DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites a series of conditional limitations. However, it is unclear whether the claim indicates that all of the conditional limitations for both the first temperature and the second temperature must be met, or if only one from each conditional limitation is necessary. Further, it is unclear if or how the two sets of conditional limitations interact with each other, where the first condition precedent, i.e., operational temperature, falls outside of the prescribed range. Finally, it is unclear whether the “in a state that” claim language regarding the temperatures is a describing a moment in time, a controller setting, a plan, or something else entirely. These limitations obscure the scope of the claim, and make the claim indefinite by failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites a series of conditional limitations regarding electric fields, wherein the condition precedent is the strength of the operation field. The operation field, as described in the specification, is produced by the voltage between the suppressor electrode and the extraction electrode. See instant pgpub at para 36. However, no such explanation is provided as to how the field arises or what defines it with respect to claim 3. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine whether a given electric field infringed upon the claimed electric field. Further, it is unclear whether the “in a state that” claim language regarding the electric fields is describing a moment in time, a controller setting, a plan, or something else entirely. These limitations obscure the scope of the claim, and make the claim indefinite by failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites a conditional limitation, “upon the heating source supplying a filament current” with two actions, setting a filament current at a first temperature and setting the same filament current at a second temperature. The first and second temperatures describe the temperature of the same Schottky emitter. As such, the two actions cannot take place “upon the heating source supplying a filament current” because the Schottky emitter will only be at one temperature. Accordingly, it appears that the claim requires two mutually exclusive things to occur “upon” the same condition precedent. This makes the claim indefinite.
Claim 5 recites a conditional limitation, “upon the power supply applying an effective voltage” with two actions, setting the effective voltages of two electric fields. The first and second electric fields describe the fields applied to the same Schottky emitter at different times. As such, the two actions cannot take place “upon the power supply applying an effective voltage” because the Schottky emitter can only be exposed to one of the fields. Accordingly, it appears that the claim requires two mutually exclusive things to occur “upon” the same condition precedent. This makes the claim indefinite.
The above indefinite claims will be examined as best understood in light of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,616,926 [Shinada].
Regarding Claim 1:
Shinada discloses an electron beam device including a Schottky emitter (abstract) comprising:
a heating source configured to heat the Schottky emitter (2:62-64);
a power supply configured to apply an electric field to the Schottky emitter (Fig. 16 (8)); and
a control unit configured to control the heating source and the power supply (Fig. 16 (11)), wherein
the control unit is configured to
execute a first stage of applying a first electric field to the Schottky emitter while heating the Schottky emitter at a first temperature (Fig. 14: 8-14 min), and
a second stage of applying a second electric field to the Schottky emitter while heating the Schottky emitter at a second temperature (Fig. 14: 14-40 min),
the first temperature is higher than an operation temperature of the Schottky emitter and the second temperature (2150 K > 1800 K),
the first electric field is equal to or higher than an operation electric field of the Schottky emitter (1.5 kV ≥ 1.4 kV) and lower than the second electric field (1.5 kV < 5 kV),
the second temperature is equal to or higher than the operation temperature (1800 K = 1800 K) and lower than the first temperature (1800 K < 2150 K), and
the second electric field is higher than the operation electric field and the first electric field (5 kV > 1.5 kV >1.4kV). See annotated Shinada Fig. 14a below, as described at 11:35-60.
Regarding Claim 2:
Shinada discloses the electron beam device according to claim 1, wherein,
the Schottky emitter is a Zr/O/W emitter (1:48, 5:61) including a tip of a tungsten single crystal (5:61) and a reservoir of zirconium oxide (1:33-37).
The operational temperature is 1800 K. Figs. 12, 114. As such, Shinada anticipates the various intended use limitations of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 6:
Shinada discloses the electron beam device according to claim 1, wherein
the control unit is configured to fix the first temperature, the first electric field, the second temperature, and the second electric field to predetermined values. As shown in Figs. 14 and 15.
Regarding Claim 7:
Shinada discloses the electron beam device according to claim 1, wherein
the control unit is configured to change the first temperature, the first electric field, the second temperature, and the second electric field in a stepwise manner. As shown in Figs. 14 and 15. Whether a change is stepwise or continuous is arbitrary determination of an observer. One of ordinary skill in the art could easily call the adjustments of Figs. 14 and 15 either.
Regarding Claim 8:
Shinada discloses the electron beam device according to claim 1, wherein
the control unit is configured to continuously change the first temperature, the first electric field, the second temperature, and the second electric field. As shown in Figs. 14 and 15. Whether a change is stepwise or continuous is arbitrary determination of an observer. One of ordinary skill in the art could easily call the adjustments of Figs. 14 and 15 either.
Regarding Claim 9:
Shinada discloses a method of operating a Schottky emitter (abstract), the method comprising:
executing a first stage of applying a first electric field to the Schottky emitter while heating the Schottky emitter at a first temperature (Fig. 14: 8-14 min), and
a second stage of applying a second electric field to the Schottky emitter while heating the Schottky emitter at a second temperature (Fig. 14: 14-40 min),
wherein
the first temperature is higher than an operation temperature of the Schottky emitter and the second temperature (2150 K > 1800 K),
the first electric field is equal to or higher than an operation electric field of the Schottky emitter (1.5 kV ≥ 1.4 kV) and lower than the second electric field (1.5 kV < 5 kV),
the second temperature is equal to or higher than the operation temperature (1800 K = 1800 K) and lower than the first temperature (1800 K < 2150 K), and
the second electric field is higher than the operation electric field and the first electric field (5 kV > 1.5 kV >1.4kV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinada.
Regarding Claim 3:
Shinada teaches the electron beam device according to claim 1, wherein,
the Schottky emitter is a Zr/O/W emitter (1:48, 5:61) including a tip of a tungsten single crystal (5:61) and a reservoir of zirconium oxide (1:33-37),
but fails to teach:
the first electric field is 0.5 GV/m or higher and lower than 1.5 GV/m, and
the second electric field is 1.0 GV/m or higher and lower than 2.0 GV/m in a state that the operation electric field is 0.5 GV/m or higher and lower than 1.0 GV/m, and the second electric field is 1.5 GV/m or higher and lower than 2.0 GV/m in a state that the operation electric field is 1.0 GV/m or higher and lower than 1.5 GV/m.
Shinada 8:44-47 states that the suppressor electrode is 0.5 mm from the extraction electrode and supplied with a negative voltage of 300-800 V. 9:20-26 states that the extraction electrode may be set from 2.6- 6 kV. Finaly, 9:38-30 describes the field strength at the tip as being between 0.068-0.081 V/Å. This is equivalent to 0.68 – 0.81 GV/m while operating at 1.4 kV extraction voltage. This in turn indicates that both the first and operation electric fields are within the claimed range, and the second field, which is created by an extraction field that is approximately 3.5 times as high.
Optimizing the electric fields near the emitter is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Shinada teaches that adjusting voltages to the suppressor and the extraction electrode, and modifying the electric field near the emitter. See above. As such, Shinada identifies the electric field as a variable which achieves a recognized result, i.e., forming the emitter and emitting electrons. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize the first, second, and operation electric fields in Shinada to meet the claimed ranges since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amendments to claims 2-5 have not repaired the issues of indefiniteness therein.
Applicant argues that Shinada fails to anticipate claim 1 because its first voltage is zero, not 1.5 kV. This is not persuasive. See annotated Shinada Fig. 14a below, as described at 11:35-60.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881