DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/669,877 filed 5/21/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: it appears “The at least one processor of claim…” for each claim is intended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a system for performing simulation operations”,
“a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications”,
“a system for performing digital twin operations”,
“a system for performing light transport simulation”,
“a system for rendering graphical output”,
“a system for performing deep learning operations”,
“a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content”,
“a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content”,
“a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content”,
“a system for performing hardware testing using simulation”,
“a system for synthetic data generation”, and
“a system for performing generative AI operations”, in claims 15 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, the corresponding structure for performing the claimed functions for the limitations that are interpreted as means-plus-function, as shown above, does not appear disclosed within the specification. Specifically, the structure of each of the following systems has not been found in the specification:
“a system for performing simulation operations”,
“a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications”,
“a system for performing digital twin operations”,
“a system for performing light transport simulation”,
“a system for rendering graphical output”,
“a system for performing deep learning operations”,
“a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content”,
“a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content”,
“a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content”,
“a system for performing hardware testing using simulation”,
“a system for synthetic data generation”, and
“a system for performing generative AI operations”. Therefore, claims 15 and 20 fail the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. §112(a).
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, the claim limitations
“a system for performing simulation operations”,
“a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications”,
“a system for performing digital twin operations”,
“a system for performing light transport simulation”,
“a system for rendering graphical output”,
“a system for performing deep learning operations”,
“a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content”,
“a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content”,
“a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content”,
“a system for performing hardware testing using simulation”,
“a system for synthetic data generation”, and
“a system for performing generative AI operations”, invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function of the “systems” in the claims (See specification at [0022]-[0023] and [0160]). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et a. (US 2013/0222247 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
monitoring a plurality of positions at which a user provides input to perform a specific action over time, the specific action associated with a selected region of a user interface. More specifically, steps 508 to 510 pertain to the continuous monitoring of input to character input keys (specific actions) of a portion (selected region) of a virtual keyboard until a minimum number of key selections have been received since the last adjustment of the keyboard (over time) (Liu, abstract, Figure 5A, [0054]-[0055]). Offset vectors (plurality of positions) that define the distance and direction the input (user provided input) is from center of a particular key are determined in step 512 (Liu, Figure 5A, [0056]).
determining a drift pattern with respect to the plurality of positions. More specifically, the offset vectors (plurality of positions) for each key are then used to determine an average offset (drift pattern) (Liu, Figure 5A, step 512, [0056]).
based at least on the drift pattern, automatically adjusting a location of the selected region of the user interface, associated with the specific action, wherein further input provided by the user at subsequent positions corresponding to the drift pattern is able to be registered as input to perform the specific action. More specifically, at least position, size, spacing, and rotation of the particular key (specific action) of the virtual keyboard is adjusted based on the average offset (drift pattern) (Liu, steps 514-522, Figure 5A, [0057]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the user input is provided using a touch screen, and wherein the touch screen does not provide tactile feedback associated with the selected region. More specifically, while a physical keyboard provides tactile feedback in the form of keyboard curvature, discrete key caps, and key actuation clicks, touch displays generally lack these physical cues. As a result, the user's hands and fingers may drift while typing on a virtual keyboard (Liu, [0016], [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a magnitude of the adjusting is based in part on a determined size of the touch screen or space for the user interface. More specifically, to ensure that the boundary of a particular key does not overlap the boundary of an adjacent key (space for the user interface), the adjustment of each key may be limited to a predetermined distance from the home position of the key or limited based on the position of the adjacent keys (Liu, [0032]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving control data for controlling a magnitude to which the location is adjusted. More specifically, adjusting instructions may calculate the average of 10 vectors and shift the position of a key in the direction of the average offset vector by the magnitude of the average vector up to a given maximum shift (Liu, [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the selected region is associated with other input regions corresponding to related actions, and wherein adjusting the location of the selected region further comprises adjusting locations of at least a subset of the other input regions. More specifically, Figure 5B defines a process similar to the process of Figure 5A, however, a grouping of keys of the virtual keyboard (selected region is associated with other input regions corresponding to related actions) are adjusted together by at least position, size, spacing, and rotation (Liu, Figure 5B, [0061]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting the input is provided using both a left hand and right hand; detecting different drift patterns for the left hand and the right hand, wherein the drift patterns are used in adjusting the location of at least the selected region. More specifically, Figure 1 depicts how portions of a virtual keyboard are separately adjusted for each of the left and right hands’ drifted positions (Liu, Figure 1, [0019]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the input corresponds to touch, gesture, or motion input. More specifically, the input is touch on a touchscreen (Liu, abstract, [0001]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches at least one processor comprising: one or more processing units to:
monitor at least one position at which a user provides input to perform a specific action, the specific action associated with a selected region of a user interface. More specifically, steps 508 to 510 pertain to the continuous monitoring of input to character input keys (specific actions) of a portion (selected region) of a virtual keyboard until a minimum number of key selections have been received since the last adjustment of the keyboard (over time) (Liu, abstract, Figure 5A, [0054]-[0055]). Offset vectors (at least one position) that define the distance and direction the input (user provided input) is from center of a particular key are determined in step 512 (Liu, Figure 5A, [0056]).
determine a drift direction with respect to the at least one position. More specifically, the offset vectors (at least one position) for each key are then used to determine an average offset (drift direction) (Liu, Figure 5A, step 512, [0056]).
provide an adjustment value to be applied to a location of the selected region of the user interface, associated with the specific action, according to the drift direction, wherein further input provided by the user at at least one subsequent position corresponding to the drift direction is able to be registered as input to perform the specific action. More specifically, at least position, size, spacing, and rotation of the particular key (specific action) or portion of keys of the virtual keyboard is adjusted based on the average offset (drift direction) (Liu, steps 514-522, Figure 5A, [0057]-[0060; Figure 5B, [0061]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the processor of claim 9, wherein a user interface is implemented using a touch screen, and wherein the touch screen does not provide tactile feedback associated with the selected region. More specifically, while a physical keyboard provides tactile feedback in the form of keyboard curvature, discrete key caps, and key actuation clicks, touch displays generally lack these physical cues. As a result, the user's hands and fingers may drift while typing on a virtual keyboard (Liu, [0016], [0021]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the processor of claim 10, wherein a magnitude of the adjusting is based in part on a determined size of the touch screen or space for the user interface. More specifically, to ensure that the boundary of a particular key does not overlap the boundary of an adjacent key (space for the user interface), the adjustment of each key may be limited to a predetermined distance from the home position of the key or limited based on the position of the adjacent keys (Liu, [0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the processor of claim 9, wherein the selected region is associated with other input regions corresponding to related actions, and wherein adjusting the location of the selected region further comprises adjusting locations of at least a subset of the other input regions. More specifically, Figure 5B defines a process similar to the process of Figure 5A, however, a grouping of keys of the virtual keyboard (selected region is associated with other input regions corresponding to related actions) are adjusted together by at least position, size, spacing, and rotation (Liu, Figure 5B, [0061]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the processor of claim 9, wherein input is provided using both a left hand and a right hand, and wherein the one or more processing units are further to detect different drift patterns for the left hand and the right hand, wherein the different drift patterns are used in adjusting the location of at least the selected region. More specifically, Figure 1 depicts how portions of a virtual keyboard are separately adjusted for each of the left and right hands’ drifted positions (Liu, Figure 1, [0019]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the processor of claim 9, wherein the input corresponds to touch, gesture, or motion input. More specifically, the input is touch on a touchscreen (Liu, abstract, [0001]).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches the processor of claim 9, wherein the processor is included in a system comprising at least one of: a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for rendering graphical output; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content; a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content; a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content; a system incorporating one or more Virtual Machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a system for performing hardware testing using simulation; a system for synthetic data generation; a system for performing generative AI operations; a system implemented using one or more large language model (LLMs); a system implemented using one or more vision language model (VLMs); a collaborative content creation platform for 3D assets; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources. More specifically, Liu describes an input mechanism of a virtual keyboard, which is construable to be a simulation of input with a physical keyboard (system for performing simulation operations). Displaying the input from typing with the virtual keyboard is construable to be a system for rendering graphical output (Liu, [0016]-[0017]).
Regarding claims 16-20, these claims recite the system that substantially performs the steps of performed by the at least one processor of claims 9-12 and 15, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, and further in view of Yoshizawa et al. (US 2021/0011605 A1, hereinafter “Yoshizawa”).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the drift pattern is monitored by an external motion capturing device.
Yoshizawa discloses a personal digital assistant includes a display control unit that causes an object as a target of the touch operation to be displayed in the image display unit. The display control unit causes the object to be displayed based on a relative shaking amount of the operation instruction object (finger) such that the object is shifted in accordance with the relative shaking amount (Yoshizawa, abstract). Figures 9A and 9B depict a head mounted external camera that can be used in accordance with the process of Figure 5A where a camera is used to monitor a operation instruction object (finger) to calculate a relative shaking amount due to the user riding in a rocking vehicle (construable as a drift pattern) and shift the user interface accordingly (Yoshizawa, Figure 5A, 9A, and 9B, at least steps 104-108, [0071]-[0073], [0112]-[0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Liu and Yoshizawa that a method for automatically adjusting a user interface for a touch screen when input drift is detected would include wherein the drift is monitored by an external motion capturing device. With both Liu and Yoshizawa disclosing determining that touch input is not centered on touch user interface controls and adjusting the touch user interface controls accordingly, and with Yoshizawa additionally disclosing monitoring the input drift from an external camera, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method of method for automatically adjusting a user interface for a touch screen when input drift is detected would include wherein the drift is monitored by an external motion capturing device in order to supplement touch detected drift with information from the point of view of the user’s eyes for even better drift adjustment and also to have the option of shifting the touch user interface controls to the proper location before the touch input is received, ultimately limiting erroneous input. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for automatically adjusting a user interface for a touch screen when input drift is detected.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Cantrell (US 2014/0195923 A1) – adjusting user interface regions based on a history of touch inputs.
Peng (US 2024/0176483 A1) – adjusting user interface regions based on a history of touch inputs.
Salter (US 20200233540 A1) – adjusting user interface regions based on a touch inputs.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171