DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 6/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 2-8 are pending. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 18669871 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 5104674) in view of Furuta (“Rheological properties of water-soluble soybean polysaccharides extracted under weak acidic condition”, DOI: 10.1016/S0268-005X(99)00009-0, May 1999).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen teaches a composition for e.g. dressings, dips, and spreads (Abstract), which are the same as sauces, comprising egg and polysaccharide (Column 45, Example 3). Chen teaches that the composition provides a “thick consistency” (Column 9, Line 44). Chen therefore teaches an “egg sauce”.
Chen teaches an egg sauce comprising polysaccharides but does not address the use of a pullulan or water-soluble polysaccharide selected from soybean or pea seeds, or the viscosity of the polysaccharide in a 10 wt% aqueous solution.
Furuta teaches that a 10 wt% solution of a water-soluble polysaccharide extracted from soybean seed residue (Introduction, Paragraph 1) has a viscosity of below 200 mPa*s at 20 °C (Page 270, Figure 2). Furuta teaches that the polysaccharide has thickening properties appropriate for food use (Page 273, Column 2, Paragraph 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the polysaccharide of Furuta in the composition of Chen. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Chen teaches the use of polysaccharides in food, and Furuta teaches a polysaccharide appropriate for food use. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07
Regarding Claim 3, Chen teaches the use of the composition in food (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen teaches a method for producing a food product (which comprises eggs (Column 45, Example 3). The polysaccharide is prepared with eggs (Column 45, Lines 15-16) in a ratio of 2:5 (Column 45, Line 16), which lies within the claimed range of part C). The mixture of polysaccharide and eggs is heated (Column 45, Line 20).
Chen teaches a method for the egg sauce as claimed but does not address the use of a pullulan or water-soluble polysaccharide selected from soybean or pea seeds, or the viscosity of the polysaccharide in a 10 wt% aqueous solution.
Furuta teaches that a 10 wt% solution of a water-soluble polysaccharide extracted from soybean seed residue (Introduction, Paragraph 1) has a viscosity of below 200 mPa*s at 20 °C (Page 270, Figure 2). Furuta teaches that the polysaccharide has thickening properties appropriate for food use (Page 273, Column 2, Paragraph 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the polysaccharide of Furuta in the method of Chen. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Chen teaches the use of polysaccharides in food, and Furuta teaches a polysaccharide appropriate for food use. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07
Regarding the limitation that the method is for producing an “egg sauce”, Chen teaches the use of the composition in e.g. a dressing (which is the same as a sauce) comprising eggs (Column 54, Example 10).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen teaches heating to 110 °F, which is 43.4 °C (Column 45, Line 20).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen teaches the use of the composition in e.g. a dressing (which is the same as a sauce) comprising eggs (Column 54, Example 10).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen teaches a method for producing a food product (which comprises eggs (Column 45, Example 3). The polysaccharide is prepared with eggs (Column 45, Lines 15-16) in a weight ratio of 2:5 (Column 45, Line 16), which lies within the claimed range. The mixture of polysaccharide and eggs is heated (Column 45, Line 20).
Chen teaches a method for the egg sauce as claimed but does not address the use of a pullulan or water-soluble polysaccharide selected from soybean or pea seeds, or the viscosity of the polysaccharide in a 10 wt% aqueous solution.
Furuta teaches that a 10 wt% solution of a water-soluble polysaccharide extracted from soybean seed residue (Introduction, Paragraph 1) has a viscosity of below 200 mPa*s at 20 °C (Page 270, Figure 2). Furuta teaches that the polysaccharide has thickening properties appropriate for food use (Page 273, Column 2, Paragraph 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the polysaccharide of Furuta in the method of Chen. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since Chen teaches the use of polysaccharides in food, and Furuta teaches a polysaccharide appropriate for food use. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07
Regarding the limitation of “promoting thickening of an egg sauce”, Chen teaches the use of the composition in e.g. a dressing (which is the same as a sauce) comprising eggs (Column 54, Example 10). Chen teaches that the composition provides a “thick consistency” (Column 9, Line 44), and that the resulting sauce is “viscous” (Column 54, Line 41). The composition of Chen is therefore interpreted to promote thickening of an egg sauce, as claimed.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen teaches heating to 110 °F, which is 43.4 °C (Column 45, Line 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791