and color resistance structure corresponding to the color of the light emitted by the color of the same color, by setting color resistance structure to realize color display of the display panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arrangement of the normal bonding area and the redundant bonding area of the same bonding group are configured to be electrically connected to sub-pixels with the same emitting color in the device of Chen, as taught by Zeng because the color resistance structure allows the color of the light through the color and color resistance structure corresponding to the color of the light emitted by the color of the same color, by setting color resistance structure to realize color display of the display panel.
With respect to Claim 2, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein the display panel satisfies at least one of: at least one of the plurality of redundant bonding areas is disconnected from the sub-pixel; for the same bonding group, the normal bonding areas are electrically connected to the sub-pixels in preference to the redundant bonding areas; a number of sub-pixels electrically connected to the plurality of normal bonding areas is greater than a number of sub-pixels electrically connected to the plurality of redundant bonding areas; and all the plurality of sub-pixels are electrically connected to the plurality of normal bonding areas.
With respect to Claim 3, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas are arranged in an array along a first direction and a second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are intersected with each other; and wherein the display panel satisfies at least one of: at least one of the first distances between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other in the first direction is greater than at least one of the second distances between each of the plurality of normal bonding area and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding area in the first direction or the second direction; and at least one of the first distances between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other in the second direction is greater than at least one of the second distances between each of the plurality of normal bonding area and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding area in the first direction or the second direction.
With respect to Claim 4, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein for each of at least one pair of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other in at least one of the first direction and the second direction, a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas is arranged therebetween (see Fig 8)
With respect to Claim 5, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas are arranged in an array along a first direction and a second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are intersected with each other; a plurality of adjacent sub-pixels constitute a pixel unit, and a plurality of bonding groups electrically connected to the pixel unit constitute a combination unit; and wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas of the combination unit are arranged in two rows in the first direction, the plurality of normal bonding areas of the combination unit are alternately arranged in the two rows, and the plurality of redundant bonding areas of the combination unit are alternately arranged in the two rows
With respect to Claim 6, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein a number of adjacent sub-pixels arranged in an oblique direction is greater than a number of adjacent sub-pixels arranged in the same row in the first direction or the second direction, and the oblique direction is intersected with the first direction and the second direction (see Fig 8)
With respect to Claim 7, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein the normal bonding areas and the redundant bonding areas of the same bonding group are arranged along the first direction, and the plurality of bonding groups of the same combination unit are arranged at intervals along the second direction.
With respect to Claim 8, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein the normal bonding areas and the redundant bonding areas of the same bonding group are arranged at intervals along the second direction, the plurality of bonding groups of the same combination unit are arranged in two rows along the first direction, and the plurality of bonding groups in the two rows are staggered from each other.
With respect to Claim 9, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein the pixel unit comprises three sub-pixels (p1,p2,p3), the combination unit comprises three bonding groups; two adjacent combination units arranged in the second direction constitute a repeating unit; the plurality of normal bonding areas of the repeating unit are alternately arranged up and down, and the plurality of redundant bonding areas of the repeating unit are alternately arranged up and down.
With respect to Claim 10, Zeng teaches (1-10) wherein the pixel unit comprises three sub-pixels, the combination unit comprises three bonding groups; in the first direction, the combination units of at least one pair of combination units adjacent to each other are arranged axially symmetrically, and at least parts of the plurality of normal bonding areas of two adjacent combination units arranged axially symmetrically, which correspond to the sub-pixels with the same emitting color are arranged adjacent to each other.
With respect to Claim 11, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein a third distance between each of the plurality of normal bonding areas from one combination unit and a corresponding one of the plurality of normal bonding areas from an adjacent combination unit and adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding areas in the first direction is shorter than a fourth distance between two adjacent normal bonding areas of the same combination unit
With respect to Claim 12, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein four combination units adjacent to each other in the first direction and the second direction constitute the repeating unit, and the normal bonding areas and the redundant bonding areas in the same row in the second direction of the repeating unit are arranged alternately
With respect to Claim 13, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas are arranged in an array along a first direction and a second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are intersected with each other; a plurality of adjacent sub-pixels constitute a pixel unit, and a plurality of bonding groups electrically connected to the pixel unit constitute a combination unit; the normal bonding area and the redundant bonding area of the same bonding group are arranged along the first direction, the plurality of normal bonding areas of the combination unit are adjacently arranged in the same row along the second direction, and the plurality of redundant bonding areas of the combination unit are adjacently arranged in the same row along the second direction; a row of redundant bonding areas is provided between a row of the normal bonding areas of one combination unit and another row of the normal bonding areas of an adjacent combination unit in at least one of the first direction and the second direction
With respect to Claim 14, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein a number of adjacent pixel units in an oblique direction is greater than a number of adjacent pixel units arranged in the same row in a first direction or a second direction, the oblique direction is intersected with the first direction and the second direction, and all the sub-pixels in each pixel unit of two adjacent pixel units are arranged in the same row.
With respect to Claim 15, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein the driving backplane further comprises a plurality of pixel driving circuits, and the normal bonding areas and the redundant bonding areas of the same bonding group are electrically connected to the same pixel driving circuit.
With respect to Claim 16, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein a side of each sub-pixel facing the first surface is provided with a first electrode and a second electrode, each normal bonding area or redundant bonding area comprises a first electrode bonding area configured to be electrically connected to the first electrode and a second electrode bonding area configured to be electrically connected to the second electrode, and two first electrode bonding areas of the same bonding group are electrically connected to an output terminal of the same pixel driving circuit.
With respect to Claim 19, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) wherein two first electrode bonding areas of the same bonding group face each other and are arranged at intervals in the first direction, the two first electrode bonding areas of the same bonding group are arranged between two second electrode bonding areas of the same bonding group, and an orthographic projection of the output terminal of the pixel driving circuit projected on the first surface in the first direction is located between the two first electrode bonding areas; or the two first electrode bonding areas of the same bonding group face each other and are arranged at intervals in the second direction, the two second electrode bonding areas of the same bonding group face each other and are arranged at intervals in the second direction; and a gap is defined between two rows of the bonding groups of the same combination unit arranged in the first direction, and the orthographic projection of the output terminal of the pixel driving circuit projected on the first surface in the first direction is located in the gap and between the two first electrode bonding areas of the same bonding group
With respect to Claim 20, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) a preparation method of a display panel according to claim 1, comprising: providing a driving backplane (driving element in display 200); wherein, a first surface of the driving backplane is provided with a plurality of normal bonding areas (202) and a plurality of redundant bonding areas (204); a distance between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other is defined as a first distance; a distance between each of the plurality of normal bonding areas and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas which is adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding areas is defined as a second distance, and at least one of the first distances is greater than at least one of the second distances; and at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas and at least one of the plurality of redundant bonding areas adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas constitute a bonding group (See Fig 1,5-8); disposing a plurality of sub-pixels (p1-p3),in the normal bonding areas of the driving backplane; and introducing a patched sub-pixel with the same emitting color (par 52) as a defective sub-pixel in the redundant bonding area, in response to the sub-pixel bonded to the normal bonding area of the same bonding group being determined to be the defective sub-pixel.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zeng and in further view of Bil (US 2015/0318328).
With respect to Claim 17, Chen in view of Zeng teaches most aspects of the current invention. Further, Chen shows (Fig. 1-13) the display panel including wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas are arranged in an array along a first direction and a second direction, the first direction and the second direction are intersected with each other; the second electrode bonding areas of all the normal bonding areas and the redundant bonding areas in the same row in the second direction are arranged on the same straight line. However, the combination of references do not show all the second electrode bonding areas on the same straight line are electrically connected to a same power supply voltage line.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Bibl teaches (Fig 3A-3D) a display panel (100), comprising a driving backplane (102), wherein a first surface of the driving backplane is provided with a plurality of normal bonding areas (140) and a plurality of redundant bonding areas (140), at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas and at least one of the plurality of redundant bonding areas adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas constitute a bonding group, and wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas are arranged in an array along a first direction and a second direction, the first direction and the second direction are intersected with each other; the second electrode bonding areas of all the normal bonding areas and the redundant bonding areas in the same row in the second direction are arranged on the same straight line, and all the second electrode bonding areas on the same straight line are electrically connected to a same power supply voltage line (114). Bibl teaches the power supply voltage line is used to transmit a power signal (Vdd) to the TFTs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arrangement of all the second electrode bonding areas on the same straight line are electrically connected to a same power supply voltage line in the device of Chen and Zeng, as taught by Bibl because the power supply voltage line is used to transmit a power signal (Vdd) to the TFTs.
With respect to Claim 18, Bibl teaches (Fig 3A-3D) wherein the power supply voltage line is arranged between two rows of the second electrode bonding areas arranged in the first direction, and the power supply voltage line is electrically connected to the two rows of the second electrode bonding areas adjacent to the power supply voltage line.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 15-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US 2021/0384171).
With respect to Claim 1, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-10) most aspects of the current invention including a display panel, comprising:
a driving backplane (10), wherein a first surface of the driving backplane is provided with a plurality of normal bonding areas (20) and a plurality of redundant bonding areas (30)
at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas and at least one of the plurality of redundant bonding areas adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas constitute a bonding group (See Fig 8);
a light emitting layer (comprising diodes 21 connected to pads), located on the first surface and comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (BB), wherein the plurality of sub-pixels are electrically connected to the normal bonding areas or the redundant bonding areas, and the normal bonding area and the redundant bonding area of the same bonding group are configured to be electrically connected to sub-pixels with the same emitting color (using color structure 60)
Furthermore, although Zeng not explicitly disclose a distance between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other is defined as a first distance, a distance between each of the plurality of normal bonding areas and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas which is adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding areas is defined as a second distance, and at least one of the first distances is greater than at least one of the second distances; Zeng shows that the distance between the normal and redundant Bonding zones needs to be reduced as much as possible in order to improve the display effect, while guaranteeing unaffected between normal Bonding Zones. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that bonding areas are typically used in the semiconductor packaging industry to provide connections to sub-pixels of a light emitting device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arrangement of a distance between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other is defined as a first distance, a distance between each of the plurality of normal bonding areas and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas which is adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding areas is defined as a second distance, and at least one of the first distances is greater than at least one of the second distances in the device of Zeng, because the bonding areas are well-known in the semiconductor packaging industry to provide connections to sub-pixels of a light emitting device, as suggested by Zeng, and implementing the arrangement as claimed for its conventional use would have been a common sense choice by one skilled in the semiconductor art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
With respect to Claim 3, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-4) wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas are arranged in an array along a first direction and a second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are intersected with each other; and wherein the display panel satisfies at least one of: at least one of the first distances between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other in the first direction is greater than at least one of the second distances between each of the plurality of normal bonding area and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding area in the first direction or the second direction; and at least one of the first distances between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other in the second direction is greater than at least one of the second distances between each of the plurality of normal bonding area and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding area in the first direction or the second direction.
With respect to Claim 4, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-4) wherein for each of at least one pair of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other in at least one of the first direction and the second direction, a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas is arranged therebetween
With respect to Claim 5, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-4) wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas are arranged in an array along a first direction and a second direction, and the first direction and the second direction are intersected with each other; a plurality of adjacent sub-pixels constitute a pixel unit, and a plurality of bonding groups electrically connected to the pixel unit constitute a combination unit; and wherein the plurality of normal bonding areas and the plurality of redundant bonding areas of the combination unit are arranged in two rows in the first direction, the plurality of normal bonding areas of the combination unit are alternately arranged in the two rows, and the plurality of redundant bonding areas of the combination unit are alternately arranged in the two rows.
With respect to Claim 7, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-4) wherein the normal bonding areas and the redundant bonding areas of the same bonding group are arranged along the first direction, and the plurality of bonding groups of the same combination unit are arranged at intervals along the second direction.
With respect to Claim 9, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-4) wherein the pixel unit comprises three sub-pixels, the combination unit comprises three bonding groups; two adjacent combination units arranged in the second direction constitute a repeating unit; the plurality of normal bonding areas of the repeating unit are alternately arranged up and down, and the plurality of redundant bonding areas of the repeating unit are alternately arranged up and down.
With respect to Claim 15, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-4) wherein the driving backplane further comprises a plurality of pixel driving circuits, and the normal bonding areas and the redundant bonding areas of the same bonding group are electrically connected to the same pixel driving circuit
With respect to Claim 16, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-4) wherein a side of each sub-pixel facing the first surface is provided with a first electrode and a second electrode, each normal bonding area or redundant bonding area comprises a first electrode bonding area configured to be electrically connected to the first electrode and a second electrode bonding area configured to be electrically connected to the second electrode, and two first electrode bonding areas of the same bonding group are electrically connected to an output terminal of the same pixel driving circuit
With respect to Claim 20, Zeng shows (Fig. 1-4) a preparation method of a display panel according to claim 1, comprising: providing a driving backplane; wherein, a first surface of the driving backplane is provided with a plurality of normal bonding areas and a plurality of redundant bonding areas; a distance between every two of the plurality of normal bonding areas adjacent to each other is defined as a first distance; a distance between each of the plurality of normal bonding areas and a corresponding one of the redundant bonding areas which is adjacent to the each of the plurality of normal bonding areas is defined as a second distance, and at least one of the first distances is greater than at least one of the second distances; and at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas and at least one of the plurality of redundant bonding areas adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of normal bonding areas constitute a bonding group; disposing a plurality of sub-pixels in the normal bonding areas of the driving backplane; and introducing a patched sub-pixel with the same emitting color as a defective sub-pixel in the redundant bonding area, in response to the sub-pixel bonded to the normal bonding area of the same bonding group being determined to be the defective sub-pixel.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Q.A.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814