DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 6/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 3-6 are pending. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 5 recite the limitation “the pea seeds” in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim(s).
Claims 3 and 5 additionally recites a limitation of preparing a water-soluble polysaccharide derived from beans, and additionally recites that the water-soluble polysaccharide is from “a fruiting part of the pea seeds or of soybean seeds”. It is unclear whether the polysaccharide is derived from any bean, or from the fruiting part of peas and soybeans.
Claims 4 and 6 depend from independent Claim(s) 3 and 5 and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 5104674) in view of Nakamura (US 2014/0134310 A1), taken with evidentiary reference of Zhang (doi: 10.1016/j.fgb.2011.06.002, The D-galacturonic acid catabolic pathway in Botrytis cinerea, June 2011).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen teaches a method for producing a food product which comprises eggs (Column 45, Example 3), which is an “egg processed food”.
The polysaccharide is prepared with egg protein (Column 45, Lines 15-16) in a weight ratio of 2:5 (Column 45, Lines 16-17), which lies within the claimed range of polysaccharide:protein. The mixture of polysaccharide and eggs is heated (Column 45, Line 20).
Chen teaches the use of water soluble polysaccharides such as pectin (Column 6, Line 48), but does not teach a source of the pectin.
Nakamura teaches that soybean cotyledons [0003] and pea seeds (Page 2, Claim 7) are known sources of pectin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a soybean seed or pea seed-derived pectin in the method of Chen. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to utilize a pectin from a known source.
Note that pectin is known to contain galacturonic acid (see evidentiary reference of Zhang, Abstract, Line 1). The pectin of Nakamura is therefore interpreted to comprise galacturonic acid as claimed.
Regarding Claim 4, Chen teaches heating to 110 °F, which is 43.4 °C (Column 45, Line 20).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen teaches a method for producing a food product which comprises eggs (Column 45, Example 3), which is an “egg processed food”. The polysaccharide is prepared with egg protein (Column 45, Lines 15-16) in a weight ratio of 2:5 (Column 45, Lines 16-17), which lies within the claimed range of polysaccharide:protein. The mixture of polysaccharide and eggs is heated (Column 45, Line 20).
Regarding the limitation that the method be for “promoting egg coagulation”, Chen teaches that the composition comprising egg proteins (Page 7, Line 40) forms stable, entangled complexes with denatured proteins and expelled water (Column 6, Line 65-Column 7, Line 3). Chen is therefore interpreted to teach an “egg coagulation promoter” as claimed.
Chen teaches the use of water soluble polysaccharides such as pectin (Column 6, Line 48), but does not teach a source of the pectin.
Nakamura teaches that soybean cotyledons [0003] and pea seeds (Page 2, Claim 7) are known sources of pectin.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a soybean seed or pea seed-derived pectin in the method of Chen. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to utilize a pectin from a known source.
Note that pectin is known to contain galacturonic acid (see evidentiary reference of Zhang, Abstract, Line 1). The pectin of Nakamura is therefore interpreted to comprise galacturonic acid as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen teaches heating to 110 °F, which is 43.4 °C (Column 45, Line 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791